Opinion Sack Hinkley 4 - Show Him The Door

When to sack Ken?

He's responsible for giving Ken a billion extensions.

For that he should be removed from his position.
Extensions should be on the CEO. It just shows how badly the club functions at an administrative level if Koch has been at all involved with those decisions. I'm honestly not convinced he has been, regardless of his media comments.

On his hiring:
1648508201002.png

you take Darren Bu
Ken "rebuilt that football club"

Not Me Reaction GIF by CBS
you take Darren Burgess away and you dont even get close in 2014. Once the rest of the teams caught up in fitness we had nothing else and certainly not a good coach. 3 list revamps later and we are still back in 2015 wondering why we arent good enough. The club is pointing everywhere except at the coach because Ken saved us. YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING

Gerard Whateley on SEN - "Port - sinking ship"

View attachment 1357635

David Koch and Ken Hinkley - dual conductors!
Koch would be conducting the band, Hinkley would be rearranging the deck chairs and Richo would be telling the passengers that there's no need to panic, we've just stopped to take on ice for the champagne.

The suggestion that key forwards' role is to bring the ball to the ground is and indictment on our coaching and fits with everything we've seen over the past few years.

Imagine telling Scott Hodges or Tim Evans that their role was to bring the ball to the ground. I know defensive strategies have changed a lot since then but a key forward marking the ball and having a set shot has to be the aim.

Everything about this regime, from the coach to the jumped up spiv hanging around with failed politicians, is not the club. We have been hollowed out, the brand tarnished beyond recognition. It just sucks.

Anyone would think we had spent decades in the wilderness.

We were the most winning team across 2000 - 2010.

We finished 10th in 2010.

We spent one year in the bottom 4 in 2011.

We finished 12th in 2012.

Yet the club was saved and rebuilt by Ken and Koch, who's first years of work were both 2013.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Anyone would think we had spent decades in the wilderness.

We were the most winning team across 2000 - 2010.

We finished 10th in 2010.

We spent one year in the bottom 4 in 2011.

We finished 12th in 2012.

Yet the club was saved and rebuild by Ken and Koch, who's first years of work were both 2013.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

The technical name for this is post hoc ergo propter hoc.

The suggestion that key forwards' role is to bring the ball to the ground is and indictment on our coaching and fits with everything we've seen over the past few years.

Imagine telling Scott Hodges or Tim Evans that their role was to bring the ball to the ground. I know defensive strategies have changed a lot since then but a key forward marking the ball and having a set shot has to be the aim.

Everything about this regime, from the coach to the jumped up spiv hanging around with failed politicians, is not the club. We have been hollowed out, the brand tarnished beyond recognition. It just sucks.

Port Adelaide legend Tim Evans brought the ball to ground 142 times in 1980. Didn't kick many goals, but by gum did he try hard.

There is no narrative that has grated me more during the Hinkley era than “the role of our key forwards is to bring the ball to ground” and “it doesn’t matter how many goals they kick”….

It’s a cop out for the likes of Dixon who drops more than he should take. Tredrea never put a premium on getting the ball to ground.

For the first time he is starting to get some real heat. Some real heat from the Victorian commentators.

Still torn about this week, a loss to the crows would add even more heat maybe enough for the club to start doing some pre planning. Losing to a bottom 2 side on the back of the hawthorn loss should be his Gold Coast moment. A win is a nothing result for us, gets the press off his back but as a supporter means heck all as we should beat this mob easily

Im feeling much more confident that he wont last past this year.

There is no narrative that has grated me more during the Hinkley era than “the role of our key forwards is to bring the ball to ground” and “it doesn’t matter how many goals they kick”….

It’s a cop out for the likes of Dixon who drops more than he should take. Tredrea never put a premium on getting the ball to ground.
Tredrea could mark, kick on his left and was one of the best big men below his knees, Dixon is not in the same league.

It's time to ask Clarko to come in as a consultant.
For a few weeks, even if we cant have him permanently
Stuff what Hinkley thinks about it. He won't like it and it will make him edgy. Good. Warning shots across the bow.

Not a bad idea

DK... now Clarko wadda ya reckon got any tips to get me (ahem) I mean us out of the sh*t... asking for a friend.
Hinkley craning his neck and cupping his ear against the closed door.

AC... Your not kicking enough goals m8 because ya fart arse around down back with those dinky little kicks that allows the oppo to set up
across the corridor and choke your forward line.
If that's not bad enough ya then go down the line before bombing it long or going to the pockets. I mean seriously it's kindy stuff.
I could give you peak Ablett (snr) Buddy or Duck and 3 smalls from heaven and they'd struggle. How do your supporters put up with it?

DK... Don't worry about them

AC... Wot... don't worry about them !!!

DK... Yeah the usual 10% you know how it is every clubs got 'em. Whinging ingrates... nudge nudge.

AC... rrrright... jeez dunno 'bout that.

DK... Hey trust me I'm a numbers guy right and besides Kenny's got the media talking heads all organised.

AC... :oops: he has?

DK... Yeah yeah takes 'em out for lunches/dinners in the off season or on our away games.

AC... Whadda 'bout in Adelaide I heard the Crows 'ave the media here all sewed up.

DK... Yeah that's been a bit of a problem. Even me own Ch7 have got it in for us but we've worked out a really good dodge there too.

AC... Ya have?

DK... Yep:D... get this. After a bad loss we've got our own muppet (ahem) I mean puppet at Kens' pressers and he guides the Q's
sortta sets the agenda.

AC... Really:oops:... wow not bad. Gotta hand it to ya David how'd ya work that.

DK... We pay him... look when it comes to polishing the turd this guy really is the business.

AC... :oops:. Sheesh m8 I dunno what you got me over here for. Sounds like you've got it all wrapped up with pink ribbons.

DK... Yep but hey had to be seen to be listening to the fan base who were calling for a thorough review you know root n branch stuff.

AC... Ahhh gotcha m8 and hey looks like you've done just that.

DK... Yep we branched out and rooted 'em.

I'm am so freaking sick of this "winningest (yes Koch's words) coach of the last two years"
How have we gone against other top 4.
Two home prelims down the drain
Ken's bullshit plan does not stack up when it matters.
Flat track bullies for ****in years now.
Just sack him already, and take that ****in Bassett loser with him
We want to see something new and fresh.

I'm am so freaking sick of this "winningest (yes Koch's words) coach of the last two years"
How have we gone against other top 4.
Two home prelims down the drain
Ken's bullshit plan does not stack up when it matters.
Flat track bullies for fu**in years now.
Just sack him already, and take that fu**in Bassett loser with him
We want to see something new and fresh.
In a nut shell.

The suggestion that key forwards' role is to bring the ball to the ground is and indictment on our coaching and fits with everything we've seen over the past few years. ...
This is from the guy that thought that repeat F50 entries without scoring was more important than actually scoring. We certainly saw how well that tactic played out on Saturday night.

One thing has been obvious over 10 years of Ken’s tenure and that is he can’t take pressure. Every big game, every opportunity to silence the critics and his team crumbles.

Lock yourselves in boys, the pressure is about to snowball from here and result some really ugly losses. Just remember the end game and the inevitability that this will be his last season at Alberton.

That and the obsession with kicking it to them in the pockets so we can either crumb it or get a throw in for a goal from that must really excite them.

"So OK guys, you want me to lead to the pocket and bring the ball to ground but if I get on a big lead and take a mark I'm having a 10% chance shot at goal or you want me to try and centre it in our f50 that we've flooded ourselves? I can't wait to get out there and play, see ya at the footy coaches! "

Said no forward ever.