Date: 11 May 2013

Time: 2.10pm AEST

Venue: Gabba

Tickets: Ticketmaster

Weather: Mostly fine, possible shower. Min 15 Max 25

TV: Foxsports 3 (7/7mate into Brisbane and Perth)

Preview by TomFC

Yeah.

This is a pretty special fixture for us.

The History

When we knocked off the Eagles in round 10 last year, they were top of the ladder and flying. We were struggling to be relevant against good sides, having copped beatings from Geelong, Essendon and Collingwood in recent weeks.

But we managed to hang in there all game, surviving a third quarter charge by the visitors, before storming back to win it at the death.

Not only was that the highlight of our season, I don't think it's a stretch to say that result reshaped how we saw ourselves as a footy team, and made us think about the future with a lot more optimism.

The final seconds of that game are inspiring stuff.

The Form

And we could really use some inspiration right now.

There's no denying that we didn't get the start to the season we were hoping for. And now we're really only just beginning the winter of discontent, with Essendon, Carlton, Collingwood, Fremantle, Geelong and Hawthorn waiting for us in the rest of May and June.

Another memorable win might just give us the confidence that's been lacking in the first six rounds.

The Eagles haven't been setting the world on fire either. They've only managed wins against the Demons and the Bulldogs, but it's a long season and with Naitanui back on the park they'll probably feel like they're in a good position to rejuvenate their campaign with some winnable fixtures to come.

Maybe they could've been forgiven for a touch of complacency at the Gabba last year, but not this time around; they really need to win this game.

So expect a pretty tense affair on Saturday. I reckon the winner will be the team who applies the best defensive pressure, who forces the opposition to turn the ball over, who stops them playing their game and drains their confidence.

That makes matchups pretty important.

The Game

Cox and Natainui are the obvious threat. Nicnat is likely to be a little underdone, but nonetheless expect to see Cox spend a fair amount of time up forward, particularly if Sinclair is selected. If Maguire plays he might go to Cox, with Merrett likely to mark Kennedy, who's been in excellent form.

Patfull seems to be getting the job on the small and mid-sized forwards lately and I'd expect him to go to either LeCras or Darling, depending on team selections.

In the middle, Masten has probably been the Eagles best this season. If we're going to bring Raines back for anyone this week it'd probably be him.

Priddis continues to get his hands on the ball at stoppages, and has been good against us in the past. There'll be something of a clearance shootout this week between him and Moloney.

Black's likely return might make us a bit more potent in that part of the ground.

Shuey, Wellingham and Scott Selwood haven't had great starts to the season, but got a bit of it last week and will be looking to capitalise on that form.

The Eagles will be keen to find a way to limit Hanley's influence. Adam Selwood might be their best option to run with him.

The Verdict

On paper, the Eagles look like clear favourites. But they're not travelling all that well, and they haven't really had the fluency or confidence early this season that they had last year.

While our form doesn't exactly have opposition teams trembling, we have played our best footy at home. And although we were generally pretty poor against the Swans, there are some signs that players like Adcock and Brown might be finding a bit of touch. If that's the case, that should lift the youngsters alongside them across the ground, as should the return of the great man Simon Black.

Maybe, just maybe, history can repeat and we can get our season back on track with a stirring win.

So I'm tipping the Lions by a fluky torpedo.

I'd still consider the need to tag Gaff. Most other teams have been putting a lot of work into him and it does seem to have conicided with their poor form this year.

I'd also think we would consider a forward tag on Hurn as he can be so damaging from half back. With Waters missing (I think) he would be their most damaging rebounding player

I'd still consider the need to tag Gaff. Most other teams have been putting a lot of work into him and it does seem to have conicided with their poor form this year.

I'd also think we would consider a forward tag on Hurn as he can be so damaging from half back. With Waters missing (I think) he would be their most damaging rebounding player

Gaff is a good link man and uses the ball so well. I think I agree he could be the one to tag.

I think we need to bring Crisp into the team to play forward on Hurn. Would bring him in for Acorn.

In the Melbourne game, the Lions were kicking the ball to wrong targets and just stuffing around. If they do this against West Coast, they will blow a good apportunity to gain 4 points on the ladder. They need to kick long down the field and just get the ball quickly to their forwards. Considering that both sides have only had 2 wins, this should be a close game and if Brisbane doesn't win, their confidence will just go down even more. The Lions should and need to play a good game because the players know that Vosses career is on the line and some of the players guernseys are on the line.

Awesome preview. Top work.

If you don't mind an opposition perspective on things, my few thoughts.

Possible ins this week: Rosa, dick, shepherd, waters
Likely outs: Sinclair (unfortunately, as he has been super for us) brown/schofield (if waters returns)

We have been ridiculously efficient I50 this year, so the middle is where the battle will be won. Stop the ball coming into lecras/darling/Kennedy and this will go a long way to you guys winning.

IMO, Gaff is our hardest runner, but I reckon you need to send someone to Shuey, as he sets up so many score involvements, especially from clearances. Much more damaging, I would be very surprised if Raines doesn't come in to play that role. Shuey will play this week as he only copped a cork to the shin.

Leuenburger needs to maximise the time that cox is in the middle. For as good as a Ruckmen cox is, he is not as good a tap Ruckmen, and we have struggled in the centre square without NicNat. I would send your best centre square combo in each time that cox is in the middle. You will win more often than not.

Our biggest threat from you guys is to limit hanley, and I suggest that we will try to push him as deep as possible, and try to make him accountable. I would not be surprised if we even send someone like wellingham to the hff to try and play a defensive forward role.

I'm unsure about this game. West coast have lacked their usual fluency this year, but the signs suggest they aren't far off playing better football. You guys match up well on us, and this game will be closer than most would think.

Hoping for a good game with no injuries.

Good luck for the game this week guys, lets hope for a ripping contest with no injuries. good write up mate except where you mentioned Scott Selwood having a slow start, aside from the first 2 games he has been killing it (Averaging 27 disp and 10 tackles in the last 4). Waters is a confirmed to miss another week which means we will lose alot of our rebounding ability, Wellingham showed in his first game last week though that he can be used in that Waters kind of role aswell as in the midfield and forward line I'd expect he might still be a bit rusty this week though.

again good luck fellas may the best team win

Thanks for the imput Eagles420 & jesterwester.

What is the likelyhood of NicNat playing again? Full game? Sub again? He makes such a big difference to your team but there does seem a question on his fitness to run out a game. Its will only be a 6 day break (as well as the travel) and would be another 6 day break to your next game against North. Makes it tough to back up.

Thanks for the imput Eagles420 & jesterwester.

What is the likelyhood of NicNat playing again? Full game? Sub again? He makes such a big difference to your team but there does seem a question on his fitness to run out a game. Its will only be a 6 day break (as well as the travel) and would be another 6 day break to your next game against North. Makes it tough to back up.
NN will most likely start this week, IMO anyways (differing opinions on this) but will play more forward I would have thought. Start to increase his workload slightly, which may mean we play three rucks this week. (Sinclair has about two weeks to go before he goes back to the rookie list) I'd take 40 mins of nn than nothing though! He is so crucial for us.

Great preview TomFC :thumbsu:

This is a must win for us. We've got a tough stretch coming up and the boys need a confidence boost. Will be a close game, lions by 16.

BRING BACK RAINESY.......

I would play either raines or crisp on HURN, as I feel he sets up so much of there play,

Pretty sure i read some where that the lions had only 4 marks inside 50 last week, That is pathetic, especially considering we went in with our tall foward line.

Leigh matthews said that you start your game the way you finished your last game, lets hope there is some merret to this, as the lions actually played some decent footy in the 2nd half V the swans.

The Eagles should be afraid, very afraid , as have some have said, we killed the Swans in the last 3 qtrs.Me I just want to see Lester play well, the club have tried to knock the stuffing out of him but he won,t give up.

killed? they outscored us after quarter time

LONGER MUST PLAY

Eagles have two elite ruckman playing for them and we cant afford to play someone like lisle. He would just get destroyed in the ruck which would kill all chances of us winning the game

TomFC, another great preview

I think we have a chance. Home game, hopefully hunger, pride and the memory of what happened last time at the GABBA. I am concerned generally on how we start the game. West Coast aren't in great form at the moment and if we start badly they will be played into form.

In: Black, Lisle, Karnezis, Raines, Goose
Out: Paparone, Cornelius, Bewick, McGrath, Clarke

B: Yeo Merrett Patful
HB: Golby Goose Adcock
FOLL: Longer Moloney Rockliff
C: Mayes Redden Hanley
HF: Zorko Lisle Karnezis
F: Green Brown Leuy
I/C: Polkinghorne, Lester, Black, Raines
Emerg: Crisp, Clarke, Docherty

I would love to see Adcock play in the midfield again, but with Black back :hearts::hearts::hearts::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: he will go back to his defensive post. Lester and Karnezis will be great to see in a team together. I wouldn't mind seeing Patty play across Half Back and Lester on the forward flank, this however is a pipe dream and should take place in the 2's. I would like to see Golby and Hanley rotate off Half Back and the wing. Leuy and Longer should do more of the same. I love seeing Billy get aggro.

BIG game hopefully we can get a win for the jumper, pride, coach and more importantly Panthera will lose our bet and change his name.

GO LIONS!!

It's PFK's Completely Incorrect Prediction Time!

1st Quarter - We'll kick the first goal, and after a lot of seeing and sawing, the first quarter will end in a draw (again)
2nd Quarter - Lions get a bit of momentum happening, and we go into the half-time break 1-2 points up, and everyone celebrates their free Quarter Pounder.
3rd Quarter - PAR-TAY at the expense of the Eagles. Ace to finally click and kick 2-4 goals for the quarter, and have 3-4 more score assists to his name. Most of the BigFooty Lions look like real dopes for ever doubting him
4th Quarter - Bigfooty implosion as the Eagles come back and dominate. We scrape through by 1 point after a dodgy free kick to Rohan Bewick, which he then proceeds to miss.

It's PFK's Completely Incorrect Prediction Time!

1st Quarter - We'll kick the first goal, and after a lot of seeing and sawing, the first quarter will end in a draw (again)
2nd Quarter - Lions get a bit of momentum happening, and we go into the half-time break 1-2 points up, and everyone celebrates their free Quarter Pounder.
3rd Quarter - PAR-TAY at the expense of the Eagles. Ace to finally click and kick 2-4 goals for the quarter, and have 3-4 more score assists to his name. Most of the BigFooty Lions look like real dopes for ever doubting him
4th Quarter - Bigfooty implosion as the Eagles come back and dominate. We scrape through by 1 point after a dodgy free kick to Rohan Bewick, which he then proceeds to miss.
If your predictions were right every week, footy would become an even better sport than it already is ;) .

West Coast aren't in great form at the moment and if we start badly they will be played into form.
No can do. Bulldogs already did that on Sunday.

Like I said in another thread, this game will be won and lost at the selection table.

Rucks: Must play both Longer and Leuenberger. Type of game where Hudson would have been handy.

Mids: Black must return. Shuey must be tagged as he is their most damaging mid at the moment. I wouldn't tag Gaff but would bring in somebody who can play midfield with good foot skills to hurt him on the rebound such as Docherty, or play Redden on him to limit his influence. Maybe Adcock in another defensive midfield role.

Backs: Maguire must play if fit. They've got Darling, Kennedy and a resting ruckman which are three very good talls. I would play Maguire on the ruckman, Merrett on Kennedy and Patfull on Darling. Clarke to have a rest this week.

A winsome preview Tom

For those mathematically inclined.

The task this week requires you to graph – where "x" equals the number of clearances in the first quarter against "y" the probability of a win.

• Show how the impact of early clearances result in goals in the first quarter to reflect how they can actually be worth 2 goals [twelve pts] of scoreboard pressure. Each goal in the remaining quarters reverts back to single goals, unless we are able to score back-to-back goals. (these 12 points are to be reflected as 18 scoreboard pressure points)
  • Show the association to goals if 45% of the possessions are contested and the disposal efficiency is greater than 70%
  • Then using the above graph - write an equation to PROVE what is the minimum amount of goals required in the first quarter, to win.
  • HINT – consider using the information that a goal can be scored with every 5% of your total disposals – given that your conversion rate is > 50% to prove the equation.
Your time starts….. now!

TomFC, another great preview

I think we have a chance. Home game, hopefully hunger, pride and the memory of what happened last time at the GABBA. I am concerned generally on how we start the game. West Coast aren't in great form at the moment and if we start badly they will be played into form.

In: Black, Lisle, Karnezis, Raines, Goose
Out: Paparone, Cornelius, Bewick, McGrath, Clarke

B: Yeo Merrett Patful
HB: Golby Goose Adcock
FOLL: Longer Moloney Rockliff
C: Mayes Redden Hanley
HF: Zorko Lisle Karnezis
F: Green Brown Leuy
I/C: Polkinghorne, Lester, Black, Raines
Emerg: Crisp, Clarke, Docherty

I would love to see Adcock play in the midfield again, but with Black back :hearts::hearts::hearts::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: he will go back to his defensive post. Lester and Karnezis will be great to see in a team together. I wouldn't mind seeing Patty play across Half Back and Lester on the forward flank, this however is a pipe dream and should take place in the 2's. I would like to see Golby and Hanley rotate off Half Back and the wing. Leuy and Longer should do more of the same. I love seeing Billy get aggro.

BIG game hopefully we can get a win for the jumper, pride, coach and more importantly Panthera will lose our bet and change his name.

GO LIONS!!

This game is the only chance you have mate - the six matches after this one will be non-contests :footy:

Best of luck

NN will most likely start this week, IMO anyways (differing opinions on this) but will play more forward I would have thought. Start to increase his workload slightly, which may mean we play three rucks this week. (Sinclair has about two weeks to go before he goes back to the rookie list) I'd take 40 mins of nn than nothing though! He is so crucial for us.

How was/is Sheuy's ankle? Didn't see it myself.

A winsome preview Tom

For those mathematically inclined.

The task this week requires you to graph – where "x" equals the number of clearances in the first quarter against "y" the probability of a win.

• Show how the impact of early clearances result in goals in the first quarter to reflect how they can actually be worth 2 goals [twelve pts] of scoreboard pressure. Each goal in the remaining quarters reverts back to single goals, unless we are able to score back-to-back goals. (these 12 points are to be reflected as 18 scoreboard pressure points)
  • Show the association to goals if 45% of the possessions are contested and the disposal efficiency is greater than 70%
  • Then using the above graph - write an equation to PROVE what is the minimum amount of goals required in the first quarter, to win.
  • HINT – consider using the information that a goal can be scored with every 5% of your total disposals – given that your conversion rate is > 50% to prove the equation.
Your time starts….. now!

Get stuffed teach!

3101109272_3f679f721c.jpg