Review SF: Port v Geelong Review

He really has improved out of sight. Our best finals player. Who'd have thought we'd be saying that last year. Sky is the limit for O'Shea. So ridiculously fit, reads the play so well. Is he our new Chad Cornes? #nopressure
Reminds me of Matthew bishop

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Is he our new Chad Cornes? #nopressure

Funny you say that. We were saying last night that he has a similar way of holding his head up when running with the ball. Uncanny almost.

What we needed in the third quarter was for Lobbe to grit his teeth and jump hard and high and thump a couple of hit outs 15-20m our way which he tried to do in the last.
He was soft in the third quarter at those contests, as was Boak who got pushed aside far too easily by a more desperate Selwood.

olyqr.jpg

Win the flag, very good side since ?2003? and would be just deserts for a fourth.

If we are in their shoes 2023 and its Wingard, Wines, Colhoqun, Moore, Butcher, O'Shea and Pittard gunning for their fourth flag, Ild be hoping they come throuGh!

But this was the best loss to them (if that is even possible) we aren't pushed around so easily as before and i think that was the game that will have us beating them every time we meet them from now on as it will burn in our guts.

Commiserations on last night but a very impressive season. I think all Cats supporters have a soft spot for Port with Hinkley there and you're definitely set to go places. The transformation of your club from 12 months ago to now is one of the most remarkable I've ever seen. Best of luck for 2014!

gee i thought you blokes were stiff with some decisions in the last quarter, at crucial times too just killed your momentum in the game.

As much as anything, I'm just disappointed this particular season is over. It'll be hard to top this one for sheer entertainment, no matter what this team may achieve.

Hope Hinkley is at the helm for a very long time. May we be the latex glove to his clammy hand.

gee i thought you blokes were stiff with some decisions in the last quarter, at crucial times too just killed your momentum in the game.
We are used to the pathetic umpiring, like in the Collingwood game, after half time the umpiring totally changed, because of a real threat that the AFL wont get their usual Victorian blockbuster and miss out on a couple million $$$$.

Thinking about it rationally and listening to the honest assessments from Hinkley and Nicks, our young players were cooked. I reckon we not only got what we deserved, we got the right result.

Listening to 3AW today we achieved our aim and regained respect. Mike Sheehan even has us pegged as next years Flag Favourite. Playing a well rested Hawthorn next week might have put a major dent in our hard fought 2013 reputation.

Thinking about it rationally and listening to the honest assessments from Hinkley and Nicks, our young players were cooked. I reckon we not only got what we deserved, we got the right result.

Listening to 3AW today we achieved our aim and regained respect. Mike Sheehan even has us pegged as next years Flag Favourite. Playing a well rested Hawthorn next week might have put a major dent in our hard fought 2013 reputation.

Good point. A lot said that we looked tired in the last few weeks of the H&A but we managed to find something for two finals games. As it is, they have finished the season losing a close game to a very good team and staying competitive to the end and this will give them confidence going into the pre-season. Better than their last game being a flogging which it may well have been if we had gone another week.

And who takes any notice of Mike Sheehan's predictions, just ask Robert Walls where he thinks we'll finish next season. ;)

A first half driven by adrenaline.
Second half the come back was always coming, stronger, hardened bodies, vs kids.

Some bad turnovers, crazy umpiring (at least what we see all the time was clear to everyone watching it)

And almost won it!.

I mean Geelong. 2 minutes to go on the mcg, and we almost pinched it. Just wow.

And we already playba hard tight contested style of footy!

How good is it, how good will it be?!!

So the hate and anger emotion has worn, now I can reflect.

We would have lost by lots next week anyway.

Kids out on the feet. Hartlett can't lift his arm. Wingard been carrying two injuries for weeks is half himself.

A bit more depth.

Confidence to give more over pre season KNOWING it will pay off (like it did this year)

What a treat, what a journey.

My final comment for the year goes to cam Oshea.

Everyone has said and knows about the other players.

Cameron Oshea proved me wrong, humiliated me, exposed me for a loudmouth fool, and slapped me in thenface very publicly through his tremendous performances.

And I loved every minute!

Bring on 2014 guys, let us work on making our friends and acquaintances choose port as their #2 side.

(Will start a thread on this soon, we need to reap this goodwill here in Victoria especially)

Alright...

If you look at sport in a short term view, then I was devastated. A 4 goal lead in a final against Geelong evaporated just way too quickly. We needed to be more aware of their ability to kick quick goals like that, especially since it's happened to us numerous times this season. But looking at things short term doesn't work with a young group. Our season has been ridiculous. While some thought top 8 was achievable, to finish 7th, knock over the Pies at the 'G and run the Cats close in a semi, was almost unimaginable. I am immensely proud of the club and that stems from the board to the coaches, playing group and supporters.

For the game itself, well as usual Macca nails it. As frustrating as some umpiring decisions were, in reality we were on the receiving end of a side that finished 2nd fighting for their season and their class took over at the end. But the fact that despite all that we still kept coming says a lot. We could have lost that game by 6-7 goals but we stood up, yet again. In the past 2 weeks, guys like Moore, O'Shea, Pittard, Young, Hoon and many others have gained so much experience of what it takes to be the best. If I as a supporter have a taste of what it feels like to win a final and be close to a prelim and the ultimate glory in the game, then how do these players feel? They will rest and relax, but they will hit pre season wanting to be back there again.

Being sick of losing was often mentioned by the group in pre season. Wanting to win will be the main motivation this time round.

Review SF: Port v Geelong Review