Society and Culture BF style

They voted for a massive paedo....twice.
I mean yes, but nobody knew that at the time. Republicans are about to vote for a massive paedo three times. After we already knew he was a paedo.

If Clinton is guilty I suppose Dipper Don is as well.

If you say so. I was just throwing down a democrat as per the conversation thread.

The reason is because Democrat voters would never be stupid enough to vote for somebody like Trump.
As an outsider, mate.

Trump hate makes it harder to read, I know. But I'm here to help.

The Democratic establishment makes it practically impossible for outsiders to win the nomination.

our Bolsonaro fanboi
You see, this is the kind of thinking that clouds judgment: "If you don't hate, therefore you are a fanboi." Please...

I voted for Bolsonaro twice. And I would vote again in similar circumstances. But in different circumstances, I could vote against him without issue.

Since his loss, things have gotten worse, and he hardly made any wise political move. Hence, he has contributed to the current situation.

You see, this is the kind of thinking that clouds judgment: "If you don't hate, therefore you are a fanboi." Please...

I voted for Bolsonaro twice. And I would vote again in similar circumstances. But in different circumstances, I could vote against him without issue.

Since his loss, things have gotten worse, and he hardly made any wise political move. Hence, he has contributed to the current situation.
I can't profess to knowing much about US politics GP, but in this country it would be virtually impossible for someone like Trump to become Prime Minister without first going through a very long selection process, including having to be endorsed by a party, win a local election to gain a seat, and then probably spend at least their first stint on the back bench before having any chance of moving up the batting order and challenging for the top banana's job.

Both sides of the political fence here have chosen their share of duds over the years, eg the Libs with Billy `big ears' McMahon, and the ALP with an alcoholic bloke with a foot fetish, but they still had to go through the process, so the chances of someone of even enormous wealth deciding on a whim to buy the gig is unlikely to happen.

The ultra wealthy (including powerful media expats who haven't lived in the country for decades can definitely influence both major political parties with large donations), but I strongly doubt our system is anywhere near as flawed as that of the US.

Now for a mutual mate of ours to blow everyone out of the water by `digging' up some info on a central NSW potato farmer who came from the clouds in the 1920's, by gaining endorsement with a 50 quid donation on Friday morning, and was elected Prime Minister by 3.00 pm the next day! ;)

On the subject of society and culture what is wrong with this woman buying a $3 bottle of dishwashing detergent and washing the dishes in the sink? Assuming of course her kitchen has a sink. Paying $74 for dishwashing tablets is as ridiculous as asking that amount for them.

A quick check at of Wokeworths' catalogue shows Fairy dishwashing tablets at $22 for a pack of 28 while 1 litre of Shine dishwashing liquid is $1.50. Cessnock NSW has two Wokeworths stores with on line shopping available.

There are plenty of legitimate gripes re the cost of living and $600 for week's rent is one of them but I would have thought $74 for dishwashing tablets is a beat up. The woman at the centre of the story works as a bookeeper yet she cannot work out how to economise in her day to day living ?

There is something not quite right about this ABC story. Ms Horn is supposed to be 54 so she is either aging well or the photo supplied is around twenty years old.

Daniel Kerr was much maligned...

Interesting interview, when someone actually challenges him he almost starts crying. So used to be surrounded by yes men that he can't handle someone actually challenging his harebrained ideals.

Also, he's a chode.
Imagine getting manhandled like that by a bloke called Don Lemon

Confession ... Many years ago (I am talking around 1980), I was playing in a weekend social match and got angry at one of the players & blew my top, calling him a "beep beep beep" (homophobic slur). This was still back in the day when "political correctness" was a term you used to guess the winner in an election!! So what I said was perhaps not as frowned on at the time, but I was shocked at what came out in the moment, and was deeply embarrassed. I had just yelled out an ugly word to someone I was going to have to work with on the Monday. What made it more shocking to me was that it was a word I had actually never used before, but obviously had heard others use it.

There was no homophobic or homosexual context or connotation, in anger I just blurted the first insult that come to mind. I was so angry with myself, and I am still embarrassed by that today.

Stupid things happen!

The number of times I've had that word or similar directed at me in my life would be in the hundreds - sometimes jokingly and sometimes maliciously. Dumb thing to say but hardly the crime of the century. Apologise, pay the fine and don't do it again.
Same... And unfortunately I used the word as well as a teenager/young adult (never maliciously) until I became friends with a gay guy and it upset him.

Pulled my head in. Realised it's not the right thing to say/do.

I would say it was quite common In the 90s

I can remember walking down the road (Gawler) and a bunch of guys driving past called me a... Fa...

Yep definitely very common in the 90s. It was the go to insult for edgy teens in particular.
I had long hair for a while so when you were in bogan central you'd get the odd ****wit throwing that slur around.

The time to let that one go from the insult arsenal was at least a couple of decades ago, pretty disappointing from finny.

It's interesting that people say it's different from what it was 15 years ago. I think that's true to some extent but is largely dependent on context.

The internet certainly you can't say it.

You're not getting away with it in most workplace settings. Yet I imagine it would still be common in really blokey occupations. Certainly I've had multiple occasions of tradies in utes yelling it out the window to me much more recently than 15 years ago if that's any indication.

And schoolyards, I've heard anecdotally that it still happens there too.

Society and Culture BF style