• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Tallangatta League

I had a feeling I may have been asked that question today!
From what I have heard, Mr Purcell and Mr Fraser will be spoken to in relation to the matter. Aaron's relationship with the Umpires went downhill like Michael Milton soon after Damien Pattison thought Aaron threatened him at Mt Beauty that day. I was not present after the game but heard Aaron did tell the Umpires from the game that they should "get to training this week and learn how to do their job". That comment apparently followed a comment from one of the Umpires saying to Aaron "that was stupid doing that and getting sent off" (referring to his send-off for a palm to the face) In regards to Scooter Fraser being investigated, I don't know what about, but he does like to advise the men in Orange on their performances from time to time. If any one else made a comment I wonder if they would be investigated? Sounds like a storm in a tea-cup!

Yack will be out to beat the Doggies this week, made more special for all 4 Roberts brothers lining up in the Seniors. These kids can play! Josh, Kyle, Beau and Ethan, check 'em out!

Havin a look in todays paper sounds like a couple of yack boys are in trouble, do we have some names and what happened?
BGK, see above mate. i have been told that Fraser and Purcell have definitely been interviewed and provided statements. funnily enough, it is only one of the umpires making the allegations and the other one never heard a thing! ???????????? maybe the Jaffa was hearing things??? or does not like advice??

Im glad Big Al's side was just for banter. :eek: Who is Moscher, Hay, Sugars, Mouncey etc. Whightman???????? What about Rodgers from Barny and Cohen from Mitta, there is half a dozen better on ballers than him running around. What about Withers from Barny, Carty, Beggs, Tuenon, Fraser, from Mitta. Purcell, Hillary, Fraser from Yack. And dont forget the Robinson boys from Yack seconds, 'can play'. And what about Franzy, what a disgrace, he would be the first picked. What about Watto, I thought he was getting drafted. Being serious, I would have thought Derek Murray would of been the first thurgoona bloke picked. Policia from Tallangatta. Brand from Chiltern. There's a few. Hope that helps Big Al, not having a dig mate just adding to the banter with some humour also, heeee heeee:eek::eek:

Maybe you should pick up the paper or tell Mitta to start putting some of your 'better players' in the best. Never siad it was my opinion of the best players in comp. Names come off TDFL website from the best each week MM, most of the blokes you listed are good players but obviously haven't fired this year as yet and have only been in the best once or twice all year and Spike Brand, Jaz Hillary, Murray, Withers, Fraser have all missed chunks of the season due to injury. But I agree they all can play. I thought you might have noticed Wightman though, I think he was BOG against Mitta when Thurgoona knocked you blokes off :rolleyes: and Moscher was in top 3 on ground. Short memories you Mitta blokes ;).

Barny to beat Thurgoona by 18pts (Dogs out of form but can't afford to be this week)

AP, can't see this happening at all - after the way Barny must hae played last week I would expect Thurgoona to smash them, but time will tell. But, it would be good to see Barny win as it would keep the top tight between 2-3-4.

But I really want to see the 2nds game - 1st v 2nd - that will be a cracker and I can't wait to see it! (I know Im partial, but hard 2nds footy is a big throwback to when footy was hard and uncompromising)

Thats right, the man with the red hair is here to share. Sorry for my lateness but i've been filling in for my mate Ronald down at his restuarant and just haven't had the time to write to all my fans out there. So i hear people are writing off Thurgoona after just 1 defeat, well with me franzeeee at the helm of the mighty dogs i will kick (not handball because i dont do that, it's overrated) Thurgoona right into a premiership win. So to all my fans out there, red nuts or not, flock to the Sandy Creek footy oval in September to watch the ultimate fanta pants(thats me) lead the dogs to victory. Franzee out.

Well there's no denying the Metricon Maulers as they defeated the Barny Tigers at Conway Park by six points yesterday. Watched both seconds and the ones and was impressed by Barny two's ability to recover from a slow start and overhaul what become a fairly predictable Bulldog's side.
Big Al, i'm told up to 12 missed from injury from the squad. Potentially massive loss re-ladder positions, have the Tigers surrendered all hope of a top three posy or is there still hope for your boys? Thought Rogers was BOG in losing side and definately needed more support from team mates around the stoppages. As an impartial follower of our great game a huge Congrats to the doggies, but don't carry on out on the ground like you did lads that just gives the oppposition fuel for for thought! IMO could come back to haunt the Goons on the larger Sandy Creek Oval. Barny, If you can have a positive, I think your 2nds are building into a fairly impressive outfit, your depth looks great.

Good one ********. To bad i've been here for the last month and not five mins so **** off ya wanka!!!:mad:

Well there's no denying the Metricon Maulers as they defeated the Barny Tigers at Conway Park by six points yesterday. Watched both seconds and the ones and was impressed by Barny two's ability to recover from a slow start and overhaul what become a fairly predictable Bulldog's side.
Big Al, i'm told up to 12 missed from injury from the squad. Potentially massive loss re-ladder positions, have the Tigers surrendered all hope of a top three posy or is there still hope for your boys? Thought Rogers was BOG in losing side and definately needed more support from team mates around the stoppages. As an impartial follower of our great game a huge Congrats to the doggies, but don't carry on out on the ground like you did lads that just gives the oppposition fuel for for thought! IMO could come back to haunt the Goons on the larger Sandy Creek Oval. Barny, If you can have a positive, I think your 2nds are building into a fairly impressive outfit, your depth looks great.

How did they carry on I & U?

Just out of curiosity i&a, what do you mean "fairly predictable" when talking about our twos?

Yes its true, i did kick a goal on saturday and it was proabaly goal of the year, but hey what do u expect... i'm the franz. Since we only won by 6 points it was really my goal that won us the game and put us 4 premiership points closer to that fateful day in September.
i'll admit barny came out strong but with me (franzee) we were just to strong in the end and were clear victors.
p.s whats this i hear about some new Beechworth recruits flogging stuff from around the club??? any fact to this rumour???

don't know about carrying on it was a big win for the club in what was a tight tough game the players deserved to be a bit excited after the game. So i can't see anything wrong with getting excited. Yeah was a good win for the barny boys in the twos 12 out you say i know thurgoona had about the same number missing had to call up 2 kids from the thirds and even the seniors non playing assistant coach had to dust off the boots. I think you will find they are two evenly matched clubs through both grades and if they did have to back up and play each other again the results in either grade could be reversed.

How did they carry on I & U?

AD, granted would have been a huge win for Doggies and rightfully so they should be pleased with the performance, better finishing side of the day. As i walked across the ground after the match I saw more than a couple of the Bulldog Breed laughing at and verbally bating the opposition. I understand the Bulldogs are in unfamilar surroundings this season but just thought that behaviour should be left for the rooms at least IMO. In all though,it was great to watch two sides evenly matched going hammer and tong at it for four quarters.

don't know about carrying on it was a big win for the club in what was a tight tough game the players deserved to be a bit excited after the game. So i can't see anything wrong with getting excited. Yeah was a good win for the barny boys in the twos 12 out you say i know thurgoona had about the same number missing had to call up 2 kids from the thirds and even the seniors non playing assistant coach had to dust off the boots. I think you will find they are two evenly matched clubs through both grades and if they did have to back up and play each other again the results in either grade could be reversed.

I agree the game was evenly matched up but you cant do much if the umpire gives everything for thurgoona in the seconds and then the league umpire gets injured making the seconds umpire go up and umpire the 1's in which he made a crucial fu*k up in giving derrek murray a mark when it was clearly not and he kicked a goal giving them a goal lead with a couple of minutes remaining . Its frusturating watching on the side line when some one like this umpire can change the game like that . Hope thurgoona bought him a couple of beers.

Sounds like sour grapes to me.
I too, as an unbiased TDFL supporter went down to the blockbuster game on the weekend, caught the last half of the two's, which was a great game, and the ones was even better. High standard, fairly played and a great advertisement for TDFL footy. The League should be congratulated on a great year so far. Dederang have certainly re-opened the race for 5th spot with a (no-doubt) thrilling one point win over Chiltern. My apologies benchwarmer, you have a good team there, I'm not tipping against the Dogs ever again. The umpiring was just OK, with some blues made in favour of both sides. As well as the dodgy Derek Murray decision (not a mark -but was a free kick anyway), the emergency umpire gave Barny 2 soft free kicks in front of goal (but the big boy couldn't convert) - so it works both ways. Let's get off the umps, they have enough to worry about.

Get off the umpire just accept that Thurgoona won the game. If you do want to argue an umpires decision have a look at the stats sheet that showed Barny winning more free kicks. That same umpire gave Barny a goal that clearly missed but had to rule on it after the goal umpire was unsighted due to the sun.get over yourselves and accept the fact that thurgoona are no longer the easybeats they use to be. Or is that to much for some people to handle. Great game of footy never the less.

The results from the weekend ensure another cracking round of matches for this coming weekend.

Beechworth must win at home against the more fancied Mountain men or else it's curtains for them. Having such a low percentage makes them the most likely to count out of the finals equation if they lose this week.
Dederang at home to Thurgoona should be a ripper. The doggies can all but assure a top three birth with a win if Barny's run of outs continues. The Bombers win over Chiltern will give them plenty of confidence as they strive for the final 5.
The Tigers v Swans game also has top billing rights as both sides have plenty to play for. Both coming of close losess, the Tigers wouldn't want to lose 3 in a row nor can Chiltern afford to drop many more matches from here on.
You'd expect Yack to get the points against Rutherglen. The Roos quite simply just have to win and win well against a side that hasn't fired a shot all year to remain in serious contention.
Early flag favourites Kiewa should continue Tallangatta's woes with win no.10. Fairly sure we wont see an upset in this one, the Hoppers appear all at sea this season.

Big Al, i'm told up to 12 missed from injury from the squad. Potentially massive loss re-ladder positions, have the Tigers surrendered all hope of a top three posy or is there still hope for your boys?

Yes congrats to Dogs on their win, looks like Tony Way and Co have got things moving in right direction. Don't know Tiges had 12 out but not having Withers in the goal square again certainly hurt. Having said that Dogs had Butchart on sidelines as well which would have mucked up their structure. Personally thought it was a terrible game from both sides in terms of skill with Tiges making far too many turnovers. Be good for Thurgoona footy when the redevelopment of the ground takes place and sides don't have to play on that ridiculous ground. In terms of the Doggies celebration, well, winners are grinners and losers can go ##### themselves as the saying goes. Having said that some of the Doggies banter was certainly noted. Tiges will need one of the Top 3 to stumble to sneak in now, sets up another big game this week against the Swans. Noticed big Gunny will be out for a while with a calf, I suppose something had to give when you try and get that big rig off the ground :D.

Maybe you should pick up the paper or tell Mitta to start putting some of your 'better players' in the best. Never siad it was my opinion of the best players in comp. Names come off TDFL website from the best each week MM, most of the blokes you listed are good players but obviously haven't fired this year as yet and have only been in the best once or twice all year and Spike Brand, Jaz Hillary, Murray, Withers, Fraser have all missed chunks of the season due to injury. But I agree they all can play. I thought you might have noticed Wightman though, I think he was BOG against Mitta when Thurgoona knocked you blokes off :rolleyes: and Moscher was in top 3 on ground. Short memories you Mitta blokes ;).

Hey Al. I think you will find that Mitta don't put to much emphasis on the best players. Its a bit to do with the culture of the club. They dont count personal milestones and the best players are chucked on a bit of paper by three pissed blokes with half a brain between them. You might also notice that we haven't featured in a league B and F for a while Al even though we have won most games in the last 4 years. A good even spread along with who gives a fat rats clacker. TEAM my good friend, personal things just dont rate a mention, sorry Culphy, you were a:D:thumbsu: standout I must say.

Well Ladies, 11 games in when everyone has played everyone seems like a good time for a review of things. Tallangatta, Rutherglen & Wodonga are done & dusted for the year, can’t see the Hoppers or the Saints causing any upsets between now & round 18, but I am sure that the Cats are a better side than their ladder position suggests, so any team taking them lightly may get a surprise. I can’t see Beechworth in the race for 5th spot, as their run home includes Mitta, Kiewa & Thurgoona and they would have to beat 2 of them as well as beating Yack. They have had a year above expectations tho & have some good young players. Fifth spot is still a three-way battle between the disappointing Yack, the much improved Dederang side and Chiltern. Generally 9 wins is required to get you into finals, however just going thru the permutations of the remaining rounds, I have calculated that it is possible for 2 out of the 3 can finish on 8 wins, so percentage may be important. Yack have 4 wins & Ruth, Beech, Chilt, Ded, Barny, & Mitta to finish, and Dederang have 5 wins & Thur, Ruth, Kiewa, Yack, Tall & Mitta. I still favour Chiltern to take 5th spot, with 5 wins and 10% ahead of the other two, they have Barny, Mitta, Yack, Wodonga, Tall & Ruth to finish. Key games in the battle for 5th are Yack v Chiltern round 14, Yack v Dederang round 15. The battle for the Top 3 took a bit of a turn on the weekend, with the Dogs getting over the Tiges due to the umpiring, the size of the ground and Barny having 12 out. With 7 wins up Barny have Chilt, Wod, Ruth, Tall, Yack & Kiewa to finish, can see them finishing on 12 wins. Mitta have a good run home with 8 wins & Beech, Chilt, Wod, Kiewa, Ded & Yack to end, probably 14 wins for them. Thurgoona also have a good run home with 9 wins & Ded, Tall, Ruth, Beech, Kiewa & Wod. With no slip-ups they might finish on 14 wins also. Kiewa have 9 wins & Tall, Ded, Beech, Mitta, Thur & Barny so they may also finish with 14 wins.
Final ladder predictions:
Kiewa 14 wins
Mitta 14 wins
Thurgoona 14 wins
Barnawartha 12 wins
Chiltern 8 wins
Yackandandah 8 wins
Dederang 7 wins
Beechworth 6 wins
Wodonga 2 wins
Rutherglen 2 wins
Tallangatta 1 win

Well Ladies, 11 games in when everyone has played everyone seems like a good time for a review of things. Tallangatta, Rutherglen & Wodonga are done & dusted for the year, can’t see the Hoppers or the Saints causing any upsets between now & round 18, but I am sure that the Cats are a better side than their ladder position suggests, so any team taking them lightly may get a surprise. I can’t see Beechworth in the race for 5th spot, as their run home includes Mitta, Kiewa & Thurgoona and they would have to beat 2 of them as well as beating Yack. They have had a year above expectations tho & have some good young players. Fifth spot is still a three-way battle between the disappointing Yack, the much improved Dederang side and Chiltern. Generally 9 wins is required to get you into finals, however just going thru the permutations of the remaining rounds, I have calculated that it is possible for 2 out of the 3 can finish on 8 wins, so percentage may be important. Yack have 4 wins & Ruth, Beech, Chilt, Ded, Barny, & Mitta to finish, and Dederang have 5 wins & Thur, Ruth, Kiewa, Yack, Tall & Mitta. I still favour Chiltern to take 5th spot, with 5 wins and 10% ahead of the other two, they have Barny, Mitta, Yack, Wodonga, Tall & Ruth to finish. Key games in the battle for 5th are Yack v Chiltern round 14, Yack v Dederang round 15. The battle for the Top 3 took a bit of a turn on the weekend, with the Dogs getting over the Tiges due to the umpiring, the size of the ground and Barny having 12 out. With 7 wins up Barny have Chilt, Wod, Ruth, Tall, Yack & Kiewa to finish, can see them finishing on 12 wins. Mitta have a good run home with 8 wins & Beech, Chilt, Wod, Kiewa, Ded & Yack to end, probably 14 wins for them. Thurgoona also have a good run home with 9 wins & Ded, Tall, Ruth, Beech, Kiewa & Wod. With no slip-ups they might finish on 14 wins also. Kiewa have 9 wins & Tall, Ded, Beech, Mitta, Thur & Barny so they may also finish with 14 wins.
Final ladder predictions:
Kiewa 14 wins
Mitta 14 wins
Thurgoona 14 wins
Barnawartha 12 wins
Chiltern 8 wins
Yackandandah 8 wins
Dederang 7 wins
Beechworth 6 wins
Wodonga 2 wins
Rutherglen 2 wins
Tallangatta 1 win

Your'e theories and thoughts are exemplary AP. I have to say you add another level to this thread. I think you may be right with Chiltern slipping into 5th over Yack. With their evergrowing injury list and no depth at Yack, my boys may struggle with some of those injuries being season ending. I can only hope that when Yack play Barny and Mitta in the last 2 rounds that the games are of Finals standard. If Yack are still in the hunt then, it will definitely be good to see. Still, if they could beat either of those, it could decide 2nd 3rd and 4th.

For those interested, based on HII system of votes for players depending on w/l margin, here is a side based on ranking from 1st half of year for 22 top ranked players, most in close postions. Some players may be slightly out of position. Try not to get to carried away on the validity of it 'Switch the Play', it is only for banter ;).

b Ryan (WS - 33) Moscher (Thur - 24) Wightman (Thur - 27)

hb Knight (Kiewa - 33) Dickens (Chi - 29) Sutherland (Kiewa - 28)

c Surrey (Beech - 44) Hargreaves (Bar - 37) Davis (Ruth - 29)
* Most votes *
hf Mounsey (Ded - 29) Cameron (Kiewa - 22) Gentile (Ded - 23)

f Packer (Mitta - 23) Andrews (Chi - 36) Thomson (Ruth - 28)

Ruck Hunter (Thur - 26)
Rov Semmler (Bar - 42)
Rov Rhodes ( Kiewa - 43)

Int

Sugers (Beech - 22)
Hay (Yack - 22)
D.Ladgrove (Chi - 21)

AD how did Finna look running around the Kennel, heard he is filling out his Brookers runner shirt fairly well at the moment :D.

Hey Al, can you do an update the top 30 using HII's system ?

Good to see Derek Murray and Jack Rhodes make the VCFL state district league squad to take on South Australians. I thought maybe one or two others probably could have been added to the squad also. Well done gentlemen :thumbsu::thumbsu:

What's happening to this thread? Almost 24 hrs and nothing! Come on Big Al I know your on school holidays but surely you've got a computer at home? Culphy & Franzy what's happening here you two don't have jobs do you? Do you? Run Straight, Switch the play, No orange peeler have we done something to deserve this silence? Mountain Man I'll even take a stupid comment from you? Come on guys! :(

Good to see Derek Murray and Jack Rhodes make the VCFL state district league squad to take on South Australians. I thought maybe one or two others probably could have been added to the squad also. Well done gentlemen :thumbsu::thumbsu:
sorry AD.I think Marty Semmler also made the squad but diddnt end up training.Two good players though those two.Interested in the leagues concept to name a "team of the year" league B&F night to compensate for no Interleague this year.Initially each coach is to put forward their team non inclusive of their own club and they believe the majority will pick itself.Is this a worthy excercise and will it carry any prestige?

FINALLY!

Martin would be a very handy inclusion to the side, perhaps he's eligible for the super rules side if they have one?
I don't believe it would "compensate" for the interleague side as it is merely just a piece of paper at the end of the day and not the honour of representing your league. I believe the Coreen league used to have (and could still) a "Team of the Year" and knowing a few players named in that, it didn't mean a great deal to them (except muscles O'Bryan).
All in all I guess the league needs to look like it's doing something constructive. As has been said previously a match between the Tallangatta league and the Hume league IMO would be an absolute corker!
Nice to hear from you switch.

What's happening to this thread? Almost 24 hrs and nothing! Come on Big Al I know your on school holidays but surely you've got a computer at home? Culphy & Franzy what's happening here you two don't have jobs do you? Do you? Run Straight, Switch the play, No orange peeler have we done something to deserve this silence? Mountain Man I'll even take a stupid comment from you? Come on guys! :(
As a matter of fact ad i have been working. After Ronald fired me Hungry Jacks picked me up to promote the Ben Cousins meal deal and i must say, after the doll cheques go out the place gets abit busy. All the centrelink bums come out from under there cardboard boxes and newspapers looking to take the edge off.:D