Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay - Wonnangatta *Pilot Greg Lynn Pleads Not Guilty to Murder

MOD NOTICE

This case is sub judice as under consideration by the courts. Sub judice contempt can occur if information is published that may be prejudicial to the court proceedings.

Please do not state as fact that which is opinion. Also, use 'IMO' and 'allegedly' a lot.

Rules - Updated Crime Board Rules - READ BEFORE POSTING

General Information The BigFooty Crime board is a community that fosters discussion on current and past crimes, some which have social and media notoriety, that attracts the attention of public opinion and discussion on such matters. Please read these rules very carefully, both the Big Footy...
www.bigfooty.com

On the Greg Lynn committal proceedings Crown Prosecutor Mr Dickie said 'It is clear hopefully from the document, and if it's not clear from the document it's clear hopefully from the charges put before the court, that it is alleged of course that the accused acted with murderous intent when he allegedly killed the two victims.'

I made fun of this theory a few days back, I just can't believe someone could be that stupid but having been around a few people with short fuses my life I guess it's no suprise in the end.

I will wipe egg from my face if it's indeed what happened.

I guess he could go with it and say he thought they were not in the tent...

Until he retrieved the bodies and buried them instead of raising the alarm? Where else would he have thought the couple were?

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com

whatever happened:

Stabbing, shooting, run over (deliberately, don't buy accident), blunt force, strangulation etc, it all happened in the tent IMO. Perp then loads their bodies (in sleeping bags) in his trailer & burns their gear with the tent. Anything away from the tent should leave traces.

Running over is least likely IMO. Would be tyre marks etc. as others have stated.

Depending on wind, density of bush some sounds don't travel that far.

Wouldn’t there be significant damage to the vehicle? Or even minor damage if there is a bull bar?

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com
You would think so. Plus there was RH vehicle, trees etc you would have to avoid, likely at a fair speed.

My guess, excluding lack of gunshots, would be ambush with a metal mallet and or hunting knife.

But, all guesswork. Nobody knows. So remote, so many questions.

You could literally park your motor and bullbar touching the tents fabric, drive over with not a lot of resistance.

The tent was pitched there initially, confirmed ?

I dont remember the green rectangular tarped area being explained or have i ?

I have friends (a dozen plus) who knew the first wife well. And knew him. All without exception believed he was involved in that suspicious death. All. The current wife, by his own account, may be number 3. He told someone I know that the woman he was while in Doha he had married. That may have been cover for the authorities there to enable him to live with his defacto. What ever the case, that partner/wife is believed to have died. There are two versions, both as suspicious as his first wife dying on the front lawn of hypothermia. He is known to have also threatened to kill a friend of that first wife, along with threats to pets too. This will all come out. As will his nickname. From what I've heard there are now 4 suspicious deaths within his orbit over the last 20 years. Everyone is innocent until proven otherwise and it needs to be pointed out that there was an inquest into wife #1 that cleared him. But there are a lot of red flags that move the the dial towards someone who may not need much of a reason to kill. If any. As we are all aware there are three missing people in the region he frequented. And there is one unsolved one hit and run. My hunch is all of this may have been on the menu during his interview.
I also knew Greg and Lisa, this is all true plus death threats to Lisa before she died.
🙏🙏 that the case is re opened and justice will be served.

I also knew Greg and Lisa, this is all true plus death threats to Lisa before she died.
🙏🙏 that the case is re opened and justice will be served.

Flip I'm never going camping/hiking/bush whacking or whatever its called :eek::eek:
Let me guess nickname: Milat ? ?

Good news is now he's locked up (forever) - and under extreme scrutiny and not before time by all accounts !!

Flip I'm never going camping/hiking/bush whacking or whatever its called :eek::eek:
Let me guess nickname: Milat ? ?

Good news is now he's locked up (forever) - and under extreme scrutiny and not before time by all accounts !!

Haha. Even my old mum calling me and being concerned at my brother camping . But on topic this is a tragedy. We must be alert .

You could literally park your motor and bullbar touching the tents fabric, drive over with not a lot of resistance.

The tent was pitched there initially, confirmed ?

I dont remember the green rectangular tarped area being explained or have i ?

the long rectangular tarped area has NOT been mentioned previously, so i'm glad you brought that up because i'd also wondered about what the campers would have used it for?
i doubt it's a recreational "slip n slide".

might it have been rolled out by investigators to protect an area of interest containing possible crime scene evidence such as suspected drag marks, or perhaps a lengthy skid mark?
7055aaa2458609f392dc583fff79a242.jpg

8e8d39c7333247b4d93a45b20cb3a3a9.jpg

1e494827b5bd4b9cc153ba4066d2b3f8.jpg

5754728c2655615488cea9c4238fb8d2.jpg

imho
edit : additional photographs

Nah I agree I don't think it's odd he has a big 4x4, just that he shouldn't need a trailer as well, and anything long he could chuck on the roof.
Just a side note - drone mate has a camper trailer and is used mostly when he has more people than himself OR he is setting up for 3-4+ days in one spot

Sets up the camper, gazebo etc and has the 4wd free to explore

When he is on his own he uses his awnings and swags and has to pack up each time he wants to explore. He weighs up what is more hassle and goes from there

Just a side note - drone mate has a camper trailer and is used mostly when he has more people than himself OR he is setting up for 3-4+ days in one spot

When he is on his own he uses his awnings and swags and has to pack up each time he wants to explore. He weighs up what is more hassle and goes from there
We've all got our own quirks when it comes to set-ups and what we deem convenient.
I've got two 4x4s for off-roading, one smallish old ute for when I'm solo and a large family 4x4, and I do a lot of exploring, up to a week solo.

A swag and tarp, sometimes gazebo works without a trailer, and wouldn't warrant the pain in towing it through that country.
But he might be so familiar to those tracks it doesn't bother him, just ambling along in his old shitbox at a leisurely pace.
But it does stand out as odd to me, I rarely see standard trailers in the bush, especially up there, and can't really recall one being towed by a solo camper unless they were with a bigger group.

The guy drove solo into a desolate wilderness area in a big 4x4 with full roof cage and a box trailer. Why was he there all by himself and why did he need the trailer ?. The idea that he went there intending to commit a crime needs to be considered. He probably would have got away with it, if not for the closed road to the north which forced him to drive back past the road camera at Hotham. If this theory is correct then it's also possible he committed a previous murder between 2016 and 2019, which was when his vehicle was painted from white to blue. There were several missing persons reported in the area during this time and no bodies have been found.
Trailer's are handy for collecting firewood. Could be that simple.

Can't see many reasons why Lynn would burn down the tent with everything inside it such as the Gas Bottle, chairs etc, unless off course he wanted to cover up what happened to Hill & Clay. Were they in bed when this took place.?
Or the incident took place near the tent...

But that's stupidity rather than cold/calculated/per-meditated criminal behaviour

I guess it's plausible it could happen, I'm still scratching my head over it though.
Your would expect an airline pilot would be good with his surroundings.

Everything points to an escalation of 2 angry grown men who should have known better.

Thanks for your post. Do you have any more information on the unsolved hit and run? That's very interesting given some of us in here have proposed the theory of the Patrol as the weapon.

We've discussed the disappearances of David Prideaux where we have a dedicated thread, Niels Becker, Conrad Whitlock and Warren Meyer on Dom Dom but I think we missed an unsolved hit and run.

When was his car painted from white to blue? This hit and run happened on Nov 25 2017. Lynn's car was white in 2014 and painted blue sometime before 2019. Why did he paint it blue, and is anyone able to provide evidence of when this was repainted between these years.

1638308719739.png

Hit-and-run by 'high clearance vehicle' leads police to new leads in road death of Bryce Airs
ABC Goulburn Murray
/ By Erin Somerville
Posted Thu 29 Nov 2018 at 2:38pmThursday 29 Nov 2018 at 2:38pm
Bryce Airs in hunting clothing poses in the bush with the body of a deer.

Bryce Airs was struck by a vehicle and killed near Jamieson around midnight in November 2017.(Facebook: Bryce Airs)
Share this article
abc.net.au/news/new-information-on-the-death-of-bryce-airs/10567246
COPY LINKSHARE
Police say they will begin investigating promising leads following a fresh appeal into the hit and run death of a Jamieson man last year.
Bryce Airs, 43, was walking home from a hotel on the Mansfield-Woods Point Road around midnight on November 25 last year when he was struck by what a post-mortem examination indicated was a high clearance vehicle, possibly with a bull bar.
The conclusion has led police to believe it could have driven by deer hunters.
Investigators established caravans in Mansfield and Jamieson this week to appeal for further information a year on from his death.
Victoria Police Detective Sergeant Christian von Tunk said police are hoping recent tip-offs from the public will help them close in on the culprit.
"We have enough information to start working considerably towards the suspects now as well," he said.
Sifting through clues
Police will now begin working with analysts to sift through information gathered from this week's appeal, which included interviews with Jamieson locals.
Some information received indicates that the culprit may not be from the region, with many visitors travelling to the Jamieson area for its recreational appeal, including deer hunting.
A blurry black and white image of a car travelling along a road at night.

Victoria Police previously released CCTV footage of a car of interest that was travelling in the area around the time of Mr Airs' death.(Supplied: Victoria Police)
Mr Airs was treated by paramedics at the scene of collision and was unable to be saved, but told a passer-by as he was injured on the roadside that he believed he had been hit by lightning, pointing the investigation to illegal deer hunters who are known to frequently spotlight in the region.
Detective Sergeant Christian von Tunk said he does not believe those responsible could have confused Mr Airs for wildlife.
"When you hit a deer it's a bit different to hitting a person, and we must remember Bryce was alive for some time after the collision as well," he said.
"I'm quite certain they knew that they hit a person."
Public help needed to solve mystery
Police have said the public plays a vital role in helping solve the crime.
Those responsible could face charges including dangerous or culpable driving, leaving the scene of a fatal crash, and failing to render assistance.
Meanwhile, Detective Sergeant von Tunk has urged anyone with information to come forward, as Mr Airs' family struggles for answers.
"The 25th of November will stay with them forever," he said.
"Anyone involved in road trauma knows the effects reverberate right through the family, and right through the local community as well.
"They're devastated and it feels just like yesterday for them."

could have been planning to be away for a while. I note that open season for Hog Deer commences on the 1st of April. Possible he was planning to be there for a few weeks to coincide with that and got to Wonnangatta early to beat the rush on securing the prime campsite.

Not sure what his venison harvesting habit was but also possible he goes out once a year and brings back what he needs. Trailer would be handy for that.

When was his car painted from white to blue? This hit and run happened on Nov 25 2017. Lynn's car was white in 2014 and painted blue sometime before 2019. Why did he paint it blue, and is anyone able to provide evidence of when this was repainted between these years.

Below is from September 17th 2017. Already blue before the 25th

2021-12-01 08_59_42-PhotoMaps by nearmap.jpg

Do we know if old mate Greggy has been flying for Jetstar since the incident? Or has he been ground bound due to Covid? Concerning if he's been in charge of a passenger aircraft
It was reported last week that he had been grounded earlier this year due to a medical condition. Been training others since.

Tip your lid to what ?
Two years plus and if they knew this vehicle so long ago then they knew its logs/apps/dapps infos months ago in regard to traction. I
This is one of the reasons I'm not convinced it was through GPS logs that they knew where to search. They've had his ID for months and would have had warrants to put in surveillance, request info etc. If they had access to all of that, wouldn't they have picked up his tracks and his movements (including extended stops anywhere) between WV and GA rd before now? I still think kudos are in order for the way that they have put everything together and used very effective psychological tactics to flush him out.