Silly Season - Whispers

Bertron that's a bit harsh on the big fella I thought he was worshipped up at the kennel... Considering he did the job for free... The new coach hasn't won a flag or a league medal has he even won a club b&f? Might have been better to give him one more year and save more coin then recruit senior players instead of 12 o clock specialists? But who knows time will tell as least you've got Kingy that's 1 senior player!

Reading between the lines here - are the multiple recruits picked up by Wandin not what you would say EFL stars from good clubs?

Is it a case of quantity but not quality?

Help us slow blokes out a bit will ya al..

They are all old, mostly slow, and have not trained yet...

In terms of finger's witty a newteam statement . This years crop of imports include 7 returning former players / juniors. The rest are coming to try and improve the club standard.

By the looks of things, most other clubs are standing pat. Is that the plan of attack? cause if so, let's give the flag to upwey now...

Seems to me Oldtimer I have the answer to the truth of the conversation I overheard! Its obviously something that has been raised up there already with the amount of passion in your replies. Unfortunately it's not me or anyone else on here as you see it taking a swipe at your club that need to be reassured. Totally agree with the tact of not sitting on your hands and watching Upwey win another premiership. But it's a proven fact over the years especially in the YVMDFL that clubs building for success does not last long without very committed off field leaders. Let's just hope the what you call bar stories doesn't try and wipe there feet at the door of your social club when your setting the pace your predicting. Be nice to see your answers to your own questions on your other thread there Oldtimer and to stay a little realistic! All the best to Wandin in there quest for a return to finals footy, IMO they will have there backs up against it, but I'll be happy to be proven wrong!

Not sure if I have predicted anything for WFC. Everyone would be hopeful right now.

Think your right thou, the WFC does have it's work cut out for it, as teams like the tigers (both) the hawks, gembrook and olinda are all entitled to feel very close to flags based on 2011 and current top ups. Have to agree there!

Can't help but think a few of you will eat your words about Wandin. Should be around 5th this year not flag contenders but should be taking positive steps.

Regards to coach, how many of you were BOG in interleague and played well for Victoria? Nobody? Anybody even make a VFL list? It seems like a lot of you expect AFL standard recruits for our fairly shitty league. If you're that desperate for name dropping talent of "your team" then move to Vermont.

Hate to spoil your party mate but interleague and vfl footy have been around for a while and a few other blokes have performed at the same if not better levels so don't don't cry obviously your one of dud recruits that have been pre mentioned... All the best collecting your cash don't forget to set your alarm on Saturdays then again you'd be used to the 12 o'clock kick off!

I have no affiliation with Wandin, only met the guy once myself. Point is most of you come here and talk shit about everyone when, despite your name, none of you ever amounted to half the things the people you chew out have.

Despite your name, I'm sure you were in fact not a gun.

What's happened to Thornton/Eildon this year ?, have they gone out of recess ?, or have they sadly gone the way of a lot of football clubs in the bush and shut up shop :(.

They won a flag in your league not that long ago, so it seems strange that from that moment to now, they don't have a team anymore, which is sad to see.

What's happened to Thornton/Eildon this year ?, have they gone out of recess ?, or have they sadly gone the way of a lot of football clubs in the bush and shut up shop .
From an email sent by the league last year
Thornton Eildon have been working hard over 2011 to renter the Competition in 2012, unfortunately they have been unsuccessful in attracting enough players to participate in 2012 and therefore will not be fielding any teams in 2012,
It appears they are still in recess. They should bounce back, but will need some help.

Whats going on at seville? Few clearances out - Shore, Periera and Reece and ekers training at Sth Belgrave $$$$

Junction have a few going out as well, but dickinson and wheeler cleanances to good old wandin have been denied twice, under contract???

Any news on how YG will go back in Div 2? Should be close to winning it again.

heaps of clearances into Yea - anyone know if these players are any good?

Coldstream have got 6 clearances going to them from yv clubs - mainly Mt Evelyn. Are the rovers going to be able to field 2 sides this year!

Any news on how YG will go back in Div 2? Should be close to winning it

Coldstream have got 6 clearances going to them from yv clubs - mainly Mt Evelyn. Are the rovers going to be able to field 2 sides this year!

Round 1: Belgrave v Yarra Glen will be a big one to see how the Glen are tracking and whether Belgrave and their recruits are up to it.

As for Mt Evelyn, I'm hearing that they'll be relying on under 18's to field two senior sides. So yes, seems as though they'll be short on numbers. Plenty of under 18's though.

Will be a cracker game, they both know how to talk themselves up :thumbsu:

Not sure about this, when has either club talked themselves up. I would have thought that the clubs have been talked up by other after hearing rumours or checking clearances and so forth.

Should be a great game though. A lot are saying these 2 clubs will be the pace setters so will be very interesting to see which club gets the early 4 points.

What are peoples tips for round 1???

Div 2

Belgrave
Seville
Junction
Alexandra

Thoughts??

YG talked themselves up when they went into div 1. Belly have always been the big talkers.

My tips
Div 1
Woori
Wandin
Emerald
Upwey
Olinda

Div 2
Kinglake
Alexandra
YJ
Belgrave

As far as seville goes Eckers leaving is old news, club was lucky to get him for a year for the modest amount they paid him. If he is at sth belgrave I can only assume he is chasing better coin.

Perriera just married into the shore family, i think once Kane left he packed his bags as well. Shame he is a ripper bloke. Apart from a few early good performances Reece struggled last year and i think the club was disappointed with the amount of effort he put in. Not a big loss.

Dont think the boys have had the big preseason start like the last few years with 40 or 50 on the track each night but will still be a top 4 side. Maybe 4 or 5 good players gone from the seinors last year, but there will be a few young guns from premiership 18s side last year that will be keen to fill their spots and depth to come in from an undefeated 2s side. Shores younger brother Darcy and Oddonell are at ranges at the minute, hopefully they make it but if not that will slot straight into the senior team.

I think yarra glen will be the the team to beat and the competition will even out a bit unlike last year when it was a 2 horse race. Belgrave would have had to recruit more than just a few stars to consider themselves a real contender, they were a long way off it last year.

Silly Season - Whispers