Stenglein to Eagles for Waters?

West Coast Stre said:
What has how many games he has played got to do with it? Thats like saying Waters is crap because he has only played a couple of games compared to Stenglein. If that were the case you would be looking at trading Stenglein for a player who has played the same amount of games. Just because someone isn't an established player doesn't mean they can't play!

your 100% correct...how many games a player has played doesnt mean squat in a trade! u completely missed my point...

us AFC supporters cannot under estimate Beeck if we havent seen him play etc...u cant under estimate someone u havent seen play!

WCE supporters DO under estimate Steinglein, but your club doesnt! Our club may rate Beeck, but some of our supporters may not, because we havent seen him...

Jabber said:
And your point is?
I never said Stenglein wouldn't get a game, I said Cassisi wouldn't in another thread.
Your comprehension skills are poor. I referred you to that post because it was basically what I said in this thread that you took issue with.

Tyson20 said:
us AFC supporters cannot under estimate Beeck if we havent seen him play etc...u cant under estimate someone u havent seen play!

Our club may rate Beeck, but some of our supporters may not, because we havent seen him...

Can a West Coast Eagles supporter please give us AFC supports some information on Zack Beeck. A possible dossier about his playing carer and what type of player he is. Is he a soft as butter Ben Marsh Type or a ruckman who can tack a mark around the ground (unlike Clark) or a hard as nails type most AFL ruckman.

crows98 said:
Can a West Coast Eagles supporter please give us AFC supports some information on Zack Beeck. A possible dossier about his playing carer and what type of player he is. Is he a soft as butter Ben Marsh Type or a ruckman who can tack a mark around the ground (unlike Clark) or a hard as nails type most AFL ruckman.

He has played 1 AFL game vs Port earlier in the year. Although he has played most of his career as a ruckman, he is a bit undersized for AFL level (About 196-197cm). He has been moved to CHB in the WAFL and has been carving it up. Think Tristan Walker but a better ruckman and better footy smarts.

crows98 said:

He would be behind Paul Johnson in the pecking order.

Johnson starred in his one game accumulating 1 handpass and giving away 1 freekick.

coasting said:
He has played 1 AFL game vs Port earlier in the year. Although he has played most of his career as a ruckman, he is a bit undersized for AFL level (About 196-197cm). He has been moved to CHB in the WAFL and has been carving it up. Think Tristan Walker but a better ruckman and better footy smarts.

Is that what we are looking for.

Bit short for a ruckman 196-197 cms, we have an abundance of players in the 190-197 cms KKP at the moment, we need a 200 cm plus ruck man or some quality on baller. Bock, Smith, Parker, Krueger, Rutten, S Stevens, watts all possible players who can play that spot, CHF/CHB

If Zack Beeck is offered l would have to suggest the club pass on him.

You WCE supporters seriously underrate Stenglein. We oughta know how good he is, has been playing for us since 1999, considered future captain material... like hell Green, Jones and Read would ever even be mentioned as future captain material!!!

As a player his strength is getting centre clearances, not many are better than him at getting first hands to the ball and dishing it off, or kicking it forward. He is known to be a complete tagger, while getting more than plenty of the ball himself, strong mark is tall, strong, can kick goals from time to time and as mentioned before, is considered a future captain here, therefore has excellent leadership qualities.

Stenglein for Waters would be fair, because I consider Waters as a gun in the making. Stenglein for Seaby also, he is also a gun in the making. Also Stenglein for a 2nd rounder and a player such as Chambers would be nice who is a decent player IMO.

See what happens, but im pretty sure Stinger is going west.

Porthos said:
Your comprehension skills are poor. I referred you to that post because it was basically what I said in this thread that you took issue with.

My comprehension skills are fine, yours might need some fine tuning. I took issue with your opinion on our accountability, and our debate stuck to that path until you instructed me to read a post proclaiming that Stenglein would be in our best 22.
Regardless of whether that opinion is valid, it bears no relevance to our debate as Waters & Stenglein would effectively be playing for the same spot in the side anyway.
Perhaps closer attention to detail and less to your post count is needed.

Tyson20 said:
your 100% correct...how many games a player has played doesnt mean squat in a trade! u completely missed my point...

WCE supporters DO under estimate Steinglein, but your club doesnt! Our club may rate Beeck, but some of our supporters may not, because we havent seen him...

Once again, I think you are making generalisations. I don't think West Coast Eagles fans underestimate Stenglein, but if you look at our current midfield rotation you would find that Stenglein would find it hard to fit in. Currently we have Cousins, Judd, Kerr, Fletcher, Embley and Braun in our midfield rotation, which player would you have taken out of that group to fit Stenglein in.

Averages for 2004
Code:
Player          Avg    M    Avg   T    Avg  G     Avg 
Chad Fletcher   25.4   93   4.4   64   3     7    0.3 
Ben Cousins     22.3   50   3.1   36   2.3   8    0.5 
Chris Judd      21.9   49   2.2   80   3.6  22    1   
Daniel Kerr     20.4   72   3.6   64   3.2  13    0.7 
Michael Braun   19.1  115   5.2   69   3.1   9    0.4 
Andrew Embley   18.8   85   5.3   41   2.6  14    0.9 
Tyson Stenglein 16.1   87   4.0   75   3.4   7    0.3

Stenglein averages less disposals, less marks and less goals than our current midfield. His tackle count is up their with the rest of them but other than that he really has been average this year.

Put him up against an average player and how does he rate?

Code:
Player          Disposal  Mark  Tackle  Goal
                  Avg     Avg    Avg    Avg   
Josh Wooden      18.6      5     3.1    0.4  
Tyson Stenglein  16.1      4     3.4    0.3

Thunderstruck said:
Also Stenglein for a 2nd rounder and a player such as Chambers would be nice who is a decent player IMO.

We would offer that. I rate Chambers, outside but very quick and kicks goals. He has been in and out of the Eagles side for so many years that a change of scenery would help him. We have too many of his type already and he is stuck behind too many players here.

RIPPER_46 said:
He would be behind Paul Johnson in the pecking order.

Johnson starred in his one game accumulating 1 handpass and giving away 1 freekick.

Ripper and Co.
trolls.jpg

I always think that any player that will ONLY go to one club should be traded to anyone but that club, and if they won't go then force them into the draft.

Why give an opponent a leg up with a cushy trade by buckling to whingy player demands.

Zach Beek - you toasters (apologies package) have to be kidding he would be anymore than a side-sweetner to any major trade deal.

Jabber said:
My comprehension skills are fine, yours might need some fine tuning. I took issue with your opinion on our accountability, and our debate stuck to that path until you instructed me to read a post proclaiming that Stenglein would be in our best 22.
You've still missed the point, and its a pretty simple point too. I'll make it extra easy for you so that you don't need to engage your brain at all, and can thus continue your current habit.

The point is that if Stenglein was to be of interest, it would be because you want more accountability in your side, not to just change the names of the players providing it.

Regardless of whether that opinion is valid, it bears no relevance to our debate as Waters & Stenglein would effectively be playing for the same spot in the side anyway.
You reckon? I would've thought Stenglein would be challenging Chick.

West Coast Stre said:
Once again, I think you are making generalisations. I don't think West Coast Eagles fans underestimate Stenglein, but if you look at our current midfield rotation you would find that Stenglein would find it hard to fit in. Currently we have Cousins, Judd, Kerr, Fletcher, Embley and Braun in our midfield rotation, which player would you have taken out of that group to fit Stenglein in.

Averages for 2004
Code:
Player Avg M Avg T Avg G Avg 
Chad Fletcher 25.4 93 4.4 64 3 7 0.3 
Ben Cousins 22.3 50 3.1 36 2.3 8 0.5 
Chris Judd 21.9 49 2.2 80 3.6 22 1 
Daniel Kerr 20.4 72 3.6 64 3.2 13 0.7 
Michael Braun 19.1 115 5.2 69 3.1 9 0.4 
Andrew Embley 18.8 85 5.3 41 2.6 14 0.9 
Tyson Stenglein 16.1 87 4.0 75 3.4 7 0.3

Stenglein averages less disposals, less marks and less goals than our current midfield. His tackle count is up their with the rest of them but other than that he really has been average this year.

Put him up against an average player and how does he rate?

Code:
Player Disposal Mark Tackle Goal
Avg Avg Avg Avg 
Josh Wooden 18.6 5 3.1 0.4 
Tyson Stenglein 16.1 4 3.4 0.3
Nice stats, but what about clangers, effective disposals, hardball gets etc. You can throw as many stats in as you like, but they are meaningless unless they are broken down into usable posessions. Players like Brett Burton and Joel Bowden amass huge statistics every week, but how many are effective? Stenglein uses the ball well and does the grunt work that is ultra important to any team looking to play accountable football. I liken him to a more skilled version of a Chris McDermott, without the smashed up face-yet.

afc9798 said:
Nice stats, but what about clangers, effective disposals, hardball gets etc. You can throw as many stats in as you like, but they are meaningless unless they are broken down into usable posessions. Players like Brett Burton and Joel Bowden amass huge statistics every week, but how many are effective? Stenglein uses the ball well and does the grunt work that is ultra important to any team looking to play accountable football. I liken him to a more skilled version of a Chris McDermott, without the smashed up face-yet.

I could give you those too and it still wouldn't make a difference. :rolleyes:

Have you taken a bet out on Stenglein for the Brownlow? Must be odds on favourite the way you talk him up.

West Coast Stre said:
I could give you those too and it still wouldn't make a difference. :rolleyes:

Have you taken a bet out on Stenglein for the Brownlow? Must be odds on favourite the way you talk him up.

Nah I hear Zach Beek and Beau Waters in a tie.

Stenglein to Eagles for Waters?