st kilda = ugly football

That's only used by Vic commentators for the Vic teams. When non-Vic teams do it, it's getting numbers back and flooding. But, still be in denial about it not being flooding though. ;)
LOL no denial here we "flood" more than most teams and if you kick it around merrily forever we will eventualy have 90% of the team there, but my point was flooding aka "zones" is not solely the province of the Saints :rolleyes:

All you have to do is kick accurately against us. Simple. Dogs did not. Collingwood did not.

Stop crying about the flood and try to counter it you tactically impotent twits.

what ever happened to the term 'flood'? it seems its been censored (possibly by the silks at afl HQ), because it was the catch phrase of 2007, but seems to be hardly spoken these days, its all 'getting numbers back'...

st kilda may change that.

saints are not a great defensive team, they are a great flooding team. they play ugly football that no one wants to watch. and they win games doing so.

flooding is a great tactic. its a double edge sword:
its harder for the opposition to score: once the flood is on, teams are forced to kick to a contest or have long range shots.
its a lot easier for the flooders to score: once the ball is turned over in the backline, the forward line is completely open, allowing plenty of space for players to run into.

without the offensive power of roo in their side, st kilda will look to flood a lot more to compensate. in the 2 games the saints have played entirely without riewoldt, they've kicked a total of 93 points...

every team that has played st kilda so far (collingwood, bulldogs, sydney, north melbourne, port adelaide and fremantle) have kicked their lowest scores this year because of the saints flooding. geelong kicked 89 against the hawks in their losing 2008 grand final, yet managed only 80 in their winning 2010 grand final against the saints.

adelaide got slammed for playing 'ugly football' so why dont the saints cop the same treatment?

WHY is this not in bay13?

yet another troll by a bitter & twisted pies supporter on a pointless subject that has already ben done to death....

WHY is this not in bay13?

yet another troll by a bitter & twisted pies supporter on a pointless subject that has already ben done to death....

Because it's an opinion, that he is entitled to have? :confused:

I don't understand why St Kilda fans are so upset for..

It's been widely acknowledged by the general football public that St Kilda play unattractive football. Get over it!!

at the end of the year it won't be remembered what style of football the team played. what will be remembered is if we won or lost.
4 points is 4 points. there aren't any extra points for "flair" given last time I looked.

I'll be honest and say even though I'm sticking up for the gameplan we are playing at the moment I am only doing this because I love my club.

In actuality I am sick and tired of it. It doesn't bother me when it's once or twice but we play that horribly unattractive footy every bloody week, it is annoying. As many here have stated we have the ability to play a more attacking style of football. Why can't we see it more?

The more one eyed supporters will try to tell you our attendances are better this year and yes we have smashed our membership record and it doesn't bother them what opposition supporters think and the only thing that matters is four points and while these are all valid points, I will admit I am not enjoying watching as much as I used to.

Last year at least we were great at creating pressure and we were highly skilled. This year the skill level is down and we seem to be less ferocious when it comes to tackling and hard ball gets than this time last year.

I'm not saying I want to go back to the attacking style in 2004-5 but a nice mix would be good. Actually one reason why we are playing like this is Jason gram as someone on saintsational brought up. Grammy gives us heaps of run and drive from the backline.

Once he returns I expect our goal input to rise dramatically.

everyone calling it ugly football is implying football should be played a certain way. that's bullshit. coaches are people with different ideas not robots programmed to play footy deemed attractive by the average, caught up in the 80s yobbo aussie bloke.

Has anyone stopped to think this is a team struggling to find its way after the loss of its main forward - you know, the one you build a game plan around.
I think anyone with half a brain would realise the Saints are going to be doing it tough for a while, finding a new way to win. Of course they're going to be more defensive, it's just bloody common sense. That was a great win on Friday night. The W.Bulldogs should have blown them off the park. I'd take guts over flair anyday.

Original thread, only had about 500 other threads on this topic in the last few days.:rolleyes:

We've had just two games recently where we have played ugly football. Name any other games in the past year where we have played like that. It was only a few weeks ago we played one of the best matches of the season so far against Freo.

Just sounds like sour grapes from another Collingwood supporter that can't handle the fact his team can't beat us.
One of your more reasonable posts Plugger, especially paragraph 2.

I don't think it's great coincidence that Saints style of play has become more defensive since Riewoldt's injury. Kosi is not in the same class (and not many players in general are) as Riewoldt, and the lack of a powerful CHF has meant a change in structure and style, for now anyway. Saints were playing some great footy earlier in the comp, not surprisingly when Riewoldt was playing. It's not rocket science.

As much as I hated watching it (at 2am in Sydney:mad:), St Kilda set up their structures and the Bulldogs were not able to counter them. 4 points to St Kilda. You can beat the flood by taking chances, kicking long and hoping to beat them in the air, or on the ground. Problem with the Bulldogs is they have in Hall a great leading forward, but he's crap overhead, and St Kilda knew that. Bulldogs also have Johnno up front, who's great on the lead and has good speed, but is crap off the ground. Rocket needs to get his players to back themselves a bit more to overcome the flood.

Has anyone stopped to think this is a team struggling to find its way after the loss of its main forward - you know, the one you build a game plan around.
I think anyone with half a brain would realise the Saints are going to be doing it tough for a while, finding a new way to win. Of course they're going to be more defensive, it's just bloody common sense. That was a great win on Friday night. The W.Bulldogs should have blown them off the park. I'd take guts over flair anyday.

An entirely reasonable position to take. If I was a Saints fan, I'd be stoked by the endeavour of my players and the smarts of the coaching panel.

But that doesn't make it any more pleasant to watch their games.

Which games Sully?

Did you enjoy the Round 1 Swans game? Best or second best game of the round. A cracker.

The Freo game? At the time was called by many the game of the year... "If you haven't seen it get a tape of it and see how footy should be played"

The North game....was probably hard to watch if you were not a Saints fan but still you could appreciate the brutality of their dominance.

The Collingwood game? I was there and thought it was a cracker. Two teams very hard at it. As close to a final as we have had this year.

That leaves the Doggies and Port games. Didn't see Port but accept it was a slog in the wet and probably not much of a spectacle for non Saints or Port fans.

The Doggies game.... hard work and not a great game to watch unless you are a Saints fan.

but lets not throw the baby out with the bath water hey?

All these threads about St Kilda playing ugly footy, are about as well timed as Travis Cloke's recent Footy Show appearance. :p

I think the point the OP was trying to make is that we miss a player with the explosive attacking nous of Luke Ball :p

Seriously though he was good this week :thumbsu: Hope he can keep it up. Anyone see Thommo's man love on Footy Classified last night? I think he was barring up!!

what ever happened to the term 'flood'? it seems its been censored (possibly by the silks at afl HQ), because it was the catch phrase of 2007, but seems to be hardly spoken these days, its all 'getting numbers back'...

LOL, simple really.... when the swans were doing it in those years, so were other teams but "the flood" was referred to as "getting numbers behind the ball" when melbourne based teams did it.

true story

Exactly, and in the mean time lyon has the responsibility to win games to ensure best finals chance.

Honestly, these threads are pathetic and reek of jealousy.

Funny how when we were playing attacking, attractive football and kicking big scores, people were criticising Riewoldt for being a cheat and a diver. Now that we have lost Riewoldt, the same people are now criticising us for being dull and boring.

Guaranteed when Riewoldt comes back and we start playing more attacking, attractive football again they will all go back to sooking about Riewoldt.

Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

st kilda = ugly football