Autopsy Tale of two halves vs. Freo

You are the guy who wanted Larkey dropped yeah?
I wasn't alone, after he had a string of poor/frustrating games. There were many people criticising him.

Then he improved and I was very happy to see it. Because I barrack for NMFC more than I care about being right or wrong.

Would of liked to see a change up in the 3rd quarter when Freo were on top in the midfield. Short bursts for Sheezel/Zurhaar/Curtis throughout the game makes sense. Bring Greenwood in for some added defensive pressure, especially while our midfield is developing.

Our 24 yr olds and up are the ones who have to come to the party and raise their games
  • Zurhaar
  • Steevo
  • Jy
  • LMac
  • Stephens
  • Tucker
  • CCJ
  • A Corr

These guys were all down yday and they should be leading the way and the kids following. These guys would be demanding big coin between them and they have to get going, we shouldn’t have to rely on 1st and 2nd year players to carry this team.

Our 24 yr olds and up are the ones who have to come to the party and raise their games
  • Zurhaar
  • Steevo
  • Jy
  • LMac
  • Stephens
  • Tucker
  • CCJ
  • A Corr

These guys were all down yday and they should be leading the way and the kids following. These guys would be demanding big coin between them and they have to get going, we should have to rely on 1st and 2nd year players to carry this team.
Jy and Zurhaar.

Jy gets a pass given first game back.

Cam needs to pull his finger out.

The rest would could cut tomorrow for kids and we wouldn’t lose a lot.

• Zurhaar
  • Steevo
  • Jy
  • LMac
  • Stephens
  • Tucker
  • CCJ
  • A Corr

These guys were all down yday and they should be leading the way and the kids following. These guys would be demanding big coin between them and they have to get going, we should have to rely on 1st and 2nd year players to carry this team.
5 out of 8 recruited from other clubs with the input of Rawling. But it ain’t his fault the list has holes in it. :stern look

Yesterday was a positive step. Freo had to completely change their game plan because we were killing them with the fast movement and forward running. Unfortunately when they went to the slow keepings off play we took ages to adjust because we're young and have very little on field leadership. But the point is they had to change. We dictated the gamestyle. The past few years teams have just been playing however they like against us and walking away with 4 points.
The ox is a circle but the earth is patient, or whatever that Malthouse stupid Zen quote is.

the good was good but the bad was bad.

We need more from some of the more experienced guys.

Corr will continue to get games because we don’t have another option for him.

I would swap -

Stephenson - Greenwood
CCJ - Sellers

Greenwood is a really handy player, can relief ruck can play forward and can go into the midfield and be really accountable.

Sellers is an actual contested marking forward. Will it translate to AFL? Who knows.

I reckon these guys would have made a difference yesterday.

Recon we were just plain out smarted after half time.

They switched from trying to match our run& gun game style, to chip chip possession game. So they had to do was control the ball up to half forward and kick it long, as their tall forwards were always going to beat our tall backs.

Unfortunately we didn’t have a counter, and instead doubled down which resulted in turnovers and easy goals at the other end.

We had no plan B today and were exposed.
I was scoring the thread to see if anyone was feeling the same on us having no plan B.

For all the talk of lacking onfield leadership, there's a plethora of coaches too and you can send messages out. If the players can't work it out themselves, surely you send a message out?

Is manning up at centre bounces when a team has a run on that hard to organise?

Sent from my SM-G781B using BigFooty.com mobile app

So you're taking issue that one sentence wasn't as streamlined as it could be because I used a redundant word? Really? Jeez... a bit picky mate.

My point remains the same. There's a possibility that we win a premiership in the next 6 years.
L
  • Zurhaar
  • Steevo
  • Jy
  • LMac
  • Stephens
  • Tucker
  • CCJ
  • A Corr

These guys were all down yday and they should be leading the way and the kids following. These guys would be demanding big coin between them and they have to get going, we shouldn’t have to rely on 1st and 2nd year players to carry this team.
Well said. No need for any more BF analysis. This is the reason we don’t win much
What a collectively awful group.
5 of 8 recruits from other clubs
1 a very average captain
Recruiting and father sons been a waste land for us this century

Was disappointing...was shouting at the telly in the 3rd quarter...."get fking Zurhaar on the ball" was prett obvious they were getting on top physically. Still, some of the best footy Ive ever seen in that second quarter, there is hope.
The bloke next to me at the footy kept listing the players attending the centre bounces then muttering ‘why no ****ing Zurhaar’.

The ox is a circle but the earth is patient, or whatever that Malthouse stupid Zen quote is.
Think Winona Ryder GIF by reactionseditor

• Zurhaar
  • Steevo
  • Jy
  • LMac
  • Stephens
  • Tucker
  • CCJ
  • A Corr

I think that's the issue, isn't it? The list above apart from Jy is a list that will not dominate a game. They either have great spurts or go missing entirely, really inconsistent. Until we get leaders who are consistently good (ie. Petracca, Gawn, Brayshaw, Serong, Dunkley, Neale - you get where I'm coming from), we will be inconsistent. When LDU, Scott, Jy, Sheezel, Wardlaw, McKercher, Fisher, Logue, and Powell are the players who are our leaders in 3+ years' time then we will have consistency. We will have 4-7 gun players added through free agency in that time, and drafts or we bought them through a trade. That's when we will deliver a premiership, not now with the list of "leaders" above.
We will improve to a point of green shoots (like the first quarter and a half) and think holy f@ck we look amazing and then fall off because of our "leaders". This is why it will take 3 years to be consistently awesome and it will happen.

Knew it was over in the 2nd/3rd when our entry into forward line was good but we just couldn't convert. Seemed like 4-6 behinds in a row from seemingly easy shots. Just let freo come back.

Definitely some good signs, and our backline looked good in the first quarter!
Not sure what happened tbh.

First half was the best we have played in 5 years.
The third quarter showed we have a serious lack of on field leadership.
We have two Club Captains neither seem to be capable of stepping up and giving on field direction help guide younger players to stop or quell an opposition run on. Both looked under done, Simpkin is very sloppy by hand and must hit targets. McDonald should be watching Tom Stewart videos until his eyes bleed.

I think that's the issue, isn't it? The list above apart from Jy is a list that will not dominate a game. They either have great spurts or go missing entirely, really inconsistent. Until we get leaders who are consistently good (ie. Petracca, Gawn, Brayshaw, Serong, Dunkley, Neale - you get where I'm coming from), we will be inconsistent. When LDU, Scott, Jy, Sheezel, Wardlaw, McKercher, Fisher, Logue, and Powell are the players who are our leaders in 3+ years' time then we will have consistency. We will have 4-7 gun players added through free agency in that time, and drafts or we bought them through a trade. That's when we will deliver a premiership, not now with the list of "leaders" above.
We will improve to a point of green shoots (like the first quarter and a half) and think holy f@ck we look amazing and then fall off because of our "leaders". This is why it will take 3 years to be consistently awesome and it will happen.
You won't get 4-7 gun players come to North thru free agency. You'll get blokes like Corr.
We'll need to be an actual good side before we can attract more quality talent through FA.

You won't get 4-7 gun players come to North thru free agency. You'll get blokes like Corr.
We'll need to be an actual good side before we can attract more quality talent through FA.
Why? Corr would be a solid hole filling by then, not one of our leaders. Stop being a pessimist sook….again. If you don’t support the club and not watch or care for us anymore why post.

I wasn't alone, after he had a string of poor/frustrating games. There were many people criticising him.

Then he improved and I was very happy to see it. Because I barrack for NMFC more than I care about being right or wrong.
This is bollocks. Last year you got stuck into him after his third game, where he kicked two goals, having kicked 10 in the previous two matches. So at the first opportunity you put the boot into him, not after a string of poor games.

Today was more like the Larkey of 2021/2022 that frustrated me so much.

Showed a couple of glimpses (that mark on the goal-line was great), but actively hurt our overall success in the forward line with poor positioning, poor leads, and poor decisions.

At this point he was averaging four goals a game.

This was you at the start of the season.

People, including me, single out Larkey because he wastes opportunities.

Is he universally useless? No. He will kick some goals.

But he is literally the focal point of our forward line and so frequently when the ball goes near him, bad things happen. He either doesnt lead, or he leads into the space of a team-mate in better position than him, or he leads poorly and exposes another team-mate to a 2-on-1 mismatch, etc.
And then in the rare instances he does lead to the ball, he very rarely actually takes a clean mark.

He's far from alone at being a frustrating player on our list, but it is only natural that he's going to be a lightning road for our frustration as fans, as that comes with the territory of being the team's #1 KPF (a role he simply doesn't have the talent for).

You keep saying he can't lead but during that period actual AFL forwards who are now commenting on the game would point out how many leads he makes and how hard he works making them and creating space.

There's this:

Larkey was frankly quite poor in the first half of the season. Others disagree and that's fine. We don't need to litigate it in this thread.

But your captain needs to demonstrate sustained consistency, and I doubt even Larkey's biggest supporters can argue that he doesn't have a history of disappearing for patches.

Larkey kicked 32 goals by round 12, including a period where he was obviously injured/hampered and we were playing like shit. That's more than anyone else in the side kicked during the whole season. If that's "quite poor" I can't wait to see him have a good first 12 games.

I could go on but I've wasted 15 minutes doing this already.

The only reasonable point you made about him is that he's not a great pack mark or contested mark. We all know that anyway but you will still repeat it at every opportunity. You clearly have an anti Larkey bias and it makes everything you say about him unreliable.

L

Well said. No need for any more BF analysis. This is the reason we don’t win much
What a collectively awful group.
5 of 8 recruits from other clubs
1 a very average captain
Recruiting and father sons been a waste land for us this century
The 8+ season group are the ones that control the fortunes of the club.

Our 8+ season group is by far the shittest in the league, outside of WC.

The shameful drafts of 2012-2016 are coming home to roost.

Autopsy Tale of two halves vs. Freo