Universal Love Thanks Sam Mitchell. A true Hawthorn and AFL legend.

Sammy if you are reading this. you are a champion of the game both on the field & off the field. when you came to the club, the club was in a state of disarray - with little success & almost merging with the D's at one stage. 300+ games later, 4 premierships, 5 grand finals, 5 best & fairest & a whole hosts of accolades...mate you are the Michael Jordan of the AFL...you will always live in hawthorn folklore up there with the legends on the game...the players to follow your footsteps have a mountain to climb to have even half the impact as you have had. As a big fan of yours, nothing is more satisfying than watching a player maximize on his ability, inspire others around him & immortalize into history. You are a deadset legend. I wish you & lyndall & the kids great success at West Coast, and can't wait to see you back coaching the Hawks soon to many more premierships.

X2

Legend, he has given hawthorn fc more or as much as any player over the last 20 years.

While the Judd's and Abletts of the world get the individual acclaim, Mitch has become a 4 time premiership hawk. Now it's his time to move on, not in his prime but in his twilight.

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

I got a lump in my throat after reading the letter. Especially the last line: "I have loved it all and will always have brown and gold in my blood."
This guy is all class.
Thank you Sammy a true legend and great of our footy club.
See you when you return to our great club.

Some of you might remember the global campaign 'Save Locky's Dad' regarding Nick Auden, who passed away in 2013. The club and a number of HFC players got on board to support the campaign. Sadly, Nick's death was due to a melanoma - the same issue as what has since struck Jarryd Roughead. I know that many AFL players - some loved, some maligned - do a lot of charitable and selfless work outside footy which doesn't get much press. It's nothing special in that regard. But it's always special to the people impacted by that support. In December 2013, a service was held for Nick in Brighton; Sam Mitchell turned up, sat quietly by himself, and made a short statement to the media afterwards. Could not have been more unobtrusive or respectful. Good example of how a small thing you do in life can forever set other people's perspective of you. Can go and play for West Coast or do whatever he wants, so far as I'm concerned. He turned up when it mattered.
I played footy with Nick, and a truer gentleman you wouldn't meet. He would have been stoked to know Mitch was at the service. Thanks for making my day

Probably more like the Steve Nash of the AFL. Gary Ablett Snr was Jordan. I get where your going though ;)

Thank you for everything Sam!! It's so sad to see you go, and though you're no longer a Hawk, you're still my favourite player of all time.

:'(:hearts::hearts::hearts::hearts:

Excellent way to depart - class and dignity.

I ain't using the farewell word because he'll be back.

A new chapter awaits, somewhere down the line :)

Thanks for the memories Sammy.

I won't enjoy seeing you in an Eagles jumper, but all the best in your future endeavors, outside of beating the Hawks for the rest of your playing days.

mitch300s.jpg

Most consistent player in the game over the last decade. Hodge seems to get all the praise and accolades but I feel like Mitchell has done most of the heavy lifting for the hawks over the years. Has always been a class above the rest. Definitely an all time great and absolutely one of my favourite players! Congratulations on an awesome career. Hopefully he gets awarded the 2012 brownlow medal as it is a bit of a crime that he doesn't have one already.

Disappointed to see him go to the mob up the road but can't wait to see what he can do as an assistant coach and eventually a head coach (at Hawthorn, not the Eagles!). Listening to him speak, you can tell he's going to be very successful in coaching. Communicates so well and has amazing knowledge of the game.

A truly great player in a truly great era of the club. His own man, as tough as they come, and departed as the reigning Peter Crimmins Medallist. All the best to Sammy.

Thank you Sam for the memories.
Great move for your future and family. Weather is fantastic but sadly wasted on Western Australians.
Great place just make sure you live south of the city, don't hire a born and bred to do a anything they have no idea and no work ethic.
The men are basically all bogans but the woman are lovely. They are the worst drivers in the country and they hate eastern staters so get a wa number plate asap. The radio stations are crap as all the good DJs are over here. The papers are basically the Eagles fan pages. The housing market lives and dies on the mining industry so be careful with what you buy for when you have to sell it to come back and coach over here.
Probably better to keep a house over here in the Melb market if you can for the future and your financial security.
Oh beaches are very over rated and surf except for Margaret River is ordinary. The uv rays will eat your dash board of your car and it's impossible to find much shade. But as opposed to freezing your ass off over here is a small price to pay.
The time difference is a massive pain in the ass. Every sporting contest other than Wa events are over before you get home.
Once you learn this will make things easier.

Love you like a brother mate and wish you a long and successful career and life.

Universal Love Thanks Sam Mitchell. A true Hawthorn and AFL legend.