Competitions Supercoach/ Dreamteam fantasy discussion 2014

Feb 5, 2012
Questions already being asked about our players so use this thread for any player related discussions and bargains etc that you may have. :thumbsu:

Opposition supporters are most welcome and we will try to answer your thoughts on any players the best we can.

Chism , ODN , Aph and J.

Hello Carltonites,

Asking a favour of you if that's ok. I watched a fair few Carlton matches last year and noticed (in my opinion) Murphy being uncharacteristically being shut down by taggers. He looked out of sorts in parts near the back end of the regular season. Are there any other Carlton mids going to step up and relieve some of the pressure on him? Wondering if there was an undisclosed injury of some sorts, his possession count seemed to drop.

Thanks,

Hello Carltonites,

Asking a favour of you if that's ok. I watched a fair few Carlton matches last year and noticed (in my opinion) Murphy being uncharacteristically being shut down by taggers. He looked out of sorts in parts near the back end of the regular season. Are there any other Carlton mids going to step up and relieve some of the pressure on him? Wondering if there was an undisclosed injury of some sorts, his possession count seemed to drop.

Thanks,

Broken jaw and was carrying a knee injury - no secret there. Will get close to a full pre-season this year unlike 2013 and will hopefully be right back up there in the elite category where he belongs. As far as mids go, Carrazzo returns and Robinson, Curnow (fittest player at Carlton with Walker), Bell (in top shape and "ready to explode" we're told - hopefully not literally with 90kg of muscle and bone!), McLean (Mr Slow but footy smart and reliable), Gibbs (finally played as a mid in the EF against Richmond and I believe was BOG), Thomas (ankle is fine), Cachia, Graham (watch this kid - will be a ball magnet), maybe Ellard (great in close and can kick a goal - lack of height hurts), maybe Lucas, maybe young Buckley and potentially a few of the established players like maybe Yarran and Tuohy for little cameos will be in the mix to help out Murph and Juddy (who I reckon will also have a good season to carry on from where he left off in the EF).

Haha, never too early, I am very keen. Anything I can do to beat Pete in Fantasy and Dream Team.

Do we anticipate any relief for Murphy? I for one hope so.

If you're looking for mids that may make a mark as far as FF and DT are concerned (announce themselves - albeit off a low base) then look at Bell and Graham (Bell should get more game time). Up forward Menzel looks good and should get a fair bit of game time with Betts gone. Down back, Tuohy will go to another level in 2014. Of the established players Gibbs is looking very good for a big year in 2014.

I have watched Murphy very close over the last few years. He is fine with a normal tag, just runs and runs and normally comes out on top.

But in the last two years he has been getting the real hard tight tag, the tag where they almost hold the player when the ball is bounced, he has not worked out how to beat that hard tag yet, but is class and will work his way out of it.

For SC and DT still think he will have bad games due to hard tags, but with a full pre-season is still under valued and worth picking.

I think you have to pick Murphy based solely upon price. 75% of teams will have him and I don't think he will disappoint for the reasons discussed in this thread.

The other players to seriously consider are Walker (although be careful as he might play more forward pocket with the arrival of Everiitt), Simpson (teams did begin tagging him at the end of the year) and Henderson.

The smokey is Tom Bell IMO.

any swans you can recommend for DT ?
Hi,

Heaps, Rohan good for 55 avg and will play every game (Fantasy relevant but not as much in Real DT), Parker should be in everyones team. The ground doesn't suit Buddy totally but swans love to spot up a target and has gws first, Mcveigh should be in everyones team. Tippet will score more due to Mummy gone.

Tom Mitchell and Laidler and dericx/nankervis are potential good picks but have to see round 1 team first.

In my personal team I have Mcveigh, Buddy, Parker and dericx at the moment.

Hi,

Heaps, Rohan good for 55 avg and will play every game (Fantasy relevant but not as much in Real DT), Parker should be in everyones team. The ground doesn't suit Buddy totally but swans love to spot up a target and has gws first, Mcveigh should be in everyones team. Tippet will score more due to Mummy gone.

Tom Mitchell and Laidler and dericx/nankervis are potential good picks but have to see round 1 team first.

In my personal team I have Mcveigh, Buddy, Parker and dericx at the moment.

Tell us more about this Laidler fellow? :D

Didn't have a great preseason, running ability was below the normal for most of the season. Suffered a bit with a lack of quality of depth in Carlton's midfield, lack of top line tag worthy players meant he copped a lot of attention. Judd performing below his usual output and Carlton themselves playing too many tagger types also had a profound effect on the attention Murphy received. Expecting a big season this coming season for Murph as he is fit, but also with the addition of Thomas and Judd appearing to be back in great shape and hopefully Gibbs continuing where he left off with performances in the midfield. A fit Murph in a midfield where the load is more evenly and successfully carried is one of the leagues best Midfielders.

does murph need more uncontested possession? I like he added the inside game in 2011, just seems he opens himself up to collision injuries now. Two years in a row he has had long stints on the side lines from breaking something.

Also i don't think we look for him enough to deliver the ball inside 50, didnt the saints have a rule that 6 players should always have the ball to distribute? (dal santo etc)

I LOL'd even harder than i did at our Facebook replies
Not sure if you are taking the piss, or not, just trying to help, but AFL Dreamers and Facebook group is a great site for dreamteam. Was in the 1st and 3rd overall leagues last year, but probably just got lucky, what would I know.

Competitions Supercoach/ Dreamteam fantasy discussion 2014