Prediction St.Kilda Best 22

The issue for Henry will not be his running but whether his disposal is RTB standard.

Don't think Lyon is too concerned with disposal quality if his past is anything to go by.

Horses for courses. Dow and Henry are both have average skills yet we went for them anyway. He wants runners.

Yep. Work rate and fitness sit a lot higher on his preference list than skills IMO.

I would love to get the lowdown from Boris on the in-house Ratten-Rath philosophy (beyond the public platitudes) and what they actually thought they were doing.

Enright came from a much more exacting background and I'm sure he must have raised concerns with Ratts, I'd be fascinated to learn what they were aiming for, and what he predicts Ratten would think of the current regime - in other words, why he was not trying this himself.
Mason Wood has a quick word about Ratts on the Unlaced Podcast. only a few words but described Ratts as a relationships coach, where Brad Scott and Ross are more process driven (sic), also credited Scott with getting him a place on Saints list.

Selection will hopefully get very interesting if we have a little luck with injuries! At this time of year it's always 'How do we fit them all in?' but seriously - how will we fit them all in??

Below is a combo of what I'd like to see and what I think may happen.

Realise Hill is likely a rnd 1 lock as is Higgins, probably Henry too tbh, as we targetted him and he seems to be flying it, plus I've seen very very little of Henry play whatsoever. Dunno though I'd like to see what Jones brings from the onset plus our frdp in Wilson. Would love to see Membrey put in another great season. Some of the positions could be a bit whack but you get the idea! HEAPS of midfield roations with Sinc/Windy, Pou/Owens, Jones, Clark, Dow etc. My biggest hope is the competition for those midfield spots/rotations is FIERCE! Overall perhaps down a small forward/rotation up there and perhaps too top heavy? Would Clark/Dow go out for a Hill/Henry? Anyways...

b: webster wilkie doogal
hb:nas battle sinclair
c: wood steele jones
hf: pou owens sharman
f: butler king membrey
foll: marshall crouch windy
int: clark cordy dow wilson

how didn't we fit in: hill, higgins, henry, byrnes, stocker, ross, caminiti, bonner...

Selection will hopefully get very interesting if we have a little luck with injuries! At this time of year it's always 'How do we fit them all in?' but seriously - how will we fit them all in??

Below is a combo of what I'd like to see and what I think may happen.

Realise Hill is likely a rnd 1 lock as is Higgins, probably Henry too tbh, as we targetted him and he seems to be flying it, plus I've seen very very little of Henry play whatsoever. Dunno though I'd like to see what Jones brings from the onset plus our frdp in Wilson. Would love to see Membrey put in another great season. Some of the positions could be a bit whack but you get the idea! HEAPS of midfield roations with Sinc/Windy, Pou/Owens, Jones, Clark, Dow etc. My biggest hope is the competition for those midfield spots/rotations is FIERCE! Overall perhaps down a small forward/rotation up there and perhaps too top heavy? Would Clark/Dow go out for a Hill/Henry? Anyways...

b: webster wilkie doogal
hb:nas battle sinclair
c: wood steele jones
hf: pou owens sharman
f: butler king membrey
foll: marshall crouch windy
int: clark cordy dow wilson

how didn't we fit in: hill, higgins, henry, byrnes, stocker, ross, caminiti, bonner...

Just my opinion but fwd line seems a little tall plus another swing tall on the bench.
Hill, Bonner & Henry all play R1 imo.
Hard to call at this time with everyone supposedly available but guessing at outs of....
Cordy, Jones and maybe..... Sharman or Wilson (I'm keen to see him play)
Good depth now approaching 30 players which is a great problem.

Would love to see us just prioritise running at all costs. Happy to go small. I like the idea of something like this:

BSTOCKERHOWARDBATTLE
HBNASWILKIEWINDHAGER
CHILLSTEELEWOOD
HFOWENSSHARMANHENRY
FHIGGINSKINGBUTLER
FOLLMARSHALLSINCLAIRCROUCH
INTPOUDOWJONESBONNER

Nice mix of pace, run and foot skills given what we have at our disposal. I rate Bonner, hope he plays. Blokes pushing for selection is this order I would have:

Webster, Ross, Membrey, Cordy, Byrnes, Hayes, Hammer, Wilson, Paton, Clark.

Clark is a long way back for me. Not versatile enough, Dow coming in hurts him immensely. Particularly when more midfield minutes will get absorbed by Pou, Owens & Sincs, maybe even a fit Jones.

Expecting Windhager to step up and become a solid player across half back this year. Bonner, Jones, Sincs can all come off half back when needed also.

Team is light on for relief rucks but reckon Owens and Sharman can cover 20% of game time between them. This suggestion will not be popular but I am also not against King playing 15 minutes a game in the ruck. Needs a better work rate. Would be good for him to touch the footy more and get his confidence up.

If King goes in the ruck whilst Marshall is resting the forward line is smallish but hella dangerous. Sharman, Owens, Pou with Butler, Higgo & Henry floating around is a super mobile unpredictable line up.

Prediction St.Kilda Best 22