Review St Kilda v North Melbourne Rd 2 2018 Bad Friday

At least our players can get good coffee now and dont have to travel to seaford, what a soft rubbish football club we are. our season done in round 2.
Yep I don't believe Richo is the man for the job but our players and list management is just as bad

I haven´t watched this match yet but going by reports it´s almost unwatchable.
At the time it was on I was travelling on a bus from Hamburg to Berlin where a kinda mini hostage, stand off drama was
taking place on the bus. I had my phone set up with earplugs to watch the game but things got very tense onboard this bus.

A passenger decided they were going to smoke on the bus regardles of what anyone thought and had to be physically restrained.
The driver had to pull over twice in the middle of farmland Germany to radio it in. The passenger was elderly and an absolute
weirdo, loud mouth, no f´s given about anything mentally ill person. Passengers started getting verbally aggressive towards the driver for pulling over all the time as it´s Easter, to the point that the driver on the loud speaker told people he is really stressed and is having difficulty concentrating on driving and to please be patient as he has all our lives in his hands. I honestly didn´t know if we would make it in one piece so watching the footy was kinda the furtherest thing from my mind.
I´ve never experienced something as weird as that on public transport especially scary given it was on a German autobahn in heavy holiday traffic.
I´m actually glad I missed what sounds like an absolute car crash of a footy match, I would have been dirty watching that- I´m even happier to avoid being in Easter toll bus crash. At least the Metallica concert was on point.

Yep, I'm not far away in Cardiff, got the ferry from Dublin this morning, staring at miserable rain outside thinking my footy and cricket sides are both cactus. Mexico in a fortnight travelling south can't come quick enough.
I'm heading off tomorrow. For Mauritius. Weather looks ok. My luck will be to be put with a South African cricket supporter, and a Norf supporter in the first golf tee time I have. Or a Pom. They are going for the throat that lot. Might play on my own and drink in the corner of the bar.....

At least our players can get good coffee now and dont have to travel to seaford, what a soft rubbish football club we are. our season done in round 2.
Yep I don't believe Richo is the man for the job but our players and list management is just as bad
I'm not one to go at my own. But I too am bloody disappointed. Will take a massive effort next week to swing me around. Been a bad week ......

I haven´t watched this match yet but going by reports it´s almost unwatchable.
At the time it was on I was travelling on a bus from Hamburg to Berlin where a kinda mini hostage, stand off drama was
taking place on the bus. I had my phone set up with earplugs to watch the game but things got very tense onboard this bus.

A passenger decided they were going to smoke on the bus regardles of what anyone thought and had to be physically restrained.
The driver had to pull over twice in the middle of farmland Germany to radio it in. The passenger was elderly and an absolute
weirdo, loud mouth, no f´s given about anything mentally ill person. Passengers started to start getting verbally aggressive towards the driver for pulling over all the time as it´s Easter, to the point that the driver on the loud speaker told people he is really stressed and is having difficulty concentrating on driving and to please be patient as he has all our lives in his hands. I honestly didn´t know if we would make it in one piece so watching the footy was kinda the furtherest thing from my mind.
I´ve never experienced something as weird as that on public transport especially scary given it was on a German autobahn in heavy holiday traffic.
I´m actually glad I missed what sounds like an absolute car crash of a footy match, I would have been dirty watching that- I´m even happier to avoid being in Easter toll bus crash. At least the Metallica concert was on point.
You win on the bad week front. That sounds terrible. Things can only get better!

I'm not one to go at my own. But I too am bloody disappointed. Will take a massive effort next week to swing me around. Been a bad week ......
40 years for me and i dont think I have ever been this disappointed, it started in the JLT games. Club has no soul at the minute players don't believe

55 years for me. Bloody hell! We have had worse teams in my time. I reckon they will pull it around to some extent. Confidence will be low from both players and supporters.

Sounds like the loss of Roo has had a massive impact. No leadership on or off the field. Gonna have to offer Sloane a deal he can’t refuses. Need to do what we did in the early 00’s getting Hammil & buy some leadership.

55 years for me. Bloody hell! We have had worse teams in my time. I reckon they will pull it around to some extent. Confidence will be low from both players and supporters.
They wouldn´t be the first team to start the season off rusty and somehow click into gear. There´s gonna be some punishment dished out on the training
track next week you´d expect, whether the players like Richo or not. Richo needs to step up now and show them that efforts like that are not tolerated.
Adelaide will be looking at us a percentage booster. We´ve gotta show the likes of Rory Sloane that we´ve got heart and a future. Now or never Saints.

At least we can all be grateful that we have Ben Dixon as our goal kicking coach. :eek:
Oops! Wait a minute, let me rephrase that, Ben Dixon is grateful he is our goal kicking coach.:moneybag:
Money for nothing.:huh:

Paddy would be lucky to get a third rounder back.

We would get a second rounder for him. We may as well do it, since we essentially gave ours away for free.

The net effect would be essentially we burnt a pick 1 for nothing. May as well close the loop on one of the most idiotic trades in AFL history.

Bit concerning that all i've read Richardson talk about is lack of effort/outworked etc...and looking at who to bring in for next week to rectify it, unless i've missed something.

Haven't seen him talk about reviewing/tweaking things in terms of the gameplan and the tactics employed...eg he thinks these are all fine and it's 100% the players fault.

According to Richo the game plan is awesome, and the list is awesome, it is the inability of this awesome list to execute this awesome game plan that is the problem:huh:

People dont get sucked in to blaming the players for todays performance. Todays performance was that of a group of kids who have lost faith in the process. Our list has holes but it is a lot better than the effort displayed today.

As MG has stated there has been player rumblings about the coach for sometime. Its been coming and it seems the players have realised how flawed Richo's game plan and structures are and basically gave up. Again this is human nature after a time when people realise their boss or leader is incompetent and taking them nowhere.

The problem is completely Richo's and his assistants to own and repair if possible?

You have been consistent for 2 years on this mate, and at times have been slammed for it. You are dead on the money.

Can we?

We will win 5 games or less this year and he will still be there next year. That is the sad thing.

Finnis is a nightmare, must go! Clueless campaigner who didn't even want the job in the first place.

Can’t help but think winning is not a priority at the club at the moment.

Loss of grand finals, followed by a number of off field indiscretions which lead to an overal poor culture at the club. In comes Finnes to clean up the off field culture & attempt to gain some credible club sponsors.

The next move for the club was to bring in Allan Richardson who is clean cut on & off the field. Mr perfect. A good husband, a family man & an alround good bloke.

We then extended Richo’s contract because having a long term coach is a sign of club stability & the fact we weren’t winning/improving is secondary to having a club with a stable environment.

It’s funny because at the time of having Scott Watters as coach I thought he was the perfect choice. He was a great media performer, he didn’t take shit from senior players running the club he had us playing an exciting brand of football.

Then it came out about how much of a crazy cat Watters was & next minute he’s sacked. I can’t help but wonder where we’d be with Watters given more opportunity. Is does sound like he was drastically undermined & not supported by the administration. Game of thrones/game of egos.

We're already a laughing stock but if we sacked Richo now we'd be even more of a laughing stock, it would get tied in with our club's past and no one would want in, coach or player. We'd be pilloried in the media from now until the next final we play in.

We've got to give Alan a chance to sort it out. If he's lost the players he needs to regain their trust, simple as that.

The only reason to get rid of him now would be if we had a guaranteed successful and relevant coach waiting to take over, which we don't.

Completely different context but the soccer club I support Liverpool had a great season a while back with Brendan Rodgers. Then shit went pear shaped. He had a lot of credits in the bank so plenty, including me, resisted calling for his head, even though the football was pitiful.

Then Jürgen Klopp, a successful German coach, left his club and about 6 months later, Rodgers was sacked 2 months into the season and Klopp was hired. So far he's been exactly what the club needed.

My point being, when you see someone available who is exactly what you need, you don't hesitate. Rodgers was a nice guy, gave us some good times, but Klopp is better. End of story.

Who's better than Richo, and available? Ok wrong question.

Who's the coach the club need? Who's our Klopp? Not a greenhorn surely? Not an old fart like Malthouse either.

We're already a laughing stock but if we sacked Richo now we'd be even more of a laughing stock, it would get tied in with our club's past and no one would want in, coach or player. We'd be pilloried in the media from now until the next final we play in.

We've got to give Alan a chance to sort it out. If he's lost the players he needs to regain their trust, simple as that.

The only reason to get rid of him now would be if we had a guaranteed successful and relevant coach waiting to take over, which we don't.

Completely different context but the soccer club I support Liverpool had a great season a while back with Brendan Rodgers. Then shit went pear shaped. He had a lot of credits in the bank so plenty, including me, resisted calling for his head, even though the football was pitiful.

Then Jürgen Klopp, a successful German coach, left his club and about 6 months later, Rodgers was sacked 2 months into the season and Klopp was hired. So far he's been exactly what the club needed.

My point being, when you see someone available who is exactly what you need, you don't hesitate. Rodgers was a nice guy, gave us some good times, but Klopp is better. End of story.

Who's better than Richo, and available?

I posted this in another thread....

What a blunder re-signing Richo so early on.

Can we do Malthouse/Buckley style transition? Promote an assistant coach to head coach at years end & give Richo the director of coaching position? Demote Richo but spin it like he’s some Yoda & we want him overseeing the assistant coaches. He still gets paid & we don’t have to pay him out but he is no longer the head coach. Am I on to something?

Personally I’d be looking at a coach such as Caracella who has a more modern outtake on today’s coaching. Can’t help but think Richo is on the Neeld/McCarthy level.

Who's better than Richo, and available? Ok wrong question.

Who's the coach the club need? Who's our Klopp? Not a greenhorn surely? Not an old fart like Malthouse either.

Yes, but Klopp has Salah and Rodgers had Andy Carroll.

According to Richo the game plan is awesome, and the list is awesome, it is the inability of this awesome list to execute this awesome game plan that is the problem:huh:

How many players in the top 50. How tipped us to make finals. We lack players. Tell us your marvellous way we should’ve coached because if it’s obvious he no good it must be obvious how we should play. I reckon our problem is recruitment and the type we are getting

That's not really the point. We wouldn't be expected to have too many in the top 50 at this stage in our rebuild. What we'd expect to see though is players getting better year on year. It's not clear that's happening. Do you think Richo's doing the absolute best any coach possibly could with this group? I don't.

Review St Kilda v North Melbourne Rd 2 2018 Bad Friday