Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay - Wonnangatta *Pilot Greg Lynn Pleads Not Guilty to Murder

MOD NOTICE

This case is sub judice as under consideration by the courts. Sub judice contempt can occur if information is published that may be prejudicial to the court proceedings.

Please do not state as fact that which is opinion. Also, use 'IMO' and 'allegedly' a lot.

Rules - Updated Crime Board Rules - READ BEFORE POSTING

General Information The BigFooty Crime board is a community that fosters discussion on current and past crimes, some which have social and media notoriety, that attracts the attention of public opinion and discussion on such matters. Please read these rules very carefully, both the Big Footy...
www.bigfooty.com

On the Greg Lynn committal proceedings Crown Prosecutor Mr Dickie said 'It is clear hopefully from the document, and if it's not clear from the document it's clear hopefully from the charges put before the court, that it is alleged of course that the accused acted with murderous intent when he allegedly killed the two victims.'

Lots of new faces today, its busier than yesterday, already back to the scanner....but still a few of the old stalwarts!
90 mins approx of Demo Dermi, presenting the remainingg top 5 or 7 of his "17 lowlights" of the Prs case, then a break for the jury and some legal debate between counsel/Justice Croucher. Subsequent to that being resolved, Justice Croucher will commence his charge to he Jury, carefully detailing his multitude of durections, and ensuring their understanding of the legal framwork by which they must make their decision.
It could be indeed possible that the Jury could be sent off to deliberate today, but J. Croucher yesterday stated he'd to prefer doing that with a refreshed and rested jury tommorrow morning, after ensuring they are clear in their directions!
Let's see how we go...😉😎 Hopefully Dann gets a bit less tabloid today, but i doubt it!🤔

This is so true. Did he really think he would have gone on with life and never been suspected. There was witnesses who saw him at the camp area.
Maybe he could have used his cool dude laser scope LARPy interchangeable rifle/shotgun with silencer to go sniper mode and eliminate them at a later date. Or used his throwing knife things like a ninja! What a man, can’t blame Mel for standing by him.

This might have been mentioned before but with prosecutor bringing up that RH failed to tell police about where he put the bones under the tree with a dustpan, how far away was this tree from the fire?

With such a vivid memory there how many other facts has Lynn conveniently forgotten to tell police?

An innocent person would surely have mentioned the above once they had the location on bodies.

His actions imply guilt IMO.

With such a vivid memory there how many other facts has Lynn conveniently forgotten to tell police?

An innocent person would surely have mentioned the above once they had the location on bodies.

It's interesting, essentially, he told them but he didn't tell them.

I'm back to wondering how they got 'Union Spur Track' off him.

Yes it could imply guilt,
I assume not very far, (but don’t know how far.)
Surely he knew that they would search the area.

Take another person's life to save your career. Psychopath written all over it.
And with no apparent remorse.

Just head-down dogged persistance to “disappear himself” .

When making that bold claim, it’s evident that what he really meant was to disappear the bodies (and allegedly lives) of two unsuspecting members of the community who lost the opportunity to continue the rest of their lives.

And in the meantime, this whole mess has devastated families, friends and community members, and presumably his own family will (and probably already has) suffer similar consequences.

Lots of new faces today, its busier than yesterday, already back to the scanner....but still a few of the old stalwarts!
90 mins approx of Demo Dermi, presenting the remainingg top 5 or 7 of his "17 lowlights" of the Prs case, then a break for the jury and some legal debate between counsel/Justice Croucher. Subsequent to that being resolved, Justice Croucher will commence his charge to he Jury, carefully detailing his multitude of durections, and ensuring their understanding of the legal framwork by which they must make their decision.
It could be indeed possible that the Jury could be sent off to deliberate today, but J. Croucher yesterday stated he'd to prefer doing that with a refreshed and rested jury tommorrow morning, after ensuring they are clear in their directions!
Let's see how we go...😉😎 Hopefully Dann gets a bit less tabloid today, but i doubt it!🤔
How is Mrs L looking?. Blowing kisses off the public gallery or not today?

When GL was being cross examined, did the prosecution ask him how the two bodies came to end up in thousands of pieces after he burnt them?

I think we are well past using Lynn's version of events as evidence that Hill was grumpy, hostile, confrontational etc.

The idea that this whole thing was started by a grumpy old man confronting Lynn is just blame shifting. If this really happened, then it was Lynn’s actions of shooting too close to camp that started the chain of events that led to the deaths of two people.

I have always rejected the talk of Hill's infidelity, Viagra pills and idea that the campers were in their tent having sex before they died. This talk served only to muddy the waters and discredit Hill and Clay, to paint them as being not-so-innocent, as cheating, untrustworthy, deceptive and so on.

Once the masses had finished throwing rocks at Hill and Clay, it wouldn't be so hard for the Defence to build Lynn's profile of a family man, worried about the affect the "accidents" would have on his family, a man who helps the cabin crew clean-up, a man who is a member of gun clubs so as to perfect his shooting to ensure the animal suffers as little as possible, a man who would do any menial job to support his family.

In my book, Hill and Clay were lovely. Of course I don't know their stories, but I can see that the truth in a couple who were young sweethearts and then taking different paths because LIFE GOT IN THE WAY. Perhaps as they got older, they wondered about their first love all those years ago, what it would have been like if they had stayed together?

We will never know. What we do know is that life gave them a second and they took it.

They loved each other and wanted to be together. Hill stayed with his wife because she wasn't well. How many people lied or kept the truth from their loved ones because they didn't want to hurt them?

And unlike Lynn who lied to his family to cover up an alleged crime, Hill lied to cover up a "love". I think he is a much nicer person than how he’s represented in the media. He was loved by two women, both wanting him in their lives and he did his best to not hurt either of them.

So, I reject that Lynn was thinking his career would be over because of the "actions of a grumpy old man". Lynn's career would be over because of his own poor behavioural controls, inability to accept responsibility for his own actions, lack of empathy feeding his over inflated sense of self-worth while diminishing the worth of others, his own pathological lying, narcissistic manipulating tendencies projecting blame onto others, and his obvious inability to feel remorse or guilt for his actions.
IMHO

You can’t prove any of that..

Nothing provided by the prosecution has destroyed Lynn’s story, no matter what you feel about it.

Only one person knows what happened.

And with no apparent remorse.

Just head-down dogged persistance to “disappear himself” .

When making that bold claim, it’s evident that what he really meant was to disappear the bodies (and allegedly lives) of two unsuspecting members of the community who lost the opportunity to continue the rest of their lives.

And in the meantime, this whole mess has devastated families, friends and community members, and presumably his own family will (and probably already has) suffer similar consequences.
Has he ever referred to them by their names?

It's interesting, essentially, he told them but he didn't tell them.

I'm back to wondering how they got 'Union Spur Track' off him.
He believed (with some self justification) he was intelligent, educated (at least in flight theory), ex military. a RAAF pilot, a senior airline pilot, well respected by the community, member of select clubs. working in a position of immense responsibility, earning big money; the epitome of "an Officer and Gentleman"

On the flight deck, his word was obeyed; he was dealing with cops, not a degree amongst them. whose job was dealing with the scum of the earth and probably not much better

He thought his story would be believed, after all, it ticked all the boxes.

Being smug about his superiority to the common man, he believed that his story would be met by the police with awe and wonder and therefore believed in toto

He would be able to counter any questions the police asked, because he was superior to them.

I wonder if the motive for the offence(s) comes back to Hill; obviously an older uneducated working class man, daring to challenge him.

I only completed Psych 102, so I will leave the observations of his psycho-pathology to those with more knowledge of this dark art to others.

Did the defence also get caught up in his story, or having a detailed ROI given by the Prosecution, got hampered by his facts and either failed to miss the importance of the guy ropes and decided to bluff it out

You can’t prove any of that..

Nothing provided by the prosecution has destroyed Lynn’s story, no matter what you feel about it.

Only one person knows what happened.
It's impossible to prove or disprove an unwitnessed event. It doesn't mean the teller of the story should be believed. He's created a narrative that fits what can be seen - the burnt-out camp, the destroyed bodies, his vehicle on camera (thank God for that!) - and built a tale around it which is intended to mitigate his culpability as much as possible and shift as much blame as possible onto the victims.

I remember Ivan Milat saying he wasn't guilty because no one saw him murder anyone. It was the rest of the evidence that convicted him.

Do we know that for sure? I understand the point you are making, that GL might regard RH that way, but did Russell in fact fit that description?
I think uneducated simply means that the person didn’t go to a tertiary institution.

Hill was a forestry worker,using heavy machinery to clear trails, to create accessible tracks through heavily timbered country etc and no doubt was a smart hard working operator. He needed a good brain in his head to carry out the physical side of his work, as well as the ability to make good decisions etc doing essential work to clear bush and make these wonderful places accessible so that the public could access for recreational purposes.

This would have been hard yakka and required intelligence, strength and perseverance in extreme weather conditions many of us would never work in. He must have been a very tough man. I think in later years he worked for Bunnings as a truck driver transporting timber.

Just looking at his face told a story. It was a strong kind face. And well educated in life’s university. The fact he was driving the rig he drove, frequently visiting the high country, at mid seventies said a lot about his physical strength and his intelligence. I’m just sorry he didn’t get to live out his life.

I think uneducated simply means that the person didn’t go to a tertiary institution.

Hill was a forestry worker,using heavy machinery to clear trails, to create accessible tracks through heavily timbered country etc and no doubt was a smart hard working operator. He needed a good brain in his head to carry out the physical side of his work, as well as the ability to make good decisions etc doing essential work to clear bush and make these wonderful places accessible so that the public could access for recreational purposes.

This would have been hard yakka and required intelligence, strength and perseverance in extreme weather conditions many of us would never work in. He must have been a very tough man. I think in later years he worked for Bunnings as a truck driver transporting timber.

Just looking at his face told a story. It was a strong kind face. And well educated in life’s university. The fact he was driving the rig he drove, frequently visiting the high country, at mid seventies said a lot about his physical strength and his intelligence. I’m just sorry he didn’t get to live out his life.
The radio guys generally have a fair bit of tech knowledge too.

Thank you for reminding me. I forgot about his radio hobby. I couldn’t even begin to figure that stuff out! He was pretty savvy and you’d have to have the smarts for the tech stuff. I would have happily left my children in his care. I think that’s a good indication of what you can see in a person and I never knew him.