Opinion Stringer theory. NO ESSENDON SUPPORTERS.

Is the Stringer situation beyond repair? Now in its correct thread, even if nobody asked for it.

• The club clearly want him out the door.

Votes: 102 34.7%
  • This was just a shot across Jakes bow as a means of motivating him. He's going nowhere.

Votes: 49 16.7%
  • The club is clearly a rabble. Sack Macca!

Votes: 16 5.4%
  • This is just the first play in massive trade that we are not yet privy to.

Votes: 19 6.5%
  • This is a game of blink and Jake and Conners just blinked.

Votes: 5 1.7%
  • Its time to move on a negotiate the best deal we can.

Votes: 36 12.2%
  • I felt sad for Jake on that stage with Conners pulling his strings.

Votes: 8 2.7%
  • To lose 1 CEO may be regarded as a misfortune; to lose 4 looks like carelessness.

Votes: 7 2.4%
  • The Jack 'Armageddon Option' Watts Option.

Votes: 12 4.1%
  • We've warned you about creating polls Norm! Yet for shame you persist.

Votes: 8 2.7%
  • You really don't create enough polls Norm.

Votes: 32 10.9%

Lock the thread? And let the list management thread become even shittier than it normally is? No chance. Not that I have any interest in further discussing it, but people will definitely try to.

Precisely. It may not be palatable to some but this thread is acting in the exact manner that it was designed to. Play on and have at it.

Find it funny that those who keep assuring us that the club is no way at fault have no trouble dismissing claims by Gilmore that they didn't do enough for Stringer while taking everything else she said as gospel.
Personally I'm not convinced we took his gambling seriously enough when drafted, pushed his philandering and lifestyle to the side because he was playing well and made seemingly limp wristed efforts at support when the shit hit the fan. Now we find ourselves with a problem child partially of our own making and don't even have the intelligence or leadership to keep out of the media circus allowing it to become a PR disaster and further devaluing our asset.
Anyone who doesn't think this is poor governance and duty of care from the club and the senior coach might want to rethink.
This by no means absolves Stringer who's been a shit head and deserves much of the public shellacking he'll get.
But as a buisiness, an employer and a home the club has failed its supporters, playing group and Jake.
What you say is all conjecture mate. You need facts to back up what you say. You making it up out of your arse. It is ok to have an opinion, but wait until you know enough about it.

My guess on the trade and media strategy of this would be that release of the story is critical to a trade taking place. The story hasn't damaged a trade or the terms of it, because no club would sign Jake knowing the story was out there and would become their problem when it emerged - i.e, their supporters reacting like ours have in this thread and questioning their club for recruiting him, not to mention media criticism etc.

Clubs with an interest in Jake would insisting all of his issues be public before they sign him. Just think of how the Essendon board would be grappling with it and they will be the most reputation focused and media bruised governance body in the league.

Now the story is out it will run its course, be critical of the Dogs not his new club, and the media strategy can shift to stories about how great a football player he is, how remorseful he is, and how he is reforming. Build up some respect, sympathy and hope for Jake (which couldn't be done while the story wasn't public) and then his next club will be able to sign him. We will be hoping that this process will rebuild his value too.

Media management (more appropriately termed 'issues management') is an inexact science tho and defined by risk assessment and risk tolerance. If the story becomes a media frenzy of find the 17yo and her parents it will spiral out of control, if it becomes a story of sad relationship breakdown, immature adults and protect the kids, then there's hope for all.

The timing, as per my previous post, is also important. I suspect that given it had to be released, it was timed to coincide with the greatest period of distraction - the tigers will swallow all the airtime for a week. Remember last year when we were front and back page of the Hun for whole week? And all the footy talk shows are done for the year.

Of course, I have no inner knowledge of the issues or the management strategies so just guessing. Apols for length.

Thanks. One of the smartest posts on this thread.

Also do we even know if Stringer at the time knew she was 17?

How many 16 17 yr old girls would pass off as over 20. Heaps. And it's not like a lot of them lie about it either.
If the woman/girl is 15-17 she is underage by law. what She looks like (25+0) IS irrelevant. she is a minor and you are up shit creek. there is a reason why the law is the way it is. to protect the young from predators. not saying stringer is a predator. am talking in legal terms.

My guess on the trade and media strategy of this would be that release of the story is critical to a trade taking place. The story hasn't damaged a trade or the terms of it, because no club would sign Jake knowing the story was out there and would become their problem when it emerged - i.e, their supporters reacting like ours have in this thread and questioning their club for recruiting him, not to mention media criticism etc.

Clubs with an interest in Jake would insisting all of his issues be public before they sign him. Just think of how the Essendon board would be grappling with it and they will be the most reputation focused and media bruised governance body in the league.

Now the story is out it will run its course, be critical of the Dogs not his new club, and the media strategy can shift to stories about how great a football player he is, how remorseful he is, and how he is reforming. Build up some respect, sympathy and hope for Jake (which couldn't be done while the story wasn't public) and then his next club will be able to sign him. We will be hoping that this process will rebuild his value too.

Media management (more appropriately termed 'issues management') is an inexact science tho and defined by risk assessment and risk tolerance. If the story becomes a media frenzy of find the 17yo and her parents it will spiral out of control, if it becomes a story of sad relationship breakdown, immature adults and protect the kids, then there's hope for all.

The timing, as per my previous post, is also important. I suspect that given it had to be released, it was timed to coincide with the greatest period of distraction - the tigers will swallow all the airtime for a week. Remember last year when we were front and back page of the Hun for whole week? And all the footy talk shows are done for the year.

Of course, I have no inner knowledge of the issues or the management strategies so just guessing. Apols for length.

Easily the most intelligent post I've seen on this board. Marry me.

Find it funny that those who keep assuring us that the club is no way at fault have no trouble dismissing claims by Gilmore that they didn't do enough for Stringer while taking everything else she said as gospel.
Personally I'm not convinced we took his gambling seriously enough when drafted, pushed his philandering and lifestyle to the side because he was playing well and made seemingly limp wristed efforts at support when the shit hit the fan. Now we find ourselves with a problem child partially of our own making and don't even have the intelligence or leadership to keep out of the media circus allowing it to become a PR disaster and further devaluing our asset.
Anyone who doesn't think this is poor governance and duty of care from the club and the senior coach might want to rethink.
This by no means absolves Stringer who's been a shit head and deserves much of the public shellacking he'll get.
But as a buisiness, an employer and a home the club has failed its supporters, playing group and Jake.
Mike unless you work at the club and have first hand knowledge this is absolute dribble.

Bev tried to support Jake and get him on track, he did not beleive he had a problem.

The club tried to have him with councelling he did not beleive he had a problem.

The clubs.councelling and senior players tried to help.Jake, he did not beleive he has a problem.

This is a professional sports organsation. Most support is spent on 20% of the players if one of those 20% do not take it on board what the hell do you expect from them.

I respect you as aposter, and I really mean that though we may not always agree, but on this topic again unless I am missing you work at the club your innuendo and comments about the clubs role are so far from true they are bordering on gibberish

Apologies to all, was willing to let this go and engage in a private conversation until the edit to have a crack at my relationship with my wife. You imply I'm a liar ('hyperbolic' comment) about life experiences I've had that relate to Stringer's behaviour that I admit I was triggered by and reacted in a poor manner. For that I apologise to both you and to others for my reaction. Regardless of your insult to my integrity and my experiences I should not have reacted in such a way. I would appreciate it if you edited your response to remove that foul insinuation of how I treat my wife. You can say what you want about me, but I'll be damned if I ever accept aspersions cast upon my relationship with my wife. Happy to edit this comment to leave only the apology about my response once you do, and step away from this thread.

You and your wife have boring sex. There, I said it.

If the woman/girl is 15-17 she is underage by law. what She looks like (25+0) IS irrelevant. she is a minor and you are up shit creek. there is a reason why the law is the way it is. to protect the young from predators. not saying stringer is a predator. am talking in legal terms.
You’re not talking in legal terms. The age of consent in Victoria is 16

This thread is the island of the damned if we do or we don't!
It's a Dantean apocalypse!

Internecine outbreaks everywhere. Devouring our young. Hurling ourselves (like lemmings) off the cliffs of reason and moderation. Leaping into the excoriating fires of rushed judgement. Pouring the boiling oil of mischievous innuendo and accusation over anything that wears red, white and blue. The downfall of the Roman empire was a kick in the park compared to this.

Is it really six whole months until Round 1, 2018?

It's a Dantean apocalypse!

Internecine outbreaks everywhere. Devouring our young. Hurling ourselves (like lemmings) off the cliffs of reason and moderation. Leaping into the excoriating fires of rushed judgement. Pouring the boiling oil of mischievous innuendo and accusation over anything that wears red, white and blue. The downfall of the Roman empire was a kick in the park compared to this.

Is it really six whole months until Round 1, 2018?
You had me at 'Dantean apocalypse' ;):fire:

Mike unless you work at the club and have first hand knowledge this is absolute dribble.

Bev tried to support Jake and get him on track, he did not beleive he had a problem.

The club tried to have him with councelling he did not beleive he had a problem.

The clubs.councelling and senior players tried to help.Jake, he did not beleive he has a problem.

This is a professional sports organsation. Most support is spent on 20% of the players if one of those 20% do not take it on board what the hell do you expect from them.

I respect you as aposter, and I really mean that though we may not always agree, but on this topic again unless I am missing you work at the club your innuendo and comments about the clubs role are so far from true they are bordering on gibberish
Lachy unless you have first hand knowledge what you have written is absolute dribble.

See we can both do that. Do you know what the club has done first hand? Do you have knowledge of the strategies and punishment procedures they have used? Do you have any idea how to support and help someone with personal problems, especially an adolescent in a high pressure situation?

I'd hazard the answer to those questions is no.
What I do know is that Stringer's ex girlfriend who hates his guts feels that he wasn't supported appropriately by the club and his problems weren't taken seriously. This fits with some of the shit I've heard whispers of over the years but dismissed as "gibberish". At this point I'm no longer going to dismiss anything.

You can have your opinion and I can have mine. Please do not engage with me on this issue again because I'm no longer going to be nice. You have annoyed me greatly and I take exception to your labelling my questioning of the club's methods in such derogatory ways. Consider this a warning to stop before things get heated.

Don't see how it should effect his trade value. Our players can **** whoever they want as long as it's consentual as far as I'm concerned. Does it make him a shit bloke, maybe, but it's also no one elses business, including the club

Which is why her bagging the club for not getting involved in her relationship is staggering

What you say is all conjecture mate. You need facts to back up what you say. You making it up out of your arse. It is ok to have an opinion, but wait until you know enough about it.
Of course it's conjecture. But it's based on what is known.
Thank you for your permission to have an opinion though mate. And unless you are going to discuss a point with me you can stick yours up your arse.

What Jake did was a shit bloke act and he needs to cop what he has, but, Abby's account of things doesn't really sound honest. She claims she's now " with a good guy who doesn't play footy ", but that's absolute horseshit. She's with a bloke that plays a very high level of local footy and some of his teammates are recently retired AFL players. Her new partner is in the exact environment she complains about Jake being in and lied about it to a media outlet.

I'm absolutely not defending what Jake did but she's a shit talker and a shit stirrer.

I wish Jake all the best but ill be happy when he's gone and all this shit is behind us. Club has made the right call and anyone still blaming the club for trading him, his relationship issues, for not doing enough for his partner etc needs to **** off and find another club. It's absolutely disgraceful some of the anti club carry on from some of the posters on here. Trying to find any reason to pot the club. You've just shown what shallow supporters you are and now everyone on here knows it.

Who's her new fella?

Dunno about you, but I'm sick of it now.

I'm sick of those looking in the rear vision mirror saying the club should have done this or that. It's called personal responsibility. We all have it and when you're 23, whether you like it or not, you're an adult.

So, stop blaming the club and remember we're dealing with an adult here, an adult making his own decisions.

There's so many different angles out of of the story - how we've handed the PR side of it, the motivations behind Abby going on about it, the gambling addiction, and how it all adds up to list management implications.

I'd just like to talk about the whole sleeping with a 17 year old here because I feel like a lot of posters don't understand or comprehend the full nature of something like that in the context of being a gun footy player.

Not sure if anyone here has read Night Games by Anna Krien (I don't think anyone would have because the demographic it's written for is not really your average BF poster), which was about a (non-AFL) footballers rape investigation in the aftermath of the Pies 2010 flag celebrations. I'm not accusing anyone of rape or any form of sexual assault here and I want to make that abundantly clear, but the reason that I bring this up is because the book delves into the hero worship of AFL players and the power imbalances (and differing responsibility) that occurs as a result. You can't place an "ordinary" cheating event in the same context as an AFL player doing the same, because there's an element of power and influence that's unique very few people like AFL players. It's kind of hard for me to articulate/put into words, but basically, it's completely different so you have to treat it differently.