"It could only be him. He was great! I swear! Please, I love my family..."

GUM-BOM, kickthething (BOM)

"Absolutely the best posting rookie Ruckman of the round."

---

WHO IS GOING TO BE THIS WEEK'S “TORCH”?

Carrying The Torch (R10)

Carrying The Torch

The first rookie to receive the Torch was PMBangers, who passed it to Kilroy. Then, it was guero‘s turn, who handled it to Supersuns. Next, it came Mister M, who was succeeded by MITS. He was followed by omgfridge, who has given the Torch to Muddiemoose. Now, the Torch-carrier is MC Bad Genius.

Who will be the 10th rookie to hold the Torch?

Justifications: R10

"WHY SHOULD THIS ROOKIE BE THE TORCH?!"

Each week, Committee members must justify their choices of match thread winners. This not only helps us choosing who wins the Torch, but it also works as reference for all the rookies on what it is expected from them in the match threads.

This is what it was said about each one of the nominees this round:

kickthething
Better late than never, a bit like a Fremantle premiership really, comes the write up for Bombers rookie kickthething.

His week started a little slowly as he was Genghis Tron'ned from the Friday night TubeRadio the preceding week ...

No after last Fridays event Genghis Tron has me reviewing my entire taste in music. I cannot get past the Abonimable Iron Sloth, so much I checked out a few other songs of theirs, carcass sounds just like all the others...and an now in permanent counseling.

But he was still happy to offer his understandings of the vocal range ...

Dont know if you have entered the world of Mongolian Throat Singing, I reckon the dude in Funeral Moth is a step away from it.

Before offering a considered and wise take on the state of beer these days ...

Ive never really had one I liked and tried a few. That goes for craft beers as well, there are very few craft beers that go OK, most of them seem to be spending their time trying to make them taste like anything but beer.

My God, the words Rice and Beer should only be seen under different headings on a menu.

Salient advice, if its all on offer I will drink the first one fast so I can forget in double time, but if my beer is coming with drinking notes, then all bets are off

Before offering his opinion on ... coffee, I think?

Once you go black you dont go back eh BoomerAndy

And surmising what I couldn't manage in my entire Steamer piece regarding GWS Goose in only the one sentence ...

GWS Goose you are projecting alright, and have got most of it all over yourself

He's also a team player. Might as well have been for the Gumbies though this week ...

That looks like an absolute blinder to me kickthethi 0 1 1 1 0 0 2 0 0 2 Just set a new record for myself, gotta say though, they were the best 2 DT points you will ever see.

Congrats on the 2 DT points KTT and a fine week on the keyboard :thumbsu:

tony
tony is a not a man that wastes his bullets. When he shots, it usually hits the target. That's why he doesn't post as much as his fellow cubs, but, even though they may have been more popular, he is probably the best poster of the trio. Finally, the Committee has acknowledged his talent. [No. This has nothing to do with the social visit I got this week from tony's colleagues. It's all true. I swear!]

He may be naive sometimes:
"Isn't that where the Bombers said you put you rocks, are you telling me, they were lying, I will never believe another thing they say."

But he has tons of qualities.

He is a hard-worker:
"I look at our team stats to see if we have a milestone each week, so I can do the banners and other stuff."

He is gallant:
"It is very soon @xenxen. We haven't forgotten it."
"I will make sure I come up with something special for you."

He is humble:
"Thanks mate, at least 1 of us has confidence in me. Hopefully you will be ready to clean up my mess..."

He is polite:
"Thanks for the OP @Santoz and @Tony Lynn 15. Good luck to the Rats and let's hope for a fun week of banter."
"Thanks for the week Rats and @philreich for posting the game. Good luck for the rest of the season and hope to see you again in the finals."

Even though, he can be misunderstood:
"That seems to be happening a lot lately, people seem to be reading into what I say in a dark and sinister way, when I say good luck to people they think I am about to put a hit on them."

Go figure!

Despite all that, he even worries about others:
"Poor Testy is still busy with that nasty itch he has. Hopefully we will see him soon. I hope you are well mate."
testy-scratching-balls-gif.973918

Still, this post alone is worthy of a nomination:
Have a good weekend everyone.

rd-10-complete-gif.976219

This is tony, ladies and gentlemen. We all should know him. He deserves it.

T2B_
With yet another Torch nomination this week is Dragon T2B_. Certainly one of the more prolific S30 rookies this season, T2B_ has been finding his feet and showing a heap of quality to go with the quantity. He was all over the Dragons vs. Furies thread this week, with plenty of banter, random facts and a few well targeted snipes all hitting the spot.

T2B_ is well known for his avocado obsession, and he kicked off the week by reminding the Furies of this fact:

T2B_ said:

*taps mic* is this thing on? Testing, testing. Everyone likes avocado? *taps* Okay great.

How's it hanging Furries?

His S30 comrade BLUEALLTHRU made an appearance, and it was during this visit that T2B_ realised that the Dragons weren't the only team to be graced with the 4th worst gatecrasher in the league.

T2B_ said:

He wanders into our threads too. I thought we were special :(

@BLUEALLTHRU you bar harlot!

Just kidding you can join us anytime.

T2B_ has begun to understand that there is a regular theme to Dragons match threads, and luckily he is learning to embrace it.

T2B_ said:

Thread turning into a beer and junk food fest in 3....2...... 1......

T2B_ said:

And welp, up to 11 pages already. Can see what this week is gonna be like already,

All Furies match threads this season seem to revolve around the Bastyy Fan Club, and T2B_ was all too happy to get his two cents in.

T2B_ said:

Now y'all know I'm about the Bastyy Fan Club as much as anyone, but that last line it looks like it reads "Foxtel Pornhub", and not Foxtel AND Pornhub.

The thought of Dwayne Russel, Gary Lyon and Co coming up in ads between videos makes my boner want to pack up and run away.

Blind loyalty to your skipper is also important in the SFA, and T2B_ is certainly showing signs of that with comments like this:

T2B_ said:

People don't realise that under the mellow exterior and unfortunate Rebecca Black Friday postings that @AceAndy is actually a tough campaigner. Not a strutting, chest puffing tough type but more the quieter nuggety type you wouldn't wanna try jump in an alley
giphy.gif

There's also a bit of friendly rivalry going on between T2B_ and VandoHawk at the Dragons, and the horseplay is clearly evident:

T2B_ said:

We have a plane???

Why have I been made to ride @VandoHawk to training everyday then?

T2B_ said:

Now now you've never made us look sh*t Vando.

Okay, okay your stint at FB wasn't a shining light but it would still be good enough to get a gig with the Warriors.

T2B_ said:

Vando would never do that to me, we're tighter than tight.

That said, I've got the local glue factory on speed dial just in case.

As the week continued T2B_ was all too happy to start firing some salvos at the more senior Furies players, with The Half Back being the first:

T2B_ said:

How @The Half Back sees themselves ITT..
giphy.gif

The reality...
giphy.gif

And everyone's favourite Warner Brothers fan TJASTA also getting some attention:

T2B_ said:

Well, that spam was fun.

Fair dinkum, is @TJASTA that guy that makes team meetings extremely awkward and harder work than they need to be, Furries?

T2B_ said:

Fake news. If that was @TJASTA it would be done in crayon on the side of the stone wall.

T2B_ said:

Honestly TJ's posting is a strong contender to dethrone old mate Swanny.

Seriously, if I ever get far enough along in my SFA career to become so jaded, crusty and lazy in my posting just put me out of my misery.

giphy.gif

T2B_ said:

Does your idea of fun also involve hooking up a car battery to your testicles, perchance ?

The Bombers made a late cameo in the match thread on the Sunday, and T2B_ was all too happy to give them a piece of his mind:

T2B_ said:

I can believe that. It would be a pseudointellectual's version of sex chat with the likes of @TheCoach16 and @Tony Lynn 15 getting their rocks off to dictionary.com in between everyone else bemoaning how the sim is rigged.

How close am I?

The game then kicked off, and T2B_ copped his usual dose of rubbish from the sim. He's learning to expect it though, and has identified himself as the team decoy.

T2B_ said:

Absolute mare of a first quarter by yours truly, @Norma Lee Ava killed me every contest, but as a team, very good start.

T2B_ said:

Did my best impression of a decoy. If the team just bypasses CHF we're sure to continue getting results :D

T2B_ said:

Thanks for simming @Barrybran and thanks for the week Furies (I'll spell it right just this once @Mister M ). Great game and it was only in the twilight of the match that we ran away with it.

Definitely a unique and diverse posting squad you got going there too. Until next time!

Great effort T2B_. Surely this is the week where you finally get your Torch win?

RobR
162 posts! It was now the time for RobR to step out of Supersuns' and BAT's shadows. And, boy, did he.

This week, the nominee was a great all-round performer. Let's examine the evidence:

- Pundit: "Mooch in for a big game this week."

- Inspiring: "Good morning mate, in my best James Brown voice 'I feel good.'"

- Tells it like it is: "The Sim can do anything you want it to do...it can't affect my qooty performance as the sim doesn't know how to spell RobR anyway." [... which resulted in the Roys' version of the resim.]

- Optimistic: "So going by the weather there won't be much snow about at Mt Bulla on the weekend. That should take away the home ground advantage...if by chance you get a couple of goals up on us we can start a snowball fight. That's one fight us old guys could possibly win."

- Professional: he called out Supersuns for being hungover on game day.

- Understands how time differences work: "He's probably just waking up now, it's three hours ago over there."

- No snitch: "I know where the stout is but my lips are sealed."

And his entry into the Fringe Joke of the Year competition:

Q: "Where's the coke?"
A: "There's none left, Shane Mumfords been there..." "that's the quickest i ever seen big Mummy move."

Will it be his time this week? We'll find out soon!

"WHY SHOULD THIS ROOKIE BE THE TORCH?!"

Each week, Committee members must justify their choices of match thread winners. This not only helps us choosing who wins the Torch, but it also works as reference for all the rookies on what it is expected from them in the match threads.

This is what it was said about each one of the nominees this round:

kickthething
Round 10 against the Gumbies saw Bomber rookie kickthething...
Coming soon! Waiting for Santoz or GWS Goose to bring the justification.

tony
tony is a not a man that wastes his bullets. When he shots, it usually hits the target. That's why he doesn't post as much as his fellow cubs, but, even though they may have been more popular, he is probably the best poster of the trio. Finally, the Committee has acknowledged his talent. [No. This has nothing to do with the social visit I got this week from tony's colleagues. It's all true. I swear!]

He may be naive sometimes:
"Isn't that where the Bombers said you put you rocks, are you telling me, they were lying, I will never believe another thing they say."

But he has tons of qualities.

He is a hard-worker:
"I look at our team stats to see if we have a milestone each week, so I can do the banners and other stuff."

He is gallant:
"It is very soon @xenxen. We haven't forgotten it."
"I will make sure I come up with something special for you."

He is humble:
"Thanks mate, at least 1 of us has confidence in me. Hopefully you will be ready to clean up my mess..."

He is polite:
"Thanks for the OP @Santoz and @Tony Lynn 15. Good luck to the Rats and let's hope for a fun week of banter."
"Thanks for the week Rats and @philreich for posting the game. Good luck for the rest of the season and hope to see you again in the finals."

Even though, he can be misunderstood:
"That seems to be happening a lot lately, people seem to be reading into what I say in a dark and sinister way, when I say good luck to people they think I am about to put a hit on them."

Go figure!

Despite all that, he even worries about others:
"Poor Testy is still busy with that nasty itch he has. Hopefully we will see him soon. I hope you are well mate."
testy-scratching-balls-gif.973918

Still, this post alone is worthy of a nomination:

This is tony, ladies and gentlemen. We all should know him. He deserves it.

T2B_
With yet another Torch nomination this week is Dragon T2B_. Certainly one of the more prolific S30 rookies this season, T2B_ has been finding his feet and showing a heap of quality to go with the quantity. He was all over the Dragons vs. Furies thread this week, with plenty of banter, random facts and a few well targeted snipes all hitting the spot.

T2B_ is well known for his avocado obsession, and he kicked off the week by reminding the Furies of this fact:

His S30 comrade BLUEALLTHRU made an appearance, and it was during this visit that T2B_ realised that the Dragons weren't the only team to be graced with the 4th worst gatecrasher in the league.

T2B_ has begun to understand that there is a regular theme to Dragons match threads, and luckily he is learning to embrace it.

All Furies match threads this season seem to revolve around the Bastyy Fan Club, and T2B_ was all too happy to get his two cents in.

Blind loyalty to your skipper is also important in the SFA, and T2B_ is certainly showing signs of that with comments like this:

There's also a bit of friendly rivalry going on between T2B_ and VandoHawk at the Dragons, and the horseplay is clearly evident:

As the week continued T2B_ was all too happy to start firing some salvos at the more senior Furies players, with The Half Back being the first:

And everyone's favourite Warner Brothers fan TJASTA also getting some attention:

The Bombers made a late cameo in the match thread on the Sunday, and T2B_ was all too happy to give them a piece of his mind:

The game then kicked off, and T2B_ copped his usual dose of rubbish from the sim. He's learning to expect it though, and has identified himself as the team decoy.

Great effort T2B_. Surely this is the week where you finally get your Torch win?

RobR
162 posts! It was now the time for RobR to step out of Supersun's shadow. And boy, did he. This week the nominee was a great all-round performer.

Let's examine the evidence:

- Pundit: "Mooch in for a big game this week."

- Inspiring: "Good morning mate, in my best James Brown voice 'I feel good.'"

- Tells it like it is: "The Sim can do anything you want it to do...it can't affect my qooty performance as the sim doesn't know how to spell RobR anyway." [... which resulted in the Roys' version of the resim.]

- Optimistic: "So going by the weather there won't be much snow about at Mt Bulla on the weekend. That should take away the home ground advantage...if by chance you get a couple of goals up on us we can start a snowball fight. That's one fight us old guys could possibly win."

- Professional: he called out Supersuns for being hungover on game day.

- Understands how time differences work: "He's probably just waking up now, it's three hours ago over there."

- No snitch: "I know where the stout is but my lips are sealed."

And his entry into the Fringe joke of the year competition:

Q: "Where's the coke?"
A: "There's none left, Shane Mumfords been there..." "that's the quickest i ever seen big Mummy move."

Will it be his time this week? We'll find out soon!

It will be an absolute travesty if RobR doesn't get! FFS he's got about 5 years to live...be kind!

The Doctor told me if i drink more stout i can make it six.

Winner: R10
1602231031631.png

ROUND 10 NOMINATION

Hi all, Chipmunk here again for the Round 10 results.

I guess it was always meant to be with such high quality performances coming from the rookies. Reading the threads we had some dominant banter from all the nominees, with kickthething 's musical talents, tony 's unsubtle use of blackmail, T2B_ 's love of avocados, and RobR 's joke of the year. As a good chipmunk did, he put his vote in and went to bed.

Next morning:

The committee was on fire. Plenty of debate, votes going everywhere and ever-changing leads. Luckily, I missed of that so just saw the final result. And in a super-tight vote, the winner of the Round 10 nom completes the Three Amigos, the third Bear rookie, it's tony !

It took a little time for tony to arrive at the studio as he was...busy:
1602232009156.png

But we finally managed to get him in for a chat with his VC MWPP .

1602230543953.png

Firstly, to MWPP :

Congratulations for your team's third Torch nomination. After guero in R1 and Muddiemoose in R8, tony has taken out this round's award. How does it feel to be the club most represented in the Torch nominations?

It's Choctastic :) . guero 's diversity and haikus along with Muddiemoose 's inspiring backstory and willingness to fly the flag have already earned them recognition, but now people are realising how tony 's offseason personal training program has transformed him for the better, on and off the field

We have certainly noticed the difference at the committee, that's for sure.

tony is now well-known for his weekly match gifs which have won numerous post of the week noms. Aside from that, how would you describe tony's posting style? How did you find tony and what does he bring to the Bear camp?

As mentioned before, credit to the Serpents' LG again where it's due for bringing tony into the league , but the practice match was the turning point. Unsurprisingly given his penchant for gambling , he has slotted seamlessly into the Bears . In threads, tony epitomises quality over quantity. He gives off the personality of someone who would be fun to have a drink/night out with but just as reliable to debrief with. Many people might not know this but behind the scenes his leadership , organisation and commitment to the team has stood out. We've had a few club milestones lately and he has approached us to offer to help and ensure that they are recognised, whilst being modest enough to never seeking any recognition/glory himself. He's a team player through and through as shown by the diversity of what he has offered and added, and he has very much deserved his move from HBF to W in the second half of the season.

We've asked for your thoughts on a number of rookie elements, and now many will be thinking of an EKA push. What advice would you give those looking to win the coveted award?

I'm probably not the best person to ask since I took many seasons to find my feet but since you've asked (and as contradictory as it sounds) - to get involved without getting *too* involved to the point of risking burnout/second year blues. More importantly, they should just look after themselves and have fun . It's about the journey, not the destination afterall .

Great advice there, we don't want the EKA curse to strike again.

And then I spoke to our nominee tony :

Congratulations tony. How does it feel to get the Torch nom?

I am very surprised to have gotten the nomination this week, I was up against some very good competition who have since disappeared, I promise I didn't touch them. In saying that I am proud that my posting ability has been noticed and gotten me the nomination, I have been trying to go for a quality over quantity posting style.

It certainly has.

How are you enjoying the season so far? How are the Bears treating you?

I am really enjoying the season, now that the posting in match threads has slowed down a bit it makes it easier to keep up and look around in other threads as well, which helps me learn more about the characters in the SFA. The Bears have been treating me great, they have provided me with help when needed and encouraged me to continue posting my gifs. Which other captain in the SFA would allow me to leak a video of them scratching themselves and be the butt of the joke most weeks in my gifs. Testy is a great captain.

[Laughter offscreen. Chip: Hey guys, he's being serious!]

Your gifs are something special mate. How do you come up with the ideas and can you give an exclusive of an idea which may come in the future?

Thank you, I have no idea why I even attempted it week 1, it was the 1st time I have made anything like it but people seem to enjoy it so I have continued to make them. The ideas have come from many places, most times they come to me just sitting on the crapper and other times from team mates. I then like to look at the opposition side and their profile pics and try to work them into the story. The story based on you and your Hawks side has been the most popular one to date.
I don't want to give away too many secrets but I can say that come finals time, there will be a big finale which will end on a cliffhanger with a much loved SFA identities life hanging in the balance which will continue into Season 31.

Looking forward to that!

How has Test Tickle reacted from you leaking the NSFW picture of him on his sofa?

At first he was fine with me posting it but since then, I think he has become a little embarrassed by all the attention it got and he went into hiding soon after, hopefully he will reappear soon.

[awkward silence]

How all the Three Amigos (tony, Muddiemoose and guero) have a Torch nom. How will you be celebrating?

Lots of drinks and dancing
1602233471236.png

Which other rookies and teams have impressed you? And do you have a nemesis?

The first 2 that come to mind are my team mates guero and Muddiemoose , they are just brilliant and diverse, they can talk about anything and make it entertaining. Mister M and omgfridge are another 2 I have enjoyed from opposition sides. We have yet to play the Roys but I look forward to playing them and matching up against their rookies especially BLUEALLTHRU who I have seen in many threads around the SFA. I don't believe I have a nemesis but they do say keep your friends close and your enemies closer.

What do you think your chances are for the EKA?

This old Italian saying sums up my chances, Quando gli asini voleranno ("when donkeys will fly"). Honestly I think the only way I get my hands on the EKA is if it fell off the back of a truck, which funnily enough happens quite a bit to me.

Great job tony, and look forward to seeing what you have to offer for the rest of the season. Congratulations again, here's your trophy:

1602232831089.png

So, 6 rounds to go. As they say in the biz, it's the final countdown. Until next time!

How all the Three Amigos (tony, Muddiemoose and guero) have a Torch nom. How will you be celebrating?

Lots of drinks and dancing
Great interview Chipmunk
We are done drinking for now, its now time for some dancing.
3 amigos gif.gif

Would you like to go on holiday? I can arrange it for you.

Why does everything you say sound like you're putting a hit out on someone?

Changing your name: broke
Getting cosmetic surgery and pretending to be someone new: woke

I've had no surgery; I'm all chipmunk and proud.

We'll see how true it is come December to Feburary

In England it'll be winter, so I'll be hibernating. 3 months of mostly sleep and nuts the rest of you could only dream of.

Event S30 Rookie “Torch of the Year” Award [Rising Star]