Preview Round 7, 2023: St.Kilda v Port Adelaide - Marvel Stadium, Friday 28th April, 7:50PM AEST *WOOD 100TH*

Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 59 90.8%
  • Power

Votes: 6 9.2%

Do you wait until you run out of dunny paper before you go and buy more?

Forward planning is vital when you are contemplating the truly important things in life like football finals and bog roll.

Toilet Paper Tp GIF by MOODMAN

Forward planning would be making sure we get to finals 1st It sounds like you’re saying you know better then club
I will back our fitness staff to get it right

Agreed mate and now with Membrey back Cordy's role becomes even more replaceable
Membrey took Caminiti's spot though

Leaves us short up forward and puts a lot of pressure on Owens who has to do more as a forward option and more in the ruck

I can't see Cordy any chance of losing his spot until Hammer returns at least.

The same thing seems to be brought up each week and Ross continues to back him so I don't think it will change this week. Lyon loves his structure and will back it until it doesn't work

An interesting post from an oppo board:

Today I went to the game with a friend, who has a friend that has a son playing for St Kilda (Playedtoday). And they caught up last week, small info he shared from the son. Ratts used to speak to the players a bit flustered when things weren't going well. ‘It's like at the quarter time huddles he wasn't sure what he wanted the players to do, because he would jump all over the place with what he would tell them’. Which the players were obviously annoyed by.
Said that Ross is super clear and always calm when the heat is on, and basically thinks he is a genius coach. And has all the players behind him.
This player is only 3 years into his AFL career, but it was interesting hearing how quickly a team can sour to a coach. Only the players second AFL coach, so his experience with them is less than others

Ratts had NFI. So good to have a calm level headed coach that has total by in.

I’m thinking the player could be Byrnes?
Another ripping post from you.

Could be? Definitely is. Byrnes' is the only player 3 years in the system that played for us yesterday. Also Byrnes only played under Ratten, so RTB would be his second coach. Ticks all the boxes of a Ronnie masterclass.

Cordy's role is as a senior, large (ish) body in the forward line. If people think he does nothing, imagine our forward line consisting of nothing but teenagers and short people!! Most spectators follow the ball at a game of footy, but a large chunk of a forwards work is done while the ball is still two kicks away. Trying to get separation, create space and provide a block for a team-mate to get separation is part of the deal, and we have scraped through thanks to Cordy, while our two regular key forwards have been on the sidelines.
Yep he has been good for us but again, for this specific game and how Port are structured, we don't need him and could do with more run instead.

Opening myself up to be corrected here because I'm gonna use my memory but aside from taking a taller defender I don't believe Cordy has done much else for the "play tall" role.

Most I50 marks have been on a lead or open off turnover
Not many/if any marks in large packs
Havent seen him crash packs like Caminiti or Pou
and now reduced chopout role
+ limited minutes TOG a few weeks in a row - if the structure was that dependent he would be on the ground more

I don't see Ross dumping him either tbh, but just my opinion that we could viably do it and be better, nothing against the man himself
to be fair, he's kicked a couple of goals and in a game where scoring wasn't huge, the goal he kicked yesterday was at a point in the game where it was still up for grabs and from memory I think it was the first goal to break the goal for goal period that we were in.

In fact, Cordy has kicked more goals for us this year than Carlton's midfield combined has, although I've also kicked as many as most of them too, hahaha, all that talent...

I'm just as much in the drop Cordy camp as you all are... however, he kicks goals when we need them. Few moments the past few weeks we've been dying for a goal and who steps up with composure and accuracy? Zaine Cordy.

Port this week with their potential outs are BIG for us. I'll be a lot more confident if the rumoured outs come to fruition.

Forward planning would be making sure we get to finals 1st It sounds like you’re saying you know better then club
I will back our fitness staff to get it right
RTB said it best, no point making long term goals in footy. Focus on the week ahead, if we get distracted thinking about finals now then we are stuffed. Could possibly be the worst thing we could do actually.

It sounds like you’re saying you know better then club

Equally, It sounds like you're saying the club is perfect and never wrong.

I'm talking about a couple of pretty extreme examples here.
One is a kid who has only just turned 18.... surely I'm not being an idiot daring to suggest he will need a rest (or several) in order to be in tip top shape at the pointy end of the season.

The other is steele who looked sore and out of sorts for months even before he wrecked his collarbone just a few weeks ago.

I'm just as much in the drop Cordy camp as you all are... however, he kicks goals when we need them. Few moments the past few weeks we've been dying for a goal and who steps up with composure and accuracy? Zaine Cordy.

Port this week with their potential outs are BIG for us. I'll be a lot more confident if the rumoured outs come to fruition.

Cordy doesn't kick a lot of goals but he has kicked some important ones, he also kicked an important goal against Freo in the last quarter.

He looks like one of our better set shots for goal too, doesn't seem to miss too often.

Was a sweet victory yesterday after the blues challenged us for most of the game. Port as usual is an annoying emotional mess. I haven't watched any game time but have seen they have come back from well behind v Sydney. Charlie seems to love us and Alir is in decent form have to watch the long bombs into the 50. Does anyone think they are much chop? That's not intended to be taking them lightly.

I watched Allir closely during their game against the Bulldogs in Adelaide. He does a lot of his work pushing the defender under the ball drop well before the ball arrives. It involved 3 good pushes which he seems to get away with and mark the ball out the back. He is the reason we need to continue to play Cordy to keep him engaged and hopefully Cordy can prevent getting forced under the ball.

Hopefully Cordy sees the vision and considers falling to the ground when Allir makes that contact. A couple of free kicks against him and Allir will have to change up his game on attacking the key forwards so early.

Im confused - He kicked 1 goal for the match off a mark because sinclair crumbed the loose ball and he was open. The kick was no more challenging than all the others.

Goalless against Essendon and Collingwood - our 2 closer games, the other games in recent weeks were 50point wins. So not sure on that comment. Pretty sure his 1 goal against GC was a hand off from Owens who had every right to go himself.

So a 19 year old cops it?

Hope you wouldn't want your son treated one that

I'll be embarrassed if we boo him. He's copped his share. Let the North fans go at him but it's nothing to do with us
I would want him to embrace it and make the oppo team pay for the booing but that's me.

Cordy is the clear weak link in the team at the moment (the only one that wouldn’t be anywhere near the team if we were at full strength), but until Max or Hammer return, I expect he’ll keep his spot.

We might be beginning the transition away from him doing the rucking in anticipation for Caminiti and King being there and him not, in a couple of weeks, though. Owens was involved in almost twice as many ruck contests yesterday and was the only one of the two who attended a centre bounce.

Wonder if Hammer will ruck on his return? Presumably some.

Yep he has been good for us but again, for this specific game and how Port are structured, we don't need him and could do with more run instead.
Don't disagree, just posting that in response to those that seem to think Cordy's role has been similar to that of an inanimate carbon rod! Do they honestly think that the best coach we've had in my lifetime is picking a player because he likes his haircut or something!!

I'm talking about a couple of pretty extreme examples here.
One is a kid who has only just turned 18.... surely I'm not being an idiot daring to suggest he will need a rest (or several) in order to be in tip top shape at the pointy end of the season.

The other is steele who looked sore and out of sorts for months even before he wrecked his collarbone just a few weeks ago.

That is the 1st time I have ever been accused of that

One is a kid who has only just turned 18

I don't see anything to suggest Pou needs a rest, if anything he looks very close to ripping a game apart

The season was only 3 weeks old when he done his shoulder don't know how he looked sore for months before that and dont think he looked sore yesterday just rusty and thought his 2nd half was ok, no chance club would play him if he wasn't 100% fit IMO

A mate and I made a lot of trips to Launceston way back when we played there and watched Port beat us every time. We discussed whether we'd go back for another major disappointment, always did and we always lost. Maybe a stats person can bring up our record in Lonnie against Port and show we won but I can only remember bitter disappointment.

We owe them big time for years to come!!

afltables.com is your friend here.

We played them in Launnie 4 times (out of 8 home games there). Lost the first 3 times, and beat them the last time.

Phillipou looks like doing special things at any moment, but he also looks a tad off from where he was. His stats read ok, but I think he could benefit from a week off to freshen up, then get him back in for North. He's 18 and has been really impressive. He's a long term asset. Doesn't need to play every game. Having said that, if they think he's fine then it's not urgent. Doing enough to hold his role.
Phillipou will get a breather at the bye round!

I feel a tight game coming. The next few weeks before the bye will be one of our easiest patches, so I think we may reach the bye 9-2, and this may be the one that we drop. Carlton had three days extra break than us, and Port will have an extra day with us only having 5 this week, so I think that will play a role.
At least we don’t have to travel..

Just because someone on the internet gets it in their head that they need to build a straw man and say because Steele was rusty and a bit off the pace, he is obviously underdone, sore and should be dropped, doesn't make it true.

Was asked to do a job in the second half and did it very well.
He was clearly underdone and rusty. He's never made that many simple mistakes or been caught with that ball that often.

Not sure why anyone would deny that.