Official Match Thread Season 31 Round 4 - Baghdad Bombers vs Gumbies FFC at Abdu Prison

My in-laws are from up that way - hasn't changed the 15 years or so I have been going up there. Logan is where it's at that - whenever you hear on the news that some sh*t has gone down 'in Brisbane's south' or 'south of Brisbane' you can bet good money it's happening in Logan.
Logan Westfield. The dregs of society.

Hey, hey. That is totally incorrect and uncalled for.

It's called the Logan Hyperdome.
I remember one of my last memories before I left, a poor bugger had a heart attack and was left to die in the emergency waiting area of the Logan Hospital.
In saying that, I can't generalize and say it would be just Logan Hospital that would be experiencing this. It is all too commonplace in the public health system sadly.

I remember one of my last memories before I left, a poor bugger had a heart attack and was left to die in the emergency waiting area of the Logan Hospital.
In saying that, I can't generalize and say it would be just Logan Hospital that would be experiencing this. It is all too commonplace in the public health system sadly.

Yeah I have heard plenty of horror stories similar to that at Wynnum Hospital also - a lot of those suburban hospitals are more like gambling than medical attention.

When they aren't BigFootying :thumbsu:
I can do both mate, park the camper throw the line in, open a stubbie then send the Mrs out to look for firewood. Once all the hard work is done i turn the laptop on.

Mate most of us have given up on the beauty sleep, the more i sleep the more i get older without knowing it.
He is a ripper.

He was the guest speaker at a season launch for my Rugby club one year and was terrific. He is one of the few that tailors his stuff to the audience.

I MC'd the event, my nickname is actually Goose, and when he got up to speak and I introduced him, he started by saying something like he knew what sort of place he was coming to when out of a club with couple hundred players, plus 1000's of past players and committee members, the best bloke they could come up with to run the thing is a guy they call Goose.

He also got out the Sydney Herald's preview and read from it and in it and it said something about being very hard to beat in the wet. He joked that Sydney is in the biggest drought in over a century, and asked if the journo was trying to say something. Was really good stuff.

He also did the usual stories and talked about when he did the frog joke on ABC that bought the house down and how half the producers thought it was amazing and a couple old timers were far from impressed. Apparently some old timer said your paid to describe the entertainment not be the entertainment, no one's paying you to tell jokes, he followed up, how wrong was he, you guys just paid me $10, 000 not only to tell jokes but to tell stories about telling jokes.

Second best after dinner speaker I've seen behind Russell Mark (the Olympic shooter), he was surprisingly hilarious and telling stories you haven't heard a million times.

Dougie's book is full of cracking anecdotes like that. One of my favourite was when he scored the century in a session off a 6 on the last ball. He went into the dressing rooms and was expecting all the blokes to get around him - yet the sheds were empty. He said Chappelli walked out and started tearing strips off of him, telling him he was selfish for getting out on the last ball of the day and he was a glory-hunter not playing for the team etc. Dougie went to put him in his place until he grinned and all the blokes came out of hiding and proceeded to get on the piss - to the point where Dougie gets out first ball the next day because he's hungover.

I have a Dougie story too :)

A mate bought a Golf day with Dougie, I got a tag along.

We teed off at 7am. Afterwards we lunch and a few beers and bets ( I had a cracking day on the punt) at Oatlands Golf club.

At about 5pm he arranged a lift for all 4 of us to go to the Carlingford Bowl his regular.

At 2am when it shut down he arranged for the bar tender to drive us all home (about 20 minutes away)

That was everything you'd want from a day with Doug Walters.

We have a mate in common Graham Hughes (who has the best stories from being a Rothmans rep in charge of the sports ambassadors) and he tells so many great Dougie stories from when their job was to smooze people over beers.

You want me to lie on an anonymous fantasy footy forum?! For shame :).
Fantasy footy forum? You mean all this is not real? I feel suddenly like Jim Carey in either “The Truman Show” or “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”. Or did you mean fantasy as in whips and chains?

Dougie's book is full of cracking anecdotes like that. One of my favourite was when he scored the century in a session off a 6 on the last ball. He went into the dressing rooms and was expecting all the blokes to get around him - yet the sheds were empty. He said Chappelli walked out and started tearing strips off of him, telling him he was selfish for getting out on the last ball of the day and he was a glory-hunter not playing for the team etc. Dougie went to put him in his place until he grinned and all the blokes came out of hiding and proceeded to get on the piss - to the point where Dougie gets out first ball the next day because he's hungover.
Dougie was a legend. I remember reading about one of the Tests during the 1974/75 Ashes series - Lillee and Thomson had ripped through the top half of the batting order, but Derek Underwood was proving a tough nut to crack. He provided stout resistance for more than an hour, until finally, captain Ian Chappell brought Walters on to bowl.

Dougie was known as the golden arm, due to his uncanny ability to break annoying partnerships. His first ball was a juicy full toss outside off stump - Underwood's eyes lit up, and tried to smash the cover off the ball. However he only succeeded in slicing the ball to cover, who completed the catch gleefully. Every fieldsman rushed over to congratulate the bowler for breaking yet another premiership - Walters simply holds up a hand and says, "Thanks guys, but I think we need to give some of the credit to Underwood, because a lesser batsman wouldn't have been able to hit that."

Official Match Thread Season 31 Round 4 - Baghdad Bombers vs Gumbies FFC at Abdu Prison