Southern Football League 2007

:)

:) Well Mr.Gun if you think that you can do better then why don't you come down next week and sign up,we are always looking for new umpires,in regards to the bounce of the ball mate,now that we are using sherrin's mate I think you will find a significant increase in better bouncing of the pill,not I need them mate I bounce well anyway:cool:

You'll wanna hope these new pills fix up some of those shocking calls

it's getting a bit boring on here. how about some word association?

Here goes!!

as positive as possible but, if you have to be negative then so be it!
parkmore pirates- bought a flag and are now suffering the consequences. Not the first club to do it and not the last, but certainly not the answer.
richard houston- Long arms, short pockets. Heaps of money that unfortunately for the clubs playing against him, will result in more success than not.
paul jefferies- a gun
mick allen- great bloke, good coach. Unfortunately for him has chosen the wrong club. Cobras seem to ge a bit rough and unwilling to learn. Training numbers confirm this. Rossborough will hinder his desire for a well run club with no abuse. I have read he is probably the most feared and hated person in the league, and this will not sit well with Allen. Maybe he will be the second player given the chop.
cobras- Reputation as a thug club will hinder recruitment and retaining of current players. Will survive, as most clubs do, but will probably struggle on the field. Twos will do well as usual, but ones will only win 2-3 games.
number 24- Enough said.
premiers div 1- See above. St Kilda City to beat Cheltenham by 9 goals. Cassett will kick 7 and Mimo will kick 6. Heatherton and Mordialloc to surprise.
div 2- Springvale Districts. Oakleigh Districts and Ashwood to fight out the pre-lim. Murrumbeena to finish 4th.
div 3- Wide open, but Skye to beat Black Rock by 6 goals.
wooden spoon div 1- Highett
div 2- Caulfield
div 3- Southern Cobras or Doveton
umpires- They do a very good job. If they make 10 mistakes a game, I reckon they have done a good job. As a team, we would make plenty more. We need to encourage more to join the league as the problem of supplying umpires or only having 1, will soon be a real possibility. Buy them a beer after the game.

Got to love this guy don't you. Skye for the Divvy 3 Flag.
That would be enough to retire I reckon.
Madman you would have to be getting a decent Chubby reading this wouldn't you?

Thats no good. Hard to keep the youngsters. We are lucky enough this year to have picked up about 12 under 18s, mainly from Rowville. Dont know how good they are, some look silky, some just love the game of footy, but 1 is a brother of a player in our seniors and they look at be great club people. Thats a bonus. They came down last year to a few functions and loved it.
That's good to hear, youth is the way to go it helps build the Club up for years to come, it's a waiting game with a lot of the youngsters.

24 is that right you where spruking how well you guy's are going and then you say 24.Have you been told to tone it done this is fantastic He He He
On good authority I was told that this number was numbers who trained. Apparently, a few where watching with some niggles. Been advised that there where 30+ in attendance.

My source is a Skye footballer who trains every night

Ummmm, what is your problem. A neutral observer has said he believes Skye could win the grand final. That his opinion. If you read through the posts at no stage has Mad Man said Skye to be premiers. In fact ppl who are not from Skye i.e: blac04 have said that they believe Skye to be premiership favourites

nah 24 at skye last night, a little dissapointed at that to tell you the truth but hey if thats the norm then who am I to disagree with the enemy within???

Madman, word is that you've lost your full back.

Is that true? Has he retired, moved or gone to another club?

Ummmm, what is your problem. A neutral observer has said he believes Skye could win the grand final. That his opinion. If you read through the posts at no stage has Mad Man said Skye to be premiers. In fact ppl who are not from Skye i.e: blac04 have said that they believe Skye to be premiership favourites

i must admit, i do say some of it just to give madman the $hits sometimes, but, remember, they've been training since november with some excellent attendances, which leads me to believe they will be pretty fit compared to most sides. having a look on their website and forum tells me they are a close bunch of blokes who are prepared to play for each other, and they were more than competitive last season(probably 1 of 2 or 3 teams that beat every team in the comp at least once). they will definitely be up there in the top 2!

Look Pat,
You misunderstood my friend, am not bagging anyone, would be happier than anyone to see the Bombers take out Divvy 3.
As for my problems, they are between me and the psychiatrist.
As for Madman, all in jest.

blac04 wouldn't want to mean that, as he is a coach himself.

Mate It doesnt matter how many people predict us to win the flag, its what happens from april 14th onwards that counts!!

What people say on feburary the 14th dont mean $hit!!

I understand that people are just trying to get a rise out of me, no worries there, I'm tipping I am going to cop it a hell of alot worst when the season starts!! This comes with the territory when everyone on the forum knows who you are, no big deal really, this forum is all in good fun and I am hoping to have a beer with everyone of you champs throughout the long and exciting year, even our good freind Brainstorm!!

Madman, word is that you've lost your full back.

Is that true? Has he retired, moved or gone to another club?

Nah we found out tonight that he will only miss the 1st 2 rounds on a business trip to WA, and considering we have a bye 1st round it looks like he will missour first game of the year...

Its not ideal but work comes first and we understand, we want to move him further up the ground anyways, we feel we have enough new blokes to fill the key roles down back so as i said even though its not ideal for him to miss 4 weeks of pre season / start of season, no harm no foul

24 is that right you where spruking how well you guy's are going and then you say 24.Have you been told to tone it done this is fantastic He He He

I dont ever remember "spruking" about our 40+ attendances in november, I do remember being pleasently suprised though!!!

As for being told to "Tone Down" not yet my freind, and I dont really say anything controversial to be told to "Tone Down" but hey, let your imagination run if you wish......

Re: Drought & Football

I went to a Water Restrictions and Sporting Grounds Forum last night with Dandenong Council.
They expect Level 4 Water Restrictions to kick in April putting further strain on Sporting Grounds.
They pointed out the ridiculous situation in relation to use of Eastern Treatment Plant in Carrum.
The fact is that the only A Class Recycled Water produced is supplied to private enterprises & that Councils in the area are not able to utilise this water for watering their ovals, parks & trees etc but even more infurating is the fact that the amount produced of A Class water is minimal due to the plant needing to be upgraded, which the Sate Government says could happen in 2012, currently massive amounts are pumped out to Gunnamatta when it could be used for the local communities.
Currently the Greater Dandenong Council has to travel to Werribee to get its water for council use, which limits the amount then can get due to the huge cost.
Also another point raised was that the massive amount of water used for Street Sweeping is non-recycable due to Government legislation preventing recycled water for this use.
The only way to get the changes to allow our local councils to access this water is to put pressure on the Government by you club lobbying to The Premier, Water Minister, Local Government & Football Leagues to get the changes necessary for us to get our grounds to the level they can be with watering using recycled water.
So lets not sit back & let it get worse, lets be pro-active & get the wheels of change moving

If you want to know how a football ground would look if they used all that water from the Carrum Poo Farm, have a look at the delightfully green and lush grounds at Carrum Downs.
Oh, did I forget to mention TWO grounds?
Any restrictions there MM?
You must be getting a little confident. You will be the only side that has used a football field this year.

Ahhhh! The lush green fields of Carrum Downs!!!!(and that's fields as in TWO!!)

I've heard the MPNFL are interested in at least one of those fields. Maybe the SFL should be busting a move!

If you want to know how a football ground would look if they used all that water from the Carrum Poo Farm, have a look at the delightfully green and lush grounds at Carrum Downs.
Oh, did I forget to mention TWO grounds?
Any restrictions there MM?
You must be getting a little confident. You will be the only side that has used a football field this year.

Ahhhh! The lush green fields of Carrum Downs!!!!(and that's fields as in TWO!!)

I've heard the MPNFL are interested in at least one of those fields. Maybe the SFL should be busting a move!
Unable to train on the oval's. Council has threatened with a $3k fine and SFL will match every dollar in fines. No oval in the Frankston shire can be used until 1/4 for football. (There is that much grass area that thye train there. Very lush to)
MPNFL good luck, the way they assisted with Carrum Downs folding and their lack of support will ensure a big fcuk you coming there way.

Unable to train on the oval's. Council has threatened with a $3k fine and SFL will match every dollar in fines. No oval in the Frankston shire can be used until 1/4 for football. (There is that much grass area that thye train there. Very lush to)
MPNFL good luck, the way they assisted with Carrum Downs folding and their lack of support will ensure a big fcuk you coming there way.

Fair call Paddy,
But as you've put yourself, the nod is coming from the council and not the club.
That you have TWO football fields just waiting to be used, yet you can't because other people can't use theirs.......that's a typical governMENTAL decision.

Boys! Whilst we're sitting around waiting for it to rain,why not have a look at who we think are the Top 4 players at our clubs (skill,courage,fair play etc)

Throw in your most admired player from any opposition club as well if you like.

IMO Top 4 Caulfield: (in no particular order)

Scott ORAM
Tom WILLIAMSON
Tom SEIGERT
Michael TOOSE