Event S30 Rookie “Torch of the Year” Award [Rising Star]

Justifications: R11

"WHY SHOULD THIS ROOKIE BE THE TORCH?!"

Each week, Committee members must justify their choices of match thread winners. This not only helps us choosing who wins the Torch, but it also works as reference for all the rookies on what it is expected from them in the match threads.

This is what it was said about each one of the nominees this round:

kickthething
kickthething decided he'd take aim at some the Warrior's finer posters initially in the match thread, but as none of them were around, he decided to have a go at tonga Bobinstead ...

Tonga Bob it seems like you have overcome that going off early issue

Penis pumps were a topic of conversation and KTT revealed he had formed his own pump club ...

We're looking for new members

And when questioned about the fit of the model he was using ...

Hey its not my fault they make them too small

He also picked up on one of TheInjuryFactory's fetishes ...

tif-fish-png.983404

By the look on that fish I think you need to be more careful with your hands,

And now by Round 11, his prematch routine is finely tuned ...

Dont be alarmed when you see me warming up outside the ground, my pre game ritual is highly structured

warm-up-gif.982522

Another fine display this week from Bombers rookie kickthething

T2B_
Waiting for serial_thrilla.

RobR
In a high-quality thread it was RobR again who stepped up to the plate, delivering just short of 150 posts.

One great thing about this rookie's play was that the was involved in the match thread itself; inspiring his teammates, bantering with the opposition and making the game itself enjoyable, as well as sorting out the post-match drinks. This bodes well for the future. He also declared that he had a shower before the game, which is always welcome.

As for topics of banter, these varied from Jimmy Buckley, calling out fellow rookie Supersuns for his KFC obsession, the perils of supporting Carlton and their chances in the draft, and making this shocking revelation:

The Lord Of The Rings and the Hobbit are the only fantasy movies i've watched, and that's because my wife made me.

Thinking the films came first and pretending his wife made him watch them is what's wrong with the youth of today.

The Roys have a good one here, and he seems to be interested back (though he didn't spend too long at the library from what we saw):

I'm going to the library tomorrow to get the History Of The Roys.

Congrats on the nominee for this game, will it be enough to take out the win?

"WHY SHOULD THIS ROOKIE BE THE TORCH?!"

Each week, Committee members must justify their choices of match thread winners. This not only helps us choosing who wins the Torch, but it also works as reference for all the rookies on what it is expected from them in the match threads.

This is what it was said about each one of the nominees this round:

kickthething
kickthething decided he'd take aim at some the Warrior's finer posters initially in the match thread, but as none of them were around, he decided to have a go at tonga Bobinstead ...

Tonga Bob it seems like you have overcome that going off early issue

Penis pumps were a topic of conversation and KTT revealed he had formed his own pump club ...

We're looking for new members

And when questioned about the fit of the model he was using ...

Hey its not my fault they make them too small

He also picked up on one of TheInjuryFactory's fetishes ...

tif-fish-png.983404

By the look on that fish I think you need to be more careful with your hands,

And now by Round 11, his prematch routine is finely tuned ...

Dont be alarmed when you see me warming up outside the ground, my pre game ritual is highly structured

warm-up-gif.982522

Another fine display this week from Bombers rookie kickthething

T2B_
Waiting for serial_thrilla.

RobR
In a high-quality thread it was RobR again who stepped up to the plate, delivering just short of 150 posts.

One great thing about this rookie's play was that the was involved in the match thread itself; inspiring his teammates, bantering with the opposition and making the game itself enjoyable, as well as sorting out the post-match drinks. This bodes well for the future. He also declared that he had a shower before the game, which is always welcome.

As for topics of banter, these varied from Jimmy Buckley, calling out fellow rookie Supersuns for his KFC obsession, the perils of supporting Carlton and their chances in the draft, and making this shocking revelation:

The Lord Of The Rings and the Hobbit are the only fantasy movies i've watched, and that's because my wife made me.

Thinking the films came first and pretending his wife made him watch them is what's wrong with the youth of today.

The Roys have a good one here, and he seems to be interested back (though he didn't spend too long at the library from what we saw):

I'm going to the library tomorrow to get the History Of The Roys.

Congrats on the nominee for this game, will it be enough to take out the win?

Wow hard to see T2B_ getting up this week

Cmon rooks all you gotta do in the interview is sh*t on Supersuns and/or any of the Bears rookies.

My favourite interviews are when they mock the concept of a talking fridge.

Winner: R11
torch r11.jpg
Hey hey everyone, it's time to announce last week's Torch of the Season nominee, and boy do we have a surprise in store for you?

Nek minnit:

rob the surprise spoiler.jpg

R12 nominees are set, but we cannot announce them because there is no R11 winner.

Where is the interview?!

I done it last week.

surprise.gif

RobR won. He's the nominee. Sorry you had to find out this way, kickthething and T2B_. If you had've shitposted better then you would've won and we wouldn't be in this position, so really it's your fault. Well mainly it's RobR's fault for letting the cat out of the bag. And GremioPower's fault for handing Rob the bag with a cat in it. And TedDougChris' fault for taking more than five minutes to answer a bunch of questions. But it's your fault too. I hope you learn from this.

torch rob.jpg

I sat down with RobR and TedDougChris to discuss the nomination. First up I spoke with the captain of the Roys:

Bob: Hey there Ted. You guys seem to be rolling along nicely this season both on and off the field, and now you have a second rookie receive a Torch nomination! How does it feel?

Ted: Hi Tonga Bob, yes - things are rolling along smoothly at the minute - we're now gradually raising expectations that we might make the finals - only to collapse at the last minute and miss out dramatically. All going according to plan here....

In terms of rookies we have been blessed with quality rookies this year, all bringing different qualities. Supersuns has embraced the league - avatar bets and all, RobR has been a midfield force, BLUEALLTHRU is always banned, or drunk..... It's been a good year for us and the new guys as well.

Bob: Congrats on getting RobR to the Roys. Where did you find him, and how are they settling in?

Ted: RobR was found wandering aimlessly outside the BJO one day, with BLUEALLTHRU having led him astray on a big night out. He was mumbling something like "Has anyone seen my keys", so we signed him up before he sobered up and the rest is history.

Bob: That's sweet. What has his posting style been like?

Ted: Apart from a strange affliction of enjoying the Bombers match threads, which we'll soon beat out of him, he's been very engaging with all our opponents and enjoys the match threads and fits in nicely with the Roys posting style - which is mostly picking on me and working with the Coup team...

Bob: A winning combination. Another of your rookies in Supersuns has already picked up both a Gun nomination for his qooty skills and a Torch nomination for his posting prowess. RobR now joins him with a Torch nod, whereas your other rookie BLUEALLTHRU seems to be too busy either manning the BJO bar or trawling through other match threads to get a nomination for anything. Is this part of your grand plan or have you just forgotten about him?

Ted: BLUEALLTHRU has been putting in some excellent performances at CHF this season, we're really impressed by his on and off field impact - so we're hoping he gets some rewards for his efforts sometime soon.

Bob: Now that we're deep into the season, are there any rookies from other teams that you wish you had gotten your hands on whose posting you enjoy?

Ted: PMBangers & T2B_ are two that spring to mind, although I haven't seen tony or Muddiemoose in action yet, due to quirks of the fixture...

Cheers Ted, all the best to you & the Monkey Men for the rest of the season. Now it's over to the nominee:

Bob: Hello Rob. Congratulations on receiving a Torch of the Week nomination. You've been an active part of the Royjuvenation this season. What path did you take to get to the SFA, and where did you first hear about it?

Rob: G'day Bob, played for the Carlton board against the touring All Star team and liked what I saw.

Bob: What are your impressions of the place now you've been around a while? Are TedDougChris & the Roys looking after you?

Rob: Yep, been well looked after here, we have a great bar and bar manager BLUEALLTHRU.

Bob: Glad he's found his niche. What's it like to be a rookie in a retirement village?

Rob: I fit in very nicely, I like going to bed early and rising early but Mobbs does his best work in the middle of the night.

Bob: So I've heard. How do you prepare for a match thread?

Rob: A couple of stubbies of stout usually fires me up with a little bit of Cold Chisel in the background.

Bob: Well old mate 'ken Barnsey used to be up on stage swigging a bottle of vodka during his set so you may be onto something. What would you like to achieve off field during your SFA career? Have you ventured into the world of media yet?

Rob: Probably too early in my career to think about off field stuff.

Bob: It's never too early. Have there been any other teams that have stood out for you in the match threads or posters that you like the look of?

Rob: I've enjoyed all the match threads so far, but the one against the Bombers I really enjoyed.

Bob: Have you clashed with teams, or have found a nemesis yet?

Rob: Not really, but last week eth-dog did call me a moron so I'll make him my nemesis.

torch trophy rob.jpg

He probably called you a moron because you spoiled his surprise or something. Anyway, congrats on your nomination Rob and here's your miniature novelty trophy.

That's eleven torch nominations given out. Think you have what it takes to pick up one of the final five? Impress the Committee and you may just answer that question.

round 11d.gif

Nah RobR is a worthy winner. Between him and BLUEALLTHRU the Roys have the dynamic Blues Brothers.
Thanks mate.
It's actually an insult to RobR to be mentioned in the same sentence as someone who has been suspended for transphobic/homophobic/family-related slurs
Is BLUEALLTHRU still eligible since a suspension goes against the spirit of these awards being a rookie best and fairest of sorts? That goes for MITS too

Nominees: R12

ROUND 12
THE NOMINEES

GUM-ROY, BLUEALLTHRU (ROY)

"Another 5-point performance."

DRA-WON, T2B_ (DRA)

"Close call, but still the best!"

HAW-CIW, FootyGuy13 (CIW)

"Few, but solid posts."

---

WHO IS GOING TO BE THIS WEEK'S “TORCH”?

It's actually an insult to RobR to be mentioned in the same sentence as someone who has been suspended for transphobic/homophobic/family-related slurs
Is BLUEALLTHRU still eligible since a suspension goes against the spirit of these awards being a rookie best and fairest of sorts? That goes for MITS too
you are actually insulting intelligent people with your shit posting...Beat it sook!

Event S30 Rookie “Torch of the Year” Award [Rising Star]