Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay - Wonnangatta *Pilot Greg Lynn Pleads Not Guilty to Murder

MOD NOTICE

This case is sub judice as under consideration by the courts. Sub judice contempt can occur if information is published that may be prejudicial to the court proceedings.

Please do not state as fact that which is opinion. Also, use 'IMO' and 'allegedly' a lot.

Rules - Updated Crime Board Rules - READ BEFORE POSTING

General Information The BigFooty Crime board is a community that fosters discussion on current and past crimes, some which have social and media notoriety, that attracts the attention of public opinion and discussion on such matters. Please read these rules very carefully, both the Big Footy...
www.bigfooty.com

On the Greg Lynn committal proceedings Crown Prosecutor Mr Dickie said 'It is clear hopefully from the document, and if it's not clear from the document it's clear hopefully from the charges put before the court, that it is alleged of course that the accused acted with murderous intent when he allegedly killed the two victims.'

So are police searching today or have they taken the weekend off? They really need to have the accused with them, if he’s pointed them to the area.
To answer my own question :smirk: just heard on the news they’ll start the search on Monday and say they know where to look.

The he has killed before doesn’t carry much weight IMO, why burn stuff then? If he left the camp site in perfect order nobody would have suspected anything until much later, police said he tried to blow up the site using the gas bottle, other people have disappeared from that area but thousand and thousands who go there have come back, it’s been stated you only need to go a little of track and you almost never be found..
only 3 people know what happened and 2 of them are dead..

Maybe he thought two elderly people would be easier to handle than they were. Too ambitious and he ended up in a fight inside the tent, getting old and sloppy or overconfident maybe.

Israel Keyes picked people off in the forests and also used fire to destroy evidence, he used it after taking two elderly people out of their house and killing them. He got away with that but he too eventually became reckless or lazy and did stupid serial killer things that got him caught.

"This is entertainment for me." - Israel Keyes on his serial murders.

Unsealed Interviews Details Two Lives of Israel Keyes

FBI Press release & Timeline

ISRAEL KEYES has been called by FBI profilers as one of the most methodical and cunning serial killers of modern times.

Israel Keyes should be as well known as Ted Bundy, what he lacked in charm like Bundy he made up for in discipline. He is probably responsible for more than 36 murders, all picked randomly and made admissions to 11 before killing himself in prison. Since his death investigators believe they can tie him to 36. He was so efficient at disposal, most of them have never been found.

All possible but it is also common for people to stake out a spot prior to a trip, most will move on.

Go to Echuca prior to southern 80 and you will see massive amounts of staked out campsites. People even use danger tape around trees to mark out an area.

Legally anyone can discard it and move in.

Would he drive five hours up and five hours back (going from what people have said re: the distance/time) just to stake out a spot in advance, do you think? Then another five hours back with Carol Clay? In his 70s? I'll take your word for it because you've obviously witnessed it (camping isn't for me)

Strange that far but probably has all the time in the world. He used to work in the area too I understand, so maybe catching up with friends along the way or just making sure everything ok, after all it was a secret relationship. Will probably never know.

Remember back at the start when the media reported that his wife did know and had sold and otherwise disposed of most of his gear in the week or so following the disappearance? Then 60 minutes ran a couple of docos and the story changed to no-one knew about the 'secret lovers'? Police drove his vehicle back to his home almost immediately after discovery of the burnt-out camp site, then a week later came and took it back

Where’s the report of him selling his camping gear? Never heard it before

You have to go up the street, then turn back. If you try to look from the side street on the corner, you'll only get the beige Patrol. There's different views with images taken at different times.

LOL ... the other side of the van.

View attachment 1288495

Hahaha.

Ok so it appears he's owned the popup for a couple of years before the murders and it started off white but he painted it to his own taste later on. Why wasn't he towing the popup instead of the trailer if he was up there camping? It's an offroad camper. This suggests he possibly wasn't camping there at the time, but it's a long way to go not to camp. I also found this, taken in July 2019...

View attachment 1288431

Looks hardly used (unless he repainted that as well :D). Did he misplace his old one, or two? Probably not if he hasn't actually buried the bodies, but still, how many pilots carry shovels strapped to the roof racks of their 4WD's? Just something to mull over.

Maybe his family prefer to camp in the pop up rather than tents?

There's a committal date already to decide if there's sufficient evidence to go to trial. That should be interesting, he must have indicated he's to plead not guilty.

Mr Lynn has been charged with two counts of murder and appeared in the Sale Magistrates' Court this morning.

Mr Lynn appeared via video link, wearing a grey windcheater and a face mask.

A court sketch of a man in a long-sleeved shirt sitting at a table with his hands folded. His face is blurred

Greg Lynn was arrested on Monday.(Supplied: Mollie McPherson/Nine News)

He sat quietly throughout the hearing and was remanded until May 31, 2022 for committal.

The Magistrates' Court does not have jurisdiction to hear bail applications for murder charges.

Mr Lynn was later transported back to Melbourne.

Yeah they were onto him listening in on his phone calls. The Sixty Minutes show where Police revealed they were looking for a blue Patrol (When they were already onto him and knew it was now beige) was all about triggering him to reveal more. They apprehended him because they feared he might be unstable or harm himself etc. I wonder if they were able to go back and get pings from his phone and or Hill's phone despite there being no reception everywhere? Pings could have led them to the sight they are scouring ATM if Lynn did not reveal the general area he put them?

Pings cant be received where there is no reception. Theres a chance perp's phone was using maps in offline mode and that saved breadcrumbs from his movements that night which were automatically uploaded to his google acct upon reaching mobile phone internet reception. Police subsequently retrieved data from it, bit like the Theo Hayez case where they guessed his google password and were able to recover his movements on the night of his disappearance.

I'd lock that in.

Nup. I'd put money on this being the first time, an escalation of some fight gone horribly wrong. A guy was killed down the end of my street. He and his mate were under the influence, got into a fight in the driveway, mate punched him, his head cracked on the pavement and he died. I reckon it was something along these lines (but instead of a punch GL took his gun out). I love this forum but many of the contributors overcomplicate things.

Maybe they got into a heated old school Toyota vs Nissan debate causing the alleged perp to snap.
Toyota v Nissan v Jeep!

Jeep didn't make it though.

Nup. I'd put money on this being the first time, an escalation of some fight gone horribly wrong. A guy was killed down the end of my street. He and his mate were under the influence, got into a fight in the driveway, mate punched him, his head cracked on the pavement and he died. I reckon it was something along these lines (but instead of a punch GL took his gun out). I love this forum but many of the contributors overcomplicate things.

It's one thing to lose it in the heat of the moment in a fight and accidentally kill someone but to then go on and kill the witness, truss them both up and drive all night with them in a trailer to dispose of them is something else.

If even half the chat over airline staff forums is true, from people who claim to know him and which I'm sure the police are watching, they're going to have to investigate him in relation to other possible disappearances and crimes.

I love this forum but many of the contributors overcomplicate things.
"This has been one of the most complex investigations that I’ve ever been briefed on."
"...It has been an amazing investigation and very complex..."

Yep, used for all.

Mate bought one along on one of our bush trips to the Barmah Forest, disgusting thing & yeah, you have to dig a big hole and empty all the liquefied waste when you are leaving.

I used it once, mate briefly described how to use it. Didn't say you have to be sitting on it when you open the valve....so I go in there open the valve while looking at it, next thing the valve opens and a big splash of water hit my face. Told him it feels like I am wearing bi-feacals!! Was the last time I used it. Much easier with a shovel.

You put a bag in the toilet for seconds. Bury the bag.

My feeling is that this is referring more to the relationship of the victims, identifying the killer, and finding the bodies, rather than the circumstances within which they died.

If even half the chat over airline staff forums is true...

Yep. I doubt it.

Happy to admit I'm wrong when the PoS is sentenced.

Its almost like a competition here, as previously mentioned. Some are bent on scenarios playing out to fit there narrative.

If we were all to adopt this attitude then...i am clearly ahead.

Ridiculous thoughts aside, the japcrap argument they had was the start and end.

Mr Hill : But can you fly one of these ?

It's people wanting to bring up every single scenario, so they can claim that they thought of it first if that's what happened.

The first suggestion of a serial killer in the high country was made by a well known investigative journalist way back in May 2020.

Yep. I doubt it.

Happy to admit I'm wrong when the PoS is sentenced.

Unless he confesses they probably won't get a conviction for anybody else's disappearance with no bodies but I think Nials Becker, David Prideaux and Conrad Whitlock's family might like to hear from the police that he'd been ruled out as having involvement. It would be on my mind if one of mine vanished in that area.

Warren Meyer went missing as well but that was from Mount Dom Dom.