Preview Should we even bother turning up on Friday Night?

Jul 6, 2009
Victoria
Apparently our game against the Crows is already a foregone conclusion according to most in the football world and surprisingly some Crows supporters, just a sample of what to expect on their board right at the moment -

I'm looking forward to us thrashing the biggest, most pig headed, dirty, arrogant, cheating, sniping, old boys clubs in the competition (Carlton and Essendon) in successive weeks. Not sure if we've ever done that before but there is nothing better than sticking it up to these cocky bunch of oxygen thieving flogs. Their supporters have absolutely zero grasp of humility or sportsmanship whatsoever and are stuck living in the past where they dominated a suburban competition. IIRC they opposed us entering the competition in the first place so it will be sweet to belt the living crap out of them. Oooh I can't wait!

A little surprising from a club that has gone in as favourites in their last two Elimination Finals and failed miserably.

The Crows deserve to be favourites here - but why should we be intimidated by them? We'll be missing a few from our best side for a couple of different reasons (some yet to be determined) but we have shown at times this year that can rise to the challenge against the good sides when the odds are against us, like St. Kilda a couple of weeks ago. It's even fair to suggest our form against the best sides in the competition has outweighed our form against some of the struggling sides.

Some are content with just making the finals and I guess we have achieved something not many expected of us at the beginning of the season, but that doesn't mean we should just sit back and be content with what we have achieved to date. We have performed at our best in 2009 when nobody expects anything from us and this is going to be one of those weeks where we are going to be written off by everyone before a ball is even bounced, as we are already. We led the Crows all day when we played them last and their stunning accuracy (21.4) was the catalyst for their narrow win in a last quarter revival. In our previous match with them in Adelaide in the middle of 2008 we were coming off a 7 game losing streak and they stumbled across the line against an injury depleted Essendon by a grand total of 5 points. I doubt our boys are going to be too intimidated with the prospect of the Crows. "Oh... but they are a different side in 2009" - yeah, well? So are we.

We'll go to Adelaide - absolutely nothing to lose and give it our best shot, doesn't matter who is or who isn't available. All the pressure is on the Crows to actually win a final this week. Hopefully our boys can rise to the occassion.

Couldn't care less what the supporters have to say, to be honest.

However I really rate the Adelaide team. I rate them a genuine premiership contender (alongside St Kilda, Geelong and Collingwood), and for that reason I am expecting a loss on Friday night.

However if Ryder gets the all-clear, Dempsey returns and our players manage to run-out the entire game, nothing is impossible.

Whatever happens, I'm well and truly excited - after 4 long years - to be watching the Bombers in September. :thumbsu:

We can beat them, this is the team that had to kick the most accurate score in AFL history to beat us, yet only managed 16 points more. That's not likely to happen again.
We get our game up and running, play with the passion and willingness to support the team like we did against the Saints, and its a very winnable game.

Interesting stat about Adelaide's year. They have won just 3 of 10 matches against this year's finalists. Us in mid-year, and the Carltank flogging this round are 2 of those 3. I don't know off-hand who the 3rd win was against, but their track record against the elite teams is not good. Personally I don't think they are as good as their 5th place finish suggests.

essendon have everything to be proud of this season. you have rebuilt nicely, playing a great brand of footy.

regardless of the result on the weekend (i think you can take it up to adelaide and even win) you should be stoked with this year!!

the only thing i would be worried about next season is that your style of play is heavily taxing on the players and shows in your injury count. no doubt it'll be refined over time.

Interesting stat about Adelaide's year. They have won just 3 of 10 matches against this year's finalists. Us in mid-year, and the Carltank flogging this round are 2 of those 3. I don't know off-hand who the 3rd win was against, but their track record against the elite teams is not good. Personally I don't think they are as good as their 5th place finish suggests.
A few points...

4 of 10 matches, we also beat Collingwood in Melbourne. We beat Carlton twice, so that accounts for another one.

And secondly, until Round 8 we were a pretty ordinary side, sitting well outside of the 8 and having lost 3 games on the trot. However since then we've gone 11-3. We lost to Geelong by 2 points, Collingwood by 21 and were smashed by the Saints. So really, since Round 8 we've been a completely different side.

Not as good as 5th suggests? Come off it mate. We won 14 matches, have a 7-4 record away from AAMI, have scored the largest score of the season, have held teams to 1 and 4 goals respectively and have held 3 (or is it 4?) teams goalless to half time. How exactly are we not as good as 5th suggests? One could argue we're actually better than 5th but certainly in no way shape or form worse.

A few points...

4 of 10 matches, we also beat Collingwood in Melbourne. We beat Carlton twice, so that accounts for another one.

And secondly, until Round 8 we were a pretty ordinary side, sitting well outside of the 8 and having lost 3 games on the trot. However since then we've gone 11-3. We lost to Geelong by 2 points, Collingwood by 21 and were smashed by the Saints. So really, since Round 8 we've been a completely different side.

Not as good as 5th suggests? Come off it mate. We won 14 matches, have a 7-4 record away from AAMI, have scored the largest score of the season, have held teams to 1 and 4 goals respectively and have held 3 (or is it 4?) teams goalless to half time. How exactly are we not as good as 5th suggests? One could argue we're actually better than 5th but certainly in no way shape or form worse.

So the only 'good' team you've beaten is Collingwood? I apologise for the incorrect stat, it was in ths morning's paper and i thought they would have worked it out for this round's match, which they apparently didn't. But beating Carltank twice is no huge feat. Hell, we managed that! :p If I dont think you are quite as good as 5th, then I definately dont think those flogs are as good as 7th.

You'll probably beat us on friday night. After that, i think you'll struggle. Adelaide's finals formline is not one to be proud of, remember. So yes, you'll probably beat us. But then again, everyone thought St Kilda would probably beat us too... :p

Be Collingwood in round one where Collingwood through it away.

Ryder and kicking straight will be the key to any chance.

The longer the odds, the more confident I am of our chances.

Also, since last time-
Ins: Atkinson, Fletcher, Hurley, Lovett-Murray, Slattery, Welsh, Winderlich
Outs: Davey, Dempsey*, Houli, Lucas, Reimers*, Skipworth, Zaharakis

Ins: Burton, Hentschel, Reilly, Sellar
Outs: Bock, Douglas, Moran, Walker

*=may still play.

Fair to say that those are some significant ins for us.

Took them abnormal goal kicking to keep them in the game against us earlier this year.

Lead Adelaide by 4 goals late in the 3rd quarter and should have put them to the sword.

I think people are dreaming when they mention Adelaide as flag contenders, they are an also ran club who Collingwood or St Kilda will chew up and spit out in the Semi Final at the G.

There finals record under Craig is atrocious.

The longer the odds, the more confident I am of our chances.

Also, since last time-
Ins: Atkinson, Fletcher, Hurley, Lovett-Murray, Slattery, Welsh, Winderlich
Outs: Davey, Dempsey*, Houli, Lucas, Reimers*, Skipworth, Zaharakis

Ins: Burton, Hentschel, Reilly, Sellar
Outs: Bock, Douglas, Moran, Walker

*=may still play.

Fair to say that those are some significant ins for us.

And significant outs for them too. Bock may still get up, although it doesn't look all that likely. Even if he does, he'll be under done and could very likely become a liability.

2003 Elimination Final = I think we can handle matches like this.

We had a much better side then full of finals experience. Not to mention James Hird played one of the best games of his entire career.

That said, I still agree, we can handle this as long as we kick straight, take risks and play the game to our strengths.

The Crows have lost 5 games at AAMI Stadium this year, by an average of 32 points - so they aren't exactly invincible at the venue. They were absolutely fantastic in thrashing the Blues by 12 goals, but so were we when we played the Blues and also won by 12 goals.

We've only won 1 of our 5 games on the road this year - a big win over Sydney at the SCG. Really important we pack our Melbourne game in the luggage this week otherwise could potentially be a long night...

Apart from being a final (and interstate), this is no different than us beating St Kilda when weren't expected to...anything is possible on the day. If we believe we can, and they get a bit too cocky believing we can't, well who knows what can happen!

I actually feel more confident about this game than I did about the Hawthorn one, when the Hawthorn one looked way better on paper.

It's absolutely crucial we start well and put doubt in the mind of the Crows straight away. There are scars there and we can expose them if we get off to a good start. Crows are expected to win and that has proven to be a heavy burden on them in the past. They consider themselves to be a real premiership contender, whilst I think we might be happy to make finals. With that being said, we can play without inhibition and really take it up to them.

Most importantly, we must also emulate the pressure we put on the Saints - we must make them feel like the hunted.

Another thing I've noted about the Crows is, both their ruckmen can't jump. It would be great if Ryder gets cleared this week, which strangely is a possibility given the precedence of Mooney and Rance over the last three weeks. If not, we can still be competitive in this area with Hooker against Maric and dare I say it, NLM against Sellar. Sellar is competitive, but not a ruckmen's ruckmen, so we could get away with playing NLM in the ruck and having the 4th on-baller.

The 3rd win was against Collingwood at the "G" in round 1.

As far as where we finished and whether we deserve to be there or not, consider one of those losses was against Geelong at Skilled by 2 points. Most other losses were in the first part of the season before gameplan was tweaked.

I believe we are about where we deserve to be and against a full or near full strength Essendon it would be a very interesting match up.

Good luck Friday night.

We'll beat Adelaide. Our record over there against them is not at all bad over the last 2-3 years, maybe not win/loss (though we won there the second last time we played them there) but the the contests have been even.

I can't take off Friday (Audit season) and flights are booked out when I looked (I'm a novice booking flights). Seething!!! :(

It's absolutely crucial we start well and put doubt in the mind of the Crows straight away. There are scars there and we can expose them if we get off to a good start. Crows are expected to win and that has proven to be a heavy burden on them in the past. They consider themselves to be a real premiership contender, whilst I think we might be happy to make finals. With that being said, we can play without inhibition and really take it up to them.

In the last 3 weeks we have been down by 5 goals to Hawthorn and 4 goals to Carlton. We are a lot stronger mentally than previous years.

Why are you bringing up the previous match in Melbourne @ the Dome? You lost, AND it was at the dome where Essendon play their best footy.

It's no secret that Essendon struggle away from home and that's why I think we'll win. If it was at the Dome I'd be a little more worried but I do think we'll win, regardless of Craigs "atrocious" finals record (even though he was in the coaches box in the 97, 98 premiership years ;))

Why are you bringing up the previous match in Melbourne @ the Dome? You lost, AND it was at the dome where Essendon play their best footy.

It's no secret that Essendon struggle away from home and that's why I think we'll win. If it was at the Dome I'd be a little more worried but I do think we'll win, regardless of Craigs "atrocious" finals record (even though he was in the coaches box in the 97, 98 premiership years ;))

I agree - that match was a good spectacle but I think that it is highly unlikely that this match will be so open and free flowing.

Essendon struggle in Perth, but the flight to Adelaide should hardly be that taxing. We beat Sydney in Sydney.

Re: Nick 85 - the game is do or die. We passed the test on Saturday, you have failed that test in the past. It's a totally different ball game to H & A scenarios.