Preview St. Kilda vs. Richmond

I reckon Astbury will get Gamble. Whats the situation with Gardiner and Kosi?

Kosi's a few weeks off, I'd think, but don't be surprised if he lines up.

Gardiner is training well but is absolutely no chance for the next few weeks.

It will be interesting to see how your young rucks go against McEvoy, Blake and possibly Stanley.

I CBF posting in the "where to play Delidio" thread, BUT, my key match up for this game is Delidio on Goddard, and stick to him like shit to a blanket.

In theory all good, but as great a footballer Lids is, he is one of the most unaccountable defensive players when it comes to being aware of his opponents movements. Leigh Mathews earlier said as much the same, adding unlike Hodge, Lids never goes hunting for the ball, which is another way of saying he gets it cheap. I know thats a bit of a generalisation (me saying cheap shots) but Lids rarely stamps his authority on a game like his talents suggest he should.

That's why we should put him on Goddard. No more excuses, If he stays with Goddard, he will generally be where the ball is, take out Goddard, your about 30% on the way to beating the saints (Roo is worth 40%).

Your mob might smell blood, and will be eager to make up for next week. Jack will kick another bag, pencil that one in.

I'm not quite sure. A mod in the first few replies highlighted how much we wasted it going forwards... Milne rarely plays badly twice in a row (hurr hurr whatever) and Gamble will be on notice too. Do you believe Conca can take either of them, or will they be done over by the experienced players?

I'm not quite sure what to think of this. McQualter has to go for one but I don't know how this will turn out.

Conca could play Milne and Batchelor could play Gamble. Not sure on Gamble, just lacks pace and polish and can see why the cats let him go. Has some way to go to stay in the team when Kosi returns.

Could Cripps be in line to make his debut? Or Alastair Smith? Or maybe Jarryn Geary could actually get a decent go. :cool:

goddard plays fwd back and middle and plays them all exceptionally.

dids does the same, just not as exceptionally. put it too him to work on his defensive game and he could become our ultimate swing man.

personally I rate goddard as the bets player in the competition. Has hid in the shaddows of Ablett, Swan and N. Riewoldt. But is always consistently fantasticand always tries his heart out, look how well he played in BOTH GF's last year. Should have gotten Norm Smith in at least one. Basically the only saits player to turn up in the replay. :thumbsu:

Goddard is twice the player lids could or will ever be. Playing lids on him will really expose us. Lids needs to play his own game and let someone else worry about goddard. I would play Newman on goddard:thumbsu:

We need to expose the saints weakness, they slow the game down and strangle the contest. We must play on at every opportunity and take every risk if we want to win. If we play the same game style as we did vs carlton then goodnight.

Thursty in to play on Nick the sook, Jake in to play on milne and jackson onto hayes. If these three blokes can win their contests for the night then we will go close:thumbsu:

Thing is, Goddard plays mainly behind the ball, so you can't really consider Newman. King needs to stay in the forward half. Thursfield should stay in the Burgers until injuries bring him in. Connors can cover Lids in the backline if he goes forward.

McGuane on the sook worries the hell out of me, surely we cant put Rance or Astbury on him?

I'd play McG deep back on the saints other forward option (Stanley?), and have Astbury on Gamble. Rance has the speed to go with Nick R (and we should try him out on the best-its the only way he'll learn). Newman on Gilbert. Nick would punish Astbury, Astbury doesn't have the strength to match him.

mcguane actually does alright on riewoldt...expect him to go with him all day

Even though Astbury was awful on Thursday night, I reckon we need to persist. He'd be one of the few i'd cut some slack for the first 4 rounds just to re establish himself and get some confidence. I actually believe McGuane will get Nick R, but i personally would like to see Rance start off on him.

hmm, no rance would be better suited on a mid sized forward , his strength is fierce attack on the footy/contest...Not so great above his head which NR is at an elite level. Mcguane is quite good contesting overhead and is agile has gone well on NR in the past...looks to have first dibs on that role

Rubbish calls on Astbury; he showed poise and skill again on Thursday night. Definitely the one we need to develop at CHB. Doesn't have the strength to go one-on-one with the big boys yet, but he is only 19 so he has the time to develop a bigger body.

McGuane on Riewoldt; Astbury on Gamble; Conca on Milne; Drop Rance we don't need another KPD against the saints.

Astbury was probably the only one that used the handball properly all night. Holds it until the right moment and then releases a runner. Could teach a few of the mids some things.

Preview St. Kilda vs. Richmond