Review Semi Final, 2024 - GWS vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against GWS?

When you've lost a final the way they did no one wants to say anything. They're still in their gear and just want to forget about it.

How Kingsley summed it up was comforting and pragmatic. I've always been impressed by Kingsley. They'll be back next year.
Yes but that review was done last Wednesday wasn’t it? Surely plenty of time for a bit of self reflection by then. They seem to lack a lot of leadership imo.

Reeks a bit of Kingsley not having the support to bounce ideas like this off beforehand like Fagan does with Daly, Smyth, Lethal and leading teams amongst others
Let's be honest though. They could've easily won it last year and conceivably this year. Just like we could've a couple of times. Everyone looks for reasons why or why you didn't get there but as he said sometimes it just happens.

I didn't see much wrong with the process the Giants went through, IMO the review interaction would have been pretty similar if it was any other well run club, after all it was the biggest away Finals comeback in footy history.

Imagine how brutal it would have been if our method of Opening Round loss this season had been in a knockout final.

The Swans chances of redemption from 2 GF thrashings in 3 seasons would be tougher to bounce back from IMO, anything less than a Premiership from the Swans in 2025 and they have proved nothing.

Yeah I don't mind it -- he's saying that ending up feeling the way they did that day is the risk you take when you are one of the elite teams. It's a variation on Fages' "fail your way to the top" philosophy, just presented in a steelier fashion. He's not pointing fingers at anyone, just encouraging them to learn, absorb, retain and grow stronger.

When you've lost a final the way they did no one wants to say anything. They're still in their gear and just want to forget about it.

How Kingsley summed it up was comforting and pragmatic. I've always been impressed by Kingsley. They'll be back next year.
I get the impression that was the first day of preseason or similar?

Interesting. Not sure I'd be overly confident seeing that as a supporter. Your coach needs to be telling you that you are good enough to win it, not yeah we're pretty good but maybe not the best.

These kind of clips are good in retrospect once you win IMO.

Let's be honest though. They could've easily won it last year and conceivably this year. Just like we could've a couple of times. Everyone looks for reasons why or why you didn't get there but as he said sometimes it just happens.

It would be interesting to have been a fly on the wall of the review of our 2021 semi final loss to the Bulldogs as a comparison.

Indeed, a different coach might have shown the final stages of our 2021 semi final loss to that group of Giants players.

Lots of ways to skin the cat. Whether Kingsley's approach is the right one will only be known in time.

Didn’t think the response of the players was too flash either. They didn’t seem too willing to speak up and when they did they didn’t have much idea what to say. Would have got better responses from an under 14 team I reckon.

Yes. That was cringeworthy. They're all scared to say anything. The coach should be encouraging responses by creating a safe atmosphere.

Had a bit more of a think about this and whilst I agree with you both, I remember being at uni lectures or seminars for work as a 20-something, and you'd get bugger-all out of my cohort as well. It was always the older people in the audience (mature age students or 40-something industry veterans) who would pipe up.

So, as cringeworthy as it seems (and yes I remember being so embarrassed for the presenter even when I was in those sorts of environments, but more embarrassed again to actually speak up), perhaps that's just the lot of the AFL coach.

It would be interesting to see similar meetings from different coaches around the league. It would be awesome if our meetings had heaps of voices chiming in, but who knows from outside if that's actually the case.

Looking at the age profile of the two teams in that semi final, the Giants were actually older (6 days on average), so "oh they are a young inexperienced team" is certainly no excuse.

Had a bit more of a think about this and whilst I agree with you both, I remember being at uni lectures or seminars for work as a 20-something, and you'd get bugger-all out of my cohort as well. It was always the older people in the audience (mature age students or 40-something industry veterans) who would pipe up.

So, as cringeworthy as it seems (and yes I remember being so embarrassed for the presenter even when I was in those sorts of environments, but more embarrassed again to actually speak up), perhaps that's just the lot of the AFL coach.

It would be interesting to see similar meetings from different coaches around the league. It would be awesome if our meetings had heaps of voices chiming in, but who knows from outside if that's actually the case.

Looking at the age profile of the two teams in that semi final, the Giants were actually older (6 days on average), so "oh they are a young inexperienced team" is certainly no excuse.

There’s no simple right answer for coaching as well. As martinson said they could’ve easily beat us and gone on to win the flag and we could still be sitting here talking about how tactical ability is more important than player management.

I’d be willing to guess there’s certain times for open discussion and times where just the coach speaks for every club including ours.

Review Semi Final, 2024 - GWS vs. Brisbane Lions