Rules Should the stand rule be abolished?

Should the stand rule be abolished?

The ones who care about the look of the game only do because the AFL told them to care. I am with you, as a footy fan I end up with one of two emotions at the end of a game. We either won or we lost. Never ever in 50 years have I left a game worried about the look of it.

Yep, they just want more goals for ad revenue imo.

I also don’t know if you can check a stat for this but wouldn’t we have a greater % of games be close games now compared to previous eras due to lower scoring across the league? It seems logical to me. I’d rather have more close games than blowouts like back then. Blowouts are just boring.

Yep, they just want more goals for ad revenue imo.

I also don’t know if you can check a stat for this but wouldn’t we have a greater % of games be close games now compared to previous eras due to lower scoring across the league? It seems logical to me. I’d rather have more close games than blowouts like back then. Blowouts are just boring.

I like watching good sides towel up crap sides, doesn't happen that often though which is good.
Yep it's all about money as usual. If the AFL want something they just tell the media to tell the sheep and very quickly the change is made.

Still to this day don't know why the following was introduced.

Rush behinds rule
10M exclusion zone
Being able to run outside the square to kick the ball into play after a behind
No third man up rule
Nomination of ruckman
Stand rule
Deliberate out of bounds rule (Like it as it was when it had to be fair dinkum deliberate, as it is now it has basically been last touch rule)
Blaming the man with the ball for head high contact.

All of the above never needed to be touch or fiddled with in my opinion.

I like watching good sides towel up crap sides, doesn't happen that often though which is good.
Yep it's all about money as usual. If the AFL want something they just tell the media to tell the sheep and very quickly the change is made.

Still to this day don't know why the following was introduced.

Blaming the man with the ball for head high contact.

All of the above never needed to be touch or fiddled with in my opinion.

I think that one is easy

Why/who - Joel Selwood and possibly the rest of the brothers Selwood

Joel was ramming opposition players with his head and drawing head high frees

Other players started following suit and often in a clumsy manner and it was widely agreed that this new trend would end badly

now how the individual umpires say that is a head high tackle or no you (the ball carrier ) initiated the head high contact play on will always be a debarcle

I think that one is easy

Other players started following suit and often in a clumsy manner and it was widely agreed that this new trend would end badly

now how the individual umpires say that is a head high tackle or no you (the ball carrier ) initiated the head high contact play on will always be a debarcle

Disagree, before I took the step to let half a dozen players out of 900 players dictate rule chages I would of enforced the head high contact rule paying free kick one after another until the coaches instructed their players to tackle lower.
This was just another very very tiny minority of players focing a rule change which will now end up a joke. You watch how much head high contact is now not paid as the AFL have forced so many of you to believe it is the bloke with the ball fault.
Just laughable.

I think that one is easy

Should be pretty easy to show a clip of Joel doing this (ramming head first into opposition players) let alone all the selwood brothers I’m sure you can back that accusation with evidence right ?

What they never seem to say is that Joel would be tackled 25 times per game. Each and everytime he tried to force those tackles high but on 20 odd occasions the strong tackler would not allow him to do it. So in it's wisdom the AFL said lets reward the weak tackler.

Hate the new interpretation, Player with ball other than a direct duck of the head should be able to do what he likes. Tacklers job is to not get him high.
High contact will now be even more rife in the game.

Head high is sacrosanct is the niggest load of bullshit the AFL have ever said, they encourage head high contact and don't penalise it.

What they never seem to say is that Joel would be tackled 25 times per game. Each and everytime he tried to force those tackles high but on 20 odd occasions the strong tackler would not allow him to do it. So in it's wisdom the AFL said lets reward the weak tackler.

Hate the new interpretation, Player with ball other than a direct duck of the head should be able to do what he likes. Tacklers job is to not get him high.
High contact will now be even more rife in the game.

Head high is sacrosanct is the niggest load of bullshit the AFL have ever said, they encourage head high contact and don't penalise it.
I’m just waiting for the mountain of evidence and clips of Joel and his brothers ducking or ramming their heads into the opposition…it’s all you read when his name is mentioned so I’m sure the good folks that throw that around can back it up with a clip or two.

well being a Cats supporter you must see a bit of this
1673497452582.png

I don't know how many times I hear the commentators say "has Joel ever NOT gone off in a game due to the blood rule"

Credit to him he gets to the packs , gets down low many times per game , all career

In the season when things came to a head (sic) a stat was being bandied around that the 4 Selwood bros got 25% of the head high frees
where that come from I don't know , assumed Champion Data , and if my memory serves me well I reckon Dennis Commeti repeated it a lot
and there was lots of talk about what the Selwood brothers backyard games would have looked like and how much patching up the mother would have done

by virtue of all of them getting low they drew deserved high free kicks , first over the ball and if the tackler is the slightest bit sloppy , bingo free
slightly contenious was "the turtle" , flex the arms and duck and make a tacklers arms ride up
the one that got opposition supporters howling was gathering the ball and aiming up at peoples legs to initiate head high contact

I've been watching footy for over 50 yrs and his head has contacted more shins and knees causing more blood loss that any player in my time watching

View attachment 1585345

I don't know how many times I hear the commentators say "has Joel ever NOT gone off in a game due to the blood rule"

Credit to him he gets to the packs , gets down low many times per game , all career

In the season when things came to a head (sic) a stat was being bandied around that the 4 Selwood bros got 25% of the head high frees
where that come from I don't know , assumed Champion Data , and if my memory serves me well I reckon Dennis Commeti repeated it a lot
and there was lots of talk about what the Selwood brothers backyard games would have looked like and how much patching up the mother would have done

by virtue of all of them getting low they drew deserved high free kicks , first over the ball and if the tackler is the slightest bit sloppy , bingo free
slightly contenious was "the turtle" , flex the arms and duck and make a tacklers arms ride up
the one that got opposition supporters howling was gathering the ball and aiming up at peoples legs to initiate head high contact

I've been watching footy for over 50 yrs and his head has contacted more shins and knees causing more blood loss that any player in my time watching
So no clips of Joel and his brothers ramming their heads into the opposition like you claimed?

Try to not have a rant next time and just present your evidence if you can.

View attachment 1585345

I think he was well within his rights to draw his free kicks any way he saw fit. Joel was the master at creating a situation where an opponent would collect him high, when such a tackle would not otherwise have caused head contact. Like when Ronnie Wearmouth, Kevin Bartlett etc used to throw the ball out in front as they were about to be tackled, it was a legitimate tactic at the time to draw a holding-the-man free kick.

As long as Selwood doesn't decide to come back a sue the league for causing him CTE in 10 or 15 years time.

I think he was well within his rights to draw his free kicks any way he saw fit. Joel was the master at creating a situation where an opponent would collect him high, when such a tackle would not otherwise have caused head contact. Like when Ronnie Wearmouth, Kevin Bartlett etc used to throw the ball out in front as they were about to be tackled, it was a legitimate tactic at the time to draw a holding-the-man free kick.

As long as Selwood doesn't decide to come back a sue the league for causing him CTE in 10 or 15 years time.
How dare a player try to break free from a tackle , it should be like touch football where the game stops as soon as you catch a player .

And I’m sure you all fantasise about Joel having CTE which no doubt you’ll try to continue pushing this absurd narrative that he plays for free kicks despite always playing on after breaking free from the tackle.

How dare a player try to break free from a tackle , it should be like touch football where the game stops as soon as you catch a player .

And I’m sure you all fantasise about Joel having CTE which no doubt you’ll try to continue pushing this absurd narrative that he plays for free kicks despite always playing on after breaking free from the tackle.
Pretty sure Joel Selwood is a statistical outlier for free kicks for. There's a graph floating around somewhere that breaks down frees for with all players since the stat was first recorded and old Duckwood is miles out on his own. He pioneered the shoulder shrug to draw head high contact and thankfully players are mostly not being rewarded for this anymore.

Hocking should never have gone from Geelong to the AFL and back to Geelong.
People making rule changes should not be affilated with a club the year before and after the did it.
Especially when the rule change helped Geelong win a flag.
There should be an independent inquirey into that dodgyness. It wouldn't happen in the business world.

You are in denial. At least I can admit McLean was doing this on a regular basis in 2016. Even Joel admitted he was using his head to get frees when it got ridiculous. It doesn’t matter if you agree with the rule change, you have to accept that Selwood was the first and worst proponent of risking his head to get constant frees. He might as well have pulled a head bandage on with this jumper pregame it was such a regular feature.

Attachments

• 4ECCA8AE-8BD0-4EDA-9D36-54B1998F5649.jpeg
    4ECCA8AE-8BD0-4EDA-9D36-54B1998F5649.jpeg
    25.6 KB · Views: 17
You are in denial. At least I can admit McLean was doing this on a regular basis in 2016. Even Joel admitted he was using his head to get frees when it got ridiculous. It doesn’t matter if you agree with the rule change, you have to accept that Selwood was the first and worst proponent of risking his head to get constant frees. He might as well have pulled a head bandage on with this jumper pregame it was such a regular feature.
So no clip ?

I keep waiting for all the evidence of Selwood and his brothers ducking and ramming their heads into opposition players like it has been claimed in this thread …it’s strange as it’s apparently a known thing and yet no evidence has been put forth to verify these claims

Totally agree. We had Jake King doing it fairly regularly, and Dylan Grimes in the early part of his career was shocker for it too. Yeah we took the free kicks when they came as every other team also had it's own culprit or two, but it was pretty embarassing at the time.

It's hard to favour new rules that create "technical" free kicks

The spirit of a 50m penalty is to punish unsporting conduct such as late contact, umpire abuse, intentional time wasting

I hate seeing 50m penalties for players shuffling their toes on the mark, or slightly infringing the protected space. It feels cheap when it's in your sides favour

So no clip ?

I keep waiting for all the evidence of Selwood and his brothers ducking and ramming their heads into opposition players like it has been claimed in this thread …it’s strange as it’s apparently a known thing and yet no evidence has been put forth to verify these claims
Well there's this.

And just a google image search will do. These are just from the top row. There's hundreds more to look through. Enjoy!

1673569461872.png

Well there's this.

And just a google image search will do. These are just from the top row. There's hundreds more to look through. Enjoy!

View attachment 1585737

Haven’t watched the video yet but the pictures don’t show any ducking or ramming his head into opposition players which apparently he does regularly along with all his brothers

EDIt:
Watching the video and the very first thing shown is Joel tackling a player which apparently makes him a flog …I don’t hold high hopes that this video is going to show him ducking or ramming his head into opposition players …maybe there might be more clips from his other brothers?

Haven’t watched the video yet but the pictures don’t show any ducking or ramming his head into opposition players which apparently he does regularly along with all his brothers

EDIt:
Watching the video and the very first thing shown is Joel tackling a player which apparently makes him a flog …I don’t hold high hopes that this video is going to show him ducking or ramming his head into opposition players …maybe there might be more clips from his other brothers?
My god he was a flog of a player. Enjoy the video - so glad he’s out of the comp.

Well there's this.

View attachment 1585737

And the commentators covered it up every time lol. I remember when he eye gouged Baker late in the 2020 GF when he knew they lost. Then on TV he’s portrayed like Mother Teresa. Cmon cats fans you know he’s a mongrel on the inside.

EDIt:
Shrug/duck, two sides of the same coin.

Rules Should the stand rule be abolished?