Official Match Thread S31 Round 8 - Dragons FFC vs Gold City Royals at Ljp86's Lair

It does raise a valid point though, there are no good songs about Wednesday.

Addams Family theme goes alright.

I'm glad you asked...

My ranking of the days of the week, from worst to best:

4. Thursday: you're past the midway point of the working week and things are looking up - you can look forward to taking the piss at work the following day as well. Got an underrated vibe to it. During non-**** seasons the AFL teams for the weekend are named, so you can always look forward to going to club boards on BigFooty for selection melts.

fin.

They don't even do all the teams on Thursday any more... :(

I've let this post dwell within for the last hour or so and have had literally the most boring and sleepy Wednesday afternoon ever, to the extent I'm drinking arvo coffee for the first time ever. So, thanks I guess.

That reminds me, I should go have my arvo coffee to distract me from work. Yet again.

Need to get my fitness up so I bought a dog

Gonna call it 5 Miles - I can say I walked 5 Miles every night

grumbleguts
I am applying for a job this week, cleaning mirrors. Terribly excited! I can totally see myself doing that for a living.

What's one scene from EOTW that you hope doesn't get cut from the show?

It's small but the moment when Nynaeve helps free Perrin and Egwene and Moiraine is calling down lightning. Sort of associate that moment with me becoming hooked.

The lack of Elayne casting is indeed troubling. I can hear arguments that she might be superfluous but she adds so much personality. She's the female Mat aka she's the fun one. Can't really see Egwene and Nynaeve getting caught over and over without Elayne being there.

I'm glad you asked...

My ranking of the days of the week, from worst to best:

7. Tuesday: you start to wonder why you bother. No real excuse to take the piss at work, no spiffy means of convincing yourself that everything's OK. Just a turd sandwich wrapped in barbed wire and disappointment.

6. Wednesday: people laud 'hump' day like it's a thing. They're fooling themselves - it's a shitheap. You're miles away from the weekend and people tend to expect you to be productive. Lots of meetings and stuff. Just crap.

5. Monday: the buzz of the weekend still present and you can take the piss at work during the morning. Worst part is pretending to give a sh*t about your colleagues' weekend, which is very likely to have been even more boring than your own.

4. Thursday: you're past the midway point of the working week and things are looking up - you can look forward to taking the piss at work the following day as well. Got an underrated vibe to it. During non-**** seasons the AFL teams for the weekend are named, so you can always look forward to going to club boards on BigFooty for selection melts.

3. Sunday: a good day - don't get me wrong - but it always feels like something nice is about to die, particularly from 4pm onwards.

2. Friday: the day before Saturday - footy to look forward to of a night, usually take the piss a bit at work in preparation for the weekend, good night to head out (*see below disclaimer)

1. Saturday: footy, pubs, first day of the weekend, sleep-ins, another day off to look forward to (*some of these things may not actually happen depending on whether you're in lockdown or have pets that wake you up at 6:50am)

fin.

Others may not verbalise it, but I would like to express my appreciation for your decision to colour code this for us.

😻

I would like to see a day of the week ranking that takes the standard work week out, however.

Because to me Sunday is the best day of the week on an average timeline where work is zero. And maybe it's impossible to fully comprehend what a normal Sunday really is unless everyone is unemployed because I suppose part of what makes Sunday special partially relies on everything being closed. And despite being first on some calendars, Sunday really is the last day. There's an air of finality to it. The footy round ends on a Sunday. The Royals won their Premiership (only a few months ago, remember when we were good? man, time flies) on a Sunday. The Melbourne International Film Festival closes on a Sunday. The day features a feeling of abandon because after Friday and Saturday, people are party'd out, and it really is the peak day for relaxation and reflection. It also has Sun in its name which is cute. And it rhymes with fun. I think, in a utopia, every day would feel like a Sunday.

It's small but the moment when Nynaeve helps free Perrin and Egwene and Moiraine is calling down lightning. Sort of associate that moment with me becoming hooked.

The lack of Elayne casting is indeed troubling. I can hear arguments that she might be superfluous but she adds so much personality. She's the female Mat aka she's the fun one. Can't really see Egwene and Nynaeve getting caught over and over without Elayne being there.
Oh that's a good one - and it parallels with another scene(s) I hope they retain, that being the subtle hints that Rand can channel (such as that lightning he accidentally calls down at Four Kings). The way Moiraine explains the risks of sickness after channeling for the first time to Egwene, and the exact same thing happens to Rand three times right in front of the readers face without them truly understanding is masterful.

I think what they're doing with Elayne is just delaying her appearance until Season 2 as a cost saving measure. Her actress would be on the main cast, and I don't think that wanted to bring her in just for one scene. They can probably shoehorn that scene in elsewhere, or just introduce her when Egwene and Nynaeve get to Tar Valon.

The Official Team Sheet Of The Always Beatable Can't Win At Home Losing Streak x 2 This Is The One Gold City Royals
Round 8 v Dragons FFC

1616624546031.png

B:
Noobz0r - Blacky - Paddles_
HB: MrPremiership - brahj - Smartys Power
C: ShaunDuggan - spookism - grumbleguts
HF: Easty - CakeEater - Ulahoopski
F: NTRabbit - The Filth Wizard - BRAB
Foll: GreyCrow - Marlowe - nahnah

INT: Gadzorks - Danger in Texas

Changes

Danger in Texas - BP to INT
Paddles_ - INT to BP
Gadzorks - FP to INT
Easty - INT to HFF
BRAB - HFF to FP

Hey, our team looks like a diamond.

Anyways I'm off to the hospital! Wish me luck (not that I personally have to do too much).

Just make sure they know where to deliver the Hawaiian pizza.

Good luck mate, to you all.

The Official Team Sheet Of The Always Beatable Can't Win At Home Losing Streak x 2 This Is The One Gold City Royals
Round 8 v Dragons FFC

View attachment 1085291

B:
Noobz0r - Blacky - Paddles_
HB: MrPremiership - brahj - Smartys Power
C: ShaunDuggan - spookism - grumbleguts
HF: Easty - CakeEater - Ulahoopski
F: NTRabbit - The Filth Wizard - BRAB
Foll: GreyCrow - Marlowe - nahnah

INT: Gadzorks - Danger in Texas

Changes

Danger in Texas - BP to INT
Paddles_ - INT to BP
Gadzorks - FP to INT
Easty - INT to HFF
BRAB - HFF to FP

Hey, our team looks like a diamond.

I remember last season, when we were good, that making 5 moves like this would have seemed controversial.
These days, it's like sand through an hourglass and then water of a ducks back.

At least that's how I think that saying goes.

I remember last season, when we were good, that making 5 moves like this would have seemed controversial.
These days, it's like sand through an hourglass and then water of a ducks back.

At least that's how I think that saying goes.

If we win this I probably won't make an unforced change for the rest of the season. The diamond method wins.

Official Match Thread S31 Round 8 - Dragons FFC vs Gold City Royals at Ljp86's Lair