Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay - Wonnangatta *Pilot Greg Lynn Pleads Not Guilty to Murder

MOD NOTICE

This case is sub judice as under consideration by the courts. Sub judice contempt can occur if information is published that may be prejudicial to the court proceedings.

Please do not state as fact that which is opinion. Also, use 'IMO' and 'allegedly' a lot.

Rules - Updated Crime Board Rules - READ BEFORE POSTING

General Information The BigFooty Crime board is a community that fosters discussion on current and past crimes, some which have social and media notoriety, that attracts the attention of public opinion and discussion on such matters. Please read these rules very carefully, both the Big Footy...
www.bigfooty.com

On the Greg Lynn committal proceedings Crown Prosecutor Mr Dickie said 'It is clear hopefully from the document, and if it's not clear from the document it's clear hopefully from the charges put before the court, that it is alleged of course that the accused acted with murderous intent when he allegedly killed the two victims.'

No physical evidence that it was, no broken glass shards around the car, nothing.

I believe the mirror is a complete furphy, I don't think it was ever hit.
Lynn was intent on removing himself completely from the scene, has stated this multiple times when giving evidence today - I reckon he was worried somehow his DNA has gotten in behind the glass of the mirror and the plastic back -maybe he was bleeding from the scuffle after he stabbed Hill and put his hand on the mirror? So he's just ripped it off and chucked it in the fire with everything else. Conveniently used it in his story about the death of Clay.

That's it. If manslaughter is on the table, why he didn't agree to plead guilty to that? Unless the prosecution really wants him for murder.

There might be suppressed or other information on him that we can't see.
GL is reported to have made this rather extraordinary statement: “I am innocent of murder. I haven’t killed anyone.Perhaps it's misquoted or he misspoke, but if he truly believes that then he has some significant psychopathology going on and it may explain why he wouldn't agree to a plea of manslaughter.

THE AGE LIVE
Erin Pearson

2.54pm ‘I still haven’t talked to them about it’: Lynn admits to lying to his wife, family
Gregory Lynn is admitting lying to his wife about his involvement in the case as media reports of the missing pair started to be published.
“The last thing I wanted to do was tell other people about it. I never mentioned anything to anyone. I still haven’t talked to them about it.“
Crown prosecutor Daniel Porceddu is asking about how prepared he was to lie to cover up the case:
Porceddu: When required you are prepared to be deceptive?
Lynn: I lied to my wife to protect her.
Porceddu: Didn’t you lie to your wife to protect yourself?
Lynn: No.

2.47pm Bodies were ‘decomposing’ when Lynn returned to check on remains
In May 2020, Gregory Lynn says he returned to Union Spur Track – where Carol Clay and Russell Hill’s remains were found.
“They were decomposing. I didn’t look very closely, but they hadn’t moved, no animals had been at them, the sticks were still on top,” Lynn says.
On November 18, 2020, he returned to the site, arriving just before sunset.
When it was dark, he removed some of the wood on top of Hill and Clay’s bodies, added accelerant and lit a fire.
Throughout the night he had to put more pieces of wood on the fire to keep it going.
“Almost everything was gone, it was just mostly ash left,” he said.
Lynn says he decided to destroy the bodies after being visited by police and revealing to them the route he had taken out of the Wonnangatta Valley.
He says he became physically sick several times, but that didn’t persuade him to stop.
“It was a difficult task. I knew, or thought, that once that was over and the evidence from my now-known route was gone, that I would finally be free of this disaster.”
Crown prosecutor Daniel Porceddu: Despite feeling sick, you remained there till the job was done?
Lynn: Yes.

That's it. If manslaughter is on the table, why he didn't agree to plead guilty to that? Unless the prosecution really wants him for murder.

There might be suppressed or other information on him that we can't see.
No other evidence to be presented by the prosecution.

The prosecution have had their shot and presented the evidence they chose to lead to the Court.

This is the defence's turn and they are leading their one witness, who is being questioned, first by their barrister and now by the prosecution.

The defence may choose to re-examine Lynn about certain elements of his testimony to date for clarity, which allows the prosecution to re-examine him again

THE AGE LIVE
Erin Pearson

2.54pm ‘I still haven’t talked to them about it’: Lynn admits to lying to his wife, family
Gregory Lynn is admitting lying to his wife about his involvement in the case as media reports of the missing pair started to be published.
“The last thing I wanted to do was tell other people about it. I never mentioned anything to anyone. I still haven’t talked to them about it.“
Crown prosecutor Daniel Porceddu is asking about how prepared he was to lie to cover up the case:
Porceddu: When required you are prepared to be deceptive?
Lynn: I lied to my wife to protect her.
Porceddu: Didn’t you lie to your wife to protect yourself?
Lynn: No.
How is that protecting his wife? She didn't do anything wrong.

GL has to go down for manslaughter at the very least. And whatever penalty can be imposed for destruction of evidence.
That would be involuntary manslaughter.
Doubt he'd get the maximum even thou the same as voluntary if he successfully argues self defence. He'd be done on unsafe storage. And extra given conduct after. That is best case not guilty RH guilty involuntary ms on CC. Would get probably 10

THE AGE LIVE
By Erin Pearson

3.00pm Lynn’s time in the witness box comes to an end
The prosecution has finished its cross-examination and Lynn has been excused from the witness box.
The jury will now be sent away for the long weekend and begin hearing closing arguments on Tuesday.

2.59pm Lynn questioned about why he left car doors open
Crown prosecutor Daniel Porceddu is asking Gregory Lynn about why he left his car doors open with guns inside.
Despite his normal attention to gun safety and an earlier confrontation with Russell Hill about his use of a firearm too close to the campsite, Lynn concedes he left his guns in the car with the doors open.
“I didn’t think he’d [Hill] be bold enough to take the shotgun,” Lynn tells the 12-member jury.
Porceddu tells the court that Hill never came his car to get those firearms.

he returned to the site, arriving just before sunset.
When it was dark, he removed some of the wood on top of Hill and Clay’s bodies, added accelerant and lit a fire.
Throughout the night he had to put more pieces of wood on the fire to keep it going.
“Almost everything was gone, it was just mostly ash left,” he said.

Sicko - he sat there all night !

That's a campfire to remember!

NOT

Was anyone in court today? If so what was the general feel?? I don’t notice any mind blowing questions from the persecution….

Were there any questions asked whether GL tried to revive after RH was stabbed with a knife or not?
^^ This...Not that I saw and I'm monitoring several news sites and on here.
From what I observed the prosecution has been sadly lacking.So many irregularities brought up on here and none of them even getting scant regard and thoughts like yours above plainly missed.
This is the biggest load of crap he has presented. The mirror,the unbelievable stabbing,how RH found the gun ,managed to load it-all not being a gun person,kitchen knife ???. On and on and on...
Daniel,what happened to all these points and others ? It's almost as if this trial has to move at 100 mph ??
He should have been reading on here,he would have got more insight than he obviously has to successfully prosecute.
I hope the jury can see through all the obfuscation and lies.Sad.

I feel like from what we’ve heard from the media I haven’t read anything from the prosecution landing a significant blow on the defence.
Yeh I was just thinking this, closing arguments early next week, nothing has really been presented that wasn't already theorised in this thread.
He so very nearly got away with it.

I feel like from what we’ve heard from the media I haven’t read anything from the prosecution landing a significant blow on the defence.
I get a different vibe, he's a remorseless sociopath who was able to carry out the most heinous acts desecrating the bodies and very thoroughly destroying evidence, who then constructs a complex and unbelievable story to cover his actions, including the the rather odd explanation of why there were 3 shots. File it under F for fiction. There is a much more likely explanation for 3 shots. As I said in my post a bit earlier, he doesn't thinks he's done anything wrong. Book'em Danno, murder one.

I believe the mirror is a complete furphy, I don't think it was ever hit.
Lynn was intent on removing himself completely from the scene, has stated this multiple times when giving evidence today - I reckon he was worried somehow his DNA has gotten in behind the glass of the mirror and the plastic back -maybe he was bleeding from the scuffle after he stabbed Hill and put his hand on the mirror? So he's just ripped it off and chucked it in the fire with everything else. Conveniently used it in his story about the death of Clay.
Maybe Lynn removed the mirror because he saw himself in it.

The most unbelievable part is Hill stealing the gun and ammo, loading it and shooting a multiple warning rounds in the air? Like really…

Taking a gun alone… I can possibly believe… taking the ammo as well… hmm….. Taking both, loading it and shooting in the air?

And that gun would be a tad tricky to get your head around if you’re not familiar with it imo.

Disputing a further part of the skull of CC was found at the scene - then telling police that parts might end up elsewhere at the dumping site - inconsistent when it suits

Lying to his wife is Ok - but he’s not lying about anything else

Fastidious in all respects ie using gloves - but not securing the gun when camped alongside others who annoy him

Little lies adding to big fat ones IMO

After reading the reporting of the ROI and Lynn's testimony, it becomes clear why the prosecution didn't suggest a motive or even an alternative chain of events.

They didn't need to.

He has supplied the motive, and has supplied a chain of events (I believe to be BS, but I'm not on the jury)

But is his story going to be believed by the jury in it's totality or has telling his story, his demeanour, checking all the boxes and answers to raise sufficient doubts in the jury's collective mind as to its verisimilitude?

I suppose the question to the average punter in the jury, is these the asctions of a reasonable man facted with 2 deaths, or the actions of a cold blooded killer trying to hid his criminal actions.

The Prosecution and Defence summaries will be interesting

My plan to attend today was sadly thwarted and I've only just caught up on what was reported.

I'm back to feeling worried. I realise we only get a snippet, but the cross examination was only a couple of hours. It seems there was so many things that were not questioned, things that would have exposed many elements of his story as being completely implausible.

I hope someone that did attend can let us know how they felt during his testimony and again after the cross examination.

If GL's version of events didnt happen...can someone quickly explain to me what the prosecution are saying happened?
The prosecution didn't explain it to me either. I'm no wiser than when this case first started about how the two deaths came about from the prosecutions point of view.
If RH's finger was on the trigger when the gun went off and killed CC then I can't even see GL being done for manslaughter. I heard nothing from the prosecution about how RH died - knife or gunshot so they didn't prove anything in regards to manslaughter there either.
I would not want that prosecutor to defend me.
I can see GL getting off completely because the prosecution did not prove beyond reasonable doubt that GL's version was all a lie about how the two people died.

After reading the reporting of the ROI and Lynn's testimony, it becomes clear why the prosecution didn't suggest a motive or even an alternative chain of events.

They didn't need to.

He has supplied the motive, and has supplied a chain of events (I believe to be BS, but I'm not on the jury)

But is his story going to be believed by the jury in it's totality or has telling his story, his demeanour, checking all the boxes and answers to raise sufficient doubts in the jury's collective mind as to its verisimilitude?

I suppose the question to the average punter in the jury, is these the asctions of a reasonable man facted with 2 deaths, or the actions of a cold blooded killer trying to hid his criminal actions.

The Prosecution and Defence summaries will be interesting
The thing for me is I think Whilst a reasonable person may initially panic, the follow up of methodically erasing evidence would be too much to bear.

The prosecution didn't explain it to me either. I'm no wiser than when this case first started about how the two deaths came about from the prosecutions point of view.
If RH's finger was on the trigger when the gun went off and killed CC then I can't even see GL being done for manslaughter. I heard nothing from the prosecution about how RH died - knife or gunshot so they didn't prove anything in regards to manslaughter there either.
I would not want that prosecutor to defend me.
I can see GL getting off completely because the prosecution did not prove beyond reasonable doubt that GL's version was all a lie about how the two people died.
He wont be a free man IMO regardless. Manslaughter will still get him.

It seems there was so many things that were not questioned, things that would have exposed many elements of his story as being completely implausible.
Couldn't agree more. The story is so fictitious it's laughable and yet to me the prosecution didn't try and disprove it. For example the knife. If he wanted the bodies to be found why not show police where the knife is. Prosecution didn't even raise that afaik.
If GL gets off then it's a complete and utter balls up.