Review St Kilda v North Melbourne Rd 2 2018 Bad Friday

I saw some comments above about how you guys feel about where your club is at. Remember a week is a long time in football. You play our guys this week and after the grand final debacle we had a poor offseason where mentality, coaching, leadership etc was questioned. We then came into the game v the bombers with a somewhat underdone and depleted team and got run over in the last 1/4. It really was doom and gloom going into the richmond game and then it clicked..albeit with more injuries etc. The point is i think you guys have some really good up coming players and whilst yesterday was not good there is nothing to say that won't gapvanise your team and they serve it right up to the crows and maybe beat them this week and then that would change the outlook going forwards. Stick with the team as i am sure you guys will look back at the round 2 loss as a blip on the way to pushing for finals this year.

Arno has been ok but he causes more problems than he solves. He has meant Steele isn’t playing in his best position and because of that either is Sinclair. Harsh and it won’t happen but I would drop Armo

It’s pretty obvious that Richo will drop Steele & Sinclair before dropping Armo.

The main issue I see with Armo is that he’s only good for one contest & doesn’t have the body/health anymore to get on a chain of contests because he doesn’t keep his feet. He can’t bend over, pick up the footy & get back onto his feet to kick. Every time he picks up the footy it’s like he’s diving forward and handballing in the one action. Then he’s lying face first on the deck & cant be a part of the next contest/be an option in the disposal chain. He’s gone. It’s like his back is forever straight.

Also, not seeing much overt leadership from Armo tbh.

Just as gloomy wanting a coach with 2 years left being sacked. How do you fix a list that belongs in2010.

At least if it’s the coach we can just replace him. Systemic issues within our recruitment & playing list is a far greater issue that cannot be resolved over one off season.

I saw some comments above about how you guys feel about where your club is at. Remember a week is a long time in football. You play our guys this week and after the grand final debacle we had a poor offseason where mentality, coaching, leadership etc was questioned. We then came into the game v the bombers with a somewhat underdone and depleted team and got run over in the last 1/4. It really was doom and gloom going into the richmond game and then it clicked..albeit with more injuries etc. The point is i think you guys have some really good up coming players and whilst yesterday was not good there is nothing to say that won't gapvanise your team and they serve it right up to the crows and maybe beat them this week and then that would change the outlook going forwards. Stick with the team as i am sure you guys will look back at the round 2 loss as a blip on the way to pushing for finals this year.
Thanks for your comment mate, The difference is you guys have the runs on the board! we have no idea wheather we are Arthur or Martha

Must be the saints fan in Me, but I'm looking forward to next weekend. It'll be the first game that I can get to in person this year. Hopefully they respond, even though I sometimes hate them I still love them.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

It’s pretty obvious that Richo will drop Steele & Sinclair before dropping Armo.

The main issue I see with Armo is that he’s only good for one contest & doesn’t have the body/health anymore to get on a chain of contests because he doesn’t keep his feet. He can’t bend over, pick up the footy & get back onto his feet to kick. Every time he picks up the footy it’s like he’s diving forward and handballing in the one action. Then he’s lying face first on the deck & cant be a part of the next contest/be an option in the disposal chain. He’s gone. It’s like his back is forever straight.

Also, not seeing much overt leadership from Armo tbh.
Why cant Arma be the one that goes forward more. Didnt he do this in 2015 and able to snag a few

Arno has been ok but he causes more problems than he solves. He has meant Steele isn’t playing in his best position and because of that either is Sinclair. Harsh and it won’t happen but I would drop Armo

I agree mate. I really feel as though Armo causes more problems then he solves. He really is just not that good and is taking games from the younger bodies.
**** the nice guy BS I don’t care at how long Armo has been around, show some ticker and be a role model for these younger kids or **** the **** off.
TBH, I actually think the blokes a joke and it is toxic to praise him as much as we do.

#****youarmoyouspinelesscampaigner.

**** it’s the next morning and I still can’t wrap my head around that shitfest of a game.

We're already a laughing stock but if we sacked Richo now we'd be even more of a laughing stock, it would get tied in with our club's past and no one would want in, coach or player. We'd be pilloried in the media from now until the next final we play in.

We've got to give Alan a chance to sort it out. If he's lost the players he needs to regain their trust, simple as that.

The only reason to get rid of him now would be if we had a guaranteed successful and relevant coach waiting to take over, which we don't.

Completely different context but the soccer club I support Liverpool had a great season a while back with Brendan Rodgers. Then shit went pear shaped. He had a lot of credits in the bank so plenty, including me, resisted calling for his head, even though the football was pitiful.

Then Jürgen Klopp, a successful German coach, left his club and about 6 months later, Rodgers was sacked 2 months into the season and Klopp was hired. So far he's been exactly what the club needed.

My point being, when you see someone available who is exactly what you need, you don't hesitate. Rodgers was a nice guy, gave us some good times, but Klopp is better. End of story.

Who's better than Richo, and available? Ok wrong question.

Richo has to stay but we need a cracking group of assistants. No more Hamill, Frawley boys club yes men. Richo can be the face of our coaching but in reality, nothing more than that.
Who's the coach the club need? Who's our Klopp? Not a greenhorn surely? Not an old fart like Malthouse either.

No it’s not your job but if it’s obvious he is no good it must be obvious what is wrong with our style and what we should do to fix otherwise I just think your person who takes the easy option of sacking another coach. Works a treat. By the way the replacement is?

I get where you’re coming from Plugger, but how long is too long? In any other organisation if the head isn’t performing they’re replaced.

This includes all facets. Culture, performance, results ect. Nothing will happen until the end of the year anyway. But if we’re say 6-17 come years end with next to no change made, I can’t see him as the unified leader moving forward.

I don’t think it should just be the coach either. Not sure Trout & more importantly, the development coaches are right either. If we faulter all year and go backwards, this will be another rebuild in a row. Simply can’t ignore facts of that magnitude.

Appreciate the comments mate but it's one thing to be doom and gloom about a side that's made finals the past few years, finished on top last year and lost the grand final... it's another thing entirely for a side that hasn't played finals since 2011 after being sold a vision that outlined this year as the year we'd break out and finish top 4

I get where you’re coming from Plugger, but how long is too long? In any other organisation if the head isn’t performing they’re replaced.

This includes all facets. Culture, performance, results ect. Nothing will happen until the end of the year anyway. But if we’re say 6-17 come years end with next to no change made, I can’t see him as the unified leader moving forward.

I don’t think it should just be the coach either. Not sure Trout & more importantly, the development coaches are right either. If we faulter all year and go backwards, this will be another rebuild in a row. Simply can’t ignore facts of that magnitude.

Should never have extended but we did and with our money situation we are stuck with him. We need it to work

Armo had a few good starts to seasons in recent years and fell away as the seasons went on, and this probably wont change. We have a group of midfielders who are all similar in how they play, all one-paced, and slow to recover after contests. Still, yesterday's disaster was more about team system failure first, then we can look at how some players performed under pressure.

Should never have extended but we did and with our money situation we are stuck with him. We need it to work

We must’ve got a ripper deal from Richo’s manager. Fire sale 2 years for the price of 1.

Gee it would be nice if there is a clause in the contract where we can release him early if he doesn’t meet certain benchmarks.

I was emotional when I posted last night but I stand by what I said.
I will add though that the players do like Richo, he is a great fella. But being a good fella doesn’t make you a good coach. If all supporters are starting to question game plans and selection and player management then is it really a stretch to believe that some players are starting to ask the same questions?
I actually do believe in our list, I think we have the talent there. What concerns me with our players is the way they’re being developed and the way they are asked to play in games (role and position).
It’s going to be an interesting week at Moorabbin (where have I heard that before?), and if what I’ve heard is true there has already been some honest questions asked from some club heavy hitters post match yesterday.

Hey guys, hope it's ok posting in here in a rough patch.

Main question is, why aren't Billings and Gresham run on the ball more? Gresham could even come off the back of the square and do some damage. The main thing you guys seem to lack at the coal face is class, and those two have it in spades when involved. Just makes no sense to me.

Players are dejected, poor armo has come back from injury and done his best...
Its the gameplan not the players.

An interesting stat is we had 17 bounces to 4.

Ive been complaining about this gamestyle for years; we play on too much and bounce it then long bomb it in 50, usually to lonie on 3 defenders.

Its schoolyard footy.

We need to hold onto it longer and utilise quick skilfull hands and pinpoint passes to forwards on a lead, i saw it once when webster drilled one to steven.

Main question is, why aren't Billings and Gresham run on the ball more? Gresham could even come off the back of the square and do some damage. The main thing you guys seem to lack at the coal face is class, and those two have it in spades when involved. Just makes no sense to me.
Don’t talk sense mate I think every single person except for richo can see adavantages of rolling Gresham,Acres,Billings,Steele,long,sinclair,heck anyone different to Steven Ross Armitage. God forbid we find a player or too who can play in the centre square or at the very least become more versatile

Billings wasn’t good enough previously and Gresham isn’t fit enough. Also because we play 3 very average talls we need class there and those 2 have it. Might be time to revisit billings on the ball

Review St Kilda v North Melbourne Rd 2 2018 Bad Friday