Certified Legendary Thread Sneaking in to the Grand Final............

I've got into events before, just by wearing a suit and acting like a corporate.

Its amazing what you can get away with if you dress right.

Haven't done it at a Grannie before, but I know a mate who has.

Basically I've heard there's a few side entrances into the ground that people don't know of. Just put on a suit, and act all professional and upper class and you can get in with ease.

Yep, that's the key thing.

I reckon the ultimate 'go anywhere' uniform at big events is a suit, lanyard, and (this is genius) a high visibility fluro vest worn loosely over the suit- act busy and pissed off, and you can basically go anywhere. Random workers will see you and think 'shit, management type and he's being forced to run around and direct things, someone must have stuffed up badly. I hope it wasn't me!'

Any big event is doable because noone can possibly know who everyone else is who has a right to be there- what is particularly handy is to attach yourself to some third party who has a right to be there, and then 'help them' gain access.

I reckon the following is virtually foolproof if the person has the balls to do it-

- 2 hours before the game, external people who have a right to be at the ground (tv crew/ambulance/cops/food delivery/whatever) start to show up. As one such crew turns into the car park (this is actually easier for the big finals, as a whole different set of contractors for different organisations will be there than for the rest of the year- a bloke with suit and lanyard and fluro vest jogs up, friendly but clearly busy with a lot on his mind- 'gday, what was the name? (they tell him), right you need to come in this entrance here'

- if they ask why, bloke in suit laughs frustratedly and says (entirely truthfully), 'trust me you don't want to know.' The arrivals will be concerned that there has been a fubar somewhere, maybe even on their part, but they are relieved that some management type is here to sort it out.

- Bloke in suit then takes them to the entrance, and go over and talk to whoever is guarding it, again, busy, and a bit brisk. 'yeah mate, I've got the jiffy food blokes here, can they bring their stuff in through here?'

-If they are waved through without inquiry, great. If the person on the gate checks with the powers that be, he'll find out that the ambos/food people/tv crew whatever are expected at the ground (but apparently are at the wrong entrance) and will consequentially let them in. Either way, the helpful bloke in suit is escorting them- clearly he has some kind of role, or otherwise why would the crew (who the person on the gate now knows are legit) be with him?

My mate and I did last year and it involves pretending you are working there but that's all the details I'm giving ;)

I did the same at Telstra Dome when Australia played Ireland in the 2003 World Cup. We had two standing room tickets but three people wanted to go.

Anyway, keeping a long story short and without giving away the critical details I managed to get in the same way you did.

Best thing is all "staff" members were given a wrist band which basically meant a VIP pass to anywhere in the ground. With that pass I was able to get all three of us into the Medalion Club.

A night that will go down in history :D

PS: it helps if you work or have worked at the ground

There was a story on A Current Affair a few years back which had a group of mates who had snuck into the AFL Grand Final for 15 - 20 years straight.

The story was aired because one of the group had died in a car accident a few weeks before the upcoming Grand Final. The surviving friends all agreed to sneak into one more Grand Final and dedicate it to their lost mate. Sound like top blokes :thumbsu:

They didnt give away to many details on how they got in each year, although they did say one year that two of them tried to get into the MCC Members however the attendant refused entry (obviously because they didnt have a ticket). Anway, the two at the gate fired up, started being abusive etc and their other two mates came over dressed in police uniform and said to the gate attendant we are taking these two into the ground police HQ. They escorted them in, the two "police" ditched their uniforms and off they all went. Brilliant

There was a story on A Current Affair a few years back which had a group of mates who had snuck into the AFL Grand Final for 15 - 20 years straight.

The story was aired because one of the group had died in a car accident a few weeks before the upcoming Grand Final. The surviving friends all agreed to sneak into one more Grand Final and dedicate it to their lost mate. Sound like top blokes :thumbsu:

They didnt give away to many details on how they got in each year, although they did say one year that two of them tried to get into the MCC Members however the attendant refused entry (obviously because they didnt have a ticket). Anway, the two at the gate fired up, started being abusive etc and their other two mates came over dressed in police uniform and said to the gate attendant we are taking these two into the ground police HQ. They escorted them in, the two "police" ditched their uniforms and off they all went. Brilliant

Sounds like a good way to get arrested if true. If you're going to impersonate an official working at the ground, police officer is one of the professions is one to avoid.

Yep, that's the key thing.

I reckon the ultimate 'go anywhere' uniform at big events is a suit, lanyard, and (this is genius) a high visibility fluro vest worn loosely over the suit- act busy and pissed off, and you can basically go anywhere. Random workers will see you and think 'shit, management type and he's being forced to run around and direct things, someone must have stuffed up badly. I hope it wasn't me!'

Any big event is doable because noone can possibly know who everyone else is who has a right to be there- what is particularly handy is to attach yourself to some third party who has a right to be there, and then 'help them' gain access.

I reckon the following is virtually foolproof if the person has the balls to do it-

- 2 hours before the game, external people who have a right to be at the ground (tv crew/ambulance/cops/food delivery/whatever) start to show up. As one such crew turns into the car park (this is actually easier for the big finals, as a whole different set of contractors for different organisations will be there than for the rest of the year- a bloke with suit and lanyard and fluro vest jogs up, friendly but clearly busy with a lot on his mind- 'gday, what was the name? (they tell him), right you need to come in this entrance here'

- if they ask why, bloke in suit laughs frustratedly and says (entirely truthfully), 'trust me you don't want to know.' The arrivals will be concerned that there has been a fubar somewhere, maybe even on their part, but they are relieved that some management type is here to sort it out.

- Bloke in suit then takes them to the entrance, and go over and talk to whoever is guarding it, again, busy, and a bit brisk. 'yeah mate, I've got the jiffy food blokes here, can they bring their stuff in through here?'

-If they are waved through without inquiry, great. If the person on the gate checks with the powers that be, he'll find out that the ambos/food people/tv crew whatever are expected at the ground (but apparently are at the wrong entrance) and will consequentially let them in. Either way, the helpful bloke in suit is escorting them- clearly he has some kind of role, or otherwise why would the crew (who the person on the gate now knows are legit) be with him?

nice idea. going to be funny when the ch 10 crew arrive this year and about 200 blokes in suits and fluoro vests come rushing over tho

Yes, people do seem to intrinsically trust uniforms. Ted Bundy found this quite useful when he was up to his murdering shenanigans.

One thing we used to do (not that it'd work in a grand final) is that we used to go to get passouts and walk out the gate with a beer in hand on purpose and then if the workers didn't see we'd casually mention "oh shit we aren't allowed to take these out here" then we'd rush back in and say sorry, keep the passout and walk off to the next guys and repeat the process until we had enough passouts for everyone who didn't have a membership.

very good point. all i will say is that in 1998 a mate and i stumbled upon a fool proof way of getting into the MCG on GF day and then watching the game from a prime vantage point. we have been to every grand final since using exactly the same manner of entering the ground without a worry in the world. it is pure gold. of course the details will have to remain our secret
That methods wouldn't happen to be "buying a ticket", would it? lol

One thing we used to do (not that it'd work in a grand final) is that we used to go to get passouts and walk out the gate with a beer in hand on purpose and then if the workers didn't see we'd casually mention "oh shit we aren't allowed to take these out here" then we'd rush back in and say sorry, keep the passout and walk off to the next guys and repeat the process until we had enough passouts for everyone who didn't have a membership.

If the workers didn't see?

What if you swiftly ran into the stadium after having a smoke, and the workers didn't see then? Why do you need a beer to pull this off? Even if you attempt to run in without a ticket, just keep running and hope that no-one there is quick enough to get security to chase you down.

Certified Legendary Thread Sneaking in to the Grand Final............