Scandal Tarryn Thomas charged with 'threatening to distribute intimate image' + driving with suspended license

Club Statements

Fined, no conviction recorded:

Sounds like he has a serious mental illness therefore we should be cautious about calling him names.

He can't play AFL until his illness is managed.

If he has a personality disorder, narcissistic or anti social, he is likely to reoffend or worse...

AFL is managing this well. Essendon is better off moving on or wait another year.

Tarryn should just focus on being a decent human being and forget about an AFL career. We all love a redemption story, it just doesn’t have to be in another AFL jumper. Not sure if he has strong women, or men who respect woman in his family to guide him and put him on the right path. All the experts used to date in the AFL have not worked with his current attitude and state of mind. No reason to suggest it would work at another club.

Honestly have to wonder if Thomas has a mental illness.

Seems to be classic compulsive behaviour with a massive dose of possessive / narcissistic tendencies.
For him to still even be thinking 'I'd do it again' after going to therapy is incredibly troubling but for him to be putting that in writing and sending it to someone else is someone who isn't functioning cognitively on a neurotypical level.

He should by now at minimum be thinking 'Don't say that shit' even if he's thinking it. He has some real problems and 'the structure of an AFL environment' or whatever the **** line that gets rolled out isn't going to fix it.

Yeah this is the thing.

The first time or two, he could just be a dropkick dickhead who has no respect for women, or wanted to 'punish' a girl for breaking up with him. A scumbag....but unfortunately there's plenty of those types around.

To keep doing it after two years AND after being suspended multiple times AND completing courses AND literally on the brink of losing his livelihood? It's like he's a genuine psychopath who either doesn't care or can't stop even if he wants to.

This is way beyond the "F-Wit" stage now, this is seriously disturbing behaviour.
Literally all he would have had to do is pull his head in for a few years and Tassie would be offering him a bazillion dollars - and yet he can't help himself.

The comments (which seem to have, correctly, gone quiet after this most recent news) suggesting that this might be the work of an angry exgf who wants to ruin his life are just so completely unserious. How many AFL players are there who have been accused of or even convicted of domestic violence and have carried on with their career basically unscathed? If an angry exgf was going to try to ruin some footy player’s career, accusing them of DV would be a really dumb course of action, there would be a huge chance that it wouldn’t do anything. An angry exgf would be better off slipping some banned peptides into their food or something if they were actually plotting to ruin some guy’s career 🙄🙄

Literally all he would have had to do is pull his head in for a few years and Tassie would be offering him a bazillion dollars - and yet he can't help himself.
Tassie don’t want him. One advantage they have when it comes to recruiting their own is they know the attributes of players very well. He’s safe from returning and wouldn’t be welcome.

Sounds like he has a serious mental illness therefore we should be cautious about calling him names.

Mental illness is a real thing and should be taken seriously but we can't just label a person mentally ill because they are a truly horrible person. Thomas is likely just a horrible person and suggesting he is mentally ill is actually damaging to people who are mentally ill. Most mentally ill people are not violent.

The line between "mental illness" and acceptable is non-existent these days. It's unfortunate, but sometimes your conduct is unbecoming, even if it can be 'linked' to a "medical" condition.

The government is at fault for this, earlier this year they made amendments to the bail act and it’s way too easy for crooks to get bail now.

They don’t even care now that they are committing crimes because they’ll get bail all the time

The Bail Act was tightened following the Bourk Street / Gargasoulas incident, but unfortunately the pendulum has swung the other way now.

I wish the media had made more of the changes, there should be more public outcry.

that is true.

If Tarryn Thomas wasnt a total idiot and focused on improving himself as a footy player and a human being, his life and his family life would be much better.

But he threw that all away. He literally threw away a lottery ticket.

He’s pretty unpopular in Launceston footy circles. Also has a brother that doesn’t do anything to reverse the reputation Tarryn has built.
Yeah I know people he played footy with and they reckon he used to send rotten shit to girls back then

The school culture he was part of was horrendous. School didn’t do much to stop the footy boys. Tarryn got away with so much because he was destined to be drafted.

He’s not the only AFL player from that place to have a history of poor behaviour, either. One went undrafted in-part because of it when he was projected first round.

I don't understand why you wouldn't just leave the country for 12 months.

Bizarre that you would go to crt ..get sacked . Have a heap of money paid to you. And then just hang around Ormond.

I mean what the absolute **** is wrong with people

I don't understand why you wouldn't just leave the country for 12 months.

Bizarre that you would go to crt ..get sacked . Have a heap of money paid to you. And then just hang around Ormond.

I mean what the absolute **** is wrong with people
From his behaviour, it’s pretty clear that there’s a lot wrong with him and he’s not thinking.

Scandal Tarryn Thomas charged with 'threatening to distribute intimate image' + driving with suspended license