News Swans Talk in the Media: 2021

Announcement: Swans YouTube Channel
So thanks to the awesome Kennedy Parker you will notice a sticky post at the top of the pages now. This link will take you directly to the Swans YouTube channel which features interviews etc.

You're probably right..
Being a little more optimistic, He's had 12 months of core strengthening rehab he's leaner and fitter than hes been for years. Hes a superstar and a player that will bring the crowds through the gates.
The Swans played his 300th game at the SCG, Ill back the Swans to play his comeback game at the SCG. I reckon round 2, if not, then round 4

20 games at 3 goals/game gets his 1000 goals.. Ill back him in, and Ill back him to kick his 1000 goal at the SCG
If he did kick 1000+ goals then he would have kicked them in an era that was not conducive to full forwards kicking bags.
I would like it if he did get there over the next two years. I think Buddy is a genuine guy who does his all for himself and his team mates.
All full forwards are selfish by nature. They want and will and demand the ball come to them. That's why they are good at it.
I think Buddy also gives a lot to his team mates both by advice and by leading by example in play and in training. Also just by he goes about it and other off field stuff.
I think he gives a lot back from what I have read. I hope his career after the Swans playing career includes the Swans. He has an interest in recruitment which is widely recognized.
I just hope he gets to 1000.

If he did kick 1000+ goals then he would have kicked them in an era that was not conducive to full forwards kicking bags.
I would like it if he did get there over the next two years. I think Buddy is a genuine guy who does his all for himself and his team mates.
All full forwards are selfish by nature. They want and will and demand the ball come to them. That's why they are good at it.
I think Buddy also gives a lot to his team mates both by advice and by leading by example in play and in training. Also just by he goes about it and other off field stuff.
I think he gives a lot back from what I have read. I hope his career after the Swans playing career includes the Swans. He has an interest in recruitment which is widely recognized.
I just hope he gets to 1000.
a few years ago my two nephews (7yo at the time) went to an all schools sports day. 1000 kids, rugby league sent their star, rugby union sent their star, soccer as well. the Swans sent Buddy.
At the end of the day, there were 1000 kids wanting to play AFL..
the off field stuff is huge

a few years ago my two nephews (7yo at the time) went to an all schools sports day. 1000 kids, rugby league sent their star, rugby union sent their star, soccer as well. the Swans sent Buddy.
The off field stuff is huge. People think he will fade away after his career. He could get bigger doing the right stuff. I know he is media shy. That is not what I meant. But just him turning up at junior events, at Swans recruitment days with prospective families for instance etc. He is the number one drawcard to entice kids to play for the Swans in the entire comp. IMO.

There is something about Buddy that people can't help but love. He isn't even good in front of a camera but he has an aura about him that is hard to quantify.

Even Hawthorn suppoters still LOVE him after he left. What he does and how he does I think is the reason why. No one else does what he does. You have to savour it and enjoy it and celebrate it while it is still there. Because when it is gone, no other player can come close to do what he does. His arcing out and kicking 70m goals from the side line are unique. Lots about Buddy is unique.

Jon Ralph article about the "20 gettable and not-so-gettable players list managers will be targeting this year."

From the Swans he nominates;
Tom McCartin
Sydney should do their darndest to sign McCartin up quick smart.
The suspicion is that he will be the latest in a long line of (not quite) failed forwards who becomes a dominant centre half-back.
McCartin loves Sydney and has shown no signs of leaving, with his brother Paddy now living in Sydney and set to play in the new-look VFL side.

So rivals will watch his emergence asking the question but aware he is very likely to commit to the Swans on a long-term deal.

Feels wrong agreeing with a HUN journo, but yep definitely a priority to re-sign.
Adequate forward, but down back looks a different, far more confident and effective player.
Reads the ball superbly, positions himself well, excellent body use/strength in the contest and strong hands.
Admittedly a small sample size to date, but IMO looks a potential AA defender.

Jon Ralph article about the "20 gettable and not-so-gettable players list managers will be targeting this year."

Tom McCartin

Feels wrong agreeing with a HUN journo, but yep definitely a priority to re-sign.
Adequate forward, but down back looks a different, far more confident and effective player.
Reads the ball superbly, positions himself well, excellent body use/strength in the contest and strong hands.

He will be a top 3 player for us over the next decade.

16MAR21: Don Pyke/aap
AAP article on Don Pyke's recruitment and impact;

To his credit it looks like it was Longmire's initiative to recruit him.

"The first name that came to mind was Don Pyke,"
"He loves the strategy side and teaching players, absolutely loves it. You can see the sparkle in his eye.
"He's been fantastic, everything we hoped and more."

Pyke also gets JPK's endorsement;
"The way he's able to see the game and dumb it down for us players, it's fantastic," Kennedy said.
"He's just brought something different to our game plan."

Pyke also mentions the refreshing relative anonymity of Sydney for himself and the players.
We might not have the best facilities or the off-field commercial opportunities of 'heartland' clubs, but that ability to live your life away from a fishbowl existence must still be a drawcard for certain players when we look to recruit experienced players.
Certainly something Daniher has mentioned as a positive up in Brisbane.

In the nicest way he has the aura of a big kid. Feels as if he is their friend.
Mickey O was a favourite big brother, full of stories around the campfire. Both are hypnotic to kids.

Tom McCartin

Said that 2 years ago. Still believe it.

AFL club captains quizzed on various issues;

JPK our rep.

Who will benefit most from the new man-on-the-mark rule?
Kennedy: Probably Jake Lloyd. He loves a little link-up handball. :D

If you could make a captain’s pick from a rival club, who would it be?

Kennedy: Probably Max Gawn. (Dyson Heppell nominated Luke Parker).

Which traded player will have the biggest impact in 2021?
Kennedy: Hopefully, Tom Hickey.

Which draftee has impressed you the most?
Kennedy: Probably ‘Eric’ (Errol Gulden).

Do you support a Tassie AFL team entering the competition?
Kennedy: I think it’s probably the neglected state of big footy fans and they deserve their own team.

Which players will become household names by the end of the season?
Kennedy: Chad Warner.

Who is the secret SuperCoach must-have from your club?

Kennedy: You’d probably get Callum Mills pretty cheap.

AFL club captains quizzed on various issues;

If you could make a captain’s pick from a rival club, who would it be?
Kennedy: Probably Max Gawn.

Which traded player will have the biggest impact in 2021?
Kennedy: Hopefully, Tom Hickey.

Which players will become household names by the end of the season?
Kennedy: Chad Warner.

Most interested in these three answers. Firstly it's exciting that Warner has Kennedy enthused - good sign.

But also his first two answers suggest he's longing for a more competitive ruckman like the rest of us have been. I wonder if Kennedy feels a pang of lost opportunity for our ruck stocks the last few years.

16MAR21: Reid injures elbow & Franklin update/Fox Footy