Training Summer Footy Fix - 2022 training watch

For sure, but he's no where near as bad as people say and his bad isn't that often. His good outways the bad.
Dom, I love your optimism and your absolute loyalty to all our players, and your kind of right when you say he’s not as bad as people say. But right now, he’s good is immediately nullified by the Clanger he makes 3 seconds later. Which is a shame because he’s effort and team first attitude is awesome to watch

You reckon the good he does all game is nullified by one Clanger? 😂

Nope, I’m saying every time he does something good, he immediately has a brain fade or makes a horrible decision which makes his good work worth nothing. Eg, great intercept, 25m pass to his direct opponent. Awesome spoil, head high tackle. Brilliant pressure act, give away a 50m penalty.
It doesn’t help that he’s a backman and every error leads to a shot on goal.

Nope, I’m saying every time he does something good, he immediately has a brain fade or makes a horrible decision which makes his good work worth nothing. Eg, great intercept, 25m pass to his direct opponent. Awesome spoil, head high tackle. Brilliant pressure act, give away a 50m penalty.
It doesn’t help that he’s a backman and every error leads to a shot on goal.
You’re saying good moment. He can have many good moments they aren’t out shown by one bad moment unless it’s game costing late. Which I can’t say he has done often if at all, Jog my memory if you can.

ok, I think I see the issue here. You believe he’s making a single error each game. I’m saying he’s making many. He’s not Brian Lake whose occasional howler was nullified by all round brilliance. He’s a good, backman who makes many howlers.

Frost is very lucky they weren’t keeping stats last week. I counted about 4 turnovers in 5 minutes at one point.

He and Sicily had a world record turnover game last week .

Frees against, missed passes by foot, head high tackles, poor handballs and terrible decisions under pressure.

The Pies forward line was actually laughing at how bad those two were at one stage . It was like the Benny Hill show .

ok, I think I see the issue here. You believe he’s making a single error each game. I’m saying he’s making many. He’s not Brian Lake whose occasional howler was nullified by all round brilliance. He’s a good, backman who makes many howlers.
Disagree. Don’t think the howlers per say. Are as much as you think, for me he probably has one of the complete lacing out of an opponent a game or every 2nd week. I can live with it. There’s the high tackles but they happen to everyone and aren’t super common. The fighting and 50s I can live with and Sam will encourage that hard edge but Frost isn’t alone. Sic and Hartigan will and do.

Frost probably the lesser of the 3. Hartigan does the same sort of stuff except imho a worse defender and not as much good.

He and Sicily had a world record turnover game last week .

Frees against, missed passes by foot, head high tackles, poor handballs and terrible decisions under pressure.

The Pies forward line was actually laughing at how bad those two were at one stage . It was like the Benny Hill show .
😂 sic was not close to as bad as that. He was awesome. Was a little rusty with a few kicks over cooked and handballs but they didn’t lead to goals and were cleaned up pretty easily and most were early and he was the Sic of old quickly. The 50 he gave was fair but the free wasn’t even there. Elliott didn’t look at the ball before he engaged with Sic.

When a clanger results in a goal....yeah, that's pretty bad.

Things would be a lot better if his kicking licence was revoked. Should be on the "Ben Stratton handball only strategy"

Correct. Every clubs supporters he has been too have said the same thing “we love frosty and his effort each week but murders it by foot”

He is ok when he takes off and kicks it 60.

When a clanger results in a goal....yeah, that's pretty bad.

Things would be a lot better if his kicking licence was revoked. Should be on the "Ben Stratton handball only strategy"
Yeah that does happen, not super often, probably once a game at most if not only one every 2nd sometimes 3rd week.

But he stops many goals so it's really not "that big" of an issue and it doesn't outway the good.

The stuff that does happen often is him kicking it to 2on3, 1on2 type of contests.

Correct. Every clubs supporters he has been too have said the same thing “we love frosty and his effort each week but murders it by foot”

He is ok when he takes off and kicks it 60.
He's in our colours and gives 110% each week, so he is going to be loved. But he's prone to more mistakes than he should be making, he's 28 and hitting his prime.
He is under a lot of pressure each week with the amount of inside 50s we concede, and his 1-on-1 stuff is pretty good, doesn't lose a lot of contests. But always holding my breath we he kicks it, and can give away dumb frees. As DGB develops, I hope he takes Frosty's spot

Yeah that does happen, not super often, probably once a game at most if not only one every 2nd sometimes 3rd week.

But he stops many goals so it's really not "that big" of an issue and it doesn't outway the good.

The stuff that does happen often is him kicking it to 2on3, 1on2 type of contests.
It's more often than you are saying.

He had 78 clangers last year, in 22 games. That's out of 330 disposals.

One in every 5 disposals was a clanger. That ain't great, especially considering a lot of his touches would be switches or easy back 50 kicks

When we have the full list available
Day Scrimshaw Impey CJ Hardwick Sicily Hartigan Frost etc I am not sure Mitchell will play him every week is my gut feel .

It's more often than you are saying.

He had 78 clangers last year, in 22 games. That's out of 330 disposals.

One in every 5 disposals was a clanger. That ain't great, especially considering a lot of his touches would be switches or easy back 50 kicks
Clangers can happen all over the field, so all aren't what you're describing as him hitting someone lace out who can then kick it right back over his head.

Watching every game last year and more than once, you can tell some games it could be 2 bad kicks and one week 0. He's inconsistent with how many he has but it's usually no more than 2 a game at a time and it could be 0, usually 1.

In the way you described it that is.

He's in our colours and gives 110% each week, so he is going to be loved. But he's prone to more mistakes than he should be making, he's 28 and hitting his prime.
He is under a lot of pressure each week with the amount of inside 50s we concede, and his 1-on-1 stuff is pretty good, doesn't lose a lot of contests. But always holding my breath we he kicks it, and can give away dumb frees. As DGB develops, I hope he takes Frosty's spot
I'd say DGB would wanna take a spot sooner rather than later better for his development to play more AFL games and i'd be surprised if he doesn't.

Frost is more likely to play more games than Hartigan who may only play against taller forwardlines and absolute gorillas, Hawkins for example.

Hartigan also more likely to get moved on since he's more prone to losing against the varied range of forwards, while Frost can play on more and more versatile.

I'd like to see Frost/DGB for a fair few games in 2022.

You're deflecting. This makes no sense.

When you describe the shit he does, let's say the run, bounce looking exciting and then he shins it to the oppo and it goes right back over his head for a goal, you said this, i also agree it happens.

You use the statistic of "Clanger" by that stat i think it's basically an ineffective kick which counts, short kicks to contests and kicks to uncontested players.

When i describe something stupid and horrid that he does, i'm thinking the uncontested player get's his kick because it was THAT bad.

The short kicks to contests do my head in also but they are rarely half as bad.

Also not all clangers that he has are in the back 50.

And for mine in my opinion that the bad doesn't outweigh the good. and it's pretty proven in the fact, he's very good one on one, he's a good intercepting key defender and reads the play well in terms of defending and peeling off. He is versatile in defending talls and smalls and has some leadership down there aswell, especially last year with Sicily injured and after we moved on Stratts and Frawley.

I take the good with the bad and the good outweighs the bad.

The bad is the lacing out oppo players and it going over his head for a goal and the brainfades hurt and do my head in but these types of things, that are REALLY bad. Don't happen as often as you're making them out to be, not saying they don't happen because ****ing hell they do haha but not nearly as much as you're portraying them as.

Frost looks good when we’re playing well and conceding less I50s and controlling the ball well from the half back line. With a new game plan and supposedly less of a defensive mindset, I worry for how he will perform with repeat entries and under siege for certain periods such as against the Pies 😬

You had me till you said the Pies game, that won't be how we play, we were basically trying to front run the entire game and had no defensive running, atleast that's how it looked and heaps of players didn't leave first gear or even turn up haha.

It'll be interesting but it's up to Sam, he knows the talent he has down back and their strengths. I mean Frosty is very good one on one and reading the play defensively so i don't think it'll be bad, but if all our defenders run up the ground because we rebound it and it comes right back it could be down to whoever gets back quick enough and works the hardest.

Training Summer Footy Fix - 2022 training watch