Opinion Senior coach options

Where'd Hardwick go?

Dusty's improvement - been a good player for some time? (3rd in the B&F in 2011)

Rance - not really a kid any more, and has been a regular for a while (played well last year IIRC).

Vlaustin and Ellis - Ellis looked a great pick before Williams arrived (I seem to remember him playing well last year)? Vlaustin looks good (has he developed "out of sight" or was he just a good player as his pick 9 would indicate?).

Matt White - maybe he was a sub-type, but averaging 12.6 possessions doesn't appear mind-blowing. Pretty old kid BTW!

Mcbean - big call to not credit Brendon Lade (who is the one I saw at the VFL games).

Arnot - I don't know who he is, so I'll take your word for his 4 AFL games.

I'd guess the improvement of mature players like Jackson (and players from other clubs like Chaplin) to have been more pivotal. There should always be a few kids on the improve, as we saw at the Saints this year.

Hardwick has not gone anywhere :p

Dusty's improvement - been a good player for some time? (3rd in the B&F in 2011)- By his standards consistency has been an issue, improved heaps in 2013 and a huge improvement from his 2012 season.

Rance - not really a kid any more, and has been a regular for a while (played well last year IIRC)- Agree not a kid anymore even though he turned 24 this october. His confidence in his ability has improved out of site this year.

Vlaustin and Ellis - Ellis looked a great pick before Williams arrived (I seem to remember him playing well last year)? Vlaustin looks good (has he developed "out of sight" or was he just a good player as his pick 9 would indicate?). I never said Vlaus and Ellis improved out of site due to choco. I was simply stating he has a large part in making sure there education of the game, from reviews of performance etc has had direct impact. read the age article from Emma and Vlaus feedback from the freo game. They are both on record stating the impact Choco has on there personal development.

And with Mc bean and Co - I am not lessening credit on the other coaches which includes hardwick :rolleyes:. The players have put it on record themselves that Choco has been active in helping to improve all our players...Anyway, if you dont want him mate, dont take him. god knows 99.9% of us tigers supporters would love to keep him....that says more then anything really :p

It's not up to me. Just looking to sort through some of the "noise" which can gather momentum in this industry (both positively and negatively).

Where'd Hardwick go?

Dusty's improvement - been a good player for some time? (3rd in the B&F in 2011)

Rance - not really a kid any more, and has been a regular for a while (played well last year IIRC).

Vlaustin and Ellis - Ellis looked a great pick before Williams arrived (I seem to remember him playing well last year)? Vlaustin looks good (has he developed "out of sight" or was he just a good player as his pick 9 would indicate?).

Matt White - maybe he was a sub-type, but averaging 12.6 possessions doesn't appear mind-blowing. Pretty old kid BTW!

Mcbean - big call to not credit Brendon Lade (who is the one I saw at the VFL games).

Arnot - I don't know who he is, so I'll take your word for his 4 AFL games.

I'd guess the improvement of mature players like Jackson (and players from other clubs like Chaplin) to have been more pivotal. There should always be a few kids on the improve, as we saw at the Saints this year.

I agree 100% where you are going with this. He's a dud. Best to look elsewhere.

Oh well, I guess we will have to put up with him for a little while longer! :D

Hilarious. He's the short-priced favorite for the gig.

But forgive me for having an opinion on where the improvement has more likely come from (you guys being experts and all).

I think the real positive here is that we have something else to talk about up until draft week... rather than 1,769 versions of who we'll take with pick 3.

who says the club does not care about its members?

No to Mark Williams.

Just think back to the years after their flag.

Senior guys ruled the roost, young guys didn't get games....

Sure he may smooth things over with the veterans, but that's not where the future is.

No thanks.

Wish we'd moved on Adam Simpson if we'd decided scott wasn't the guy.

No to Mark Williams.

Just think back to the years after their flag.

Senior guys ruled the roost, young guys didn't get games....

Sure he may smooth things over with the veterans, but that's not where the future is.

No thanks.

Wish we'd moved on Adam Simpson if we'd decided scott wasn't the guy.

My biggest wish is for us to oneday Self destruct AFTER winning a flag.
Not just self destruct for the hell of it , like we usually do .

Favourite sons coaching sides is messy

art729-james-hird-620x349.jpg

Just some feedback about Choco to balance out some of the complete and utter bullshit posted by some of you who have no idea about the bloke when you refer to his "personality flaws". People who have zero knowledge of him other than from media reports and "impressions" take his excitement and passion for the game and the list his working with for Choco being over the top. Or some suggest he likes it his way and can be unreasonable etc etc.

Complete and utter tripe. There is a reason for our young kids improving out of site since his arrival. A more patient and considerate teacher you will not find anywhere. There is also a reason he is on the boundary match day. He has a amazing knack in reading the feel of the game. If he believes a switch or match up needs to be made he is at the boundary so he can make it happen ASAP. Hardwick allows him full licence to do that.

When he was at port in the last years, there board and club was as about as rotten as it could get. Even though he was in that environment which was even during his premiership year, he still managed to get his his list to a flag and pinch one. If you guys are lucky enough to get him, you will get a bloke who will do everything he can to make you guys successful and make sure the players, admin and coaching team are all rowing the same way.

Oh one last thing. Choco does not suffer fools or those that dont have the same drive to succeed. He will not put up with anyone straying from the direction he and his coaching team set. Trust me on this, if he comes across he will be firm, focused but fair.
I did not realise Bigfooty was not a place to speculate in views about football without absolute knowledge. My mistake, let me log off and come back when I have fully researched everything I have an opinion on.

I did not realise Bigfooty was not a place to speculate in views about football without absolute knowledge.

Have to admit I have no knowledge on how you can lose a final to a team which finishes 9th. Sometimes you've just gotta defer to the experts.

I did not realise Bigfooty was not a place to speculate in views about football without absolute knowledge. My mistake, let me log off and come back when I have fully researched everything I have an opinion on.

Good to hear mate. Let me know when you have done your research and I shall review the content of your post :p

Have to admit I have no knowledge on how you can lose a final to a team which finishes 9th. Sometimes you've just gotta defer to the experts.

have no idea why your deciding to attack ? I was not having a go at you mate, was just offering another opinion. You do not rate choco, thats cool but no need to sook about it. A mod no less :rolleyes:

When your opinion starts "to balance out some of the complete and utter bullshit posted by some of you", expect some feedback. Even from a mod no less. Mate.

Fair enough, didn't realize that would offend anyone. Happy to edit it if you feel that's better ? Just don't want to derail a thread with some genuine input.

Sorry Squizz, but that was probably one of the most intelligent comments ever made on here.

Like I keep saying... we will always find faults if all we look for are faults.

Williams is the best available, it really is that simple.
I'm just hoping all this fluffing about isn't going to put him off the appointment. If he was ticked off enough to leave GWS because they fluffed him about, I'd hate to lose him for a similar reason here.

Had a bit of a laugh at that one myself:p
That was like saying " I think you guys are a bunch of brain dead morons, so im sure youd love to read my long winded post":D

So he wants the dream position handed to him on a plate. Clearly eitheir he does not rate himself to turn around a poorly preforming team or he thinks he is too good for the hard work. Do not want him then.

i think you have the complete wrong end of the stick on richardson. remember that 12 months ago he committed to move interstate for a director of coaching role at a poor club down the bottom of the ladder with no head coach. that doesn't sound like someone afraid of hard work.

he didn't turn down interviews with bris, melb and st kilda because he deems them unworthy (remember he applied for the saints job in the past); it's just a matter of timing.

he hasn't been preparing himself for a senior role this year. he put his senior coach ambitions on the backburner and committed to seeing through his role at port for a while, and is backing himself to still be in demand further down the track.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/choco-block-tiges-may-step-in-20131106-2x1s5.html

Richmond could thwart St Kilda's attempt to poach its highly regarded assistant Mark Williams should the beleaguered Saints offer Williams the senior coaching job following last week's ill-timed sacking of Scott Watters.

Frustrated Richmond chief executive Brendon Gale confirmed St Kilda football boss Chris Pelchen had approached the Tigers' Daniel Richardson informing him that the Saints were interested in Williams. ''I'd like to think that St Kilda would accept and acknowledge the fact that Mark [Williams] is an extremely valued and highly competent employee of the Richmond Football Club,'' said Gale.

Opinion Senior coach options