Should Dean Bailey be suspended from all AFL activities...

Our 'Great' coach will have to try more VFL players
before the years out, which is natural - to see if they
are any good before they get the chop, this will
further fuel 'tanking' talk.

All these struggling media experts, trying to sell their papers
and create more dribble, they arent the ones coaching
the footy side, half of them are washed up has beens
anyway, fact is - Bailey would be doing exactly the same
thing if we were over 4-5 wins anyway.

Baileys brilliance nearly snared us a win on the weekend,
only to get done on the siren and ppl have the nerve and
ordacity to consider that tanking! I call it some astute
gameday moves that nearly manufactured us a win.

We have been ravaged by injuries and the boys played their
heart out against a quality outfit and nearly pulled off a win,
some credit goes to the 'Great' Dean Bailey for having faith
in the versatility of our players.

Big difference between trying players out in different positions, and tanking

Warnock was recruited as a forward, had been practicing goalkicking (as can be seen from Nathan Jones twitter feed), and i reckon did pretty well when he was used up there. Frawley too. Given our depth in defence, but lack of quality talls, is it that surprising that we wanted to try them out there when the pressure was off?

Not the first time Paul Johnson has been used as a defender. Given that he's been poor this season in the ruck, and in the forward line, i'm glad we saw what he was like down back. Did a half decent job.

Miller was in the ruck for one contest that I could see. And he's rucked in the forward line plenty of times before that. Its not like we put Shane Valenti in the ruck

Bate, Miller, Petterd playing in the midfield is tanking? They've all played there in the past.

lol at this thread, in the past if Sheedy played someone out of position he was considered a lateral thinker to try different things. Bailey does it and he's a cheat

Get over yourself
haha keep telling yourself that

I think Dean Bailey needs to attend the Carlton school of tanking..

atleast they didnt make it so blatantly obvious!

he could learn alot from Ratten and Pagan on how to tank, but still look like you want to win!

With all due respect Kendrick, Ratten and Pagan would have struggled to manufacture a loss yesterday, the way Richmond were playing

he could learn alot from Ratten and Pagan on how to tank, but still look like you want to win!

I beg to differ! You dont remember Rd 22 2007?

I was at that game and watching Johnston run around by himself through the midfield and across half back was disgusting a career high in possessions and kicks

I didn't see the game, but heard there was some strange moves.

So if Melbourne tanked:

1. Is richmond the worst side ever to only beat them after the siren?
  2. Bailey the greatest coach ever to be able to throw the game after the siren?
  3. McMahon silly for not missing on purpose to hurt Melbourne (one player) and improve the Tigers draft position by a place.
  4. Has Rawlings lost some brownie points in his hopes to get the richmond job only being able to beat a group that is Tanking after the siren?
  5. The moves made to tank made Melbourne a better side?
Interesting weekend for tanking. West Coasts win put it slightly to bed but Melbourne's performance adds to it. Hmmm....

LOL sorry?

So a team that was infront when the siren went, is a more blatant tanking effort than a team that let Travis Johnstone pick up 42 kicks (equal highest of the decade) and miss roughly 10 set shots from within 20 metres? Yep, we're definitly worse....

Think before you post you utter moron.

Oh P.S Congrats on knocking off a supposed rebuilding tanking team after the siren. Your club has a very bright future than doesnt it!! :eek:

Lol.

With Bailey unflattering coaching record the last thing he wants is to lose more games.

This is a very silly thread (if its not taking the piss)

I'll deal with this post before reading the rest. Punters bet on footy - and this can be compared to not allowing a horse to run on its merits. What if a jockey decided to race a horse flat out after jumping out at the start and be exhausted before it even reaches the finish straight? we have stewards to check on all that from cameras around the course, and the jockey is called into the stewards room after the race to explain himself, why he did not allow the horse to run on its merits.

I can just imagine Bailey being called to explain his experimentation to the AFL Committee explaining that he was experimenting by benching his best player and switching his forwards to the backline. Is he going to say that its the fault of the system of priority picks and he couldn't help himself?

I'll go as far as to address your post by saying that the last thing Bailey wants is to win more that 16 points. If you think this thread is silly, then answer that!

PP should only be something they use when the talent coming up is extremely poor, some years it is very thin. AFL should only make that call after the season is over and only after they assess the lists of teams that might be eligible to determine if they need more good young players or not.

You aren't serious, are you?

:eek::confused:

bailey is innocent on all charges and is only doing the right thing by his club. he didn't make the drafting rules. next week he'll be playing colin sylvia in the ruck and robbie flower at full forward and who could blame him.

demetriou is guilty of one of these:

a. blatantly lying.
or
b. gross ineptitude.

or both.

either way, he is now bringing the game into disrepute and should be summarily dismissed.

What do people expect Demetriou to say?

yeah, right mate. poor old andy - we can't expect him to like, come out and be honest or forthright or genuine or open or anything like that. we couldn't expect him to announce a rule change for god's sake, that'd be expecting waaaay too much.

demetriou handling of this debacle is straight out of the International Olympic Committee's management manual from the mid 90s when they denied they had a drug problem. belligerence, dishonesty and denial with a big helping of contempt for anyone who dares to look for the truth.

not good enough.

I agree the PP has to go

St.Kilda would not be succesful this season if they didnt pick up Koschitzke and Riewoldt using PP.

Hawthorn would not have won a flag without Franklin and Roughhead.

Demetriou is too fat and dumb to change the rules though

They sorta won. Granted, the scump had to have heard the siren and this would have been extremely difficult, but the siren went before McMahon marked it and they were in front.

That's an even worse tank than when we were supposed to be tanking and it took three goals in about two minutes from Thompson and Grant to lose the game. The coach should be sacked for poor tanking!

I'll deal with this post before reading the rest. Punters bet on footy - and this can be compared to not allowing a horse to run on its merits. What if a jockey decided to race a horse flat out after jumping out at the start and be exhausted before it even reaches the finish straight? we have stewards to check on all that from cameras around the course, and the jockey is called into the stewards room after the race to explain himself, why he did not allow the horse to run on its merits.

Punters bet on footy, just like they do racing - and the smart ones
take all these things into account before placing a bet.
West Coast were smashed off the map, because punters could
see that Essendon werent anywhere near full strength, thats
assessing whats in front of you - before you place the bet.

Melbourne are a bottom side, its only natural that bottom sides
experiment and try players in different positions towards the
end of the year, if I was to punt on footy, I wouldnt be going
near Melbourne, Fremantle or North Melbourne for the rest of
the year.

Coaches cant just coach their side with a veiw of thinking
short term, just to please Jo Blow having a bet.
Essendon used to play kids and cop a hiding, until they
their kids improved, Ryder would never been a ruckman
if Knights didnt experiment.

I think that the idea of tanking is nearly dead.

The issue only came up when Carlton were a poor team so that their supporters wouldn't have to admit how bad they were. I know as a Saints fan that in 2000 no-one accused us of tanking. We were just crap.

How many games were you all expecting Melbourne to win this year??

People talk about strange moves. Ross Lyon played Kosi as a loose man across half back at times on Saturday night despite the fact he'd been our most dangerous forward. Tactical brilliance or stupidity?

If fans want to believe that their team is really awesome and just losing on purpose thats fine but Coaches/Players/Admin/Officials/Presidents/Water-boys and Medicos all happily admit that they are crap and have to try something to win.

Johnson wasn't exactly B.O.G. to 3/4 time and Riewoldt won a game off his boot last week. Melbourne needed to find someone to take a mark so they threw Warnock and Frawley forward hoping they could spark something.

Do we all need to be reminded of Zac Dawson?

Are we really going to believe that tanking exists on the words of Tony "Wish I was relevent" Liberatore, Terry "I'm back in the media, better say something" Wallace and Craig "Why am I still employed?" Hutchison??

The idea of a lottery is just as bad. Teams would be acussed of tanking to get a better chance at the number 1 pick.

Leave the system alone and get back in your holes.

The people running the game know what they are doing.

bailey is innocent on all charges and is only doing the right thing by his club. he didn't make the drafting rules. next week he'll be playing colin sylvia in the ruck and robbie flower at full forward and who could blame him.

demetriou is guilty of one of these:

a. blatantly lying.
or
b. gross ineptitude.

or both.

either way, he is now bringing the game into disrepute and should be summarily dismissed.

I agree completely, except that Simon Eishold will probably line up at full forward to make sure that the kicks go wide of the big sticks.

Surely, whether tanking actually exists (though I believe it does) or not, merely the discussion, debate and suspicion of it brings the game into disrepute. The thought of our coaches not doing everything to win, or worse, actively preventing their teams from doing so, goes against the very spirit and foundations that our game is based on.

I understand the potential gain for the footy club and thats why I wasn't completely gutted when McMahon slotted that sausage. But I am sick and tired of being conflicted in my support of my footy club.

As an Eagles fan watching us win yesterday was little reward but I could see small benefits for the fans and young playerse gaining some confidence.

But deep down im frustrated that the win is pointless for the rest of the season. If we land on 5 wins-6 wins for the remaining season, I will be gutted.

Sure thing - but how do you police it? Set up a court marshall? Countless hours will go into a procedure which will be as viral as super league, hence making the sport look like shit. Sure we can take the sex pests from the other code, but we shouldn't bring in their rubbish bureacracy.

I'm a win person, gutted by all these losses - but the system itself has to change. Not sure how the lottery system will really help, all the balls could lead to a corrupted decision (and a freaking boring show to watch like the NBA).

Still, if it were the bottom 4 teams, there would still be tanking.

Abolish the PP. That is all. Remember, for every Franklin and Roughead you get a Sylvia and McLean (not saying that's bad, but you get the pic).

Demetriou clearly doesn't have the athleticism to pull off that big a backflip.

The priority pick clearly needs to go. Keep it next year so that it's fair on any team that could qualify based on this year's results (though I think only Fremantle fall into that category) then get rid of it. It's a massive blight on the game.

they changed the rules on the Dons the only year they could have gotton a PP.

Should Dean Bailey be suspended from all AFL activities...