Terry Wallace's 5 years

I was a fan of wallace until last night. it just seemed all clear to that point and then it came crushing down. we cannot believe this man anymore and quite simply he has to go but also the coaching staff with him. our skill errors are indicative of an aus kick team. and each year we pay our membership up front and are asked to believe. terry do the honorable thing and spinoff

How has he managed to fool you for so long??:confused: He hasn't coached finals in 8 years and hasn't coached a finals win in 10. He keeps blaming everyone else if things go wrong and his game plan has never looked all that good. He is the king of spin and loves finding a scapegoat!

wallace needs to get rid of that crappy zone, because we dont man up and they slowly work the ball forward and we cant stop them because we are not maned up

Exactly. But it wont happen since they would have put hours and hours into teaching the players the new style, they're not going to walk away from it now are they?

I really hoped that we wouldn't jump on the zone bandwagon but it seems we're stuck with it for this season.

Exactly. But it wont happen since they would have put hours and hours into teaching the players the new style, they're not going to walk away from it now are they?

I really hoped that we wouldn't jump on the zone bandwagon but it seems we're stuck with it for this season.
With all due respect to the Tigers, (and Carlton if they implement it) they're not quite as skillful as Geelong and Hawthorn yet, and without precision the zone goes to shit. I think teams will be over eager about implementing it - and more workman type midfields (perhaps like Collingwood) in my opinion might find it more difficult this season to both; cleanly move the ball from full back to a goal scoring position, and; use the ball effectively after effecting a turnover due to being so far out of natural position.

Richmond round 1 under Terry:

2005 - loss to Geelong 62 points

2006 - Loss to Bulldogs 115 points

2007 - Loss to Carlton - 17 points

2008 - Won against Carlton 30 points

2009 - Loss to Carlton - 83 points

great record:D

Tiges are and have been the joke of the AFL for years. We brag about top 4..yet we can not deliver. Whilst I am concerned about this being the first round...we can simply not continue to sustain the poor kicking skills and general lack of commitment as shown against Carlton. Yes the coach is out of his depth now...and in many ways the players are simply waiting for that axe to fall....sadly, we are now looking at a new rebuilding phase, which means guys....we are all set to go through this painful process again....I am dedicated I will stand.......but plz Richmond.......do it right next time.

Maybe Wallace just got his timing wrong, 5 years may be a bit optimistic. It's not like Richmond don't have the cattle, looks ok on paper. Give him another year or two just to be sure. Sheedy looking over his shoulder doesn't help either.

Sheedy looking over his shoulder doesn't help either.

The whole situation there is a mess imo. I have no doubt that Sheedy still harbours desires to coach again and I fear that was his agenda in taking this "marketing" postion at Richmond. I reckon Sheeds is secretly rubbng his hands together in anticipation of when he gets the call up. As much as I love the guy that would be a disastrous move for the Tigers and set them back even further. They need to get a complete outsider, someone with no ties at all to the club, in there to fix things up. Someone like Buckley would be perfect for them imo.

Meanwhile, Wallace has his own agenda this year which is all about self preservation and justifying his position/keeping his job intact. Let's face it, the Cousins move just smacks of desperation, the three teams who actually did their due diligence on him all backed away and then at the last minute Richmond swooped on in and picked him up. Call me negative or whatever but I still question the motives of that decision from both parties.

the whole zone thing is a shzmozel. richmond just zoned the middle away but carlton just went wide with the greatest of ease. they had plenty of numbers at the ball for the hands and they stayed true as often as possible to not over running the footy. why did nt it work? because we were standing still with no accountability. i wasn't at the game, so from a TV perspective the whole night was dominated by carlton jumpers ( small screen). i would have liked to be there to see the whole zone attempt applied. but also in saying that, isn't it the coaches job to think on his feet. i hope to god they practiced different defending scenarios with their zone over summer, otherwise good bye 2009

There are no more excuses to make. Wallace needs to go and take his support staff with him. Thursday nights debacle was shameful. A lack of heart and passion displayed by most of the list. Too many passengers on a train that will never leave the station. Maybe they can improve, one hopes they cant do any worse, but Wallace does not inspire passion. Mitch Robinson showed more passion in his first game that many of thr Tigers have shown over their whole career. Richmond, the club, has a proud history that has been hijacked since KB was sacked as coach. We are now more than a punchline, we are a joke.

It can no longer be disputed that Wallace's 5 year plan and tenure at Richmond has been a failure.

TW clearly stated that he believed the Tigers had a decent list when he took over, and selected the best available talent in the 04 draft

TW clearly stated that his plan was to have the Tigers pushing for a Top4 spot at the end of his 5 years

He has failed miserably on both counts. The Tigers are nowhere near Top4 contention and have not picked the best available talent from the 04 draft.
His winning record is on par with Frawley - at least Spud took Richmond to a finals series

Terry should resign immediately as he will not deliver Richmond a Top4 finish this year, let alone finals.

It's clear now that he's lost the players.
Richmond need to win 12 out of their next 19 games to play finals this year, a highly unlikely proposition.

BTW I think it's rather sad and an indictment on the Tigers culture that many of the Richmond fans are still blaming Danny Frawley on the club's problems today.

he has been gone for 5 years FFS, he cannot be held accountable for most of the problems at the club today, he wasn't the one who choose tambling over Buddy, and picking up duds in the draft like Schultz or JON

TW clearly stated that he believed the Tigers had a decent list when he took over, and selected the best available talent in the 04 draft

TW clearly stated that his plan was to have the Tigers pushing for a Top4 spot at the end of his 5 years

Thats about right.....its actually 3 FAIL's

Wallace has taken our list from one that was middle of the table and treading water to one that is now capable of making the top 4. What more could we ask for.

Wallace didnt wait 2 years before starting to rebuild we turned over 20 players in his first 2 years at the club. Look at our list and look at the number of games the group under 25 have played and you will start to see what has been unfolding over the last 4 years.

They have set the club up for years of success and if Wallace goes well whoever takes over will have a lot to work with but I hope he gets to stay and see it out.

i watched the game yesterday and seeing richmond supporters get on here and talk about their "top 4 capable" list is just unbelievable. it's bewildering. you musn't have watched yesterday's game or be blind if you can say that you have a good list.

remove richo, brown and bowden within a couple of seasons and what's left ?

wallace is simply unbelievable. how does he get them to drink his kool-aid ? it's not just the odd tiger supporter having a lend of himself, there seems to be heaps of them here talking up their great list. wtf ? and he's got them still blaming frawley.

If Wallace goes at the end of this season (except for K.B. and Northey) he will be the first Tigers coach in a long time to leave the playing list in a much better shape than the one he inherited.

yes, the list is great.

Regardless of if Wallaces falls short or not he at least had the balls (maybe ego...most liklely ego) to walk into Richmond and tell the board what needed to be done. Wallace has been made to look worse because of the Hawthorn/Clarkson success and the comparissions made between the two.

yeah. bloody clarkson.

Focusing just on Richmond and Wallace the club is stronger on and off the field, more stable at board level and Wallace has been a big factor in this. The next stage is to turn potential into consistent on field success.

yep, the club is looking great.

un-be-lievable.......

BTW I think it's rather sad and an indictment on the Tigers culture that many of the Richmond fans are still blaming Danny Frawley on the club's problems today.

he has been gone for 5 years FFS, he cannot be held accountable for most of the problems at the club today, he wasn't the one who choose tambling over Buddy, and picking up duds in the draft like Schultz or JON

Don't forget ripping picks like Patrick Bowden and Jordan McMahon for pick #19. Oh and Kent Kingsley. What did they get for Rodan again?.......

Oh boy, I wish I had the time to go back to threads from 5 years ago with all the Richmond supporters telling us Hawthorn fans what a bunch of losers we were because we missed out on Wallace and Tambling.

What confused Richmond people was Hawthorn had a plan. Richmond should try it sometime. They remind me of the poor sod who doesn't get a car checked out, only to find out he's bought a lemon.

Anyone can make an error in judgement, but it is astounding how Richmond have turned "getting it wrong" into an art form.

Advice: Stop listening to snake oil salesmen like Wallace when comes to selecting coaches. Devise a plan for success, then stick to it ... select a coach and recruit the appropriate personel to make the plan work.

Do not use a band aid approach to recruitment. Band-aids only cover up a wound, they do not heal them.

Do not allow senile old farts like Sheedy to talk you into buying rusty clapped out has-beens like Cousins, even if you ARE able to make a few short term dollars in the marketing department. Recruiting these types of people may have worked in the 1980s, but it rarely works in contemporary football. Youth is the best way to go.

In other words Richmond ... when John Kennedy Sr said, "Don't think .. DO!!!", he wasn't suggesting Richmond adopt that plan as club policy.

I shall always remember listening to Wallace when he did radio commentary with Rex Hunt. As 2004 drew to an end, there were 4 coaching spots opening up .... Richmond, Hawthorn, Bulldogs, Sydney.

There was Terry talking as if he had his choice of which club he would coach. Truth: Bulldogs didn't want him, Sydney didn't want him, and Hawthorn were yet to even consider him.

He used those clubs to force Richmond into a hasty appointment ... then he tells the world that he "choose" Richmond ahead of the others because they had the best playing list and were better set up for the future. What a loser.

The above post is spot on ..

At the end of 2004, Hawthorn and Richmond were basically in the identical position as clubs, with regards to the playing list, and the Hawks were condemned at the time by some people for appointing Clarkson, and everyone thought the Tigers were on the improve with Wallace and drafting Deledio and tambling ...

The thing is, Clarkson culled the dead wood from Hawthorn's list, and gave away hacks like Hay and Rawlings and got decent draft picks in return, whereas the Tigers just kept on topping up and getting recycled players, IE Graham, Kingsley, Mcmahon etc.

I would also question now if taking Deledio over Roughhead was the smart thing to do, considering the lack of quality 'tall's Richmond has in it's foward line (Schultz and Hughes just aren't up to it IMHO)

Ulimately list management issues, esp with recycled players and 'deadwood' is the coach's responsiblity, I have no idea why he kept the likes of Tivendale etc for so long, and most of Terry's trades have been pretty woeful, IE Patrick Bowden etc.

Thank God Carlton has taken the Hawthorn road down to rebuilding our club with regards to keep most of our draft picks (we got a decent player in Hadley for pick 56) and a good ruckman in Warnock for pick 24 etc) ...
Recycling players was dismal at Carlton under Pagan, and ulimately it's what has contributed to Terry's era at Richmond being a failure as well.

The above post is spot on ..

At the end of 2004, Hawthorn and Richmond were basically in the identical position as clubs, with regards to the playing list,
As much as I agree that Terry Wallace is a terrible coach, that's simply not true. This is Richmond's list in 2004, this is Hawthorn's. The difference is massive. Hawthorn had 11 of the '08 premiership side on the list then - Crawford, Hodge, Mitchell, Brown, Croad, Bateman, Sewell, Osborne, Williams, Ladson and Campbell. Richmond had...who? Nowhere near the same depth of class.

Credit to Clarkson for having the balls to rebuild and develop the talent, but to suggest that they had the same quality on the list when arriving is ridiculous.

Terry Wallace's 5 years