Round 9 v Port: Pre-Match Discussion

So far the outs from round two are:

Sydney Out: Grundy, Tiger, Hall, Barlow
Sydney In: Mal, Everitt, Playfair with at least 1 more to be added

Those seem to be pretty fair additions to me. Also Goodes, Amon and LRT are playing much better footy than they were in the early rounds. So I'm confident about our chances for this game.

Something which might make a difference for us is the Jolly Spida. Last time we played Port we were making do with LRT in the centre. And in the first 6 rounds with this makeshift ruck we averaged 32.5 centre clearances a game.
In the last 2 rounds with Jolly Spida in the middle we've averaged 42.5 centre clearances. And I believe having 2 ruckman is part of that improvement.

It all got lost in the wash, but our duo absolutely spanked Hille and Laycock. And Hille was probably the form ruckman of the comp in the first month this year. Not only is Jolly in career best form, but Spida came out of his shell after a scratchy first game for us and ended up with 26 HO and really gave us something around the ground. This will all be handy against Lade and Brogan.

I don't think LRT is very good, and he hasn't been good all year. Hasn't got any better in my eyes.

Our lacklustre season last year had a lot to do with LRT's absence. And I'm not sure many have paid that enough credence. Our structure is much better with him in it.

He's doing his job. And he is playing in the defence where he should be which is an improvement in itself. We don't have many players on our list that can do the sort of jobs he does for us week in week out. And he's tough as a coffin nail as that return from the bench after being knocked out last week showed. Personally I'm very happy to see him back in the side as a regular. And the longer he's there the better he'll get.

Our lacklustre season last year had a lot to do with LRT's absence. And I'm not sure many have paid that enough credence. Our structure is much better with him in it.

He's doing his job. And he is playing in the defence where he should be which is an improvement in itself. We don't have many players on our list that can do the sort of jobs he does for us week in week out. And he's tough as a coffin nail as that return from the bench after being knocked out last week showed. Personally I'm very happy to see him back in the side as a regular. And the longer he's there the better he'll get.

Exactly right Tuco.

In fact I think we can attribute Leo's resurgence this season to LRT's inclusion in the backline. Let's also not forget that LRT missed a lot of footy last season at a stage where he is still not only developing his skills and physical attributes but also still learning the game of Aussie rules, being a late starter.

He'll only get better from here on in as he gains both fitness and confidence. I still have a lot of faith in him.

LRT is doing exactly what we need him to do, and still has so much improvement
he is not going to rack up stats or be a jarrod waite-type CHB, and who'd want him to be a flashy athlete type who goes missing against the more physical forwards?
but the best gauge, as far as i'm concerned, is the form of leo, ted and bolton, c since LRT has been back in the side
teddy is surely in career-best form, there's something quite imposing about the way he's playing at the moment, he's taken a step up
and as i said in votes on last week's game, leo's playing better this season than he has since 05, and is running the ball with so much more confidence
i reckon this has heaps to do with the having LRT at the heart of the defence

Brennan sucks, if he comes back in I will be filthy. Barlow for sure (I hope!)

Has it been a month yet, when is Davis back? :p

i wouldn't be sweating on davo being rushed back
with playfair improving, micky o finding some form, and the likes of moore, buchanan, mcveigh et al, and with baz back in 3 weeks, how would we squeeze davis back in?

i wouldn't be sweating on davo being rushed back
with playfair improving, micky o finding some form, and the likes of moore, buchanan, mcveigh et al, and with baz back in 3 weeks, how would we squeeze davis back in?
If he plays well enough, there'll be a spot for him in the team.

Hmm. It seems like every game we get a troll who has no idea how hard we make it to score. you should be happy if you even score 80pts against us, mate. :rolleyes:

If Port can break the 100 point barrier then we'll win if you go by previous games. Saying that though we have only ever kicked 100 points or more against you guys around about 5 times in 16 games :eek: so it's not looking good. But in the games we kicked over 100 points we won all but one of them

Care to put a hundred on that? I need some easy money.

Nah the TAb usually gets my money :D

i dont see why swans fans on here make so many excuses for LRT. hes learning the game.. hes been injured.. he contributes alot more than people realise blah blah blah.
hes played 82 senior games and has been playing since 14yro, enough time to learn the game.
hes constantly injured which makes me think he may not be physically rugged enough for AFL footy and he hasnt played a good game in over 2 years. face it he is only in the team because of his height. and height alone does not make a good KPP.

i dont see why swans fans on here make so many excuses for LRT. hes learning the game.. hes been injured.. he contributes alot more than people realise blah blah blah.
hes played 82 senior games and has been playing since 14yro, enough time to learn the game.
hes constantly injured which makes me think he may not be physically rugged enough for AFL footy and he hasnt played a good game in over 2 years. face it he is only in the team because of his height. and height alone does not make a good KPP.

So, we drop him and send him back to the ressies.. then who does the job? LRT adds alot to our structure.. yes, because he is tall. If someone better comes along then yeah, drop LRT.. but right now we don't have that option. LRT is better then having no one..

The thing about he is always injured though? Since when.. he had 1 injury? It lasted from round 20 of 2006 till about mid 2007. I can't remember him getting injured before that much?

Constantly injured? Care to back that up? He had one long term injury but that's it as far as I can remember.

What do you expect of LRT? He is not a dashing, run off half back type so he is not going to get much recognition from people who don't fully undertsand the game. LRT is given a role each week and for mine is doing a good job and I believe by the end of the year will be doing a very good job.

He is not having bags of goals kicked on him and has been spoiling well when required.

LRT is a vital link. Watch him CLOSELY over the next few weeks. Rate him on the role that he does - not on stats and run and I think you will see that he is more valuable than alot of people realise

Hasn't played a good game in two years? He's only played 10 games since the Grand final in 2006. And in 2006 before he was injured in the last third of the season (and he played on with those injuries without missing a game BTW) he was racking up pb's and career best totals all over the shop. In one patch there he beat Brown and Richardson in consecutive weeks.

You're right that height alone doesn't make a good KPP. But he also has strength, an effective spoil, and can take a mark. Plus I'm yet to see a heavy hit take him out of a game, and he's copped plenty of them.

Hasn't played a good game in two years? He's only played 10 games since the Grand final in 2006. And in 2006 before he was injured in the last third of the season (and he played on with those injuries without missing a game BTW) he was racking up pb's and career best totals all over the shop. In one patch there he beat Brown and Richardson in consecutive weeks.

You're right that height alone doesn't make a good KPP. But he also has strength, an effective spoil, and can take a mark. Plus I'm yet to see a heavy hit take him out of a game, and he's copped plenty of them.

and LRT was also one of our best 3-4 (okay, that's not saying much) against c'wood in the finals loss, after having fck-all preparation and coming off a season-long injury

Round 9 v Port: Pre-Match Discussion