Rugby League vs AFL

Gotta agree with Dan here, I don't know why anyone would go to the trouble of bagging a Rugby League supporter on this site.

Commonsense is that someone who follows another code, any sporting code for that matter, is far more likely to watch, and take an interest in Aussie Rules than someone from the 50% of the population who dislike sport.

Originally posted by Dan26

By the way mate, there is no reason why you can't support both codes.

As a Sydney sider, you should be supporting you locla NRL team, the Swans the Sydney Kings and one of the Soccer teams that plays out of Sydney.

Well, I support the Kings, the Spirit, the Swans, and the Eels (by the way, not all us Parra supporters are as narrow-minded as slippery eel). And I added another one to the list last night - went to the netball ;-) no really, it was pretty good. Couldn't barrack properly though.. was a bit out of place screaming "call that an effort perth? you're rubbish!!!" amongst all the families and 10-year old girls. Go swifties! :D

Anyway. Where was I? what's wrong with supporting more than one sport? League players are going to be stronger, better at tackling and have better endurance in tackling situations. ARF players will be fitter, have better kicking skills and be more athletic. Soccer players will have better skills with the round ball.

so? everyone get over it and be thankful if you're open-minded enough to appreciate each sport for what it offers.

Originally posted by Desredandwhite

Well, I support the Kings, the Spirit, the Swans, and the Eels (by the way, not all us Parra supporters are as narrow-minded as slippery eel). And I added another one to the list last night - went to the netball ;-) no really, it was pretty good. Couldn't barrack properly though.. was a bit out of place screaming "call that an effort perth? you're rubbish!!!" amongst all the families and 10-year old girls. Go swifties! :D

Anyway. Where was I? what's wrong with supporting more than one sport? League players are going to be stronger, better at tackling and have better endurance in tackling situations. ARF players will be fitter, have better kicking skills and be more athletic. Soccer players will have better skills with the round ball.

so? everyone get over it and be thankful if you're open-minded enough to appreciate each sport for what it offers.

yeah but the whole point is that man shouldnt have wrote that idiotic letter.

Originally posted by Goku

yeah but the whole point is that man shouldnt have wrote that idiotic letter.

well, you're never going to be able to convince someone else that they're wrong, even if they are. my point is that you shouldn't reply to trolls, or even go on about it.

um. maybe I'll stop posting inthis topic then ;-)

You guys have no idea sometimes.

Man you guys down south have no ideas what it's like being a NSW AFL fan.

I had to put up with ****ers like this all day everyday in high school.

Funny thing was win the Swannies started killing em in 96 a few of em would stop bagging me for following AFL but for which team I followed (which is not the swans).

These guys just feel threatened and can't handle that AFL is more popular nation wide.

League is not really my cuppa tea, but you don't see me bagging the **** out of league at every oppertunity like these ****ers do to us.

they need to get over em selves. If they want to follow rugby league then good for them, if we want to follow afl, soccer or tennis then bloody good for us and lets just leave it at that.

Personally these other sports have nothing on the Footy and i shall continue to follow it for the rest of my life.

Go Blues!

Growing up in canberra rugby league v aussie rules v rugby is a never ending debate as all 3 are fairly popular, as a kid --teenager i used to hate league with a passion but as i ve matured i reckon each to his-her own and can see some good points in it and the players are pretty gutsy or gladitorial. But IT is really a pretty dull game IMO

But league is dying a slow painful death for a number of reasons.
1. Rugby union has now gone professional
2. As a parent and i am --- i wouldnt let my kids play it as i consider it too dangerous
3. AFL is attempting to ( somewhat sucessfully) to infiltrate its player base at a junior level in NSW,QLD and i dont see league doing the same in VIC, SA, etc
4. The news limited fiasco
5. People arent stupid -- the reason the AFL gets more fans, players, money etc etc etc is because it is simply a better game for players and spectators alike ( although players who have got in G Abletts way would disagree).
6. See 4
7. Is it possible that the morons running it got promoted from the NSL or are they disgraced NSW coppers-- or both

Originally posted by slippery eel
Don't be stupid like most AFL commentators, who think that Rugby League only attracts crowds of 5,000 to their games!. I'll never forget the day Nth Melbourne played a game at the SCG against another Melbourne team where it attracted a crowd of only 6,000. The AFL commentators replied with...."the Rugby League would die for a crowd like this".

A good rugby league crowd is 20,000 - 25,000. Very rarely does RL only attract 5,000. A poor RL crowd would be just under 10,000. OK the AFL do get big crowds but everybody knows that Victorians are famous for jumping on the bandwagon ie the Melbourne Storm in 1999. Also, just like with the tennis and grand prix down there !.

Last years NRL grand final between Parramatta and Newcastle had more viewers on T.V than Essendon V Brisbane. And you claim to have a national sport more than RL ?. PPPFFFFTTTT

Total bollocks, the AFL grand final was only outrated last year by the Wimbledon final and (ashamedly) 2 Big Brother episodes. The Rugby Grand final came in about 9th for the year. This was despite the NRL being in the very ratings friendly spot on Sunday night, whereas the AFL was in the traditional ratings wasteland of Saturday afternoon. Had the AFL been on Sunday night or even Saturday night, no doubt the ratings would have been much higher.

By the way, you'll find that Victorians never jumped on the Melbourne Storm bandwagon. Their crowds were pathetic to begin with, they were still hopeless when they won the premiership, they were comical when they moved to Colonial last year, and not surprisingly, they are utterly laughable now. From all reports they are followed almost exclusively by NSW and Queensland expats (and probably only those who have seen their old team either merged or destroyed - which is most of them).

Originally posted by slippery eel

Rugby League will always be more supported in Sydney than AFL. The other weekend the swans attracted 24,052 to the game against the Lions, whereas RL attracted almost 80,000 people to games in Sydney. OK, there was only 1 AFL game against 5 NRL games, but Aussie Rules is really only popular in Sydney's eastern suburbs. In the western suburbs where the mighty Eels are from AFL has zero support.

Believe me - if Rugby League had teams from Adelaide and Perth like they used too, we could rival AFL for the most supported code quite easily. Just thank your lucky stars that the people who run RL are quite stupid.

If I had too pick an Aussie Rules side too support it would be Essendon !. [/B]

oic... strange but from memory, the Adelaide Rams and Western reds were killed off due to a ummm... lack of support and financial viability? Can't say much about the western surburbs of sydney :) people are alittle feral out that neck of the woods :D

Dan26..

Originally posted by Dan26

By the way mate, there is no reason why you can't support both codes.

As a Sydney sider, you should be supporting you locla NRL team, the Swans the Sydney Kings and one of the Soccer teams that plays out of Sydney.

Yeah, but who else on here supports other footy codes as well...very few, all they do is rubbish league or union or soccer...bunch of brainwashed dead****s:D :D :D

Rob..

Originally posted by Rob

By the way, you'll find that Victorians never jumped on the Melbourne Storm bandwagon. Their crowds were pathetic to begin with, they were still hopeless when they won the premiership, they were comical when they moved to Colonial last year, and not surprisingly, they are utterly laughable now. From all reports they are followed almost exclusively by NSW and Queensland expats (and probably only those who have seen their old team either merged or destroyed - which is most of them).

Another moron! Who does not know his facts!

And pray tell me the crowd attendance at Swans and Bears games when they were 4 years in existence in their states..idiot!!

As far as the support for the Storm is here in Melbourne...its pretty good according to League standards..and you are again wrong about the people who follow the Storm...some are ex-pats, but most are just normal Melb. people...and MANY MANY MANY OF THEM also have a afl team and have the sense to understand that you don't have to be brainwashed into thinking that afl is the be all end all of footy codes!.

:mad:

Re: Rob..

Originally posted by Ms.Storm

Another moron! Who does not know his facts!

And pray tell me the crowd attendance at Swans and Bears games when they were 4 years in existence in their states..idiot!!

As far as the support for the Storm is here in Melbourne...its pretty good according to League standards..and you are again wrong about the people who follow the Storm...some are ex-pats, but most are just normal Melb. people...and MANY MANY MANY OF THEM also have a afl team and have the sense to understand that you don't have to be brainwashed into thinking that afl is the be all end all of footy codes!.

:mad:

The Swans and Bears had sh*t attendances when they had a sh*t team. The team wins games, the attendances improve dramatically. When the Swans were going through a reasonable patch in the mid 80's, their crowds were reasonable (which can partly be put down to marketing by Edelsten). But even when the Swans won about 4 straight wooden spoons, their crowds still averaged just under 10,000.
The Storm? Let's see.
First year, crowds were crap.
Won a premiership, crowds were crap.
Moved to Colonial, crowds were crap.
This year, surprise surprise, crowds are crap.
And in every year, they have been competitive at the least., and AFAIK, they have made the finals more often than not. Imagine the crowds if they were as woeful as the late 80's Bears! Struggle to get 3,000 I would suspect.

And if many many many people that follow an AFL team also follow the Storm, where the hell are they? You can't get 9,000 people to a game and claim that. Its blatantly obvious that very few people that follow AFL sides also follow the Storm, because it's blatantly obvious that very few people actually follow the Storm to begin with!

BTW, i'm not 'brainwashed' into thinking that the AFL is the only footy code in the world. I don't mind a good game of Rugby Union (as opposed to the last World Cup final, which is probably the most boring piece of sport of all time), I can sometimes watch a high level soccer match, but I do think Rugby league is nothing more than a morons game for people with no concentration span. That's not being brainwashed, that has come as a result of watching games and being completely and utterly bored sh*tless.

Stop mixing Rugby with League, they are two very different games played by different people. Rugby has been around for a bloody long time and is the worlds second largest sport behind soccer. The Bledislo cup draws sell out crowds every year (yes, even in Melbourne), and the world cup is the 3rd largest sporting event in the world, behind the olympics and the soccer world cup. The provincial Super 12 tournament draws large crowds (20,000 + here in Aus and NZ, limited by ground capcity, and 50,000+ in SA because they have huge grounds) week in week out. Don't throw Rugby in with League, as the GPS Rugby comp (schoolboy) draws 10000 people to its games some weeks. I still like league, and I like AFL, but don't mix up the two codes.
Oh yeah Paul Kelly started out playing League.

Let me introduce myself to the debate. I am currently living in Melbourne, and have lived here all my life, having followed both codes.

I was originally an AFL follower until I went to a friend's house and showed me a game on TV. Only problem was there was no Melbourne team. Then in 1998, guess what? Melbourne gets a team! I went to the very first game against Norths and loved it. Eventually my interests in league took over from the AFL.

Let me do my best to be fair to both sports. Rugby league is more exciting, tougher, and there are alot more skills. AFL players will always be better kickers because that's all they do. We've seen at least twice in recent years the Storm collaberating with the Bombers to share skills. Storm players teach tackling, and Don players give kicking lessons. Whereas in AFL it's just plain kicking the hell out of the ball. The only thing it really has going for it is the huge crowds at games. It's plain boredom watching it on TV.

Yes, the AFL DOES get bigger crowds to it's games. But you have to realise that this is primarily because watching it on TV is crap. NRL crowds aren't as big because it's a good TV sport.

Who said that rugby league is too dangerous at junior level? All games are played by the Safeplay code and it is just as dangerous as playing AFL, soccer, tennis or any other sport. Those who have this perception are sorely deceived.

AFL cannot claim to be the number one sport in Australia. This mantle is held by.....rugby league. You are astounded. Look at the simple facts. The population of Queensland, New South Wales and the ACT is over 60% of the entire national population. Simple, really. They even have to BRIBE the Courier Mail in Queensland to write articles about the AFL.

Rugby league is not dying. AFL would have to be closer, with 6 clubs struggling financially. The Roos and my former beloved Western Bulldogs will all be culled within 5 years, while the 2001 premiers, Brisbane, MADE A LOSS!

Storm's crowds are quite good considering rugby league is a VERY good TV sport, when compared to AFL and the fact that it gets no coverage in Melbourne due to some idiots in the media. An average of just under 15,000 in a state where the game is in it's 5th years is acceptable.

As for our World Cup - at least we have one. We've got countries such as Ireland, Scotland, England, Wales, Fiji, Samoa, Cook Islands, NZ, Australia, Lebanon, Russia plus a few other teams and a separate emerging nations cups for nations that aren't quite up to par and are still developing like the U.S. You can't tell me the AFL have better internationals - and please don't go on about those bull**** All-Australian jerseys.

While I'm at it, let me set something straight. The AFL fans are completely one-eyed and refuse to acknowledge any other sport. Do you expect fans of other sports to be happy about that? I find it ironic that Melbourne is constantly dubbed the "Sports Capital".

Both sports have high enough popularity to both exist. Why can't both sides just accept that?

Originally posted by Latrobe
Both sports have high enough popularity to both exist. Why can't both sides just accept that?

Because Aussie Rules is played by highly-skilled athletes and is Australia's No.1 attended & watched sport, while both Thugby codes are for no-necked, no-talent bum sniffers and is watched bycrowds that even Tasmanian's would be ashamed of.

Originally posted by Magpie Miracle

Because Aussie Rules is played by highly-skilled athletes and is Australia's No.1 attended & watched sport, while both Thugby codes are for no-necked, no-talent bum sniffers and is watched bycrowds that even Tasmanian's would be ashamed of.
Thus the reason that Rugby Union is the worlds second largest sport, and the Bledislo cup draws more spectators than the AFL grand final and currently holds the record for the largest football crowd in the history of this country. It also draws a sellout crowd everytime it is played here in Melbourne at the MCG. It draws 2.5 million viewers. Not as many as the AFL Grandfinal you say! Well that is because it recieves no where near the amount of promotion that the AFL grandfinal recieves, plus it doesn't have 25 weeks buildup such as the AFL grand final does, and it is played twice a year. The Super 12 tournament, as I said, draws large crowds (20, 000 plus, limited by ground size) each week, and recieves no where near the promotion as AFL does here. If you have ever been to the northern states you will notice that next to no one gives a **** about AFL, and will follow there respective teams only if they are doing well. Take the Swans for instance. Sydney siders (in general) have no idea how the game works, and only watch it if the Swanies are going well, simply because they like to win.
By the way, I like AFL and follow it closely, but I'm just stating it like it is.

Originally posted by Latrobe
Let me introduce myself to the debate. I am currently living in Melbourne, and have lived here all my life, having followed both codes.
AFL cannot claim to be the number one sport in Australia. This mantle is held by.....rugby league. You are astounded. Look at the simple facts. The population of Queensland, New South Wales and the ACT is over 60% of the entire national population. Simple, really. They even have to BRIBE the Courier Mail in Queensland to write articles about the AFL.

Thought i would just add a note here... The Courier Mail (Owned by News Limited) Own the Brisbane Broncos.

Originally posted by The Power Guy

Thus the reason that Rugby Union is the worlds second largest sport, and the Bledislo cup draws more spectators than the AFL grand final and currently holds the record for the largest football crowd in the history of this country. It also draws a sellout crowd everytime it is played here in Melbourne at the MCG. It draws 2.5 million viewers. Not as many as the AFL Grandfinal you say! Well that is because it recieves no where near the amount of promotion that the AFL grandfinal recieves, plus it doesn't have 25 weeks buildup such as the AFL grand final does, and it is played twice a year. The Super 12 tournament, as I said, draws large crowds (20, 000 plus, limited by ground size) each week, and recieves no where near the promotion as AFL does here. If you have ever been to the northern states you will notice that next to no one gives a **** about AFL, and will follow there respective teams only if they are doing well. Take the Swans for instance. Sydney siders (in general) have no idea how the game works, and only watch it if the Swanies are going well, simply because they like to win.

By the way, I like AFL and follow it closely, but I'm just stating it like it is.

So you are just a thugby person who has jumped on Brissie's bandwagon , make mental note to take no notice of anything this thugby supporter says.

Rugby Union is about the 20th most popular sport, and is in fact only about twice as popular as Aussie rules world wide.
Its the No.1 sport in only one country....New Zealand. In Most others its a minow. Australia are "world" champs and its our 4th most popular football code.
The entire southern hemisphere TV rights only went for $100mill p.a - same as the AFL rights. And the Southern Hemisphere is much more into rugby than the Northern hemisphere.

Even in RU's strongest market in Australia, Sydney, the swans out-crowd and out-rate on TV the Super 12. Rugby cant even make it onto FTA television in Sydney at all. Swans are in prime time on Saturday.

AFL has the largest football crowd in Australian history. Sometime in the seventies when they oversold grounds at 120,000. RU has to give away tickets to fill their games.

Thus the reason that Rugby Union is the worlds second largest sport, and the Bledislo cup draws more spectators than the AFL grand final and currently holds the record for the largest football crowd in the history of this country.
dribble.........lies.......bull****...........crap......typical thugby ignorance..........blah....blah.....blah.....blah.........

hahahahahahahahhahaaahahahahahahahaahhahahahahahahaahaahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaah

*** Did you just make up that to see if you could get us to believe it?

Re: Dan26..

Yeah, but who else on here supports other footy codes as well...very few, all they do is rubbish league or union or soccer...bunch of brainwashed dead****s:D :D :D

I for one hate Rugby League and nothing anyone says will convince me otherwise. Its not taht im brainwashed....i just find it terribly boring. I love Rugby Union...i reckon its a fantastic sport and one of my goals is to go to a Bledisloe cup match and/or World Cup game featuring the Aussies. I enjoy soccer too. But i hate League...it bores the crap outta me.

Re: Dan26..

I wonder why that is, maybe because this is an Aussie Rules site, how many people on the thugby & soccer sites support Aussie Rules, they do the same thing rubbish Aussie Rules, guess they are brainwashed dead****s as well.

Also we only discuss other codes when interlopers come in here & say their game is better than ours, or we should like their game as well, when we clearly don't want to.

A tip Ms Storm, talk about Aussie Rules here, talk about your thugby & soccer teams on their sites.