Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay - Wonnangatta *Pilot Greg Lynn Pleads Not Guilty to Murder

MOD NOTICE

This case is sub judice as under consideration by the courts. Sub judice contempt can occur if information is published that may be prejudicial to the court proceedings.

Please do not state as fact that which is opinion. Also, use 'IMO' and 'allegedly' a lot.

Rules - Updated Crime Board Rules - READ BEFORE POSTING

General Information The BigFooty Crime board is a community that fosters discussion on current and past crimes, some which have social and media notoriety, that attracts the attention of public opinion and discussion on such matters. Please read these rules very carefully, both the Big Footy...
www.bigfooty.com

On the Greg Lynn committal proceedings Crown Prosecutor Mr Dickie said 'It is clear hopefully from the document, and if it's not clear from the document it's clear hopefully from the charges put before the court, that it is alleged of course that the accused acted with murderous intent when he allegedly killed the two victims.'

Could he pour anything he had on hand on the bodies to accelerate or modify decomposition, I.e. to affect forensic analysis?

Edit: or even douse in fuel and burn them? Would a small fire in that area even be feasible if general area was tinder dry?

Bones can still tell a story. If they died from a beating there will be fractures in the skull and elsewhere for example, if they were run over they will see the kinds of breaks consistent with that, most bullets hit bone so that should be obvious and if they were shot the bullets are probably with them, knives also hit bone in the ribs and arms if defending.

1638268782127.png

I'm new to this site, just joined up after reading this thread. I've been interested in this case as I know Russell's mate. I managed to find this place on google street view after seeing clues in the media pics and what is unusual is that the trailer he had parked out front in 7/2019 (google date stamp) is a camper, and different to the one in the picture taken by the roadside camera at Mt Hotham. It's possible he had the second trailer parked inside the garage in this pic, taken 9 months prior. One other piece of info I've noticed is that GL had a comms antenna on his Patrol (possibly 27mhz) and therefore another theory is that he had a beef with RH on his radio, that lead to the deaths. Most hams modify their gear to transmit on 27mhz CB band.

Did cross my mind that the fire to destroy the campsite might have been used for that purpose. Perhaps it failed and that’s the reason the remains were transported to where they were found.

I could be mistaken but I thought the 60 mins report said there was a gas bottle or something like that found within the burnt tent perimeter?

Yes there was a gas bottle in there, it was Russell's.

Bones can still tell a story. If they died from a beating there will be fractures in the skull and elsewhere for example, if they were run over they will see the kinds of breaks consistent with that, most bullets hit bone so that should be obvious and if they were shot the bullets are probably with them, knives also hit bone in the ribs and arms if defending.
If my theory (a couple of pages back) is accurate there will be crush evidence from having been run over. I wonder if they were in their sleeping bags at the time. Seems likely.

View attachment 1290153

I'm new to this site, just joined up after reading this thread. I've been interested in this case as I know Russell's mate. I managed to find this place on google street view after seeing clues in the media pics and what is unusual is that the trailer he had parked out front in 7/2019 (google date stamp) is a camper, and different to the one in the picture taken by the roadside camera at Mt Hotham. It's possible he had the second trailer parked inside the garage in this pic, taken 9 months prior. One other piece of info I've noticed is that GL had a comms antenna on his Patrol (possibly 27mhz) and therefore another theory is that he had a beef with RH on his radio, that lead to the deaths. Most hams modify their gear to transmit on 27mhz CB band.

No the trailer was sold by Lynn on Gumtree. The police are in contact with Gumtree who are helping them track down the trailer.

I'm new to this site, just joined up after reading this thread. I've been interested in this case as I know Russell's mate. I managed to find this place on google street view after seeing clues in the media pics and what is unusual is that the trailer he had parked out front in 7/2019 (google date stamp) is a camper, and different to the one in the picture taken by the roadside camera at Mt Hotham. It's possible he had the second trailer parked inside the garage in this pic, taken 9 months prior.

The trailer was always parked out back since he moved in to the place in 2010 and no longer there from April 2020

2021-11-30 21_57_52-PhotoMaps by nearmap.jpg

No the trailer was sold by Lynn on Gumtree. The police are in contact with Gumtree who are helping them track down the trailer.
Yes, he sold a trailer, but was it this trailer camper parked out the front of his house or the box trailer in the police picture ?.

Sold the box trailer as it was the one picked up by the Hotham CCTV Camera and this is the one the Police are looking for via Gumtree, not the camper. They obviously want the box trailer as it most likely carted the bodies out of the campsite

High chance he's painted the trailer before he sold it too, over time it looks like has painted it every couple of years so I wouldn't be surprised if he has painted it a different colour like black and sold it off

Really, so running them over while they are in their tent is a serious theory ?

Can't see many reasons why Lynn would burn down the tent with everything inside it such as the Gas Bottle, chairs etc, unless off course he wanted to cover up what happened to Hill & Clay. Were they in bed when this took place.?

If he seriously buried them in a shallow grave at the historical area he is a complete muppet.

If he’d planned to drop them down a shaft or well then I get it, but if he planned to dig a shallow grave he had miles and miles of obscure roads to dig a shallow grave without driving two corpses past a CCTV camera.

Oh well, looking forward to finding out more.

Late to the party here (if you can call it that), so please be gentle :) I've been following this case closely due to it being an area I hike in a lot and have many friends who 4WD around there, but have only just come across this board.

Speculation re timing: Hikers came across campsite at 2pm next day, but didn't report it until after they saw the photo and became aware of the search. The photo wasn't taken until the following Friday after they had already been reported missing and police were searching for them. It was taken by 4wders who were met on their way to the valley by police on the Howitt Rd, alerting them to the search and the description of the couple and the car. (inside info so can't reveal any more). My take is that the lack of evidence suggesting they had retired for the night (no toilet use, no shoe remains), means it happened pretty soon after the radio call ended and probably before daylight faded (might explain why no one saw flames).

Previous trip: RH wasn't in the valley the previous week, he was up on the plains around King Billy. The pair were also at Pikes Flat on the Howqua on 2 occasions during February, so it appears that he head up that way most weekends. I don't think the previous trips were related in any way.

Manner of death: Gunshots would have been heard for miles in that valley - it's long and open. Definitely would have been heard. For the cops to have slapped 2 counts of murder on him, they must have something (yet to be released) that indicates premeditation, ruling out any accident followed by disposing of a witness. Maybe he's walked away from an initial altercation about the drone, had a beer and lost his sh*t when the drone continued to fly over. I'm going with blunt force trauma, *then* disposing of witness to cover. Unverified accounts suggest RH was very "possessive" about the valley and wouldn't have backed away from a confrontation. One thing that I can't reconcile is if he did one in first, surely the other would have made some noise - screamed, yelled etc - and there's no evidence anyone heard anything like that.

CCTV footage: I'm very familiar with those cameras, their location and the orientation of the road at that point. The road runs directly north-west there and the shadows cast on the car indicate it was early morning (the moon was in a crescent phase that night so it's not a moonlight shadow). Sunrise was at 0715 on 21st. That gives him about 7 hours from the time he was heard doing his multipoint turn to getting onto GA rd. If he's gone through Moroka to get to Grants, and then Hotham, that's about a 4.5/5 hour drive in the dark - plus time to dispose. Seems to fit. Still not sure why he wouldn't have gone east out of the valley on the Wonangatta Rd as that would have been the quickest way out - maybe he didn't want to drive past all the other campsites with his "load".

Goggle location: Doesn't save any breadcrumbs while out of data range...you just get a straight line from the last verified location to the next. That might be enough to give them a general location, but they said they had a location from information gleaned during the interrogation - seems to me he's confessed, and given them an approximate "on this road, somewhere around..." location.

I don't think they were ready to bring him in but had to because they feared he was going to harm himself after taking off, which would have meant they'd never solve it. I reckon his wife has started putting pieces together and fronted him about it - causing the argument. All of which would have been recorded and they've put the screws on in interrogation.

Eerie thing is we were supposed to be hiking in that exact location he was arrested at the same time, but the weather and road conditions prevented us from getting in. Kinda glad it did now :)
Great post. I'm late to the party too.

You obviously know the area well.

Those cameras. The police now say two cameras captured the perps car on the top of Hotham. Any chance you could drop a pin on a map as to their location and which way they face. My hunch is that one of the cameras may have captured a front on view. Meaning the driver and number plate. Any idea what the purpose of the cameras is, are they to track movements of vehicles in and out, or for speed. If for tracking you'd think they would be designed/built for number plate recognition.

Again thanks for a great post.

You obviously know the area well.

Those cameras. The police now say two cameras captured the perps car on the top of Hotham. Any chance you could drop a pin on a map as to their location and which way they face. My hunch is that one of the cameras may have captured a front on view. Meaning the driver and number plate. Any idea what the purpose of the cameras is, are they to track movements of vehicles in and out, or for speed. If for tracking you'd think they would be designed/built for number plate recognition.

Any speed cam i know of on single freeway/highway are usually adjacent to a certain distance ie. both within 100y on opposite side to one another.

Only my experience

I made fun of this theory a few days back, I just can't believe someone could be that stupid but having been around a few people with short fuses my life I guess it's no suprise in the end.

I will wipe egg from my face if it's indeed what happened.

I guess he could go with it and say he thought they were not in the tent...

It does happen actually.

A man who was run over by a car while sleeping in his tent at Falls Festival in Lorne ...

It does happen actually.

A man who was run over by a car while sleeping in his tent at Falls Festival in Lorne ...

But that's stupidity rather than cold/calculated/per-meditated criminal behaviour

I made fun of this theory a few days back, I just can't believe someone could be that stupid but having been around a few people with short fuses my life I guess it's no suprise in the end.

I will wipe egg from my face if it's indeed what happened.

I guess he could go with it and say he thought they were not in the tent...

I guess it's plausible it could happen, I'm still scratching my head over it though.

Any idea what the purpose of the cameras is, are they to track movements of vehicles in and out, or for speed. If for tracking you'd think they would be designed/built for number plate recognition.

Those cameras are situated near where the old ticket box for the ski resort used to be (whack this into google maps
37°00'02.5"S 147°04'04.6"E)
They were installed when entry permits went digital, so they could track which cars had paid mountain access entry during ski season (you have to link your rego to the pass) So they absolutely would have picked up on both front and rear of the vehicle and it's regov- possibly also driver features. They knew when the 60 min special was filmed who they were looking for and likely had known for some time. I'm guessing they've known since April when they went "searching" along the GA rd and found the shovels. There's all manner of stuff thrown off the side of the road along there (my other half found an old walkie talkie amongst other stuff near there just this weekend), so their "find" may have been a smoking out exercise.