Tasmanian Football Thread

Channel have apparently appointed ex-player Tony 'Boots ' Marchant as non playing coach this year. Not sure of any further details but he has one hell of a job on his hands

I think you will find Boots and the club are having a meeting early this week sometime, it is not quite set in stone yet, but yes it does look promising, This came from a very reliable source this afternoon.

Good luck to him, If he puts his hand up for the job, Boots hasn't got much hair to start off with, he certainly won't have much left at the end of the season!, there is only so much he can do with what he has left at his disposal.

Hopefully he will be able to round up a few of his old Hobart mates to help out - Kingpin would be salivating at the sight of a few of them running around together like old times (Albeit in Saints colours not Tiger colours:D:thumbsu::thumbsu:). Even if they are long in the tooth, they can't be much worse than the current crop of players left.

That rounds off the trifecta of favourite old sons returning next year with Shane "Sam" Sinnit returning as the Reserves coach and Paul "Frankie" Loveluck supposedly taking the underage reins.

Lachrilly, have you started hitting the gym yet to get rid of the excess kilos in readiness for next year? Or are you still too fond of the saveloys and pies like the shepherd king, Barge.

By the way, word has it that Cygnet are in trouble numbers wise, with a few key players supposedly departing for greener pastures - But this is only a whisper from the local pub, maybe someone can verify this.

Any truth that Ulverstone has approached Steve Mcqueen To play forward this season. I also Heard Sharman and Bakes fell out due to the big man trying to cut his lunch.

I think you will find Boots and the club are having a meeting early this week sometime, it is not quite set in stone yet, but yes it does look promising, This came from a very reliable source this afternoon.

Good luck to him, If he puts his hand up for the job, Boots hasn't got much hair to start off with, he certainly won't have much left at the end of the season!, there is only so much he can do with what he has left at his disposal.

Hopefully he will be able to round up a few of his old Hobart mates to help out - Kingpin would be salivating at the sight of a few of them running around together like old times (Albeit in Saints colours not Tiger colours:D:thumbsu::thumbsu:). Even if they are long in the tooth, they can't be much worse than the current crop of players left.

That rounds off the trifecta of favourite old sons returning next year with Shane "Sam" Sinnit returning as the Reserves coach and Paul "Frankie" Loveluck supposedly taking the underage reins.

Lachrilly, have you started hitting the gym yet to get rid of the excess kilos in readiness for next year? Or are you still too fond of the saveloys and pies like the shepherd king, Barge.

By the way, word has it that Cygnet are in trouble numbers wise, with a few key players supposedly departing for greener pastures - But this is only a whisper from the local pub, maybe someone can verify this.

He must believe in miracles, cause I have not heard of one current player that is keen to don the saints guernsey next season... Unfortunately I think he will be flogging a dead horse...

Looks like Channel are the only club without an appointed senior coach in the Regionals so far.

With the appointment of a Mr Jim Rogers as the senior coach for Triabunna. Along with Barge's favourite son, Dean "King Hit Merchant" Mills as Reserves coach (As Barge mentioned before on this thread).

I ask one question - Who the fook is Jim Rogers? I have never heard of him in footy circles - Does anyone know who he is, what his creditentials are?

Jeese you blokes give Millsy a baggin'. I don't know what your problem is. I played with him for a year when he was at Brighton, he's a good bloke, certainly no dirtier a player then alot of blokes i've played with and against.

By geez he's gunna have his hands full there.
It's pretty sad to see how Channel's fallen in the last few years.
Pity I missed the HFC Old Players & Officials Christmas lunch on Saturday, I could've founded out a bit more goss on Boots' appointment - he usually goes to those things.

Speaking of colours - Hobart will be wearing their traditional Black & Gold jumpers in four matches in 2008.
Not sure of their opponents in those four matches, but it's a really good start for what is hoped to be a turn around in the place. It needs it!
There's 4 matches I will be putting my colours on and going to watch :thumbsu:

unable to train because of a heart problem. may set me back a number of weeks. (the heart problem is legit by the way). things look dark at the club right now but if we can get a few new faces and the ones who havnt quite left yet hang around we still may give the bunna a run for their money

Jeese you blokes give Millsy a baggin'. I don't know what your problem is. I played with him for a year when he was at Brighton, he's a good bloke, certainly no dirtier a player then alot of blokes i've played with and against.

Might be a good bloke to have a beer with after a game, but a very very angry man once he crosses that white line Monna!

Seen him do a few cheap shots over the years.

But yes you are right, there are a lot of blokes out there who are the same if not dirtier. They add a bit of spice to a game.

A very different personality to his brother Corey who plays good hard at it footy.

Speaking of colours - Hobart will be wearing their traditional Black & Gold jumpers in four matches in 2008.
Not sure of their opponents in those four matches, but it's a really good start for what is hoped to be a turn around in the place. It needs it!
There's 4 matches I will be putting my colours on and going to watch :thumbsu:

I'm sure that it can be guaranteed 100% that one of these games will not be against Barra Herweynen's Kingston boys:D

Kingpin - do you reckon "Jungles" Denehey might dust his drum kit from out the loft and bring them out of retirement for these games?

I'm sure that it can be guaranteed 100% that one of these games will not be against Barra Herweynen's Kingston boys:D
Wish it was :p
And they had to wear the alternate strip LOL
All the old hatreds would come right out on the day, it would be as bad Rangers v Celtic (err except not quite as many people there) :D

Cadoras said:
Kingpin - do you reckon "Jungles" Denehey might dust his drum kit from out the loft and bring them out of retirement for these games?
Oooooooooooo pwwwwwwwwww hard to say really, umm, I know if Hobie were wearing their old strip full time he'd be back there, well that's what he reckoned last time I was speaking to him, anyway.
But he's a different man to the one who used to bang the drums at Hobart games, got a haircut, dresses well and works a fair bit now.
To be honest I really don't know if he would now, he might though.

Not sure about Hobarts suppose top five from a few weeks back

Dykes, Dickson, Reeves, Youd, Harvey

Underlined names would not be in top 10, how could you omit Lemm, Cassidy and C. Beck

Not sure about Hobarts suppose top five from a few weeks back

Dykes, Dickson, Reeves, Youd, Harvey

Underlined names would not be in top 10, how could you omit Lemm, Cassidy and C. Beck

Agree. Dickson had a shocking year, too many chicken fillet combos upsized, Youd too unreliable.

As for other top fivers; A.Lemm is a definate, Cassidy no longer there, Beck on his day maybe, but I'd include the other Harvey before him, former SFL rep don't forget!

Agree. Dickson had a shocking year, too many chicken fillet combos upsized, Youd too unreliable.

As for other top fivers; A.Lemm is a definate, Cassidy no longer there, Beck on his day maybe, but I'd include the other Harvey before him, former SFL rep don't forget!

do you mean trent harvey?

Have heard some more news from down the huon way Huonville to lose Bennett and Jones to mainland and Lange also calling it quits.
Some regular Cygnet boys are apparently training with there enemy in Kermandie Watson boys included in them players (LUCKY kERMANDIE) also a few players just had enough with the way things are going at Cygnet

Anyone heard who is taking the reins at KG5? Micky Bowden would have to be the front runner surely. Whisper has that Ben Beams will return to Tasmania at the end of the '08 season and take over the Pies for the '09 season. What a coup that would be!

to play or just coach?

I do Mr Nuts. The same T Harvey that a few years back won the much coveted Mr Football fashion competition at isobar against some stiff competition (ie. McVilly, D.Kirk.....)

i have fond memeroies about turning up for training hearing about that!! can you give me the name of some of the other contestants???

Barge happened to be loitering along Salamanca Boulevard early Sunday morning and witnessed a former New Norfolk player being hauled topless into a Paddy Wagon after a heated, quite possibly very physical disagreement with a former Eagles team-mate!

And they call it the "Valley of Love"!?!

Know anything about this, Menza?

Barge happened to be loitering along Salamanca Boulevard early Sunday morning and witnessed a former New Norfolk player being hauled topless into a Paddy Wagon after a heated, quite possibly very physical disagreement with a former Eagles team-mate!

And they call it the "Valley of Love"!?!

Know anything about this, Menza?

Ex wife from where i was standing Barge ex team mate trying to hold him back, never seem him fire up like that normally very quite old BIRD,

They tell me that Dean King has signed at your mob Barge as under 17s coach?. Central Hawks not happy with him at , as he agreed to terms with the club and they thought they had an Assisstant coach so know on the look out for a new one with another New Norfolk player on ther radar.Not a great loss to the Hawks his best days are behind him by a long way.

That didn't take too long to get a nibble!

I saw him looking in a certain direction getting escorted into the PW, cast my eye over that way and saw the former Stormer with a displeased look on his face and made the assumption.

Yes, King is Colts Coach. My mail is had not signed with the Hawks but had as you said agreed to the job. I believe the closeness to New Norfolk where he lives was the clincher in his decision, 15 mins up the road as opposed to the treks to Oatlands and Bothwell for Hawks training plus home games.

What's your name, Bomber Gus 6? I'll let him know you reckon he's no good!

PS Where has OzGuy been the last few months?

Has anyone caught the latest instalment of the "Bold and the Beautiful" that is the "Who will coach Devonport?" thread?

Fair dinkum this blokes leaving Burnie, going to Devonport, back to Burnie via Ulverstone, is in love with James Wiggins, putting it on team mates Mrs.', new coaches, ex coaches, not happy with new coaches, still in love with old coaches, it is all happening over on that thread!!

The above is all tongue in cheek of course but have you fellow Southerners noticed that the despised Northerners have hi-jacked the Tassie Footy thread over the past couple of months. Prior to that there was hardly a peep out of the North of the State.

Has the electricity just gone on in Burnie and Devonport or something??

Has anyone caught the latest instalment of the "Bold and the Beautiful" that is the "Who will coach Devonport?" thread?

Fair dinkum this blokes leaving Burnie, going to Devonport, back to Burnie via Ulverstone, is in love with James Wiggins, putting it on team mates Mrs.', new coaches, ex coaches, not happy with new coaches, still in love with old coaches, it is all happening over on that thread!!

The above is all tongue in cheek of course but have you fellow Southerners noticed that the despised Northerners have hi-jacked the Tassie Footy thread over the past couple of months. Prior to that there was hardly a peep out of the North of the State.

as long as they keep their rubbish out of our thread, I don't mind. Not a lot of gossip re SFL getting around at the moment, other than the Glenorchy coaching job, which you would expect to be filled before the new year. How have the numbers been at training? Apparently Hobart are strugglin at the moment, which is to be expected when they have 3 compulsory sessions a week and another 3 optional, in November....

From what I have gathered pre-xmas:
Channel appear to be gone
Triabunna will gaain be a rabble
Claremont will be a force, along with Kermandie
Glenorchy will again be good once they find a coach
Brighton are throwing money around like its going out of fashion
New Norfolk will struggle
Clarence will come good in the finals as always

Barge was just thinking about the gossip that goes on on this thread, and pondered this thought: Isn't it ironic that Cadoras seems to hear more gossip than anyone else on here...

if you dont like it, down read it!
two threads ago you guys are talking about a player getting arrested after a tiff with the ex mrs. if thats not days of our lives i dont know what is.

i guess thats what this time of the year is all about( the silly season) talking about absolute horse crap thats never going to happen or evenuate!