Shaun Hampson #22

I was on the Renouf bandwagon, but I liked Hampson all the same. Bloody pleased we picked one of them up.

Both have a lot of improvement in them IMO, not just Hampson. Although Hampson is the faster player, and I guess that translates as having "bigger upside" to most recruiters. Hampson will take his time, but we can rest easy knowing we at least have one genuine young ruckman coming through the ranks.

This was a really good pick from us. He deserved to go top 20, probably even top 15. :cool:

Hughesy himself said he was stoked he fell that far to us, he thought the Pies were gana take him at 10. So he must be pretty highly rated by a few recruiters.

i saw the pics of him posted on here yesterda, already looks like a monster, give him a few ears and he could be a very high qualit ruckman.

whilst on this topic, it seems both hampson and aisake have both been playing the game a similar amount of time, was wondering which one people on here would think, in the case of an injury to mclaren or ackland, would be brought into the side as a back up ruckman (providing there is a long term injury for aisake to be elevated)?

my thoughts are that, providing that its possible, aisake would get a game first, as his 2 years of development have at least been with an afl club. i wouldnt rule out the possibility of JK being used as short term replacement if the injury is minor

201cm 94kg - Big unit and an exciting prospect.

I'm on his bandwagon already. :cool:

Discuss.

The choice was initially a surprise to me, as I thought we would have taken Renouf. Both will be good players, although with what I know now, I'm very pleased with Hughes decision. Hampson seems as tall as Renouf, but is a lot more athletic. We are really after a ruckman with potential star qualities, even if that means a bit more risk and develooment. Not quite as skinny as I expected. Would not be surprised if he plays a couple of AFL games in 2007, as a backup ruck to Ackland. :)

I feel that this was a very good pick. I think that Renouf was the Media pick for us but i think we have got the 2nd best ruckman out of this draft. Hampson has only been playing footy for 2 years now, Can run 20mtrs in sub 3 seconds and was in the top 5% for vertical leap. With this in mind he might not be the tallest ruckman in the comp but will make up for it with his jumping. I think that the rule with the centre circle will help him out a fair bit.. In comparing the two, Renouf has played footy for most of his life, once again Hampson has ben in the system for 2 years. Hughes said that he was very impresed with the fact that Hapson can use both hands when it comes to rucking, something that he has not see in a ruckman for a very long time. SO the scope for improvement as a ruckman is way more in favor of Hampson as apposed to Renouf as it has been suggested that Renouf will be more of a KKP than a ruckman.

Cheers

201cm 94kg - Big unit and an exciting prospect.

I'm on his bandwagon already. :cool:

Discuss.

Much the same as Parrot I suppose. Was hoping we'd pick him up, but thought we'd get him a bit later in the draft. Still has a lot to learn, but certainly looks the goods atm.

I read somewhere that while training with Gary Dempsey yesterday, Hampson was nearly jumping over the padding and into Dempsey's head.

just shows what a great leap he has.

A face full of c*ck, wow, i'm sure Garry would have loved that.!! ;)

been told by someone at the club that Aisake is now 97 kg and 202 cm.

Will be expected to play as a senior ruck for the Bullants this year.

Imagine that: both Hampsen and Aisake, mobile, agile, fast, tall ... :)

been told by someone at the club that Aisake is now 97 kg and 202 cm.

Will be expected to play as a senior ruck for the Bullants this year.

Imagine that: both Hampsen and Aisake, mobile, agile, fast, tall ... :)

but can aisake kick the thing? have not seen anything of him...

Nothing against Hampson, great kid, hope he ends up a Navy Blue great, but him and Grigg reek of WH trying to save his job. Both are mid range, low risk picks, Hampson because he is a ruckman, and Grigg because he is a solid, rather than spectacular player, but will certainly play enough games to 'justify' his pick. Hope I'm wrong, but I think we blew it at 17 and 19. And I dont believe for a second WH telling everyone they were stoked to get them- Grigg and Hampson were going to be around longer.

Time will tell mate:) Although I'm not sure how the picks he ultimately decided on could be seen as trying to save his job:)

The safer option would have been Jetta at 17 and then Renouf at 19:) The option he went for is riskier.
I think he genuinely wanted Hampson and was worried that the Bombers would take him. We can debate all we want about how wise a choice was, but I'm not sure how they could be construed as being related to job security;)

As past history has shown us there will be successes and failures for all clubs. What these recruiters really need are crystal balls :D

WH trying to save his job? LMAO! The guy is one of the best RM's going around. His recruiting for us over the past few years has been solid and IMO, we now have some of the best young kids in the comp. I know we have had low picks so, in reality, how could he stuff them up when he has the cream of the crop to select from. However, he has done better than his predecessor "what's his name" and will continue to do so for many years, I hope.

Grigg may have been around a llittle onger (30's or so) but Hampson certainly wouldn't have been. There were big wraps for this kid as we got closer to Nov 25.

Austin at 35 was a steal IMO and Benjamin and Anderson with our later picks will pay off too.

Well done to WH and his boys around the country. A good result for us!
308466bm.jpg

Because you'd know Whippersnipper. I forgot that you were an expert on recruiting, and that you'd flown around the country watching these kids play.

Time will tell whether you're expertise is right or not! Hampson and Grigg - great pick ups!

As was this kid.... I'm on the Joe Anderson Bandwagon!!
IMG_1269a.jpg

Grigg might've been around to our 3rd round pick, but no way would Hampson have been. In fact, I had Hampson going to Collingwood with their 2nd top 10 pick. We're pretty lucky to land him where we did.

And I dont believe for a second WH telling everyone they were stoked to get them- Grigg and Hampson were going to be around longer.

Hampson looked good at training Friday ... will give Dempsey a workout in their duels, which makes a change. Grigg looked fine too ....

if you believe they were not stoked, you are wrong.

Joe Anderson looks a real goer ...

Hampson,very good pick up blue boys and girls.Wish collingwood picked him instead we a have a possible star with a broken leg who we won't see till 2008.Hampson,is one of the true ruckman of the draft.Good old fashion skills with a strong body.Will be the premier ruck sensation in years to come like lueenberger.Hey,you guys why did bryan leave the blues ?

We gave him a 1 year contract, he had a sook and wanted more money and a longer contract so we said we cant be fcuked with your sh*t, piss off!

Shaun Hampson #22