Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Funny thing is, everyone thinks he's a "good bloke" because he speaks well into the microphone. As the saying goes "don't judge a book by it's cover"
No, much better to judge him based on a stranger’s narrative on the internet.

Well unless that's made up, it's pretty poor.
Not disagreeing but it’s still one person’s lived experience on one day.

Just pointing out that it’s as foolish to define someone by what is said about them in this thread as it is to define them by how well they brownnose in acceptance speeches. Though I must admit most of the anecdotes through the thread appear to be pretty reliably narrated.

My sister-in-law is mad Pies supporter and her favourite player was Darcy Moore. He was at NBL game sitting in front of her and my brother near courtside. At the end of a quarter, she said "hello" to him. He said to her "go on, take your selfie and then f*ck off!" She didn't want a selfie and was disgusted. Just said to him "I'm good, thank you!" Her favourite player is now Charlie Curnow.

things that didn't happen
I'd believe it. In addition to the multiple accounts of Moore being rude already in the thread, someone I know saw him in a pub and congratulated him after he was drafted. He didn't acknowledge it and just went on about how she was clearly underage and shouldn't be in the pub. It was a long time ago and he should've grown up since then, but she said he was a real arseh*le.

From the ages of 10 to about 16 I met most Geelong players through school teachers who were Geelong footballers and my best mates old man who used to have a few of them around their place on a regular basis for a bbq and a beer. Most were pretty good when you were that age.

When I was older, 18+

Barry Stoneham and Simon O'Donnell = flogs

Brownless, Enright, Spiro Malakellis, Chris Hemley = legends

When Sydney played in the 1995 gf, I crashed their end of season celebrations at the Aussie Rules Club in King's Cross and had a huge night with them, I was mates with Wade Chapman from Geelong. I can't remember any flogs it was a ripping night had by all.
Stoneham is the definition of flog.

Best AFL 'blokes' I have met. Adam Cooney is kind and will talk to anyone. Sicily is a great person.

Scarlett by far the worst

Not so much overall rude, but two of the rudest moments from players are:

Chris Judd. In what world does a captain leave his club? A supposed leader of the club abandons it.

Daisy Thomas. Leaves for Carlton after telling supporters "Some people could have egg on their face if I sign tomorrow and a lot of kids will have to pull their 13 jumpers out of the bin."

Not so much overall rude, but two of the rudest moments from players are:

Chris Judd. In what world does a captain leave his club? A supposed leader of the club abandons it.
There's been a few over the years, for many and varied reasons:

Alex Jesaulenko (Carlton) to St Kilda

Ron Barassi (Melbourne) to Carlton

Chris Judd (West Coast) to Carlton

Ben Cousins (West Coast) to Richmond

Des Tuddenham (Collingwood) to Essendon

Des Tuddenham (Essendon) to Collingwood

Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn) to West Coast

Doug Hawkins (Footscray) to Fitzroy

Luke Ball (St Kilda) to Collingwood

Leigh Colbert (Geelong) to North Melbourne

Paul Roos (Fitzroy) to Sydney

Jeff Hogg (Richmond) to Fitzroy

Ryan Griffen (Western Bulldogs) to GWS

Mark Williams (Collingwood) to Brisbane Bears

Steven King (Geelong) to St Kilda

Barry Davis (Essendon) to North Melbourne

Andrew Bews (Geelong) to Brisbane Bears

Mark Mickan (Brisbane Bears) to Adelaide

Jim Edmond (Footscray) to Sydney

Damian Bourke (Geelong) to Brisbane Bears

Richard Osborne (Fitzroy) to Sydney

Matt Rendell (Fitzroy) to Brisbane Bears

Bryan Wood (Richmond) to Essendon

Stan Alves (Melbourne) to North Melbourne

Doug Wade (Geelong) to North Melbourne

Les Foote (North Melbourne) to St Kilda

Dan Minogue (Collingwood) to Richmond

Dan Minogue (Richmond) to Hawthorn

Luke Hodge (Hawthorn) to Brisbane Lions*

Gary Ablett (Gold Coast) to Geelong**

There's been a few over the years, for many and varied reasons:

Alex Jesaulenko (Carlton) to St Kilda

Ron Barassi (Melbourne) to Carlton

Chris Judd (West Coast) to Carlton

Ben Cousins (West Coast) to Richmond

Des Tuddenham (Collingwood) to Essendon

Des Tuddenham (Essendon) to Collingwood

Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn) to West Coast

Doug Hawkins (Footscray) to Fitzroy

Luke Ball (St Kilda) to Collingwood

Leigh Colbert (Geelong) to North Melbourne

Paul Roos (Fitzroy) to Sydney

Jeff Hogg (Richmond) to Fitzroy

Ryan Griffen (Western Bulldogs) to GWS

Mark Williams (Collingwood) to Brisbane Bears

Steven King (Geelong) to St Kilda

Barry Davis (Essendon) to North Melbourne

Andrew Bews (Geelong) to Brisbane Bears

Mark Mickan (Brisbane Bears) to Adelaide

Jim Edmond (Footscray) to Sydney

Damian Bourke (Geelong) to Brisbane Bears

Richard Osborne (Fitzroy) to Sydney

Matt Rendell (Fitzroy) to Brisbane Bears

Bryan Wood (Richmond) to Essendon

Stan Alves (Melbourne) to North Melbourne

Doug Wade (Geelong) to North Melbourne

Les Foote (North Melbourne) to St Kilda

Dan Minogue (Collingwood) to Richmond

Dan Minogue (Richmond) to Hawthorn

Luke Hodge (Hawthorn) to Brisbane Lions*

Gary Ablett (Gold Coast) to Geelong**

Slim that list to players who left while they were the captain

My sister-in-law is mad Pies supporter and her favourite player was Darcy Moore. He was at NBL game sitting in front of her and my brother near courtside. At the end of a quarter, she said "hello" to him. He said to her "go on, take your selfie and then f*ck off!" She didn't want a selfie and was disgusted. Just said to him "I'm good, thank you!" Her favourite player is now Charlie Curnow.
He came into my partners' work as he is friends with her old boss and she said he is a dickhead

Nicest would probably be Tony Modra when I was a kid, As an adult Rhett biglands , met him at a couple of unwritten law concerts and he was really nice. Ben Hudson met him at a night club and he hung around us for a couple of hours, think he had the hots for my mates sister and ended up ducking out and leaving his mate with us when he wasn't getting anywhere with her lol.

Rudest would be a tie with Dunstall and Doug Hawkins. Met them at the Adelaide casino and it didn't go great lol. Dougies "persona" is all fake and he's a flog imho. Dunstalls atleast known for hating the general public lol.

And went to school with Shaun Burgoyne and was friends with him, played footy and basketball and talked footy all the time. No port team in the afl so he was a mad crows supporter as well but his brother was playing for port in the SANFL then.

The late great Neil Kerley was so incredibly nice to me as a youngster at Princes Park before a game in the late '90s. We sat next to the Umpires Race in the Social Club and he'd give me a wink and a big smile at the end of every quarter (I told him we'd smash the Crows!).

Dermott Brereton is another one. We were at a Christmas event for youngsters and he was with his kids but gave every single person the time of day that went up to him. Equally high praise for Kevin Sheedy at a family event.

Fevola was the GOAT with fans of all ages. Ed Curnow equally impressive - genuinely had tears in his eyes apologising to me after losing to the Dogs in '13 at Etihad in a boilover.

Marc Murphy and Peter Dean were pure pricks.

Nicest would probably be Tony Modra when I was a kid, As an adult Rhett biglands , met him at a couple of unwritten law concerts and he was really nice. Ben Hudson met him at a night club and he hung around us for a couple of hours, think he had the hots for my mates sister and ended up ducking out and leaving his mate with us when he wasn't getting anywhere with her lol.

Rudest would be a tie with Dunstall and Doug Hawkins. Met them at the Adelaide casino and it didn't go great lol. Dougies "persona" is all fake and he's a flog imho. Dunstalls atleast known for hating the general public lol.

And went to school with Shaun Burgoyne and was friends with him, played footy and basketball and talked footy all the time. No port team in the afl so he was a mad crows supporter as well but his brother was playing for port in the SANFL then.
I met Doug about 3 years ago and he was terrific.

Nice guy story - I went to boarding school with Drew Banfield, he is 2 years my senior, (and his older brother, who is 2 years older again).
He was always fair to us younger blokes, unlike a number of his peers, and after he left, I was obviously quite excited to see him get picked up by West Coast in 1992 as their No.1 draft pick.

I left school & returned to Bunbury, and would tell anyone that would listen about "my mate" Drew Banfield 🤣
One night I was at the pub, The Prince, and a mate came up to me saying, "hey you know how you reakon you're mates with Drew Banfield?, well he's sitting over there"..
Not sure what sort of a reaction I was going to get, I wandered nervously up to say hi. (with everyone watching :grimacing:)
Here is this guy who has just won the 1994 Premiership, and he just starts picking my brain on what I have been doing since leaving school. After a good little chat, i returned to my group with a smile on my face like a split watermelon!

A few years on from this I saw him again with the team on a night out in Scarborough, I think it was at the Lookout. I happened to be alongside him at the bar getting a drink, so I gave him a nod, and the first thing he said was "G'day mate, how is the the Primary Teaching going?"

Truly one of the good guys, and what a career, picked up in 1992 as the number 1 draft pick, works his way into the side to be part of the 1994 Premiership, and keeps it together for another 12 years to finish with the 2006 Premiership :muscle:

He's always struck me as an introvert, which often times gets taken as arrogance by people with a lack of maturity.

As you say, he's eccentric, and in a country like this (particularly playing a sport like footy) you're going to be branded as a weirdo through no fault of your own.

Some just can't wrap their heads around those who skew from the typical 'blokey' culture of footy, which seems to be Fyfe's way from what I've seen of him.

The Bob Murphy interview with him is a classic example. He appears to be a really deep thinker - at least by sportsmen standards - and that can come off as pretentious to those who haven't been around people like that.
His interview on the Howie Games podcast really changed my opinion of him, does seem like a good guy who is misunderstood.

I met Doug about 3 years ago and he was terrific.

Well it was him Dunstall and a 3rd big name at the Adelaide casino who I forget cos I was pretty drunk at the time lol. I am prepared to say I may not have put my best foot forward. I saw Dunstall and just went up and said "Jason!" And he sort of turned his back to me and I saw Hawkins so I started yelling "DOUGIEEEE!!!" and he turned his back on me then the trio sort of formed an impenetrable triangle 🤣 I just yelled "DOUGIEEEE!!" for a bit more and they let me tucker myself out which in hindsight was pretty nice of them lol.

So yeah, they weren't talking to anyone no matter what but my shenanigans certainly didn't help. Over 10 years sober now so there's that. And I can't stand drunk people. The irony.

• Encountered Nick Dal Santo once in lift of all places. He initiated conversation and seemed a genuinely nice guy.
  • Worked in a hotel many years ago and Javed Miandad helped me make his own bed lol. Found him to be a friendly bloke who enjoyed a chat.

Can confirm Darcy Moore is not approachable.

My colleague's young adult daughter kindly asked him for a photo with him whilst at a pub in October and he said no to her in no uncertain terms.

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?