Southern Football League - Division 3 talk only!

So,
Giddo, Blac04 & Fevstar, who seem to be the defenders on here for the Mighty Doveton Eagles, how do you explain why the club has had so many Senior Coaches over the past 15yrs ??
How can you explain why Paul Wilson was not re-appointed 2yrs ago after leading the senior team to a 17\1 season ?? (ok, he went on to leave his murky mark on Lyndale but, whose to say another yr with Doveton would not have yielded a flag)
How do you rationalise trusting Giddo with a senior team of so many promising players under the age of 20 when, he has absolutley no coaching experience what so ever ??

I'll show my hand a little and say that i'm good mates with a coach or few that has led the Eagles over the past decade.

Unfortunatly the club does not have enough coin to go chase a high class coach. And in the past not too many have applied when we advertise which makes it quite difficult when selecting 1. Since Darrell Reigers time (arguably the best coach the club has had in its short history) the club has taken a chance on 1st time coaches. I suppose you gotta start somewhere and gain experience. We have given those that oppurtunity.
Licka had a great team to coach back in 05, and as history would suggest, Lyndale SACKED him half way through last season, so that tells the story of his coaching ability.
Funny enough in Div 3, there would not be too many coaches that would stay on to coach the same club for more than 2-3 years.
Giddo has alot of respect from the playing group, he talks well, and hisfootball brain is always working overtime. Time will tell if he has it or not.....It is only Jan!!!!:D:D:D

Smells of double standards old timer, because old xavs have access to orong park, thats not there council. Anyhow mate i am canterbury so i probably shouldn't care that much. Being an ex kew man how you shaping up this year? Bongo and bradles going around again?
How is that ground looking. I did drive past Skyes ground the other day and looks in great nick. Hoefully that can keep it like that.

The Skye ground was like this last year but fell away dramatically through the year after the rain. There has been some work done on the drainage so hopefully thisyear it will hold up better.

Anyway lets get on with some of the interesting things in our football, like:
Any sides definite new recruits / ass coaches etc.
Any decent stories going around in our divvy.

The thread has become fairly boring of late lets get it back on track.

I presume your wondering about canterbury, it's bouncing back ok haven't laid eyes on it in a couple of weeks, but should be right. All grounds will appreciate the wetter summer we have had this year compared to the last two.

Licka had a great team to coach back in 05, and as history would suggest, Lyndale SACKED him half way through last season, so that tells the story of his coaching ability.

Scratcha thats not true, Licka did in fact quit after we had the bye in round 10. The club should of sacked him after round 3. Bewildering would be the word to describe his decisions at times. Good luck with Giddo, at least you know you have someone there for the right reasons.

Anyway lets get on with some of the interesting things in our football, like:
Any sides definite new recruits / ass coaches etc.
Any decent stories going around in our divvy.

The thread has become fairly boring of late lets get it back on track.

tried this. seems no-one wants to talk about gains and losses.:rolleyes: i've told of ours, who has come and gone at skye??

We've lost Ryan Francis (Sydney) and Lance Eerhard, who both struggled with injury last year anyway. Also Tristan Hiscox and Sam Dalton have followed the old coach to West Heidelberg with Lance. Shane Dyer's out of our twos as well (Perth). Reece Eerhard (Doveton's punching bag) got a job back home (Mirbou Nth) and is playing down there. And of course, we've lost Nick Coutts until about Round 4 or 5... :D

tried this. seems no-one wants to talk about gains and losses.:rolleyes: i've told of ours, who has come and gone at skye??

Skye has picked up another couple of ex Parkdale players in Barr, Johnston and Rowley. Shane Rowley being the ass coach. A few Keysborough players have trained too, but nothing is certain until you have them signed. May also sign a fairly handy onballer with a bit of VFL experience. MM will be like a new recruit too. Not to many departing that i know of. Hopefully we have a bit more success than last year.

In no way is this talking Skye up, just thought these type of things will make the thread a bit more interesting. Clubs are going to find out sooner or later. I dont think it makes much difference.

Looks like we will have to wait until clearance and rego time before we hear anything from some of the other clubs though.

All the best to all teams.

Going Places, the older player with VFL experience is David or Tony? I saw Mitch last weekend and he was asking after you.

Neither mate, this is a fella by the name of Watts. Was meant to see Mitch at an egagement party, but he didnt end up there. Hows the Demons looking mate. Have you trained yet? Kemp is he a mate of yours, what type of player? Will have to catch up fpr a beer this year when we play.

Skye has picked up another couple of ex Parkdale players in Barr, Johnston and Rowley. Shane Rowley being the ass coach. A few Keysborough players have trained too, but nothing is certain until you have them signed. May also sign a fairly handy onballer with a bit of VFL experience. MM will be like a new recruit too. Not to many departing that i know of. Hopefully we have a bit more success than last year.

In no way is this talking Skye up, just thought these type of things will make the thread a bit more interesting. Clubs are going to find out sooner or later. I dont think it makes much difference.

Looks like we will have to wait until clearance and rego time before we hear anything from some of the other clubs though.

All the best to all teams.

what about departures corey??:rolleyes:

Sorry i forgot, Mussa might be hanging up the boots i heard on Monday night and i hear that Doveton is still chasing him. Hopefully he pulls the boots on back down at Skye. McCarthy also has some work committments that could make him struggle also but as i said before there is a long time between now and the first game.

You can only work with what you have.

Sorry i forgot, Mussa might be hanging up the boots i heard on Monday night and i hear that Doveton is still chasing him. Hopefully he pulls the boots on back down at Skye. McCarthy also has some work committments that could make him struggle also but as i said before there is a long time between now and the first game.

You can only work with what you have.

love this big footy thing.:thumbsu: talkig to bravo the other night and think he knows whether big mussa is going to play or not. with a bit of luck he stays at wedge road, as a player, not a grazer!! think the whole doveton thing is twaddle
when do we start tue/thurs corey?

I have Faith Deano will play, he promised me at Cranbourne Cup, Things change but I will pick him up myself every satday if needed!!

I am faitful Mussa will play with us, already a legend of the club, he helped create it, 2nd only behind Steve McCann in life membership eligibility in my opinion!!

There are no losses from what i can tell talking to the boys, which is needed if we are going to improve as a team, Glen Harvey retiring to be the runner hurts a little, really respect him as a hard team player!!

GP you forgot Peter Thompson back, have very high regard for his tall defensive skills!! Could maybe free you up a little old man!! might have to purchase a walking stick for you on saturday??

I have Faith Deano will play, he promised me at Cranbourne Cup, Things change but I will pick him up myself every satday if needed!!

I am faitful Mussa will play with us, already a legend of the club, he helped create it, 2nd only behind Steve McCann in life membership eligibility in my opinion!!

There are no losses from what i can tell talking to the boys, which is needed if we are going to improve as a team, Glen Harvey retiring to be the runner hurts a little, really respect him as a hard team player!!

GP you forgot Peter Thompson back, have very high regard for his tall defensive skills!! Could maybe free you up a little old man!! might have to purchase a walking stick for you on saturday??

have a feeling youll be our best recruit big guy!;)

MM, your obviously taking advantage of your day off tomorrow. Thommo will be huge for us (if he trains consistantly). As for you being over pre-season, well! And as for this old man business; How did you fair on your time trial, I think a couple of old boys beat you in, quite convincingly.

Mt Waverley and Cantebury will definitely make up 2 of the top 4. That only leaves 2 spots for everybody else, should be a tight season, looking very forward to the challenge, its what we play for.

GP looks like you have recruited well. Looks like it will be a good year ahead for you. Kempy is one of my best mates so it is good to have him down at the club he would be a massive assett. We have signed a few other recruits, with some more to come from other Divy 2 Clubs.

MM, your obviously taking advantage of your day off tomorrow. Thommo will be huge for us (if he trains consistantly). As for you being over pre-season, well! And as for this old man business; How did you fair on your time trial, I think a couple of old boys beat you in, quite convincingly.

Mt Waverley and Cantebury will definitely make up 2 of the top 4. That only leaves 2 spots for everybody else, should be a tight season, looking very forward to the challenge, its what we play for.

I feel i am more valuable over short distances.....

GP looks like you have recruited well. Looks like it will be a good year ahead for you. Kempy is one of my best mates so it is good to have him down at the club he would be a massive assett. We have signed a few other recruits, with some more to come from other Divy 2 Clubs.

Sounds like you blokes might be the ones who are in for a good year. Did you lose many? You still didnt answer the question about you training yet big fella.

As for you MM, more valuable over the shorter distances, hey. Looks like plenty of sprints for you then tonight.