Preview Semi Final v Bulldogs @ The Gabba, Saturday 4th September 2021, 7.20pm.

Finals destiny?

As much as there is talk of changes reckon Fagan has shown he refuses to change the side too much and I fully expect Lester comes in for Mcstay and thats it.

Win the contested footy and limit clean entry for the bulldogs and the lions bounce back strongly.

Really is a bit of a joke that the Bulldogs have to stay cooped up in the hotel room all day in Brisbane, they have been in Covid free Tasmania and will be there until flying out Friday for Brisbane and would have or could have multiple Covid tests before flying out... for gods sake let them out of their kennel, utter madness.
Sort of agree
But we had to do the same.
Remember the Adelaide Diary put out by our media department
Benn happening for a while depending on Team involved - who it is, where they are going, and where the came from
Surely we get an advantage beating the Dogs by 0.43% into 4th place :)

Not confident at all for this game. Bulldogs game style exposes our weaknesses and add to that the poor form from our defense and I'd be surprised if we come through with a W.

Hopefully our players who were well down on the weekend can find some form.

Not confident at all for this game. Bulldogs game style exposes our weaknesses and add to that the poor form from our defense and I'd be surprised if we come through with a W.

Hopefully our players who were well down on the weekend can find some form.

Yeah this definitely has the making of 2019 GWS semi final, I still have faith in the boys but their confidence would have been shaken up last week with McStay going down and then getting battered in the 2nd quarter. Let’s hope we are proven wrong.

I would just go small and get Tom Berry in the forward line.

Plenty of pressure and he'll go a long way in making sure the Bulldog entries aren't a walk in piece of cake.

Agreed, Tom Berry shutting down Caleb Daniel would be a good option.

Put Adams forward and play Payne in defense. Adams will mark it for sure. I won't put Harris forward either, just let him play close to his man and not be the floater. Harris is currently down in confidence and beating his man should be his priority. Leave the rest to others.

I'd keep Big O in center as well. He will be potentially the difference to this game, if he starts smashing the ball out and release our mids forward. Lycett did exactly that against the Dogs in Round 23 and it was the difference in the end.

What are the chances of Stef playing?

Imo we need to do something different, their midfield depth is too strong for us. The one area I think we exploit is their lack of height and depth in their kpp backs.

Archie and Tom berry for fullaton mcstay, play Oscar at full forward. Or Lester in and Andrews to full forward.

Going head to head with them I believe we will get done, throw something different at them it might be enough to unsettle them.

I agree with some posters here that an "out of the blue/nobody expected that" change is necessary given the situation as it presents itself right now.

I dont agree with putting Andrews forward in any way. He has been our main KPD now for 3 seasons now and has been our rock for that time. Moving him away would be a disaster in my opinion even when his recent form is significantly lower than his usual output the last few games.

I would consider moving Oscar away from main ruck and putting him as a deep forward with Daniher moving up the ground a little more. This move would allow Big O to be the main target around the goals and also allow our smalls opportunities if the ball hit the turf as Big O rarely gets outmarked.

That leaves the problem regarding our #1 ruckman for the game and I would consider either Fullerton taking on the role OR bringing in Archie to replace Fullerton to ruck for 90% of the game. No doubt Tommy would struggle but then our mids would need to play more of a defensive role at centre bounces and at stoppages. Archie would be much more competitive as a ruckman but the thing that worries me more with Archie coming in is his lack of game time against pressure and better quality opposition this year.
Usually i agree with most of your thoughts
However in my opinion Oscar as our number 1 ruck should gives us a good advantage this week
Oscar has been quite good for us over the past 10 weeks.
He has come up against Gawn, Nic Nat, Grundy & Darcy the last 4 weeks. I think Oscar sits just behind those 4 on recent form
He will stay as the number 1 ruck and not spend much time forward in my opinion
Oscar did not take a mark last week but i think that will change this week
This could be the week we actually get well on top in center clearances. Hope so anyhow.
They could stick with Fullarton but i don't think we will be much worse with Ballenden or Archie playing that role
I know Archie has struggled big time playing forward and Ballenden has been playing defense. But they give us height that may help Joe
If either play they have to play that forward/ruck role for one week. If they play well and we win they get another go in prelim

No one can play McStay's role and we are venerable this week without him. So agree that a "out of the blue/nobody expected that" is possible
I have mentioned a few left field choices previously but that is just guessing
Hopefully the coaches choose someone that can do a job for 1 week and get that choice and matchup right

What are the chances of Stef playing?

I don't think Beveridge will change their mix. Stef is just break the glass option for them currently and they consider Young's output to be pretty decent as part of filling in.

OUT: Mathieson
Don't think he can afford to play again 🙃 $4000 fine last week

Lions teammate Rhys Mathieson was also charged for two separate incidents, fined $2000 for striking Kozzy Pickett and he can accept another $2000 sanction for engaging in rough conduct against Max Gawn.

He would be playing if still contracted to The Lions.:rolleyes:

Not 100% sure about that. Fagan is pretty risk averse also and coming off such a long break and not being in great form even when fit.

Is there a stat on inside 50 entries from a kick in, as in we kick it out and Melbourne go back inside 50 without a stoppage? I think this is the single worst part of our game plan. Not only do we go long nearly every time, we go to the same spot, and we do it after looking around for about 10 seconds, giving opposition heaps of time to get ready. Sometimes we even do it after first chipping sideways 15 metres so the long kick is under pressure. We desperately need some variety. More kicks to 45m targets is something we should do a LOT more. It's something other sides do to us. At that point you open up the field so much. if you want to go long at that point you get to the wing.
We have Rich kicking in most of the time, its within his remit. And then the odd down the middle to a 1-1 or 2-2. Higher risk but higher reward. It has to be better than kicking it to Max Gawn all night.

Stef was well and truly cooked last year, only played 8 games with us and hasn't played since round 12 due to injury with the Dogs this season.

Wouldn't of been much use to us, 34 years old coming of a long injury lay off he would be a liability IMO.

Harris is moving so slowly I can't see him doing any better up forward unless he stands in the goal square trying to wrestle an opponent.

I think bringing in Payne back and throwing Adams forward might be the better option even though it is not ideal.

Stef was well and truly cooked last year, only played 8 games with us and hasn't played since round 12 due to injury with the Dogs this season.

Wouldn't of been much use to us, 34 years old coming of a long injury lay off he would be a liability IMO.
Disagree...given our Ruck wo's this season, I would gladly take his 8 games. He was fit and available for selection last week for the bulldogs and they chose not to have him in their best 22. Right now he would definitely not be a liability for us. Admit 2021 is his last year but he would be handy in our 22 right now.