SFL 2010 Division 1 Thread

It's amazing how guys who go to a club for money are supposedly hounded year after year by other clubs.

If the club called their bluff, I reckon 9 times out of 10 there is nobody chasing them, or if there is, it's because the player went to them first.

They do it to squeeze more coin out of the club they're already at and usually have no intention of leaving, just wanting to get a few extra bucks.

I've seen it first hand, particularly with guys new to a league, saying i'm speaking to this or that club as well and they artificially bump up their own prices, backwards and forwards.

They should all call that number and bugger off to the western suburbs.

Hi All,

Leading Division 1 Essendon District team looking for quality forward, excellent remuneration available.

Contact the club on 0429121426.

Bit quiet on here of late....

Just having a look through the clearances on the SFL website and one thing jumped out. The difference in transfer activity between the top 5 from 2009 and the bottom 5 is glaring. Currently there have been 43 incoming transfers for the top 5 compared with just 13 for the bottom 5. I know that most clubs can be slack when it comes to lodging clearance applications but it is now March and practice matches start for most clubs in next 2-3 weeks. This has to be somewhat of a concern considering the gap between the top 5 and bottom 5 in 2009. By looking at the transfer activity, this gap is only going to widen again in 2010, which isn’t good for the public perception of our league (from the knobs in the VAFA and the like), nor for the competition week in and week out. The worst thing for the comp would be 5 games on a weekend where the winning side kicks a cricket score.

2009 Top 5
St Kilda City 8
Chelsea Heights 12 (1 of them Colts)
St Pauls East Bentleigh 0 (clearances not lodged but recruits well publicised)
Mordialloc 9
Cheltenham 14
TOTAL 43

2009 Bottom 5 (including Heatherton - Premiers Div 2)
Dingley 9 (7 of them Colts)
East Brighton 4
Springvale Districts 0
Tooronga Malvern 0
Heatherton 0
TOTAL 13

Thoughts lads?

It looks a worrying trend...

That said, the picture may become clearer in the weeks ahead when all the paperwork starts to come through.

Seems the Grand finalists from last year are spending up massively.

Money doesn't always bring happiness.

That said, the picture may become clearer in the weeks ahead when all the paperwork starts to come through.

As far as Stkilda City goes we will lose more senior players than we will gain, fortunately it gives 4 or 5 colts kids coming thru an opportunity.
We will spend a lot less this year than last year I can guarantee you that.
The big movers look like Mordy & Chelsea Heights, heaps of ins very few outs.
As far as the bottom teams go, its hard to judge.

happiness haha.... junior 22 what brings you happiness?

How is Dingley recruiting 7 Colts out of 9 a worrying trend? This type of focus will help ensure that their club is around for many years to come. They have 30 odd to select from for their 3rds a fantastic position to be in.

I think a more worrying trend is a couple of the top clubs promising big money, money that they dont have mind you, to 2nd rate recruits.

Many clubs try to buy a flag and fail, and then drop a grade or 2 over the following years. It takes a decade to regain lost ground. Say goodbye to your fair weather supporters then! Enjoy the ride!

context context, in no way is an injection of youth a worrying trend, my concern is the gap between the number of recruits from the top five sides and the bottom five. Dingley are responsible for most of those and that is tops, unfortunately there isn't much activity for the clubs finishing below them. However who knows, maybe paperwork is yet to be lodged by those clubs, nothing has appeared from St.Pauls and the case may be the same at Heatherton, Springy, etc.

I couldn't agree with you more concerning the recruitment of youth to build a strong club for the future and think you've jumped the gun in regards to shooting down my remark.

I will try and be more articulate in the future.

Carn the dingoes

context context, in no way is an injection of youth a worrying trend, my concern is the gap between the number of recruits from the top five sides and the bottom five. Dingley are responsible for most of those and that is tops, unfortunately there isn't much activity for the clubs finishing below them. However who knows, maybe paperwork is yet to be lodged by those clubs, nothing has appeared from St.Pauls and the case may be the same at Heatherton, Springy, etc.

I couldn't agree with you more concerning the recruitment of youth to build a strong club for the future and think you've jumped the gun in regards to shooting down my remark.

Carn the dingoes

Fair enough, I probably was being a tad precious.

Is there anything happening in Div 1, this is a pretty boring site?

I hear that Mordy are offering big money to anybody that owns a pair of footy boots, not bad for a club that has 10 supporters that go to the away games.

Here's how I see the off-season position of Divvy 1 clubs.
City - Should be stronger with the great gets of Jacobs and Brannan
St Pauls - Taranto a good pick up otherwise things much the same
Heights - Will be a lot stronger with some good cattle coming from Edi-Asp
Mordy - picked up some very handy Edi-Asp players and Kirkland could be an assett if well managed. Big improvers.
Chelt - without Dunne and Taranto might go backwards a little
E Brighton - nothing exciting to report...might be a tough year
T/M - cannot see them improving
Dingley - hard to see them troubling the final 5. Youth policy will pay dividends eventually
Districts - Einsiedel and Wardell from Tunners will not make up for their massive loss of experience
Tunners - Lost three very good players, getting Grenfell back from o/seas, and I hear have some quality 18-19yo signing on. Will improve on last year but not enough to make a big impact.
Looks like the divide between the top and bottom might be getting a bit wider!

City - Should be stronger with the great gets of Jacobs and Brannan
Good pick ups along with Arvo and Farrelly but the losses of Ward, Krepp Bruno cannot be understated. Ward and Bruno in particular will be missed greatly.
St Pauls - Taranto a good pick up otherwise things much the same
Forgot to add Wheatley. Loss of Marasco might hurt.
Heights - Will be a lot stronger with some good cattle coming from Edi-Asp
Great additions but loss of Vlahov will be huge. They struggled as it was last year coping with opposing buig forwards (Silver, Dunne etc.)
Mordy - picked up some very handy Edi-Asp players and Kirkland could be an assett if well managed. Big improvers.
Kirkland will be very handy as Martello can't keep holding the fort up front. Biggest weakness was lack of true key defenders. Have they filled this need?
Chelt - without Dunne and Taranto might go backwards a little
Will have to wait and see won't we ;)
E Brighton - nothing exciting to report...might be a tough year
Heard they have a couple of former Dragons players down there. Aren't as bad as most think.
T/M - cannot see them improving
Little rumour that Trent Hotton will be at the Combine in 2010. Interesting. Lost alot of good young mids as well as Chard.
Dingley - hard to see them troubling the final 5. Youth policy will pay dividends eventually
As their bodies get bigger they will become a better side. Pushed off ball to easy in 2009 and lacked a bit of quality up forward.
Districts - Einsiedel and Wardell from Tunners will not make up for their massive loss of experience
Lost some stars and replaced them with some journeymen.......long year?
Tunners - Lost three very good players, getting Grenfell back from o/seas, and I hear have some quality 18-19yo signing on. Will improve on last year but not enough to make a big impact.
Wouldnt be hard to be more competitive than they were last time in Div 1. Still lost some of their best players.

Here's how I see
Looks like the divide between the top and bottom might be getting a bit wider!

three guns to sign on within 2 weeks from edfl clubs expect top 5 finish in 2010 for heatherton .

Carn the dingoes

Theres been a serious point missed about using sporting pulse as a guide to teams strenghts and youth policies, with stkilda city alot of our u17's played both 17 & 18's last year so are already on sfl as players and also 14 of our 18's are 18.5 players so wont need a transfer, so thats about about 20-25 players moving thru the ranks that no one will see!

Good pick ups along with Arvo and Farrelly but the losses of Ward, Krepp Bruno cannot be understated. Ward and Bruno in particular will be missed greatly.

Forgot to add Wheatley. Loss of Marasco might hurt.

Great additions but loss of Vlahov will be huge. They struggled as it was last year coping with opposing buig forwards (Silver, Dunne etc.)

Kirkland will be very handy as Martello can't keep holding the fort up front. Biggest weakness was lack of true key defenders. Have they filled this need?

Will have to wait and see won't we ;)

Heard they have a couple of former Dragons players down there. Aren't as bad as most think.

Little rumour that Trent Hotton will be at the Combine in 2010. Interesting. Lost alot of good young mids as well as Chard.

As their bodies get bigger they will become a better side. Pushed off ball to easy in 2009 and lacked a bit of quality up forward.

Lost some stars and replaced them with some journeymen.......long year?

Wouldnt be hard to be more competitive than they were last time in Div 1. Still lost some of their best players.

What makes you think he isn't playing???

Taranto has been solid so far at training, Wheatley has been leading by example. Both great pick-ups for the year.

Add into the mix another key defender from northern suburbs and a couple of others and we are in a pretty good position.

Theres been a serious point missed about using sporting pulse as a guide to teams strenghts and youth policies, with stkilda city alot of our u17's played both 17 & 18's last year so are already on sfl as players and also 14 of our 18's are 18.5 players so wont need a transfer, so thats about about 20-25 players moving thru the ranks that no one will see!

Excellent point B2B. The Dingley 3rds that played finals last year only lose 2 of their players due to being too old. The rest are still eligible to play 3rds. They are expectecting an absolute boom over the next couple of years with the young players moving into senior ranks.

To improve matters even more, many of the U17's from the merged Dingley, Mordy Brae alliance are transferring to Dingley. Obviously they wont be ready overnight to mix it with seasoned senior players, but the club could not be in a stronger position.

Will need more than three. More like 10-11. I think you are underestimating the difference between Div 2 and 1!

Lost Skinner, Einsedel and Wardell. Three of there best 6-7 players.

Who do u think are the other best 6-7 players surely u would put Travis sauer in there top 7?