Opinion Sack Hinkley 8 - "Ask me in August"

What happens to Hinkley at the end of the year?

I keep telling you, I don't use alts.

I'm too much of a narcissist.

He's also posting too much inane dumb shit. Your bullshit contrarianism is usually well researched and internally consistent.

Arguing against stuff like this is fine though, I don't buy into the "don't feed the trolls" line of thinking. It's good practice to be able to defend your opinions and it forces you to actually apply some critical thinking and deepen your understanding of the game.

To play this out, let's say we're sitting 1st heading in to finals...

What offer are you putting in front of Ken?

Do you think that's the best offer Ken could get if he was to leave?

A 2 round rolling contract that renews every time he wins. Lose 3 in a row and you're out.

He performs at his best with his job under pressure.

Of Ports Libba wasn't the difference. It was boys vs men out there. If Drew's tag was so important then it would have changed the game when it came. Didn't stop Rozee fumbling like it was his first day at Auskick.

For a "Hawthorn" supporter you sure do closely follow every single minuscule detail of Ports games...
Every footy supporter watches the finals.

If you don't believe I'm a Hawthorn supporter then just look at my posting history?

You might have to accept the existence of unbiased opinions that conflict with your own.

Every footy supporter watches the finals.

If you don't believe I'm a Hawthorn supporter then just look at my posting history?

You might have to accept the existence of unbiased opinions that conflict with your own.

Yeah, ok Rooch. Whatever.

He's also posting too much inane dumb s**t. Your bullshit contrarianism is usually well researched and internally consistent.

Arguing against stuff like this is fine though, I don't buy into the "don't feed the trolls" line of thinking. It's good practice to be able to defend your opinions and it forces you to actually apply some critical thinking and deepen your understanding of the game.
But is it really defending your opinions to have to counter ridiculous nonsense like

"Ken wasn't responsible for the prelim but was responsible for getting there"
or
"Ken is a great coach because of his w/l record" lol

It feels completely pointless to me. Nobody who has spent even 20 minutes researching would say anything that silly so you're arguing with someone who is either the physical embodiment of the Dunning Kruger effect, or someone who is just here to troll Port supporters while pretending to support the Hawks. I'd lean extremely strongly towards the latter.

Also to all those saying offer Ken rolling round/1 year or even a 2 year contract - I just don't see it happening. If we are sitting first at the end of the minor round he could go to the Gold Coast or Carlton, far less stress, longer contract, and probably do really at those clubs getting them playing finals again. There's also Tassie which he could be part of, or he certainly has enough friends at AFL house.

I reckon the decision that Ken will accept is either 3 years or end it.

Think about it. You were a record-setting basket case 11 years ago. Now, sitting second on the ladder with the list in great shape at the start of a premiership window, having been to four finals series (soon to be 5) including two prelim finals, you want to sit there and suggest someone else could've done better?
I've been waiting a week and a half to respond to this absolute dumbshittery.

This 'record setting basket case' you refer to. What exactly is it you're referring to? In what way were we a record setting basket case?

Ladder position? We were 5th bottom the year before Hinkley came on board. Hawthorn were 2nd bottom the year before Clarkson came on board. Crowds? Our lowest crowd in 2012 was 13k, Hawthorn's lowest crowd in 2004 was 11k.

Alistair Clarkson started from further back in 2005 than Hinkley did in 2012. By the time Clarkson was at the same stage of his career as Hinkley currently is, he'd won three premierships and was on his way to winning his fourth at the end of the year. So you can absolutely **** off out of here with your 'but look at the basket case he took over!' dribble, because if you weren't a massive idiot, you could have looked no further than your own backyard to find a coach who took an even bigger basket case to four premierships in 11 years.

This 'record setting basket case' you refer to. What exactly is it you're referring to? In what way were we a record setting basket case?

Ladder position? We were 5th bottom the year before Hinkley came on board. Hawthorn were 2nd bottom the year before Clarkson came on board. Crowds? Our lowest crowd in 2012 was 13k, Hawthorn's lowest crowd in 2004 was 11k.

Alistair Clarkson started from further back in 2005 than Hinkley did in 2012. By the time Clarkson was at the same stage of his career as Hinkley currently is, he'd won three premierships and was on his way to winning his fourth at the end of the year. So you can absolutely * off out of here with your 'but look at the basket case he took over!' dribble, because if you weren't a massive idiot, you could have looked no further than your own backyard to find a coach who took an even bigger basket case to four premierships in 11 years.
BLOODY WELL SAID

Alistair Clarkson started from further back in 2005 than Hinkley did in 2012. By the time Clarkson was at the same stage of his career as Hinkley currently is, he'd won three premierships and was on his way to winning his fourth at the end of the year. So you can absolutely * off out of here with your 'but look at the basket case he took over!' dribble, because if you weren't a massive idiot, you could have looked no further than your own backyard to find a coach who took an even bigger basket case to four premierships in 11 years.
I'm talking about your record-setting back to back wins in the pre-season cup, of course.

I'm sorry you've spent over a week writing two paragraphs, but if you want people to answer your questions seriously, then maybe don't tell them to * off.

I'm talking about your record-setting back to back wins in the pre-season cup, of course.

I'm sorry you've spent over a week writing two paragraphs, but if you want people to answer your questions seriously, then maybe don't tell them to * off.

**** off.

You know Rooch once took the time to DM me claiming I was Mark Riccutio

Rooch’s attitude to the digital democratisation of football media/discourse, and his behaviour and performance thereafter, should be a university course somewhere.

From the moment he first dropped his monocle at online feedback of his journalism (while simultaneously happy to plagiarise ExpectToWin’s selection night transcripts for his column without credit) he’s been as curiously unpredictable and inconsistent as a translucent pillowcase of caffeine-addled guinea pigs.

It’s why I’m still not convinced he isn’t old mate thundercloud.

The bipolar swings from disingenuously semi-coherent to shockingly erudite, especially as regards two of his monotonous obsessions — making ‘faceless/online cowards/trolls’ accountable, and defending his patron, Ken Hinkley — are too convenient a coincidence.

Right so the fact the entire team coasted into that prelim, jumping out of contests, our best holding midfielder holding something else at the start of the first quarter doesn’t fit into the definition of “planning, motivating and most importantly maintaining standards”?
The fact your team was in a prelim proves that the planning, motivation and standards were mostly up to scratch. The fact that you lose contested possession in the first quarter by some ridiculous margin just shows that the players weren't switched on. It's the players' responsibility to be switched on, their preparation gave them every opportunity.
Even if and it’s big IF you argue the 2021 prelim was an aberration nobody could foresee how do you explain deficiencies and all these areas for an entire season last year ?

Like I mean I get it you feel we are being unjustifiably harsh (and some of the s**t in here easily crosses that line) what I’m yet to understand is what precisely Ken is accountable for in your mind even when trying to apply your own language….

And THAT fact alone is what is driving people including me to madness because the general discussion Re Ken appears to be structured around reasons why things aren’t his fault or in his control rather than scrutiny over what is!
The start of last season was poor. Team had lost its confidence, with the final game on the previous year an obvious factor. It's not really an excuse for Ken though, he was close to losing his job, and fair enough. If I were a Port supporter then perhaps I would want him gone, and I have no problem if you do think that. It's the disproportionate personal hate that I can't abide.

Pre game speech is irrelevant?

So when you said that the coaches job involves motivation, you meant something other than motivating the team before a game?

^
This would involve a pre game speech to the playing group, yes?

^
So motivating the team is crucial to get to a PF, but not, as it seems, to actually play the PF.
As they say in the classics, cool story bro.

^
And this lack of preparedness of the playing group had nothing whatsoever to do with the Head Coach's pre game address to the playing group? Just a coincidence that it happened to most of the team at the same time, directly after their coach 'motivated' them before running out onto the ground.

^
If the coach talking to the playing group before a game is irrelevant, why would it become relevant after the game has started?

This also raises the issue of Ken now working on the boundary after stubbornly refusing to for years saying he doesn't see the point. It was beneath him.

Perhaps he should have been working on the boundary during the '21 prelim? He could have had the opportunity to 'motivate' the players before the game was lost.

He clearly didn't see winning that game was as important as proving his detractors wrong during a H&A season in a contract renewal year.
Motivate me harder Daddy (Donuts)

It’s the disproportionate personal hate that I can't abide.

Danny Frawley had the Tiges in a Prelim in 2001, and the game where he was roundly abused and spat on at halftime occurred in Round 5, 2004 — a tick over 2 years later.

Neil Craig had the Crows in the finals every year since he was appointed as official senior coach (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009), right up until he started 0-6 in 2010 and was being actively confronted and verbally-abused by irate fans at quarter-time breaks, a tick under one-third of the way through his sixth full season.

At Port Adelaide, someone put up a plainly-stated vote of no confidence on a roadsign, a club legend registered a vote of no confidence on a podcast, and a gaggle of members have bestowed him with sobriquets like “donuts” amidst a 127-year VFL/AFL record tenure of futility.

The horror.

Danny Frawley had the Tiges in a Prelim in 2001, and the game where he was roundly abused and spat on at halftime occurred in Round 5, 2004 — a tick over 2 years later.

Neil Craig had the Crows in the finals every year since he was appointed as official senior coach (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009), right up until he started 0-6 in 2010 and was being actively confronted and verbally-abused by irate fans at quarter-time breaks, a tick under one-third of the way through his sixth full season.

At Port Adelaide, someone put up a plainly-stated vote of no confidence on a roadsign, a club legend registered a vote of no confidence on a podcast, and a gaggle of members have bestowed him with sobriquets like “donuts” amidst a 127-year VFL/AFL record tenure of futility.

The horror.
Cornes for <insert random South American country with a Pablo Escobar hippopotamus collection>