Autopsy Round 9, 2021: St.Kilda v Geelong *WEBSTER 100TH* *WILKIE 50TH*

Ideally it's just swelling from the plants fascia injury because we can manage than

The fear is it's another hot spot like he had pre season.
They're praying its not a stress fracture

And if it is we just need to write him off this year and get it 100% for next season.
Injuries have really cruelled us this year on top of a shocker of a draw. Hope fully next year fewer injuries and a slightly fairer draw.

The Treloar contract was an absolute dog of a thing and personally I'm not remotely bothered we missed on him.
However the concept that Hanner's contract is preventing us from anything, needs to be put to bed.
We front loated the crap out of his deal, and now he'd be not much more than an average wage.
The culprits are more like JB, Seb, Jones, Kent, Doogs, Robbo, Hill and Jweb who are all on overs.

All but Doogs and Hill will expire this year, and as a couple of posters have already suggested we'll be primed for an big money assault in the next couple of years.

Seldom have the big $$$ trades lived up to expectations either. We should appreciate our position for the moment and look long term...

Having guys like Billings, Dunstan and Webster on big contracts is just as guilty but our list management is pretty poor generally when we have a maxed cap for one finals series in a decade.

Lots of pretty pictures to show a marking contest , just because he is small and there was two of them its not a free , you should know the rules by now , you can take someone's head off with your knee in a marking contest and its not a free

They had their eyes on the footy so it's not a free. No hands in the back either.

Positives instead of negatives, yeah?

Looks like he's getting really good at protecting the space in front of the ball while on the lead

He was amazing with his marking but if he doesn't convert he's like a one armed guitar player, it's a great novelty but you're not buying the album.

Positives instead of negatives, yeah?

Looks like he's getting really good at protecting the space in front of the ball while on the lead

Great low kick from Bytel to Max too

This is obvious mate, but I reckon it's easy for some to overlook how good his hands were looking

It is but this stuff reminds me of the Streak videos we put out. It's like a special achievement award for the kids who come last.

With Marshall having a disrupted year, and probably out for one or two games, they won't drop King. So, I reckon he be played King higher up the ground, keep Battle & Membrey deep. Have Coffield as the swing man (when he gets his confidence back)...at least he played wing at some stage in juniors, can take a grab, and can go back...it can't be worse than the Battle experiment either that...or drop King and put Punter and McKernan in (at least we'll know we're tanking)

Drop King? He’s had 6 shots on goal and taken 10 marks against a premiership favourite. Fickle sainters

I'm guessing the only ones offended are the ones who posted crap, carry on
When you only bother to post just tell everyone how shit you think they are, you come across as a complete knob and offer absolutely nothing to the discussion outside of some bizarre, arrogant backhander to the whole board.

carry on.

something I can’t understand is with this new standing the mark rule , we seem to be the only team who does utilise it. From what I’ve seen the best teams have been getting off the mark quick smart and giving themselves heaps of space. It seems like our guys just take one step back and stand there. It’s infuriating. Like cmon case in point James Frawley in the fourth quarter when he has his kick smothered leading to one of their first two goals. With the rule written the way it is there should be no time where a kick gets smothered.

For clarity I’m not suggesting we drop him to Sandy. I’m suggesting we give him a week off. Let him get out of his own head for a minute.

I don’t think they will and I’m happy to back the match comittee as they know more about his temperament than I do but I hope it’s considered. His confidence would be lower than shark shit right now.

Also the Lonie one could have been chopping the arms or high contact but I’m happy wit it not being paid, made no difference anyway, we got the ball because of his courage.

something I can’t understand is with this new standing the mark rule , we seem to be the only team who does utilise it. From what I’ve seen the best teams have been getting off the mark quick smart and giving themselves heaps of space. It seems like our guys just take one step back and stand there. It’s infuriating. Like cmon case in point James Frawley in the fourth quarter when he has his kick smothered leading to one of their first two goals. With the rule written the way it is there should be no time where a kick gets smothered.
Unless you get too close to the man on the mark. Which he did.

Umpires have SWRIOUSLY relaxed the rule. The chip smother means the bloke absolutely moved to smother it. Week 1 he probably gets a 50.

That rule was always going to evolve through the year.

When you only bother to post just tell everyone how sh*t you think they are, you come across as a complete knob and offer absolutely nothing to the discussion outside of some bizarre, arrogant backhander to the whole board.

carry on.
Not the Whole board is melting, most including me did not give us a chance against the cats , the fact that we should have nearly won and stuffed it up is no reason to go off tap IMO
But you feel free to do so if it helps

For clarity I’m not suggesting we drop him to Sandy. I’m suggesting we give him a week off. Let him get out of his own head for a minute.

I don’t think they will and I’m happy to back the match comittee as they know more about his temperament than I do but I hope it’s considered. His confidence would be lower than shark sh*t right now.

Also the Lonie one could have been chopping the arms or high contact but I’m happy wit it not being paid, made no difference anyway, we got the ball because of his courage.
IMO club gets around him, plays him at FF he takes 10 marks again and kicks 6 goals 1point and we win

He will win us many games over the next few years

Autopsy Round 9, 2021: St.Kilda v Geelong *WEBSTER 100TH* *WILKIE 50TH*