Preview St Kilda vs Geelong June 25 Sat at 7:25pm AEST

Well if he does get dropped it will be for Billings.
So no real structural change.
Could still see it happening though will Billings the clear superior player
A lot of the time when Acres has played this year he's been playing as somewhat of a marking target inside 50 though (eg. in round 1 he was our deepest target a lot early in the game, with Paddy and Membrey not there, and on the weekend, with Paddy and Roo not there and Pierce on the bench so much, he was again playing what looked to be one of the 3 marking target roles a fair bit of the time, which is why he's possibly going to be in the gun again if we bring both Paddy and Riewoldt in.

Pierce could be one like-for-like and Blake the other. Would rather we left out Pierce and Wright though personally if we only bring in Riewoldt and Paddy.

If we are serious about winning, Billings comes in. Even though he's been below par for a while, I think every game he's played has been more influential than Minchingtons game on the weekend.

Richo however might think that he still needs a bit more of a kick in the arse.
Disagree with this. I think Minch won some very important 50/50 ball around the ground & asserted himself well. When Minch was involved around stopages, he's a lot better than Billings. Billings wins pretty much all other categories around the ground though

I'm feeling very optimistic about this one. Geelong will be coming of an important top of the table clash with a spirited Bulldogs outfit. They will also have one eye on the bye. We will be taking some confidence from our performance against them last year (I know that's a long time, but we just won't feel like they always own us), and we'll still be feeling positive about our last game. Geelong are the most penalised team in the competition this year, and hopefully that continues and they can't build up any real momentum against us.

The biggest issue for the coaches is do they keep some of the call-ups from last week who showed great effort? Was Mav's performance inspired by the fact that he had the other 'bash brother' (as Hickey affectionately labelled them) N. Wright running alongside him? Was Hickey's performance partly empowered by having stronger support from L. Pierce in the ruck? Either way there are some tough calls to be made.

Our midfield will have to be at their best though if we are going to come away with the chocolates. Especially at centre bounce, where Geelong lead the league, and have two of the top three centre clearance players in the competition (Selwood and Dangerfield).

I'm hoping to see Paddy back in for Wright. I would be happy for Riewoldt to have another week out, but if he comes back I think Pierce makes way. I'd bring Coghlan in forTom Lee if he can't get up. Otherwise, no changes.

Only if Roo is good to go.

Wouldn't hurt to let those knees rest further.

As much as we love to have Roo out there, I think winning the weekend's game without him there would have done more for us than if we'd won it with him, so I wouldn't mind if we rested him for a game later in the year, for the sake of his body (this year and beyond) and also for our group's development. If he's fit I'd want him for the game against Geelong though.

We will be coming off the bye, Cats coming into the bye. It'll be interesting to see how/if that effects the way each team plays. Hopefully the Cats are complacent thinking about their week off.
Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to work that way. I heard on the radio last year that the teams who are coming off their bye lose almost every time if they're playing a team that played the week before. It was something like 8 out of 9 and the team that was the exception only just got over the line against a bottom team that they would have usually expected to smash. Otherwise it would have been a 100% failure rate.

It's a big part of the reason I was so confident that we'd lose that NAB Challenge match to Melbourne earlier in the year, when they'd played the previous two weeks, while we hadn't played for 3 weeks.

Was disappointed when I looked at the draw a week or so ago to see if Geelong played this week or not, because it's going to be hard enough for us to beat them without anything else like this being in their favour. Just checked and unfortunately we don't play Gold Coast coming off their bye, as they have theirs this week as well.

Billings has skill no doubt, but in the Sandy game other players worked harder and more effictively including his long-term mate in Sinclair (12 tackles).

One of the big reasons we were so good against the Blues was our workrate and applied pressure. Conversely that has been missing in many games this year and big losses have resulted. Billings needs to work harder, but yes is a sublime finisher when fully fit and firing. Will Richo opt for that extra silky finishing ability or stick with an option that provides greater hardness and pressure?

Roo is an automatic in if fit. Acres was partly playing the Roo-role, but played quite well. So would be stiff to squeezed out. Possibly Wright instead.

McCartin was in good form and so I suspect our selectors will wish to mainatin a that momentum. = Pierce to go.

Lee was looking ok till he did his knee. He would be unlucky if he misses possibly his last chance to make it now with injury. Hopefully he pulls up ok. Fisher has a hammy and other genuine options are thin as Coughlan is still raw and underweight.

Yeah I'd be pretty surprised if Billings is brought straight back in after what doesn't sound like an overly amazing game for Sandy. Now that we've gone to the trouble of dropping him I probably wouldn't want him brought back in until he is absolutely smashing it out of the park down there, as he ought to do at that level. Otherwise it probably defeats the purpose of dropping him in the first place and it also doesn't send a great message to the others who have gone back there and killed it.

I reckon there's probably more chance of Sinclair or Lonie being brought in and I doubt that will happen either, as Minch pretty much did his job (16 disposals, 5 clearances, 23 pressure acts) and he also kicked 3 against Geelong last year, so he'd presumably be confident going up against them.

The other thing is that I dare say a big part of the reasons we brought in Wright and Minch was for their defensive pressure and I reckon Wright will lose his spot for sure (possibly for Paddy, who brings FAR less defensive pressure) and I doubt we'd want to lose Minch's defensive pressure on top of that, for Billings, who is likely to bring less of it.

I think Lee must be doubtful so that leaves a huge hole in the backline. If Roo and McCartin come back in could Bruce go back for just one week? Don't like but don't see a lot of options.

Hope not. I'd prefer to go undersized. Delaney FB, Gilbert CHB, Robbo & Webster to the medium-talls. Or upgrade the rookie bloke.

Disagree with this. I think Minch won some very important 50/50 ball around the ground & asserted himself well. When Minch was involved around stopages, he's a lot better than Billings. Billings wins pretty much all other categories around the ground though

I don't think he had a bad game, you are right he won some good contested footy, but he also made some really bad mistakes and wasn't very damaging with the footy. Probably deserves another go but I think we are a better team with Billings.

That's the key. Do we want to give us the best chance of winning? If so Billings comes into the team.

I'm feeling very optimistic about this one. Geelong will be coming of an important top of the table clash with a spirited GWS. They will also have one eye on the bye. We will be taking some confidence from our performance against them last year (I know that's a long time, but we just won't feel like they always own us), and we'll still be feeling positive about our last game. Geelong are the most penalised team in the competition this year, and hopefully that continues and they can't build up any real momentum against us.

The biggest issue for the coaches is do they keep some of the call-ups from last week who showed great effort? Was Mav's performance inspired by the fact that he had the other 'bash brother' (as Hickey affectionately labelled them) N. Wright running alongside him? Was Hickey's performance partly empowered by having stronger support from L. Pierce in the ruck? Either way there are some tough calls to be made.

Our midfield will have to be at their best though if we are going to come away with the chocolates. Especially at centre bounce, where Geelong lead the league, and have two of the top three centre clearance players in the competition (Selwood and Dangerfield).

I'm hoping to see Paddy back in for Wright. I would be happy for Riewoldt to have another week out, but if he comes back I think Pierce makes way. I'd bring Coghlan in forTom Lee of he can't get up. Otherwise, no changes.
Cats play the Dogs this week

Sinclair makes more sense as he had defensive pressure with tackles as well as getting disposals. I've given my projected changes earlier. Just having trouble picking a player to pick out. It sounds right to take out Michington for the long term, but he performed adequately enough to maintain the spot.

in: Riewoldt, Paddy
out: Wright, Pierce

A few big challenges - Just my assumption of the likely team by Geelong. I've bolded the names which are likely to trouble us (more than others).

B Andrew Mackie, Tom Lonergan, Harry Taylor
HB Corey Enright, Lachie Henderson, Jake Kolodjashnij
C Mitch Duncan, Joel Selwood, Josh Caddy
HF Lincoln McCarthy,Tom Hawkins, Steven Motlop
F Jimmy Bartel, Shane Kersten, Daniel Menzel
FOL Zac Smith, Cameron Guthrie, Patrick Dangerfield
I/C Darcy Lang, Jordan Murdoch, Tom Ruggles, Mark Blicavs

Think that the only change they will have is Hawkins coming back in for Stanley this week. We'll find out more after the Bulldogs game.

On paper, that team looks quite balanced and daunting. I think Membrey and Riewoldt are going to be our ace in the holes as Geelong don't have any obvious matches for them. Steven will obviously be our version of Paddy.

half way through the sandy match, lonie best on by a fair bit, billings' is a beautiful kick and will one day be able to play all over the ground, white could be great (great size and athleticism, beauty of a kick too), Mckenzie has put on size and is seriously explosive, much more than he was last year, really charging with ball in hand, the commentators are right, dangerfield-esque. B-Rice has been solid as well, not as fat/slow as some are making him out to be. Kicked a lovely goal late in the second.

A lot of hands have been put up, but hard to see who comes out. Pierce and Wright for Roo and Paddy are the only obvious ones. But the seniors will be feeling the pressure!