Team Selection Round 1 - 2010

This year I think we will see quite a few changes every week and next year the top 25 will be more settled.

Will be interesting to see how Vossy goes about it, but I would've thought he'd err on fewer changes, trying to let the team gel and gain confidence in each other.

B: McGrath Merrett Johnstone
HB: Adcock Maguire Raines
C: Drummond Rich Patfull
HF: Staker Brown Sherman
F: Power Fevola Banfield
Foll: Black Clark Brennan
Int: Leuenberger, Redden, Buchannan, Rockliff
Emg: Polkinghorne, Stiller, Rischitelli

Im amazed at how strong our list is looking & the depth that vossy has created. There are a number of players missing that could legitimately stake their claim for a spot on the bench as well.

Our defence looks strong with also an attacking feel to it. The midfield should be able to hold their own against any others in the comp with a mix of youth & experience. Our forward line speaks for itself.

If you consider the players that are not even making it onto the emergency list we have hawkesly, sheldon, selwood, austin, collier, proud all going to be pushing for selection. We have an incredible depth to the side now.

Later in the year we will have ones like X Clarke, Charman & Bartlett all hopefully up and firing. Should make for some difficult selection choices.

Bring on Round 1!!!!

I understand that POBT and if you read my original post I was praising Black and giving an opinion on Raines. Even started with "sorry to intrude".

His somewhat silly reply was worthy of a 'gentle slap'. ;)

Good luck for the year.

all cool mate. It was a bit of an overreaction on my part, but I do get a bit of a bee in my bonnet about players getting bagged for supposed bad habits which really aren't that bad. While raines' disposal isn't great, it's nowhere near as bas as it gets made out. It's not like he had that many forward options at the tigers.

Anyway he's one of ours now, so lay orf... :D

B: Patfull Merrett McGrath
HB: Drummond Maguire Adcock
C: Brennan Black Rockliff
HF: Banfield Brown Power
F: Polkinghorne Fevola Buchanan
R: Clark Rich Sherman
I: Redden Leuy Johnstone Staker

E: Proud Raines Risha/Stiller/Selwood

The team will change a lot due to match ups though. I wouldn't want Risha, Stiller and Selwood in the same team. Proud will have to work his way in the team while Polkinghorne has found some form in the reserves. Raines will be unlucky imo.

B: McGrath Merrett Johnstone
HB: Adcock Maguire Raines
C: Drummond Rich Patfull
HF: Staker Brown Sherman
F: Power Fevola Banfield
Foll: Black Clark Brennan
Int: Leuenberger, Redden, Buchannan, Rockliff
Emg: Polkinghorne, Stiller, Rischitelli

Yep that is the team for me. The only change is that they may want an extra tagger.

all cool mate. It was a bit of an overreaction on my part, but I do get a bit of a bee in my bonnet about players getting bagged for supposed bad habits which really aren't that bad. While raines' disposal isn't great, it's nowhere near as bas as it gets made out. It's not like he had that many forward options at the tigers.

Anyway he's one of ours now, so lay orf... :D

:thumbsu:

The tagger is an interesting one weevil. Vossy has said recently about patfull being played maybe as a tagger & buchannan could potentially be played as a part time tagger. While i wouldnt be keen on it, sherman has also played at times as a tagger. I think vossy will want to have an attacking team with players such as the ones mentioned that can sit tight on someone and then break it open when the oportunity arises.

In saying that, i can also see the benefit of someone like risha/selwood in the side

If Voss had been inactive during trade week our team might look more like this:

B: Adcock Merrett Johnstone
HB: McGrath Maguire Drummond
C: Rich Brennan Patfull
HF: Power Brown Sherman
F: Polkinghorne Henderson* Banfield
Foll: Clark Black Redden
Int: Leuenberger, Selwood, Rischitelli, Rockliff

Emg: Stiller, Sheldon, Proud

*or Bradshaw depending on whether or not you believe he would have left anyway.

We've been predicting this all off season how hard it would be to pick the final few spots. I guess the good part is that a lot of the recruits have filled the gaps that were identified and some of the youngsters have stood up.

I hope that Polka makes the round one team, to be honest I would have had him almost a certainty a few months ago. I still think that he can be a ripper of a player.

I suspect that he is the sort of 'hard nut' that appeals to Voss and I would rather see him running around the forward line than numbers 3 or 4.
Really hope Polks is in our R1 team.

Voss's comments after the EF seemed to confirm that he likes what he saw in Polk's game.

Have to say your side is looking pretty good for Round 1.

Sportal team preview: Brisbane Lions

Best 22:
B: Patfull, Merrett, Adcock
HB: McGrath, Maguire, Drummond
C: Rischitelli, Black, Sherman
HF: Johnstone, Brown, Polkinghorne
F: Power, Fevola, Buchanan
R: Clark, Brennan, Rich
IC: Leuenberger, Raines, Staker, Selwood

Quote:
Best 22:
B: Patfull, Merrett, Adcock
HB: McGrath, Maguire, Drummond
C: Rischitelli, Black, Sherman
HF: Johnstone, Brown, Polkinghorne
F: Power, Fevola, Buchanan
R: Clark, Brennan, Rich
IC: Leuenberger, Raines, Staker, Selwood

I agree with this team for 3 reasons in particular.

1....I prefer Patfull and Johnstone in those positions but I am not averse to experimentation - I believe with Maguire in,the back six has a 'just right' look about it and I'd rather not see TJ's occasional brain fades cost us goals and he creates goals for others and kicks them himself up forward.

2....while I would like to see up and comers Banfield and Rockliff get a go I prefer Power and Polkinghorne - the youngsters will get their chance soon enough now.

3....Selwood and Stiller have proved themselves as our best taggers and including one of them is a must IMO.

Quote:

1....I prefer Patfull and Johnstone in those positions but I am not averse to experimentation - I believe with Maguire in,the back six has a 'just right' look about it and I'd rather not see TJ's occasional brain fades cost us goals and he creates goals for others and kicks them himself up forward.

If he plays forward, I can see him disappearing for large chunks of the game because he is at his best getting a hand ball from a clearance
If he plays midfield then we get the same as last year.
If he plays defence then there will be a forward running around on their own.

I hope someone can step up and offer more than him such as Banfield.

If Voss had been inactive during trade week our team might look more like this:

B: Adcock Merrett Johnstone
HB: McGrath Maguire Drummond
C: Rich Brennan Patfull
HF: Power Brown Sherman
F: Polkinghorne Henderson* Banfield
Foll: Clark Black Redden
Int: Leuenberger, Selwood, Rischitelli, Rockliff

Emg: Stiller, Sheldon, Proud

*or Bradshaw depending on whether or not you believe he would have left anyway.

No room for Lewis Jetta picked with first round pick 12?

Yeah, The "Kevin Caton Cup" has a nice ring to it, I reckon. ;)

I was at the game he kicked a winning goal after the siren against Geelong at Princess Park IIRC. Was one of his first games for the Roys and I remember being a youngster getting his autograph at one of the coterie functions after the game.:cool:

I am happy with Kevin Caton Cup...eagle, lion and bear:thumbsu:

If he plays forward, I can see him disappearing for large chunks of the game because he is at his best getting a hand ball from a clearance
If he plays midfield then we get the same as last year.
If he plays defence then there will be a forward running around on their own.

I hope someone can step up and offer more than him such as Banfield.

My second go at this reply..I hit the wrong quote button and eventually deleted the last one... then had to drop my 2 grandsons to cricket practice - last one,only footy practice from next week.

My concern was to keep Patfull in the back 6 where he has been so magnificent which is not to say he could not star elsewhere.

If enough of the youngsters can improve to the point that TJ can't make the team I'll be very happy.

Or TJ improves in the face of competition for places.....

Now that'll be scary.
If he improves and starts delivering week-in and week-out that'll be fulfilling Leigh Matthews vision when he traded for TJ.

An elite mid who can tear the opposition to shreds with 25+ possession 2-3 goal games week in week out. IMO he is a close second to Drummond in our list for accurate weighted passes, when he's on.

TJ will experience something this year that he probably never has - serious competition for his spot. I feel good about that. Not that I won't to see TJ fail but for some unknown reason I would like for him to show the AFL world that he is capable of good constant season.

I'd love to see TJ meet our already lowered expectations, but there's just no way I'm setting myself up for disappointment. I assume if he plays down back then he'll have his occasional moments of brilliance at least matched / overshadowed by his brain fades that will inevitably lead to goals against us. Cynical, perhaps. But I'll freakin' love it if he rises above.

I thought he responded quite well to the challenges Voss put to him last year. His last few games were quite good - more importantly, he did a lot of the little things that he's been criticised for ignoring.

Was it a "penny drop" moment? I'm not sure. But whereas I thought he might have cracked the sads at Voss and the club last year, he obviously learnt some lessons and improved himself as a footballer. The competition for spots this year should be good for him.

Ok my round 1 team including 3 emergencies is

Backs: Mcgrath Merret Adcock
HB: Patfull Maguire Drummond
C: Brennen Black Johnstone
Hf: Sherman Brown Polkinghorne
F: Buchanan Fevola Staker
R: Clark Rich Power
Int: Leunberger Redden Rockliff Rischitelli
Emg: Stiller Raines Banfield

Team Selection Round 1 - 2010