So, who's off to Sydney next week?

What about after the game? Will it be difficult to get back to the airport?

After the game trains leave homebush to around midnight. You won't be able to get to the airport at that hour because of the curfew there are no flights. Train will get you back to the city, then you wait for them to start up again the next morning

On a Fri night the only option is train, don't even bother driving or getting a bus from the city/airport, traffic will ensure you will miss at least the first qtr unless you leave the city at 5.30pm

Train from airport to ground will take about 1 1/2hrs including any wait time for the next train, 1hr if you have the most amazing luck.

Whatever you do do not buy platinum tix in sections 105-1 and 110-1, you won't be able to see the fwd 50 that is closest to you because of the section of the stand that doesn't move bac will be right next to you.

After the game trains leave homebush to around midnight. You won't be able to get to the airport at that hour because of the curfew there are no flights. Train will get you back to the city, then you wait for them to start up again the next morning

On a Fri night the only option is train, don't even bother driving or getting a bus from the city/airport, traffic will ensure you will miss at least the first qtr unless you leave the city at 5.30pm

Train from airport to ground will take about 1 1/2hrs including any wait time for the next train, 1hr if you have the most amazing luck.

Whatever you do do not buy platinum tix in sections 105-1 and 110-1, you won't be able to see the fwd 50 that is closest to you because of the section of the stand that doesn't move bac will be right next to you.

What about if I have a 6am flight? What time do the trains start?

Leaving Sydney at 6am? Never caught a train to the airport that early but I'd think they do run early considering a number of flights leave and arrive that early.

Why do members tickets stop being sold at 9pm? It's stupid, I had a busy day at work and forgot my membership card, I'm halfway through playing around with the site seeing what kind of seats the website offers me and now it's saying it's no longer on sale.

Does it open up again for members tomorrow before the public goes on sale?

Section 106-1, heading up early fri morning

Anyone got some ideas of how to kill Friday ? Our group is not exactly interested in any sightseeing BS, more thinking a good pub for a few nerve settlers in the arvo. We're staying at the rocks , would be good to find a venue where the pies fans can gather during the day

bedders, Darling Harbour is a soulless dump. It's like going to drink in Docklands before a match at the MCG.

If you guys are staying in the Rocks, there's a couple of good old pubs there, ranging from fancy to run of the mill - The Australian Hotel, The Lord Nelson, The Hero of Waterloo, Fortune of War, The Glenmore (this one has a great rooftop area that overlooks the harbour). You'd be able to get a train from Circular Quay to Central station, then jump on a service out to Olympic Park from there. Would take about 45 minutes all up.

If you're heading in via the train, it might be easier to drink next to Central or Redfern stations, where the trains out to Olympic Park depart from. The Royal Exchange Hotel is right next to Central station on the corner of Chalmers & Devonshire Streets, and goes ok (the whole area round the station has plenty of pubs, most are pretty shitty, but will do the job)

The Alexandria Hotel is 5 minutes from Redfern station, and is Sydney's big AFL pub.

Is the Glenmore still being renovated? Was a few months back... That'd be my suggestion , otherwise the Nelson, which has some tremendous ales.

Actually, just go to both.

I bought my tickets as soon as the siren went. Had the mrs on the ready to buy. Fly out Friday morning, $90 one way on tiger. Luckily (or unlucky depending on how you look at it) have to drive a company car back, so I saved some dosh on the flight back... Cannot wait!

Shellz,

If you really are not booking accomm.

Just go to the Casino after the game, sit around in the comfy couches and then cab/train to airport in time for flight.

Safest place for a young lass with no accommodation. Unless of course one of the Pies boys is happy to share!

Funny that you got 106 as about a dozen of us from Melbourne ended up their as well.
There's a few good bars in Darling Harbour which would be good for a meet up

sounds like this section is going to be a mix of fans then as i know of at least a dozen other pies fans who have got the same area. well, either that or you'll be the only syd contingent in there!

we are thinking of hitting a pub close to central station ahead of training it out to the ground

Hmm, too hard with work & kids to do a Friday game for us.
Will watch it at home with a red or 3.
Soft, I know.

I'm bleeding money this weekend, soooo expensive to get up there friday arvo. Leaving just before 5, hopefully no issues :D

First time I've gone interstate purely for the footy, so pumped!

Shellz,

If you really are not booking accomm.

Just go to the Casino after the game, sit around in the comfy couches and then cab/train to airport in time for flight.

Safest place for a young lass with no accommodation. Unless of course one of the Pies boys is happy to share!

Second option to Taz bed!! Haha

So my mate just called and told me he can get tomorrow off! Just purchased the game tickets and we'll be driving up tomorrow morning.

Going to the Westpac Centre to watch it with a few others. If the atmosphere is anything like it was at the Victoria Park Social Club the night we beat Port in the final, and if the Maggies get up - it will be going off it's head.

Hopefully they pack it out and the joints rocking.

A mate of mine (whose club allegiance will go unmentioned) has a few connections and I've ended up with a seat in a corporate box. Never been in one at ANZ, but it's free. Hope it doesn't get too suity.

So, who's off to Sydney next week?